Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Summerside Press Love Finds You in Bethlehem, New Hampshire

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Summerside Press Love Finds You in Bethlehem, New Hampshire

When Tom Haskins advertises for a mail-order bride, he never imagines penniless and uneducated Sara McGee. And now that accomplished pianist Annabelle Loving is giving him attention, he can't bear to marry Sara. Will Tom learn the message of the first Bethlehem---that precious gifts don't always come the way they're expected? 320 pages, softcover from Summerside.
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Love Finds You in Bethlehem, New Hampshire
Review 1 for Love Finds You in Bethlehem, New Hampshire
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Peggy Nivison
Historical story taking place in Bethlehem New Hampshire. A young woman answers an ad about becoming the mail order bride of an artist.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love Finds You in Bethlehem, New Hampshire
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Denise
What a lovely little town Bethlehem, New Hampshire is! And you can't help but like Sara. She reminds me of the heroines in books Grace Livingston Hill would write... no money, home or family, but has a gentle spirit and a heart ready to love!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love Finds You in Bethlehem, New Hampshire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
chandralynn
What a wonderful surprise this book was. It was the first Love Finds You book I have read and also the first of Lauralee Bliss' books. I loved it. The New Hampshire mountain setting became a character all its own interacting with the main characters. Readers will long to visit Bethlehem, New Hampshire. The love story between two unlikely people, Sara McGee and Tom Haskins is tender. Readers will find themselves wishing Tom and Sara would just talk about things instead of making so many assumptions. However, that is what makes them human and the story endearing.Tom Haskins has a wonderful life for himself. He is beginning to receive notoriety for his paintings, lives comfortably in his hometown. He has everything except a wife. He advertises for one. Sara McGee has a few precious items that belonged to her mother, and not much else. Her response to Tom's advertisement isn't even penned by her, for she cannot read or write. Theirs is an unlikely relationship and a beautiful love story. The characters are strong, flawed, and faithful. The scenery is beautiful. Grab a cup of hot chocolate, a cozy blanket, and curl up on your favorite couch for a good winter read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love Finds You in Bethlehem, New Hampshire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Liz Tolsma
After reading this book, I want to go live in Bethlehem, New Hampshire. Or take a nice long holiday there. The setting is one of the main characters in this easy read from Lauralee Bliss, as is expected from a Love Finds You in book. As I read, I felt myself walking down the streets of this delightful town more than a hundred years ago. I didnt want to leave.Beyond the setting, Lauralee creates vibrant, real-to-life characters that touch your heart. Tom Haskins a young artist, beginning to make his mark on the world, mentored by the famous Mr. Astor. When he suggests Tom take a bride to further his career, Tom, inspired by a young couple he meets, takes out an ad in a New York City paper. Annabelle Loving, the wealthy socialite, interested in Toms work and precisely the woman Mr. Astor had in mind when he made his suggestion. She could be the key to Toms success. Sara McGee, the destitute young woman who arrives in Bethlehem in response to Tom's ad and who is nothing like Tom expected.Against this beautiful backdrop, as the holidays approach, what will each of these people learn about each other? And about themselves?Another winner for Lauralee Bliss and Summerside Press. Be sure to add it to your list of must reads this holiday season.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love Finds You in Bethlehem, New Hampshire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jo Huddleston
A Mail-Order Bride for Christmas?Accomplished artist Tom Haskins places a newspaper ad for a bride. He envisions his bride-to-be as a refined and educated young woman. Sara McGee is neither When Tom meets Sara at the train station, its obvious to him that he cant marry Sara. But he sees her needs and takes Sara to his home where his sister can help her to learn how to be accepted in Bethlehems society. Will Toms first impression of Sara change while he continues his search for a bride? Will Sara stay where she is ridiculed or will she return to her New York City where she lives on the street? This book is a sweet love story with some characters youll love and some you wont love as much. The setting descriptions are well done and put the New Hampshire snow-covered mountains firmly in your imagination
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love Finds You in Bethlehem, New Hampshire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Robin Bayne
I highly recommend this warm and inviting story by Lauralee Bliss. The characters are believable and interesting and the storyline unfolds to a wonderful ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love Finds You in Bethlehem, New Hampshire
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Delores Liesner
This is not your usual inspirational romance but a deeper view into the emotions of two personal spiritual walks that grow into a tender relationship.Both Tom and Sara reveal through their uncertainty, the insecurity of looking within ones self for life-decisions. Like peeling an onion layer-by-layer, emotions, prejudices, hopes and fears are revealed by both Tom and Sara. Toms masculinity is never in question yet his own character evaluations reveal a man who is tempted to deny Gods gift that feeds his talent a sensitive and sincere heart. Through the support and advice of supporting characters including Toms sister Claire, Mrs. Whitaker, Saras co-workers, Toms friends and admirers, we see mirrored our own tendencies of dependence, and need for confirmation from those around us. The reader finds resolution through observing that it is not until both Tom and Sara individually give their fears and hopes to the King of all Kings that they find what they sought in each other.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love Finds You in Bethlehem, New Hampshire
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2009
Mail-Order Bride . . . or Not?My absolute favorite read is a mail-order bride story, so when I discovered Love Finds You in Bethlehem, New Hampshire, and read the back cover blurb, I was eager to get a copy. The artist who placed the advertisement, Thomas Haskins, takes one look at Sara McGee and realizes he cant marry the penniless, uneducated and unkempt woman who arrives in his posh resort town. Being a man of honor, he befriends Sara, who, under his chaperone sister's tutelage, learns how to be a lady. However, Toms caught the eye of a cultured and determined socialite who wants him as her husband and entices him with a promised trip to study art in Italy, an offer that sorely tempts him. Lauralee Bliss has created two characters I liked, although at times I was none too pleased with Thomass choices. A kindhearted man whos decided it would serve his career to marry--and ease his lonely heart--his initial prejudice and aloofness toward Sara troubled me. However, I loved watching the change the Lord worked in his heart. Sara is a sympathetic character. I felt for this young woman whod lost everything and everyone, forcing her to live on the streets of New York City. She shows inner strength and a strong faith, which come to her aid as she deals with those whove misjudged her. Can two people from such different worlds ever find happiness? Bliss turned the tables on the traditional mail-order bride story, and I like what she did. Theres plenty of emotion and tension between Thomas and Sara. I enjoyed getting a look at the affluent Gilded Age through the eyes of characters from such diverse backgrounds. Bliss brought the setting to life. And I liked the fact that Thomas is an artist, a profession Ive rarely encountered in a romance but works so well in this one. If youre looking for a sweet, traditional romance or a mail-order bride story with a twist, Im sure youll enjoy Love Finds You in Bethlehem, New Hampshire.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love Finds You in Bethlehem, New Hampshire
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2009
Thomas Hasken, was on his way UP. He was a gifted and talented, artist, whose painting had caught the eyes of many. Including Mr. Astor of the Astor's of New York. One thing was missing from his life however. A wife. Thomas was not married, and was ready to marry and settle into a life of caring for a wife. Mr Astor all but commanded him to find a wife, telling him that love and a good wife, would inspire him to greater heights in his art career.But how? He had no prospects. He didn't date anyone, nor know anyone he was interested in dating. A couple, who were newlyweds, had a suggestion. Place an ad for a wife. That was how they had met and married, and it was most successful for them. So he did, with their help and guidance. Sara McGee was a young woman, living on the streets of New York City. Her benefactress Mrs. Whitaker, answered Thomas' ad for Sara. Describing Sara in glowing terms, and leaving out some facts, she had all but convinced Thomas, just through her letters that Sara was the perfect bride for him.Sara arrives and to Thomas' dismay, it is easy to see that this young lady, lacks much in her training. He is dismayed at the turn of events. Add in a beautiful socialite, from Boston, the cousin, of his close friend's wife. A socialite who seems to be totally smitten with him, a woman who is polished and skilled in all the social graces. A tangled web is what Thomas now has. A web that is leaving him uninspired to paint, and very confused.Watch lovely Sara blossom into a women, sure of herself, and developed into a vision of beauty. Follow along as Lauralee brings us a story of love, overcoming and faith. A lovely written story, one to share with friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love Finds You in Bethlehem, New Hampshire
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Betty Anne Bantz
The year is 1890, the height of the Gilded Age. Its not that Tom Haskins avoids people, or women, he is just more occupied with his paintings than his future. When his best friend and a rich client both point out that it's time he look for a wife, two things happen. The client persuades him to write an ad for a wife, and posts when he returns home to New York City. And his best friend conspires to introduce him to his visiting sister-in-law, Annabelle, a Boston Socialite.Meanwhile, a motherly shopkeeper in New York answers the ad on behalf of a homeless orphan shes befriended, a girl who neither reads nor writes, hoping that Miss Sara McGee will have a better future than the city can provide. Tom decides to send the money for her train ticket to New Hampshire. But when she arrives and he sees just how poor she is, he is shocked. And so is she. She runs and hides from his jeering friends. With a backload of orders for his famous landscape paintings, will Tom be able to find time to pick the right wife?Since I summered in New Hampshire until I was eighteen, this setting brought up pleasant memories of the White Mountains and quaint villages that welcome the summer (and sometimes winter) people. Its a spectacular background for such a poignant love story. It made me homesick for New England.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love Finds You in Bethlehem, New Hampshire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathleen L. Maher
Ms. Bliss has crafted an unforgettable Christmas love story, set in where else?Bethlehem. New Hampshire, that is. Set in the snow-capped White Mountains in 1890 with romantic sleigh-rides, breath-taking imagery and powerful emotion, Love finds you in Bethlehem, New Hampshire delivers a sweeping romance that keeps the reader guessing until the last page how two souls as different and yet the same as artist Tom Haskins and Sara McGee, the New York City orphan, will forge a life together. Each character, from romantic rival Annabelle Loving to Claire Haskins, Toms devoted sister, to an assortment of supporting cast, lends dimension to this tale of two different worlds coming together in love. Can Tom overcome latent prejudices to see beyond the superficial to a soul rich in the important things? Can Sara find the pluck and courage to overcome disadvantage and find confidence to be the bride of a world-class artist? This rags-to-riches tale left me turning the pages to find the answers. I read it in one day, which is unusual for me. I found I could relate to the heroines plight more than most romances with Blisss careful and authentic rendering. She had me crying by page 33, and uplifted and satisfied with an inspiring conclusion.A must-read for your holiday season, or any time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.