Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House King (Books of the Infinite Book #3) - eBook

Bethany House King (Books of the Infinite Book #3) - eBook

Against his wishes and desires, Akabe of Siphra has been chosen by his people to be King. But what does a warrior know of ruling during peacetime? Guided by the Infinite, Akabe seeks to rebuild the Temple in the city of Munra to give the sacred books of Parne a home. But dangerous factions are forming in the background. To gain the land he needs, Akabe must forsake the yearnings of his heart and instead align himself through marriage to the Thaenfall family.

Meanwhile, Kien Lantec and Ela Roeh are drawn still closer together...while becoming pawns in a quest to gain power over the region. As questions of love and faith become tangled with lies and murderous plots, each must seek the Infinite to guide them through an ever more tangled web of intrigue and danger.

Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for King (Books of the Infinite Book #3) - eBook
Review 1 for King (Books of the Infinite Book #3) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

...wonderful series finish...

Date:December 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kayla
Location:New Castle, CO
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"King" is the third and final book in the fantasy series "The Books of the Infinite" by R.J. Larson. I am truly sad to have finished the series because I really love all the characters. Throughout this series the author strives to bring Old Testament prophets to life in a fresh, understandable way. I found myself understanding many of the Old Testament stories better after reading these books. Also, I was challenged to pray and talk to my God, my Creator, more often than I do.
"King" was very well written, the author definitely improved her writing style by the third book. Of all three, I don't think I could choose a favorite because they were each so different, and wonderful. I loved how Kien and Ela's relationship blossoms, they are the sweetest fictional couple I have ever met, and I love the faith they had in their Creator to carry them through difficulties.
But the real focus in this story is Akabe, King of Siphra. In many ways He reminds me of King David in the Bible. Akabe is a nobody, who becomes king and desires to rebuild the Infinite's temple. His zeal for rebuilding becomes pride, and Akabe begins to make poor decisions based on his impulses, not the Infinite's leading. Akabe reminds me of David because he truly wanted to seek God's will, was a man after God's own heart, but made foolish choices. This story tells how our choices have consequences, but God is merciful and will always love us and forgive us when we go our own way.
Another leading character in this story is Akabe's wife, Caitria. She is from a family who follows a false goddess Atea, and she denies the existence of the Infinite. Akabe marries her for the sake of rebuilding the temple but trouble escalates when Caitria's family, Atea worshipers, seek to kill Akabe and destroy the temple. Her story is how she finds love from her Creator, and how her mistakes also have consequences. Caitria is an interesting character, although I feel that her story was the least developed. The plot for Akabe and Caitria was weak, in my opinion. It could have been much stronger if it had unraveled over two more books (like Ela and Kien). It felt like a rushed, lacking romance and a quick conversion from Atean to the Infinite. However, the story was still good, but just not as strong as the previous two books.
All in all I would still highly recommend this series, whether you enjoy fantasy or not, this series was tastefully done to still be believable. I look forward to more books by this author, and I will greatly miss these characters. I think I will someday revisit these old "friends".
I received this book from Bethany House Publishing in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for King (Books of the Infinite Book #3) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read--even for non-speculative fan!

Date:November 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mesu Andrews
Location:Washington
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First, let me say that I seldom read YA fiction—and never speculative. However, R.J. Larson's ability to weave Old Testament tales with imaginary kingdoms and lovable monster-horses has been an incredible journey that I’ve enjoyed immensely.
Book #1 of the series, Prophet, introduced us to Ela of Parne, a young girl charged with the huge task of speaking the Infinite's message to whomever whenever He commanded. Also in that first offering, we met Kien Lantec, a spoiled and brash nobleman who matured through suffering and became the main character of Judge, Book #2 of the series. Now, in Book #3, we meet a friend of both Kien and Ela's, King Akabe, who finds himself in a circumstance similar to that of one of the Old Testament kings. Akabe of Siphra never wanted to be king in the first place.
QUICK! Can you think of an Old Testament king that was crowned unwillingly? Give up? Check out 1 Samuel 10, and there may be others.
Prophet, Judge, and King use subtle Old Testament inferences to keep Bible-lovers alert for golden threads of biblical stories woven throughout. Each book is a biblical treasure hunt, challenging the reader to apply scriptural truths in a make-believe world that then translates meaning into our daily lives.
Why make-believe? Why fantasy? Larson’s kingdoms of Siphra and Parne seem quite Victorian, and though some of the woodland and desert “creatures” are most definitely speculative, they’re used appropriately for the lessons being taught and learned. The best reason I’ve discovered for reading speculative fiction? Because when I see a concept at its barest level, without real life complications, I can then apply it more effectively to my life. Applying biblical principles to a completely fictional circumstance allows me to focus more keenly on the principle.
Here’s one example: As the book description says, Akabe of Siphrah doesn’t want to be king, but because the Infinite commands it, he obeys. A young princess, Kien Lantec, and Ela of Parne are similarly reluctant in areas of their lives—facing choices between their will or God’s will. As the story plays out, I can assess each character’s struggle to obey or disobey with utmost objectivity because I’ll never be a king, a princess, a warrior, or a prophet. I’ll never fight scalns, be held captive in a dungeon, or bring down an empire.  But I WILL be called to obey my God, and this utterly fantastic story taught me more about obedience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for King (Books of the Infinite Book #3) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved this book

Date:August 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth
Location:Maine
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Akabe, King of Siphra has two choices before him as he tries to rebuild the Infinite’s temple: he can either marry a foreign wife in exchanged for the temple’s land, or he can build the temple elsewhere. He chooses to marry Caitria Theanfall and receive her dowry, the temple land.
Meanwhile, Ela Roeh and Kien Lantec (Of Larson’s former books Prophet and Judge), have been married. They have just begun managing their estate when the king calls them to court. Because of his marriage to Caitria, there are many plots to take both the king and the queen’s life. So Ela, Kien, Akabe, Caitria, and a few guards set off to hide as part of a plot to discover who the would-be assassins really are. However, even in hiding there are still dangers.
This was a wonderful book. I had never read the first two books and I was still able to pick up on the story line fairly quickly. It was really well written and had a great plotline. I would highly recommend this book.
I received a free e-book copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for King (Books of the Infinite Book #3) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One More Chapter! One More Chapter!

Date:August 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Laura of Harvest Lane
Location:Carthage, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've just come home from a long weekend at the lake. When I wasn't in or on the water, I was often found reading this fantastic book. I received King from Bethany House in exchange for an honest review. (For the government man.) ~smile~
My thoughts:
Prophet and Judge were such magnificent stories, I couldn't wait to get my hands on the latest novel in the Books of the Infinite series, King by R.J. Larson.
Time seemed to stand still as I lost myself in these pages. The emotions, struggles and intrigue woven into the personal lives of the prophet Ela, Kien, Akabe, and Caitria are magnified as their stories and futures intertwine into one. King's ancient setting was a welcome respite from the twentieth century. ~smile~ I love Christian allegories, and Larson is a master storyteller. This is the best book series I've read in ages. As I finished the last sentence of King, I found myself sad that it was the end. The narrative and the characters were that compelling.
The thing that made this series so valuable to me is the way it made me think about God, my Infinite. There was something about calling Him Infinite that made me take notice, to be aware of Him, in a way I might not otherwise have thought about Him. No wonder He calls Himself "I AM".
I strongly suggest reading this series in order, beginning with the story of Ela of Parne, The Prophet followed by Judge. It just makes more sense to read them in order.
Well done R.J. Larson! Thank you!
5 stars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for King (Books of the Infinite Book #3) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another thrilling story from a master of Fantasy!

Date:August 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
TellNJasmine
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again R.J. Larson has crafted a story that tells Biblical truths and even Bible stories in such an entertaining manner that the reader doesn't feel preached at.
I absolutely enjoyed the hints of Job and many other stories that I recognized from Sunday School and my own Bible reading. In many ways King convicted me about praying while awaiting God's direction and following it to the letter when it does come. In some ways this book reminded of the song Smell The Color 9, even if God doesn't speak to you with a burning bush, or in this case a vine wood branch, he will still take you where you need to be. Akabe doesn't exactly wait on God patiently and thus he learns another equally important fact: God can use even our mistakes for our greater good, and even that of others.
This book is packed with vivid settings and imagery. I felt like I was there watching the sword fights, seeing the damage done to a certain enemy's palace, you could feel the characters fear, and Ela's pain at the continued rebellion against the Infinite. Each of your senses along with your emotions will be engaged in this thrilling book
Just as well written and page turning as it's predecessors, King is a book that will entertain and teach at the same time. I, honestly, could hardly put it down. I just HAD to know what was going to happen next. Even now several days after I finished reading it I am still thinking off an on about the characters or something I learned.
I sincerely hope that R.J. Larson continues writing more of this style of book, either continuing the series or possible writing another one. Fantasy isn't my top choice in genres but R.J.'s books have been and will continue to be at the top of my wishlist!
(I received this book from BethanyHouse in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for King (Books of the Infinite Book #3) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Conclusion

Date:July 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
tmichaels
Location:Washington State
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the first two books in this series and really enjoyed them but I was a little nervous about reading this one because the preview chapter sounded like this third book might end up being a love triangle and I thoroughly dislike love triangles. Thankfully it is not. 
I think the thing that struck me most about this whole series is the complete trust and devotion the characters have to God. Ela follows God and speaks for Him no matter what. She stands firm regardless of the horrors she sees coming in her visions and puts God's will ahead of her own desires and her love for her family. I really liked that the author allowed Ela to have some of her dreams as well as following God's will. I also really enjoyed the strong friendship between Kien and Akabe and the way that Akabe immediately backs down from his pursuit of Ela when he hears that Kien is the one Ela cares for. Akabe then makes an impulsive decision that seems the right thing to do, but he doesn't make sure that is the Infinite's plan and he has to deal with the consequences of his choices. I noticed that some reviewers expressed dislike for Caitria, Akabe's queen, but I rather liked her. She struggles with the difference between her abusive family (and their Atean worship)and her new feelings for Akabe, a man with beliefs her family despises. She doesn't always make the best choices, but I think that's an accurate portrayal of real life. I was happy with the way the book ended and thought it was a very nice conclusion to the series.
I received this book free from Bethany House to review. The content of the review is entirely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for King (Books of the Infinite Book #3) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
King is the third and final installment in the Books of the Infinite series by R. J. Larson. Readers see the close relationship between the Infinite and His Prophet, Ela, deepen as well as with His Judge, Kien. These are the focus of the first two books in the series, respectively. I’m looking forward to more novels from this author, and I encourage you to read this series. You won’t regret it.
The Prophet, Ela, is now married to Kien Lantec. Kien has been exiled from his homeland and has been made a citizen and lord in Siphra by King Akabe. Ela is still a target for assassination by the Ateans as she is the Infinite’s servant. They think the Infinite is not real. She receives revelations of the future from him as well as power. She is completely dedicated to him. She serves King Akabe on an earthly level. Ela and Kien are summoned from their new land and holdings by the King. They travel back to the capital of Siphra and learn of three different assassination attempts on the King by Ateans related to his new queen. It is decided that the King, Ela, Kien and his new wife along with some guards will leave the capital until the assassins are captured and security improved.
King Akabe thinks he must marry to obtain a certain piece of land to rebuild the Infinite’s temple. He must marry an Atean and she is definitely not a believer in the Infinite, but how dedicated is she to her goddess? She is young and alone in Siphra and has been treated badly by her family. Can she open her heart to her new husband and The One he worships? The King foils the assassination attempts while trying to figure out his new wife. Does she have any feelings for him? He thinks it is possible they can have a true marriage, not the one they were forced into. The King has it revealed to him that in his pride to be the one to rebuild the temple and thus marrying an unbeliever, he has not followed the Infinite’s will for him.
This is an exciting adventure to wrap up the series. There is action, love, plotting and scheming, hostages taken and unbelievers dying. There is never a dull moment in this book, which is one reason I liked it. The characters have matured and grown so much in their faith since the first book. The ability of them to stand and serve and obey the Infinite when in terrifying situations is admirable. I so enjoyed the conversations that took place between the Infinite and Ela. She is so young physically at 19 years of age, but so grounded in her faith and service. What an inspiration! Forgiveness is extended to those undeserving just like our Father forgives us when we ask with a broken and contrite heart in true repentance. This book is a great conclusion to the whole series, which I recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for King (Books of the Infinite Book #3) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An amazing ending to a great series!!!

Date:July 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Liz R
Location:Tuscaloosa, Al
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Akabe Garric is now the unwilling king of Siphra, looking to rebuild the Infinite’s temple. However, on the first day of construction, the deal with the landowner of the temple site goes south and Akabe is forced to negotiate new terms. Lord Thaenfall, a known Atean and enemy to the Infinite, insists that the only way he will sell the land is if the King marries his daughter. Akabe makes a brash decision and soon finds himself and his new wife Caitria the targets of many assassination attempts by Atean rebels. Along the way the King and Queen receive some help from their friends Ela, prophet of the Infinite and Kien, now exiled from his home in the Tracelands. Can Akabe and Caitria weather the onslaught of Atean rebels and find true love despite their differences?
King was a fantastic ending to a well loved series! I enjoyed delving deeper into Akabe’s character as well and discovering a wonderful new addition to the series in Queen Caitria. Afterall the harsh treatment and abandonment from her family, Caitria cannot help but be suspicious of other and a little cold. It was wonderful to watch her come out of her shell and warm to Akabe and their friends. Fans of Ela and Kien (like myself) will be extremely pleased with the direction their relationship goes in this book! The biblical references were fun to pick out while the author still managed to make the story its own.
Last, but certainly not least, is Scythe (a.k.a. Pet) the destroyer with a big attitude and an even bigger appetite. Scythe dolls out his regular amount of grumblings, all while fiercely protecting Kien and Ela, and his usual amount of destruction. Is their nothing this horse won’t eat! Unfortunately for Ela, an old friend decides to run for political office and his only hope of election is to return to her his own destroyer Flame, Scythe’s beloved, who is in a delicate condition (as if the word delicate and destroyer would ever go together in the same sentence). What will she and Kien do with a whole family of destroyers?
This book has it all, romance, humor and action! I would definitely recommend it to others and am looking forward to more from this wonderful author!
*I received a copy of this from the publisher, by way of NetGalley, in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.