Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Hero's Lot, The (The Staff and the Sword Book #2) - eBook

Bethany House Hero's Lot, The (The Staff and the Sword Book #2) - eBook

When Sarin Valon, the corrupt secondus of the conclave, flees Erinon and the kingdom, Errol Stone believes his troubles have at last ended. But other forces bent on the destruction of the kingdom remain and conspire to accuse Errol and his friends of a conspiracy to usurp the throne.

In a bid to keep the three of them from the axe, Archbenefice Canon sends Martin and Luis to Errol's home village, Callowford, to discover what makes him so important to the kingdom. But Errol is also accused of consorting with spirits. Convicted, his punishment is a journey to the enemy kingdom of Merakh, where he must find Sarin Valon, and kill him. To enforce their sentence, Errol is placed under a compulsion, and he is driven to accomplish his task or die resisting.

Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hero's Lot, The (The Staff and the Sword Book #2) - eBook
Review 1 for Hero's Lot, The (The Staff and the Sword Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's a book to hide in for hours if possible.

Date:March 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Laura of Harvest Lane
Location:Carthage, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Last summer, I read one of the best books ever. It was so enthralling, I declared there has to be a sequel! This is that book. Have you ever felt a compulsion to read one more paragraph, one more page, one more chapter? This is that book. It's a book to hide in for hours if possible. Just warning you! You'll be up too late if you start this at bedtime. You'll forget to make dinner if you begin reading late in the afternoon.
The tension builds throughout the story, drawing you farther and farther in. So many little mysteries and secrets arise leading you toward the next chapter. Martin, Luis, and Errol, travel through new lands filled with danger, making new alliances and discovering enemies as they attempt to fulfill their own compulsions and untangle the gnarled and twisted sedition in the Conclave.
If you've not read A Cast of Stones, start there. If you have, you already want this book.
The Hero's Lot is second in the Staff and the Sword Series by Patrick Carr. Read my review of the first book, A Cast of Stones.
Thank you to publisher for this review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hero's Lot, The (The Staff and the Sword Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The story begins with the evil Sarin Valon fleeing the city of Erinon. The compulsion the church laid on Errol compels him to the Judica in the first place, and the church leaders are bent on using him to their advantage no matter what the cost. As punishment for allegedly working with herbwomen, which is considered nothing short of sorceresses, Errol is compelled once again by the church to find Valon in the enemy kingdom of Merakh. His friends Martin, Luis, and Cruk are sent off to find out Errol's importance and significance in the scheme of things by Archbenefice Canon to Errol's hometown of Callowford.
As with everything, nothing goes as planned. There are many dangers on the path for anyone on a righteous quest, and Errol discovers that nothing is what is seems. He is able to cast lots and read the results, but it appears that Valon also has many readers at his disposal and is staying one step ahead of him no matter how much Errol tries to anticipate Valon's moves. As for Martin and his band, danger follows their every step as well. Secrets of the kingdom are exposed that change everything. Will they be able to find Errol in time to warn him of what is to come? Or is too late to save the realm that will have no future without the successful completion of the quests of both parties?
Errol is off to another epic adventure, and I couldn't help but empathize with the poor boy with everything that gets dumped on him. No matter what he does or how hard he tries to do the right thing, his choice in the matter is forever taken with the church's compulsion. This second book in the Staff and Sword series was the best middle book I've ever read. There was no long, boring, filler chapters; it was all fast paced excitement that I remember from the first book, with all-new continuations of the tale. A wonderful story, and it's getting an enthusiastic five stars from me!
This book was provided by Bethany House Publishers for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hero's Lot, The (The Staff and the Sword Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting fantasy novel!

Date:October 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mossy
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Hero's Lot is a great book. This book was not boring at all. There were exciting parts all the way through. The only problem is that the next book is not out yet.
You should read the first book, A Cast of Stones, first or this one will be very confusing. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Christian fiction!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hero's Lot, The (The Staff and the Sword Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this Fantasy Series

Date:August 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
jnjdet
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hero's Lot is the second book of the series The Staff and the Sword. I loved the first book that chronicles Errol Stone's journey from a drunk orphan to a staff wielding hero. The second continues on as the threat of evil becomes even greater as the king is on his deathbed. They journey through perilous lands to fulfill the new compulsion Errol is under. This book is full of adventure and mystery. The only criticism I could give is the romance portion is lacking. I would rather there not be any romance as I find the interaction between the two childish. But other than that, I really, really enjoy this series and if you are into fantasy/adventure, this series is for you. I continue to look forward to the next release.
I received this book free from Bethany House Publisher's in exchange for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hero's Lot, The (The Staff and the Sword Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Breath-taking Sequel

Date:August 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wanda Costinak
Location:Alberta
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Hero’s Lot picks up shortly after A Cast of Stones ends. The characters are still reeling from recent events and trying to heal their bodies and hearts. There is little time before the action begins again and readers are taken on a wild adventure to try and save the kingdom.
Unlike other series, this sequel does not lag in pace nor suffer from poor plot quality. The pace is fast-moving and does not slow enough for readers to catch their breath. Thankfully the author follows different characters on their journey and the story divides into different perspectives and separate adventures that allow readers to slow their heart rate for a moment at least.
Several characters were more deeply developed and some of their past experiences were revealed. This satisfied some of the curiosity I had about many of the characters that seemed puzzling and far too mysterious for my liking. One such character is Martin the priest. His life parallels many of our own – doing our best to live the way God wants and to do what is right and expected. The struggles he and we face as we come to realize the Holy Spirit has other plans than what we, with best intentions, have laid out, are refreshing. Martin is not some hyper-spiritual character, but one that is relatable and can teach us a thing or two about surrendering to God’s will.
The Hero’s Lot is well worth a read. The escape to another world in another time provides breath-taking adventures that leave you wanting more. Thankfully, the last book in the series, A Draw of Kings, will be released in February – I need time to reread the first two again before saying goodbye to these captivating characters.
I give this book 5 stars out of 5.
This book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Baker Books, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hero's Lot, The (The Staff and the Sword Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The story begins with the evil Sarin Valon fleeing the city of Erinon. The compulsion the church laid on Errol compels him to the Judicia in the first place, and church leaders are bent on using him to their advantage no matter what the cost. As punishment for allegedly working with herbwomen, which the is considered nothing short of sorceresses, Errol is compelled once again by the church to find Valon in the enemy kingdom of Merakh. His friends Martin, Luis, and Cruk are sent off to find out Errol's importance and significance in the scheme of things by Archbenefice Canon to Errol's hometown of Callowford.
As with everything, nothing goes as planned. There are many dangers on the path for anyone on a righteous quest, and Errol finds discovers that nothing is what is seems. He is able to cast lots and read the results, but it appears that Valon also has many readers at his disposal and is staying one step ahead of him no matter how much Errol tries to anticipate Valon's moves. As for Martin and his band, danger follows their every step as well. Secrets of the kingdom are exposed that change everything. Will they be able to find Errol in time to warn him of what is to come? Or is too late to save the realm that will have no future without the successful completion of the quests of both parties?
Errol is off to another epic adventure, and I couldn't help but empathize with the poor boy with everything that gets dumped on him. No matter what he does or how hard he tries to do the right thing, his choice in the matter is forever taken with the church's compulsion. This second book in the Staff and Sword series was the best middle book I've ever read. There was no long, boring, filler chapters; it was all fast paced excitement that I remember from the first book, with all-new continuations of the tale. A wonderful story, and it's getting an enthusiastic five stars from me!
This book was provided by Bethany House Publishers for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hero's Lot, The (The Staff and the Sword Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A few months ago, I read and reviewed Patrick W. Carr’s debut novel, A Cast of Stones, and I wrote, “[I]f the sequels are as good as the first book, then Carr is on his way to an outstanding writing career.” Well, I just finished reading an advanced reading copy of Carr’s second book in the series, and I can honestly say that I have not changed my mind.
The Hero’s Lot picks up where A Cast of Stones ends. Errol Stone, now a trained fighter and a member of the nobility, is compelled to go on a quest to find and kill a dangerous enemy to the kingdom—Sarin Valon—a traitor possessed by evil. The problem of fulfilling his mission is that the traitor is deep within a neighboring land that plans to invade the kingdom upon the impending death of the king. Earl Stone must face many dangers along his journey, but he is not alone as his companions vow to protect and aid him on his quest. To complicate matters, Errol’s true love—Princess Adora—has followed him after running away from the arrogant lord that her uncle, the king, promised her to in marriage.
Errol and his some of his companions find themselves followed by domestic enemies as well as thwarted by Valon’s agents throughout the journey. Errol must learn who he can trust and who his friends are, some of whom he finds in unlikely places. He learns that he plays an essential role in the kingdom’s survival, but he realizes that either he or the young man that seems destined to be the next king will die. He assumes that it is he who must die and resigns himself to that fate, but renewed hope and the will to live, for the woman he loves, gives him the strength needed to survive and escape captivity and death at the hands of the enemies that fear him.
Errol fulfills his mission and escapes, but on the way home, he and his friends realize that the king is dead. The story ends leaving readers wondering what is next in store for Errol and the kingdom as war is about to commence. Can he live up to his destiny? Will the rightful successor be placed on the throne? Or will enemies from within and from outside the kingdom prevail?
Patrick W. Carr’s second novel is even more exciting than the first as Errol’s story continues to unfold. The characters are interesting and believable as more of who they are is revealed. They are flawed, but they grow into better people as they make the nearly impossible journey. The settings are reminiscent of the real world of historical cultural although Carr’s novel takes place in kingdoms and lands of his creation. Carr uses his characters and the world that he has created to allegorically explore the world we live in from historical and spiritual aspects as well as similarities in what is happening in the current timeline. The human condition is shown from introspective viewpoints along with the realization that individuals all have a part to play in the important events that affect thousands, even millions, of lives. I look forward to the third novel in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hero's Lot, The (The Staff and the Sword Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A fine addition to the series!

Date:July 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Patrick W. Carr returns in fine form with the second book in "The Staff and The Sword" series. The pages are alive with action-packed scenes, stirring drama, and a splash of romance too! Carr has done a masterful job at continuing to develop the character of Errol, a character that inspires loyalty with his painful past and the manner in which he continues to grow and succeed over insurmountable odds. "The Hero's Lot" adds a lot to the series, providing many answers to what is going on in the Kingdom, and hinting at who Errol really is and the future role he will play in determining the fate of the kingdom. The supporting cast of characters continue to be fantastic as well, and I am eager to find out how they will all fare in the third book in the series. The book is quite lengthy, but I felt that the overall pace of the story kept moving along quite well. I do wish that the book included a map of all of the different locations that the characters visit as I would like to clearly visualize who was going where in the story. However, the book is filled with vivid descriptions that allowed me to create the world in my mind...and perhaps that's how the author prefers it!
I continue to enjoy how the story captures the essence of faith, and the parallels to the Holy Spirit and his interaction in the lives of the people in the story particularly interested me. Despite being a fantasy fiction novel, the scenes that I read stirred my faith as well, and I am confident that readers will find a lot to relate to in the midst of this imaginative story.
I strongly recommend this fine addition to the fantasy fiction genre, and award it 4 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hero's Lot, The (The Staff and the Sword Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

it continues to be great fantasy

Date:July 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The epic adventure for Errol Stone continues in this sequel. If you have not read the first in the series, you will need to do so. So much of the story line follows what was introduced in the first book you'll be lost otherwise.
This book has all the elements of good fantasy. There is a three person God in whom many believe and try to understand. There are those who hear from Deas (God) and can direct the saving tasks of others. There are evil men within the church who would ruin the kingdom. There are great warriors who will protect Errol and the kingdom with their lives. There are monsters who would attack those traveling in the shadowlands at night.
We see Errol develop into a young man, with the help of his many friends. He adds to his fighting skills using the sword. He begins to learn the way of leadership. And he is in head over heels with the princess who manages to finagle her way onto the journey with Errol and his companions. Now, if Errol can just keep his wits about him as the adventure, and danger, intensifies.
And the end of this novel? My goodness, Carr absolutely leaves us impatiently waiting for the next book!
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hero's Lot, The (The Staff and the Sword Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Sequel!

Date:July 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Liz R
Location:Tuscaloosa, Al
Age:18-24
Gender:female
The Hero’s Lot is the second book in Patrick Carr’s The Staff and the Sword series and it was just as great as the first! Carr is a new and refreshing voice in fantasy and I can’t wait to get my hands on the conclusion to this fantastic series.
The story picks up right where we left off in A Cast of Stones. Errol, now Earl Stone, is trying to find is place in Erinon and the church he doesn’t fully trust. The traitor Sarin Valon has fled to Merakh and left chaos and suspicion in his wake. There is word of ferrals throughout the kingdom and the king is growing ever closer to his heirless end. Plans go amok and Errol is placed under compulsion to track down and kill Valon while Luis, Martin and Cruk and sent back to Callowford to discover Errol’s importance.
I’m happy to say that The Hero’s Lot did not suffer from middle book syndrome and was a page turner to the end. Errol continues to grow as a character and is supported by a wonderful supporting cast. I was delighted to see a few favorite characters from the first book make their returns as well. The story doesn’t just rely on its action either, there is a healthy bit of mystery included that promises to carry through to the end of the series. My only issue was the romance between Errol and Adora. It seemed to have come out of nowhere and I feel like a little build up would have made it more believable.
I would recommend this series to any fantast fan and am eagerly awaiting A Draw of Kings.
*I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.