Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Summerside Press Love Finds You in Lonesome Prairie, Montana

Summerside Press Love Finds You in Lonesome Prairie, Montana

In 1890, Julia Cavanaugh travels west from New York City to unite orphans in her care with new families. Imagine her horror when she discovers that she's to be "delivered," too---as bride to an uncouth miner! But with no return fare, Julia's options are bleak. What does God have planned for her in Montana? 320 pages, softcover from Summerside.
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love Finds You in Lonesome Prairie, Montana
Review 1 for Love Finds You in Lonesome Prairie, Montana
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've decided that one of my reading goals was to make my way through the Love Finds You series and today's book is No#2 as I had read Love Finds You in Martha's Vineyard. What I love about the Love Finds You series, is that it all depends on the author whether the setting be contemporary like Melody Carlson's Martha Vineyard or a Historical fiction like Tricia Goyer's Lonesome Prairie. In Lonesome Prairie, we first meet Julia Cavanaugh, she has been a help and like a mother to the children in the orphanage especially Shelby and Bea. When their headmistress announces that she is getting married , the girls are being shipped off onto the Orphan Trains. Julia accompanies them to the town of Big Sandy and then to the small-town of Lonesome Prairie in which will become Bea and Shelby's new home. It seems though, that the headmistress failed to mention to Julia was that she had sold Julia to become a bride to a local gold miner Horace whom Julia does not hold any feelings for. It soon becomes apparent that the only eyes that Julia likes is the local Pastor Isaac , Isaac however is hiding a dark guilt as he has vowed never to let his heart be swayed by love as his first love Bethany was killed. Can God open Julia and Isaac eyes and heart's ready to be loved ? Has God got in store a better suited bride for Horace rather than Julia ? and for Fun, discover how the town got it's name in the introduction to the book.
Another great historical installment of the Love Finds You Series and I look forward to my journey of completing the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love Finds You in Lonesome Prairie, Montana
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another wonderful LFY book

Date:January 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Julia has been an orphan since childhood, and all she longs for is love and a home. Widower Parson Isaac Shepard vowed to God never to get married again, so that he would not be distracted. Yet, Isaac and Julia are drawn together. This story pulled me in and I couldn't put it down. I read 3/4 of it in one night and finished the rest the next day. I had to find out how the problems in Julia & Isaac's way would be handled. I've read a few Love Finds You books, and this is one of my favorites.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love Finds You in Lonesome Prairie, Montana
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
LouLou
This book was wonderful. I really enjoyed reading it so much I didn't want it to end. Such and inspiring story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love Finds You in Lonesome Prairie, Montana
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 26, 2009
Wonderful book! Tricia Goyer and Ocieanna Fleiss have teamed up to give us a great story. The characters are true to life, and we are led to feel with Julia as she says good-bye to her orphan charges. We also feel her personal dilemma and questions regarding her future. Life in Lonesome Prairie, Montana, can be "purty lonely", as a local man described it. If he found it so, imagine how it must have been for Julia, coming from New York by train! What will she find in Lonesome Prairie? Love, of course! If you are a fan of historical fiction set in the prairies, this book is is 'must-read', and even if you have never read this type of book, do give it a try. You will be hooked!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love Finds You in Lonesome Prairie, Montana
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 24, 2009
I really loved the message of this book: trusting God. This is something we all need to work on, and I love the way these authors weaved the storyline and portrayed their characters. Excellent job! The storyline was believable and easy-to-follow, while not being boring in any way. The feelings and dialogue of the characters were also very well done. I loved how they showed that sometimes what we think God wants from us isnt always what He wants from us. Sometimes we allow our fears or something else to blind us to what God really wants for us. The authors did a very good job of showing this problem and how it can affect us and those around us. Add this to your to-read if you havent already!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love Finds You in Lonesome Prairie, Montana
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Angela
I first found Tricia Goyer on facebook. Seriously. I started following her, and then started reading her books! What a way to find great new authors to read! Then I got invited to participate in the blog tour for her newest book, I absolutely jumped up and down at the chance to become involved, and that was before reading the book, now that I've read it, I can honestly say I am blessed to be involved. Tricia's love of God, romance, and faith show in Love Finds You In Lonesome Prairie Montana. Taking a young girl from New York City, and placing her in old west Montana gives for tons of mishaps, example, the snake falling out of the "roof" onto her head during a storm. The story of Julia is a great read, it sucks you in from the first paragraph and keeps you there till the last syllable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love Finds You in Lonesome Prairie, Montana
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2009
When Julia finds herself heading west to oversee an orphan train and finds herself stuck in a tiny town in Western MT, she is confused about what she should do. Her slightly odd employer seems to have signed her up for a marriage as a mail order bride without her permission and without knowing the bridegroom was less than desirable! No money and no place to stay, Julia casts herself upon the mercy of the good people of the town for shelter and food. In exchange she work teaching the children of the town! Meanwhile, the minister of the town is stuck trying to deal with matchmakers, accidental murder, and family issues and is surprised to find himself attracted to the newcomer despite a vow to stay unmarried. I have read a few of these Love Finds you series and every single one of them has been really good! I actually went out to buy some of them because I have enjoyed them so much. This book was no exception. It is funny, one mishap after another in some ways, but also puts some great history about that part of MT in there. This humorous romance will keep you entertained and leave you happy in the end! I have to say I did feel a bit irritated by the character of Mrs. Hamlin....she just seemed to be too absent minded and mistake prone to actually organize a successful orphan train, but maybe it was her new husband? Overall this was a great book, this humorous romance will keep you entertained and leave you happy in the end!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love Finds You in Lonesome Prairie, Montana
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Love Finds You in Lonesome Prairie, Montana by Tricia Goyer and Ocieanna Fleiss is one of the best in the Love Finds You series. Julia Cavanaugh is saying good-bye to all that she's known in her life after her benefactor, Mrs. Hamlin, marries and closes the girls' orphanage the two women have run. Julia escorts the remaining girls on an Orphan Train out West finding them good homes with the intention of returning to work in Mrs. Hamlin's home as a domestic, but Mrs. Hamlin has played a trick on her. Julia has been "sold" as a mail-order bride to a filthy and old, but good-hearted, gold prospector in Lonesome Prairie, Montana. Parson Isaac Shepherd does all he can to take care of his beloved flock in the town, and when Julia arrives, that means trying to fix her marital situation. Sparks soon fly between the two, but he's made a promise to never make his preaching suffer by getting married, and she's been promised to another! The Love Finds You series is a throwback to Christian romances of old; nearly everyone is good at heart, and every town is one where the reader would love to relocate. In other volumes in the series, the writing has suffered and been a bit hackneyed, but Goyer and Fleiss make the Old West come to life with their beautiful and stark descriptions of the land and the solitude it creates. The dialogue between Julia and Isaac sparks and zings in a fresh and thoroughly enjoyable manner. The story has some depth with its depiction of prejudice against Native Americans, but its real strength is thelikable characters and sweet romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love Finds You in Lonesome Prairie, Montana
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2009
I was fairly certain I was going to enjoy Love Finds You in Lonesome Prairie, Montana, and I was right. This book was truly a pleasure to read from start to finish. The authors have done a wonderful job transporting the reader to the prairie of Montana in 1889. I so enjoyed the characters and the charm of this small and welcoming community.Not only is this a sweet love story, it also has a strong Christian message about redemption and trusting God. I like to read a Christian book that has an encouraging and uplifting message without seeming forced or out of place. The fact that Isaac is a preacher made it easy to transition to a spiritual message that I think readers will enjoy without feeling too preachy. Overall, this book is classic Christian historical fiction and can be enjoyed by many. This was a very nice, relaxing read. It was exactly what I was hoping it would be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love Finds You in Lonesome Prairie, Montana
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2009
Julia Cavanaugh is an orphan, her parents died when she was a young girl and she has lived in an orphanage even since. But now Julia is grown and works in the orphanage taking care of the little girls there, and she loves them like a mother loves her children. Imagine her dismay to learn the orphanage is closing and the children will go on the Orphan Train to the West. She will travel with them, but a surprise lies in wait for Julia, one she would have never imagined her benefactress Mrs Hamlin arranging. But imagine the horror of finding out that for the price of a ticket from New York, you had been promised in marriage to a prospector/miner. An old one at that. Follow this story and learn what becomes of the little girls, what becomes of Julia and what exactly takes place in Lonesome Prairie Montana, that changes the lives of many of the citizens there. An exciting story, with a wonderful story of redemption and love. The collaboration of Tricia and Ocieanna is truly the results of a wonderful book. 348 Pages $12.99 US 4 starsThis book was provided for review purposes only, no cash or payment was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love Finds You in Lonesome Prairie, Montana
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary Brennan
Tricia Goyers and Ocieanna Fleiss did a wonderful job of capturing the old west in this historical love story, with the exception of one minor mistake on page 113. "Wild" Bill Hickok was not married to Calamity Jane, although she would have liked it that way, he left his bride of 6 months to travel to Deadwood,ND where he was shot and killed. I saw the love letter his wife wrote to him the day before he died. Her name was Marrianne or Margaret or something like that. Other than that small mistake the story was very believable and very sweet. The hero is a devout parson,who feels he can never marry and the heroine is an orphaned girl.seeking a family. They both learn important lessons from our gracious,loving God, as they find their place in Lonesome Prairie, Montana
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.