Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Blood and Bone (A Jack Hawthorne Adventure Book #3) - eBook

Bethany House Blood and Bone (A Jack Hawthorne Adventure Book #3) - eBook

A decade after Serpent of Moses, Jack is married to Espy and back teaching at Evanston University. They have two sons, one of whom has cystic fibrosis. Despite this challenge, life is comfortable. But that all changes when the CIA, while combing through the papers of the late Gordon Reese, uncovers the secret of Elisha's bones. Jack's world is then turned upside down by an urgent call from his old friend Duckey, who's been alerted to the CIA's probing by one of his former contacts. Jack and his family escape from their home just ahead of the CIA, and he decides to do what he should have done long ago: recover the bones and destroy them. Except the bones aren't where he left them.
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Blood and Bone (A Jack Hawthorne Adventure Book #3) - eBook
Review 1 for Blood and Bone (A Jack Hawthorne Adventure Book #3) - eBook
This review is fromBlood and Bone.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting story!

Date:October 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mossy
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book. It was really exciting. I enjoy any story with secret rooms and hidden treasure and all that interesting stuff! Although this book did not really seem like Christian fiction, there was nothing bad in it. The characters just did not talk about God very much. Other than that, Blood and Bone was a great book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blood and Bone (A Jack Hawthorne Adventure Book #3) - eBook
This review is fromBlood and Bone.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Race to Find Treasure Around the World Chased by

Date:September 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blood and Bone jerks you into the story with a phone call to an average appearing family, but the tale broadens as the reader learns about the past. It is highly enjoyable for both the rapidly moving story and the tour of the world. The added dimension of the children in danger pulls at the heart of parental fear. This is kind of a mature Indiana Jones with a family. I totally enjoyed it, and will definitely be picking up more of Don Hoesel. I recommend it to readers who enjoy suspense with lots of twists and turns.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blood and Bone (A Jack Hawthorne Adventure Book #3) - eBook
This review is fromBlood and Bone.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Exciting Adventure with a Biblical Indiana Jones

Date:September 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
katiespen
Location:Greer, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Blood and Bone is the third (and, I assume, final) book in the series by Don Hoesel and is just as exciting as Serpent of Moses.
In this book, Jack and Espy have married and settled into a "normal" life with their two boys. But it seems that their adventure with the bones of the prophet of Elisha is not quite over, and this time there is more at stake. When their boys are kidnapped, Jack and Espy find themselves once again traveling the globe in search of the bones that have reportedly given life back to the dead.
As Jack returns to his life of adventure, he is reminded of what is really important in his life. Through his journey with the bones, he sees that the true miracle is from God - not the bones.
While I enjoy Hoesel's writing very much, I feel that he misses an opportunity to point the reader to Christ when he is addressing such a biblical subject. In fact, at times, this seems just like an Indiana Jones-type story without God in the center. After all, Indiana Jones was always in search of biblical artificats as well.
I would recommend this book as a good read but not for its spiritual content.
This book was given to me in exchange for my opinion by Bethany House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blood and Bone (A Jack Hawthorne Adventure Book #3) - eBook
This review is fromBlood and Bone.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Modern Day Indiana Jones Adventure

Date:August 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lini536
Location:Cambridge, MA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jack Hawthorne, a modern day Indiana Jones, has settled down to a life of teaching and raising a family with his beautiful and fiery wife Espy. He's content with his lot until someone makes a decision - one that turns his world upside down.
In an instant Jack, Espy and their two sons - one seriously ill - are on the run from a government agent. An agent who has gone rogue in a battle to save his ailing wife. What is he after? The bones of the prophet Elisha. Bones that he buried in the Australian outback a good number of years ago.
Before long, Jack and Espy are embroiled in a race to not only retrieve the bones but to save their sons who have mercilessly been kidnapped.
During their frantic quest the seasoned historian and archaeologist meet new enemies and reacquaint themselves with old ones. From London, Paris and St. Petersburg, the couple strive to stay one step ahead of the enemy be it American, Israeli or British. Will the dynamic duo get their hands on the revered bones a second time? Can they do it in time to save their children?
Hoesel's third book in Jack Hawthorne's adventures of biblical artifacts is fast paced and dramatic. With explanations on the history that's discovered combined with detailed descriptions of the couple's environments makes for an exciting read. The author's style of writing doesn't make this a heavy read and the dialogue and interactions between characters are good.
I thought I may feel a little lost as I hadn't read the first book where Jack uncovers Elisha's bones but the book can still be read as a standalone as the author intersperses recollections from the previous adventure. I like the people met and the plot of uncovering artifacts and secret cults is riveting. However, I wasn't keen on the ending as it seemed almost an anticlimax. With all the will they/won't they get these bones throughout, the final chapters came across as almost rushed. Overall though, this is a good book especially if you're a fan of historical fiction infused with factual events and places. A recommended read.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House for review. The opinions expressed are my own and I am not required to give a positive critique.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blood and Bone (A Jack Hawthorne Adventure Book #3) - eBook
This review is fromBlood and Bone.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review from a Man's Perspective

Date:August 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Middleburg, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third book in the Jack Hawthorn series. I have read the first two and was excited to see that the third book was being published. I knew that another great adventure was just waiting beyond the cover of the book.
This book finds Jack and Espy about 10 years after the end of “Serpent of Moses”. They have settled into a regular family life in North Carolina. Jack has returned to the profession of teaching that he has dreamed of. They have a comfortable, stable life with two sons, one which has cystic fibrosis. And all it takes is one phone call to shatter their tranquil lifestyle. With his family in danger, Jack and Espy set out to recover the bones of the prophet, Elisha and the healing power that they hold. Being chased from country to country by the CIA and a clandestine group bent on protecting their secrets, this story takes you on an adventure never seen before. Can they track down the bones after so many years? Who is behind all of this danger his family is in? If he can find the bones, should he turn them over to the group threatening him or should he keep them to heal his son? Danger abounds and questions are answered, but you will only find out if you BUY THE BOOK!
Once again I was not disappointed with the writing style of Mr. Hoesel. The story hooks you from the beginning and takes you on a wild ride. He develops realistic characters, characters that make you cheer for them, characters that make you down when tragedy befalls them. Yes, I felt there were some issues with storyline, (ie – A couple on the run but can hop from country to country without fear of being stopped along the way, their children being kidnapped but the parents acting as if that happened to them every day and they had already gotten used to the ideal) but this is a fiction book, so I’ll let it slide this time 
Is this a guy’s book? There doesn’t seem to be any reason that a guy wouldn’t read this book, unless they haven’t read the other books in the series, then they just need to buy them all. The action, the adventure, the settings all will draw you into this book and keep you reading for hours
*I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blood and Bone (A Jack Hawthorne Adventure Book #3) - eBook
This review is fromBlood and Bone.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book... terrific series!

Date:August 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
HS Mom of 4
Location:Georgia, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first requested this book, the main character sounded familiar. What I found in my pre-reading research was that I had the first novel in the series, Elisha's Bones, on my personal bookshelf to be read. So, before I even cracked open the spine of Blood and Bone, I read Elisha's Bones( #1) and Serpent of Moses (#2) in the series.
Elisha's BonesAlthough you do not have to begin with the first book in the series, I believe it did help me to get a feel for the characters and their personalities. Jack Hawthorne, an archeologist turned college professor, is lured back into the field in Elisha's Bones by a millionaire seeking the healing powers rumored to be in this prophet's bones. But, the bones have been, are still are, protected by a secret society spanning 3,000 years. With the help of his former girlfriend Esperanza and her brother, Jack must not only locate the bones, but stay one step ahead of those who will kill to protect them. From a sleepy town in North Carolina, the duo hop from continent to continent seeking these biblical relics.
2 Kings 13.20-21: "20 Elisha died and was buried. Now Moabite raiders used to enter the country every spring. 21 Once while some Israelites were burying a man, suddenly they saw a band of raiders; so they threw the man’s body into Elisha’s tomb. When the body touched Elisha’s bones, the man came to life and stood up on his feet."
Serpent of Moses - By: Don Hoesel Jack's archeological adventures continue in Serpent of Moses (#2). Within 3 years of locating Elisha's bones, Jack has returned to archeology full-time. While his absences from Espy are expected, this one is different. Esperanza receives a odd call regarding Jack from an antiquities dealer with troubling news. After she follows Jack oversees, she soon realizes that he may be in trouble. Espy and her brother begin to follow the clues that Jack had previously. He not only has one entity after him but three: the Libyan government, the Vatican, and an Egyptians assassin. Once again, the search for a biblical relic has brought another life or death possibility to Jack and those he cares about.
Numbers 21:8-10: "8 The Lord said to Moses, “Make a snake and put it up on a pole; anyone who is bitten can look at it and live.” 9 So Moses made a bronze snake and put it up on a pole. Then when anyone was bitten by a snake and looked at the bronze snake, they lived."
Finally, in Blood and Bones, Jack and Espy marry and settle down with their two sons into a college professor's quiet life... or so they thought. Now, 10 years after the Serpent of Moses had been found, he receives an emergency call to flee his home and find sanctuary elsewhere. With the help of a co-professor and ex-CIA agent Ducky, Jack disappears into the night with his family. Yet, while they follow Ducky's lead, the boys are kidnapped and the only possibility of their safe return hinges on relocating Elisha's Bones to trade for their own. Once again, we join Jack and Espy on a globe trotting adventure.
I thoroughly enjoyed all three books by Don Hoesel! Today, on Barnes and Noble, you can download Elisha's Bones for free! How's that for a preview of this terrific series! I don't know how long this will last. So, what are you waiting for?
My rating: A+
6 out of 5 stars
I received a complimentary copy of Blood and Bone from Bethany House Publishers for my honest review. I bought Elisha's Bones and Serpent of Moses for the pure enjoyment of a great story!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blood and Bone (A Jack Hawthorne Adventure Book #3) - eBook
This review is fromBlood and Bone.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Much Promise

Date:August 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Danni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Know first off that this book is part of a series. While it did an ok job of standing alone for someone who hasn't read any previous works by Hoesel there was much I still felt I didn't know by not reading the first two books.
But just on reading Blood and Bone, it was good. I loved Espy and Jack. I loved their relationship and how they were equals and were able to play off one another's strength's and weaknesses. There love for their boys was known from the beginning.
The story itself felt a like it had some holes but that could have been from not reading the previous books. I will go back now and read the previous two in hopes to fill in any holes.
I say read this book though. It is a fast paced adventure that is set all over the world. Its fun and I look forward to seeing if their will be any more Jack Hawthorne adventures
I received this book from Bethany House Publishing in exchange for my honest review. No other goods were exchanged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blood and Bone (A Jack Hawthorne Adventure Book #3) - eBook
This review is fromBlood and Bone.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Secret Societies, Global Adventure, Action Thrille

Date:August 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don Hoesel in his new book, "Blood And Bone" Book Three in the Jack Hawthorne series published by Bethany House Publishers gives us another adventure with Archaeologist Jack Hawthorne.
From the Back Cover: Keeping the Secret of the Bones Could Leave Jack With Blood on His Hands
After his many adventures, Jack Hawthorne has finally settled down. Married to Espy, and with two sons, he's content to live the life of a mild-mannered university professor. That all changes when someone discovers the secret of the prophet's bones Jack buried in the desert thirteen years ago. With just a single phone call, Jack's back on the run...with even more at stake than ever before. Determined not to risk the lives of his family, he knows the only way to finally be safe is to deliver the bones once and for all.
Except they aren't there. Someone got to the unmarked grave in the Australian outback first, leaving Jack and Espy empty-handed. Desperate, the two begin another globe-spanning race, following the tiniest of clues, to find the one thing that will either save their family or tear apart everything they hold dear.
Archaeologist Jack Hawthorne is back in a new thrilling adventure. The events in "Blood And Bone" take place years after the events of "Elisha's Bones". Jack is now a teacher, settled down, married with two sons, one of whom has a disease. Jack wonders if he should dig up the bones and see if they can heal his son but decides against that. However there are others who want those bones and will do anything to acquire them. "Blood And Bone" is a page-turner, heart-racing, action, suspense thriller. Jack and Espy's lives are in deadly danger as they square off against a secret society and regain their children back alive. Don't start this book late at night because it will be very difficult to put it down or stop thinking about it. I recommend this book highly and am greatly looking forward to Don Hoesel's next adrenaline rush.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blood and Bone (A Jack Hawthorne Adventure Book #3) - eBook
This review is fromBlood and Bone.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting and well written story!

Date:August 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rachel Haugaard
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not far into this book I realized this was part of a series, and that while much of the ground work of the story is repeated in this book, it probably would have made more sense had I first read the other two books in this trilogy by Don Hoesel: Elisha's Bones, and Serpent of Moses. However as I mentioned, much of the previous storyline is mentioned in this novel, making it possible to just read this one book and have a pretty good understanding of the whole series. This book also reminded me a lot of the Babylon Rising series which I read several years back.
Jack Hawthorne and his wife Espy have had many dangerous adventures in the past, but are now living the quiet life of university professors and raising their two young sons, happy to have given up the life of adventurers/archeologists. That all changes one night when they are forced to run for their lives from a group of mysterious strangers invading their home on campus. During their flight, their two young sons are taken hostage and in order to get them back, Jack is told that he will have to recover the bones of the prophet Elisha, which he and his wife had found in a previous adventure, but had hidden in the outback of Australia. Racing to elude the secret society from whom these bones had been stolen as well as a rouge CIA agent desperate to gain control of the bones in the hopes that they would heal his dying wife, Jack and Espy arrive in Australia and dig up the place where they'd hidden the bones over a decade before...only to find that someone else had already discovered their hiding place and moved the bones. After that it's a race against the clock - over several continents - to discover the bones, reveal the mysteries of this secret society, evade the assassins of several different groups who all want them dead for various reasons, and save their boys.
I found the book to be well written, interesting, and hard to put down! A very good story...I just wish I had read the other two books before jumping into this one. :)
I was given a copy of this book by Bethany House Publishers in exchange for this unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blood and Bone (A Jack Hawthorne Adventure Book #3) - eBook
This review is fromBlood and Bone.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Search for Relics of the Biblical Past

Date:August 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
nabagail
Location:Seattle
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I had mixed feelings about “Blood and Bone.” It is a cross between an “Indiana Jones” movie and “CSI.” The story did drag a bit in places, where it felt like it would’ve been better to move on. It was an average read.
A much older, married with children, Jack Hawthorne, professor of Archaeology, is taken by surprise when his friend and neighbor warns him to take his family and leave their home immediately. A rogue CIA agent wants an artifact Jack buried thirteen years ago in the Australian Outback. The artifact/s have been conferred with healing properties by God. In fact, they are the bones of the prophet Ezekiel. The agent’s wife is dying of cancer and he is desperate to find a cure. He is so desperate that he kidnaps Jack and Espy’s children. He promises to kill the boys if the bones are not given to him.
The Hawthorne’s find themselves in a cross the world odyssey. The bones are no longer in Australia. Clues take them to Great Britain, Russia and France. They follow a Pictish symbol from a Venezuelan temple to the Bath Abbey Cemetery. Following the clues, one night they return to the cemetery and exhume a grave. The grave holds an old box with more clues that lead them to Russia. In Saint Petersburg, they scope out the Peter and Paul Fortress and there find an ancient, underground meeting chamber of the Priests of Osiris. Writings in another old book found in the chamber lead them to Paris.
Pursuing the bones of the ancient prophet Ezekiel is not without risks. Jack and Espy's lives are constantly in danger as they are chased across the globe by the rogue agent, The Priests of Osiris and Mossad. It is a breathless journey as they follow a trail leading to the bones and try to evade their would be captors. Earlier I mentioned that this is an average read but I enjoyed it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blood and Bone (A Jack Hawthorne Adventure Book #3) - eBook
This review is fromBlood and Bone.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast paced adventure and a great read.

Date:July 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
churchbooklady
Location:Plano, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by Don Hoesel
Bethany House, 2013
Fans of Indiana Jones and DaVinci Code will enjoy this fast-paced adventure involving mysterious, ancient, secret organizations, biblical relics, and global chases. Dr. Jack Hawthorne, a professor of archaeology at a small North Carolina university, was first introduced in the book Elisha’s Bones. The bones of the Old Testament prophet, Elisha, are believed to have curative powers and have been hidden away for centuries in the possession of an ancient society of protectors. In this third novel featuring Hawthorne, the bones once again are sought by a mysterious adversary who resorts to kidnapping to force Hawthorne and his wife, Espy, to travel to Australia, London, St. Petersburg, and finally Paris in search of the bones, which have disappeared from their hiding place. A good read, full of excitement, mystery, and tension. Recommended.
I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for an honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blood and Bone (A Jack Hawthorne Adventure Book #3) - eBook
This review is fromBlood and Bone.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What an Adventure!

Date:July 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Two things make this book really stand out: the People, and the Adventure.
So my brief thoughts on both will follow!
The people: Mainly Jack and Espy Hawthorne.
Years after surrendering Elisha's Bones to the soil of the Australian desert,
Jack and Espy Hawthorne are settled down in Ellen, North Carolina.
The fact that they live a relatively quiet life does not mean that they gave up their adventurous spirits, not at all! They both live for a new passion now, and have discovered a new challenge: raising a family! Jack and Espy have two sons, Alex and Jim. Jim suffers with cystic fibrosis, and watching him suffer caused Jack and Espy to wonder if Elisha's Bones might help heal their son.
Instead of digging up the ancient bones and hoping that healing power would work through them, the Hawthorne's chose to trust the God whose Power sustains in sickness
and works mighty miracles through of all space and time.
They left the bones buried, where they hoped no one could find them,
not even themselves to use for their child.
Indirectly, however, it is love for their sons that sends Jack and Espy back into the world of danger that they thought they had buried with the Bones....
Even without reading the first two books of their saga, I still cared about them and quickly grew attached to them as I read, which tells you how vivid and memorable
their characters were.
Espy really impressed me as a female lead: resilient, brave, strong, faithful,
and Jack is a very good hero: enterprising, resolute, willing to die to protect his family...and praying that he won't have to.
And the Adventure? Well, it is Adventure with a capital A.
Underground rooms, clues left amidst the tombs, secret societies with enough power and money to have connections in every country, the CIA and the Israeli Mossad
mixed up in the middle of it...
and Jack and Espy not knowing for sure who they should fight, who they should run from,
or where they need to travel next, just being led by the words and the evidence left for them to uncover at each step of the journey.
And all the while, the sand is draining out of the hourglass of time as they race to find the Bones and get their boys given back safely.
Thank you Don Hoesel and Bethany House for my review copy of Blood and Bone!
I think I need to read the rest of the trilogy now!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Blood and Bone (A Jack Hawthorne Adventure Book #3) - eBook
This review is fromBlood and Bone.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Within the covers of this novel lies a mystery of epic proportions…what many are seeking can be used for either for good or evil purposes. While I will now read the authors novel Elisha’s Bones, the first one of his books I read was called, The Serpent of Moses. Here is a small segment of that review: “In the Old Testament, Numbers chapter 21, the Israelites were grumbling and doubting not only Moses, but God. The Israelites battled with and voiced their grumblings, so God acted. He sent snakes to bite them. To save them, Moses was to make a snake emblem, place it on a pole, lift up that pole, and anyone who looked at it would be saved. There are many biblical artifacts that have never been located here on earth. The author takes a true historical event and creates a fictional story that is engrossing and enjoyable.” My rating was a 5+ for The Serpent of Moses and Blood & Bones deserves no less a rating.
With power being sought, Jack, along with his family, is pulled out of their normal daily routine by those who seek the bones of the prophet Elisha. During the escape from people seeking to do them harm, what looks like an avenue of escape and freedom for the family turns into a nightmare. Jack and Espy must follow the instructions given if their hopes of being reunited as a family are to come true.
The challenge to locate the artifact causes the couple to travel the globe trying to stay one step ahead of danger. With options running out, Jack turns to Mossad for help to travel to a foreign country with enough currency to live on until the job is done. However, no longer is the man who forces them on this dangerous mission the only one who has the money and power to acquire the relic. As Jack tries to locate and turn over the relic with the hopes of being able to return to a normal life, those with a darker past catch them. Now what is going to happen to Jack and Espy as well as their sons?
In a work of fiction that is sure to stir the heart and mind of the reader, Blood and Bone brings to light the battle for dominance and self-preservation. Some go into archeology for greedy reasons, others just to prove what some assume isn’t the reality of God, but a myth. The choice before the archeologist is whether to put the relic into the hands of a dangerous being or hide the artifact at the risk of losing the sons he most treasures. I loved the action, adventure and how the husband and wife worked together and supported each other on the dangerous journey. Above all, I love how when it all comes down to it, the author shows what the most important find is for all mankind.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.