Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Summerside Press Love Finds You in Bridal Veil, Oregon

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Summerside Press Love Finds You in Bridal Veil, Oregon

Turn-of-the-century schoolteacher Margaret Garvey risks everything by taking in two young runaways---only to learn that they may be involved in murder and sabotage at the local sawmill. The arrival of two men who love her complicates things even further. Can Margaret clear her head and heart to make the most important decisions of her life? 320 pages, softcover from Summerside.
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love Finds You in Bridal Veil, Oregon
Review 1 for Love Finds You in Bridal Veil, Oregon
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Historical Romance

Date:May 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Melissa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
This love story between Margaret and the two men that she cares for is very touching.. Margaret thought that Nathaniel had left her several years ago, and she wasn't sure whether to trust him or not when he returns to Bridal Veil.
As the Community of this small town pulls together to try and solve the murder of one of their own,... Margaret meets two Runaway children that are trying to escape to a better way of life.
Without giving too much of the story away...
This story had me turning the pages to see what happens next, it was hard to put down.
I recommend this book to anyone that loves Historical romances!
I also enjoyed the historical facts about this community and the Author's family in the back of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love Finds You in Bridal Veil, Oregon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great Christian romance

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Teresa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
again I absolutely love the way Miralee writes her stories, she draws you in right from the beginning and keeps you there till you finish the book in one day, as I did with this book, and with this one it really touched my heart because of the message she wove through the story of how no matter what looks impossible, God will help you through it, and it was just the right book to read at the right time in my life to be reminded of that. God has definitely given Miralee a wonderful and beautiful talent in her writing. thank you and keep them coming
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love Finds You in Bridal Veil, Oregon
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet story

Date:October 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a sweet love story. The setting was nice, the writing is good. I like it that there was a mystery in the story. It was easy to guess which man Margaret would choose, but I enjoyed it nevertheless.
Because it was predictable I give this 4 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love Finds You in Bridal Veil, Oregon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tim Gould
Fans of Miralee Ferrell will not be disappointed with this book. Male and female alike will find an interesting setting, a heartfelt love story and characters that keep you guessing. Truly one of my favorites by Miralee so far.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love Finds You in Bridal Veil, Oregon
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Love Finds You in Bridal Veil, Oregon by Miralee Ferrell is a thoroughly enjoyable addition to the Love Finds You series. Margaret Garvey thought her chance at love had disappeared four years ago when the man she loved, Nathaniel, left town without her, but Andrew has been reawakening those emotions. However, the secrets she discovers her father had been holding until his death will shake both relationships. Throw in a murder in the small logging town of Bridal Veil, Oregon and a couple of runaways and Margaret is pulled in several directions. Readers will enjoy the suspense as to which man Margaret will choose that is maintained throughout the first half of the novel, as well as how closely Margaret's struggle with faith is tied to her trust in her father. The story about the children isn't as strong, Sammie annoyed me to no end, and the end seemed a bit too tidy. Ferrell does a great job of portraying life in the Northwest with its focus on logging and family. It's the strong characterization of Margaret that makes the novel shine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love Finds You in Bridal Veil, Oregon
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patricia A Perry
Here's what I most enjoyed about Miralee Ferrell's historical romance, Love Finds You in Bridal Veil Oregon. When I read a romance, I don't mind the predictability inherent in the genre. Romances--different from love stories--promise a happy ending. The hero and heroine will end up together, regardless of what happens between Page One and The End. The difference in Bridal Veil is we don't quite know who the hero is. Schoolteacher Margaret Garvey has two good men in her life, and Ferrell manages to make them both sympathetic. The unfolding plot shows the reader much about the moral fiber of the three leads in this novel set in an Oregon logging community in the early 1900's. I loved having my allegiance tampered with while I read. Well done, Ms. Ferrell!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love Finds You in Bridal Veil, Oregon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie Lynne Costello
Ms. Ferrell did a wonderful job with this story. She brought Bridal Veil to life and makes you feel like you are right there. The storyline kept me turning the pages to see which young man the heroine would choose. And an added plus was the subplot of two orphan children. The story never lags. It keeps you interested until the last page. I highly recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love Finds You in Bridal Veil, Oregon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vickie McDonough
At sixteen, Margaret Garvey gave her heart to a man, but after promising to marry her, he left town and she never heard from him again. Trusting men hasnt come easy since then, but four years later, she thinks she may have found the perfect man for her. Andrew is wonderful, but when she learns he harbors a secret, doubts start creeping in. And then Nathaniel returns, stirring up past feelings. Whats a woman to do? Can she trust her heart to make the right choice?I loved this book. The logging community of Bridal Veil Falls, OR, is fascinating and the characters interesting. There are plenty of twists and turns that keep you guessing. I especially liked that you couldnt tell which man Margaret would end up with until almost the end. Great job Ms. Ferrell!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love Finds You in Bridal Veil, Oregon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2010
Miralee Ferrell has done it again. I enjoyed her first book in this series, Love Finds You in Last Chance, California, and looked forward to another of her stories. This one was every bit as good, if not better. I was pulled into the tale from the start, and the mystery, action, and strong, likable characters kept me turning pages. I rarely have time to read a book cover to cover, but I made an exception for this riveting read. I had to find out which of the men captured Margarets heart, who the murderer was, and how some special secondary characters fared. Ferrell does an excellent job bringing the historic company-owned logging town to life, delighting a reader with unexpected twists, and providing a contented sigh with her satisfying and surprising conclusion. I highly recommend this book to readers who enjoy historical romance and tightly woven tales that keep one guessing until the end. My thanks to Miralee Ferrell for my autographed review copy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love Finds You in Bridal Veil, Oregon
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Karen Witemeyer
A murder mystery, a love triangle, company-town politics, and a pair of runaway orphans--you'll find all this and more in Miralee Ferrell's wonderful novel set against the backdrop of a turn-of-the-century logging community. Filled with rich details that include actual historic events and characters that are relateable, this story delivers.True romance fans might find the multiple points of views for the two love interests in the story a bit disconcerting, as I did. Accustomed to only one hero's POV, it was difficult to know who to root for when we were taken inside both Nathaniel's and Andrew's heads. However, those who enjoy plot lines that keep you guessing until the end, will be delighted with the results. I was more than 3/4 of the way through the book before I could chose between the suitors.The spiritual theme of learning to trust in God even when we don't understand why certain things happen is handled well. I particularly liked how Margaret continued to struggle with her ability to trust even after realizing her need to leave things in God's hands. So realistic to the struggles of real Christians.Readers who enjoy Christian historical fiction with a dose of romance, suspense, and drama will find this a delightful read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love Finds You in Bridal Veil, Oregon
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
This was a good story and fairly well-paced. The writing was mature and there was some mystery to the plot. I enjoyed the characters and the tension, though the story was far from edgy. It did have a good message about real love versus the attraction of youth. I felt like the story was a bit too long, though, but it was still a great read. I loved that Margaret had to choose the right man. Nice conflict there because I honestly didn't know which way she was going to go myself. The part of the book about the mill pond and the fire made me think of Marlo Schalesky's story Veil of Fire. However, the year and the state were different, so it's obviously not the same historical event. The fire scenes were briskly paced and I felt the sense of peril the towns people must have experienced. I read this book fairly quickly, though I was sick in bed most of the time. It was a nice historical and I can see why it's popular. I recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love Finds You in Bridal Veil, Oregon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Molly,Book Reviews by Buuklvr81
Wow! Wow! Wow! I absolutely LOVED this book. Miralee Ferrell did an EXCELLENT job! The characters blended perfectly with the plot. It's a historical book, which I am a sucker for, but it's got humor and love in it, too. Those 3 things immediately drew me in, transported me back in time, and held me there til the very last page. I truly felt a part of Margaret's(the heroine) circle of friends. I was wearing the dresses, going to the socials, feeling the love of all the towns people. It was an amazing experience, reading this book. Bridal Veil is a story of loss, friendship, forgiveness, trust and love. Miralee Ferrell combines this with a simple touch of humor and a powerful lesson from God, making this a book I won't soon forget, as well as, one that goes to the top of my recommendation list of wonderful 5 star books. High praises to Miralee Ferrell on an EXCELLENT addition to the Love Finds You collection.*Special thanks to the author, Miralee Ferrell, for sending me a review copy of this AMAZING book*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Love Finds You in Bridal Veil, Oregon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Deborah Piccurelli
Miralee Ferrell's novels never disappoint. In Love Finds You in Bridal Veil Oregon, Margaret Garvey's heart was broken at sixteen when the man she promised to elope with left town without her. Four years later, she begins to let herself feel again, when he moves back to Bridal Veil, and back into her life. Meanwhile, there is murder, orphans, a huge fire, and other tragedies that Margaret has to deal with, even as she deals with her own problems, decisions, and relationship with God. This book was an engorssing read, filled with rich details of the setting. The characters were fully fleshed out, and the story moved along at a fast pace. The romance was sweet and satisfying, as was the surprise near the end. This book is definitely a keeper!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Love Finds You in Bridal Veil, Oregon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2010
I was pleasantly surprised with the latest book I was sent to review, Love Finds You in Bridal Veil Oregon by Miralee Ferrell.Miralee tells a sweet (but not sappy) story of love and trusting God in all things.Margaret is recovering from a broken heart and beginning to accept the attentions of man #2 (while rejecting creepy #3), when man #1 arrives back in town. Ah, yes.Past miscommunication is revealed, jealousy ensues, tragedy strikes, mystery lurks, and love prevails.Hehee. That made me laugh writing that. ;-)But, tis the truth! Its all in the book with a little surprise (that Id wondered at!) at the ending!Margaret was a character I could easily relate to. Oh, no, I havent had jealousy ensue over me, but her struggle to trust God in all circumstances is something I think we all can understand!Here are a couple of lines that I loved:"She shook her head, frustration and doubt warring inside. Id prayed about it for weeks, and I believe God told me it was right.[.] stared into her eyes for a long moment. God wouldnt tell you to sneak off against your fathers wishes. He tells us to honor our parentsGod doesnt go against His Word.How often do we do what we think God says?? Or what we feel God told us?? Hmm better check it with Gods Word! They are always in agreement. Always.I really enjoyed Love Finds You in Bridal Veil Oregon and wouldnt mind Miralee writing a sequel. Id like to find out how Sammie and Joel turn out
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Love Finds You in Bridal Veil, Oregon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2010
In Love Finds You in Bridal Veil Oregon, Miralee Ferrell paints a picture so vivid various scenes played like a movie in my mind. The tension created by this author will propel readers through to the end. I especially enjoyed the surprise ending--one of the best I've ever read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Love Finds You in Bridal Veil, Oregon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2010
I LOVED this book!! Miralee Ferrell did an excellent job with LOVE FINDS YOU IN BRIDAL VEIL, OREGON and I highly recommend reading this book. This historical romance was a joy to read, with believable characters from the past and plenty of action to never be dull. The author's descriptions of the area made it easy for me to visualize the setting as I read, and the faith message was presented in a very meaningful way without "preaching" - - I am definitely a Miralee Ferrell fan! 5 STARS!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Love Finds You in Bridal Veil, Oregon
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
booksbyjanice
Love Finds You in Bridal Veil Oregon is a story steeped with a rich history of the area in and around Multnomah Falls, and you can almost see the water as you read. Those who've been following me (Janice Hanna Thompson) on facebook know that I broke a cardinal rule while reading this book. I jumped to the end of the story to see which of the two heroes the heroine ends up giving her heart to. Shame on me! Getting my answer didn't keep me from wanting to read, thankfully. And I'm tickled that the heroine went with the "right" guy in the end. (I tried to nudge her along as I read, but for a while there, she didn't appear to be listening to me!) This is a lovely story, filled with all sorts of twists and turns. Unlike many traditional romances, it's written in multiple POVs. Lots to absorb, so I took my time reading. I love the addition of the children to the story. Really upped the ante, as did the fire scene, and the villainous "Cruella DeVille-like" guardian of the children, Mrs. Stedman. (We all need someone to hate in these stories, don't we?!) The book had a bit of a surprising ending, but I won't give that away. Instead, I'll just say, "Run out and pick up a copy for yourself." In fact, while you're at it, take a look at all of the new Love Finds You books. I just saw a new one set in Hershey, PA. Can't wait to get a copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Love Finds You in Bridal Veil, Oregon
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patti Shene
Love Finds You in Bridal Veil is the story of a young woman whose marriage plans are interrupted by her fathers well-intended meddling. She learns of her fathers deception after his death. The story tells of Margarets emotional and spiritual journey when her former sweetheart returns to Bridal Veil. The hazards of the logging trade are skillfully threaded throughout the book, adding excitement and authenticity to the story.Mixed in to the plot is the presence of another important man in her life and her sense of responsibility to a pair of orphans who arrive in town on the run from their abusive caretaker. Margaret searches her heart and discovers Gods will for her life as she struggles to protect the children from harm. They are under scrutiny as possible suspects in a mysterious murder.The author does well with character development. The unique trait she gives to the orphan Joel and his sister Sammies protectiveness toward her brother adds flavor and depth to the story. I enjoyed the twist that Miralee uses to finish her entertaining tale.I look forward to reading more from this talented author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Love Finds You in Bridal Veil, Oregon
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Delia Latham
She was only sixteen when Nathaniel Cooper shattered her world, leaving town without her after she agreed to elope with him. Four years later, Margaret Garvey is at long last beginning to open her heart to handsome, gentle Andrew Browning. But then Nathaniel returns to the small logging community of Bridal Veil, Oregon. His shocking revelation as to his reason for leaving could destroy Margarets belief in everythingand everyoneshes ever trusted.In the midst of a desperate soul-search, the young school teacher takes in two orphans on the run from an abusive foster parent. When circumstances point to one of her temporary charges as a suspect in the murder of a local man, Margarets position in the community, along with her reputation, is challenged.Its been awhile since she fully trusted God, but she finds at this time in her life that only He has the answers to all her questions. She waits and prays, determined to protect the orphaned children while painfully torn between the two men, whose reactions to her situation are in complete opposition. Then a raging firestorm threatens to destroy the town, and both of her suitors are in the thick of the danger. Somewhere in the midst of her pleas for their safety, Margaret sees what her heavenly Father had planned for her all along.An interesting tale with a couple of genuine surprises for the reader. I enjoyed Love Finds You in Last Chance, California by this author, and she doesnt disappoint with this second contribution to the Love Finds You collection. She brings an entertaining story full of well-rounded characters, packs it with accurate geographical and historical detail, and then peppers in all the right ingredients to keep those pages turning long into the night. Its a genuinely good book that lovers of Christian fiction wont want to miss.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Love Finds You in Bridal Veil, Oregon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kathleen L. Maher
Miralee Ferrell has captured my undying loyalty with her suspenseful plot of intrigue, romance, and redemption in Summerside's Love Finds You in Bridal Veil, Oregon. From its beautiful cover art to its extremely surprising ending, this book drew me right into the Northwest logging town at the turn of the century and into the hearts of her characters.The prologue sets conflict in motion as Margaret Garvey's well-meaning father sabotages her impending marriage to Nathaniel Cooper, making her think Nathaniel has left her without a word. Fast forward four years, and Mr. Garvey is on his deathbed, but expires before he can confess.Enter handsome and faithful Andrew Browning, the young man Mr. Garvey had asked to look after Margaret before he died. Andrew's polite overtures leave Margaret wondering if he is merely fulfilling an obligation to her, or if he feels a personal connection. When Nathaniel comes back to Bridal Veil, she has enough emotions to sort through, but her life is about to become even more complicated with the arrival of a run-away brother and sister, and the coinciding murder of a neighbor.Can she protect these orphans from accusations against them? Will she choose the right man? And will a secret buried in a box for four years tear apart her trust in men? The questions build in intensity as twist after turn kept me riding a logging flume of suspense to find out whodunnit, who wins the girl, and what is to become of the children. The last few pages had the most surprising and redemptive ending I have yet to read in fiction.Ferrell creates a story that will captivate and transport to a story world full of sensory imagery, adventure and emotion and leave the reader with a deeply satisfying message of God's provision.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>