Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Summerside Press Love Finds You in Hershey, Pennsylvania

Summerside Press Love Finds You in Hershey, Pennsylvania

After a series sour events, widowed chef Sadie Spencer looks forward to savoring the sweet side of life. She moves to Hershey with her daughter and opens a restaurant---and so does a Russian entrepreneur. Will she be able to keep up with her competitor---and find a love that's simply icing on the cake?
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love Finds You in Hershey, Pennsylvania
Review 1 for Love Finds You in Hershey, Pennsylvania
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A decent read

Date:February 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jillybean12
Location:Barre, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this because it was reasonably priced and I grew up in the Hershey area. It was well-written, the storyline was generally consistent and the characters mostly realistic. Although I find romance novels 98% predictable, this had a few diversions on its way to the expected outcome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love Finds You in Hershey, Pennsylvania
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2010
Sadie moves back to her home town after the loss of her husband. She cares for her Mother who is dying of cancer until she dies. She then opens a restaurant and is doing pretty well with it. She has a 4 year old daughter about to turn 5. Her best friend all her life, Jasper, helps her with her daughter by watching her after school and other times when needed. Sadie takes Jasper for granted because he has always been there for her. Then a Russian starts coming into her restaurant and she hears he plans to open a restaurant across the street from her. She is a competitive person and sets out to try to find out what his plans are. When a Chocolate Contest is planned, she obsesses about making the perfect dessert although she cannot make a dessert for her life. She is good at all foods but desserts. What follows will keep you laughing as she tries and tries to make the perfect dessert. It looks good on the outside when she gets to the competition but her reputation at desserts is well known. One of the things I liked about this book was it was a good stress reliever. You laughed at all Kylie's volcano experiences. Kylie is Sadie's daughter. She has a thing for the toilet and putting stuff in it. She calls it her volcano. I thought back to some of the stuff my two daughters did when they were young but none compared to the volcano. Sadie's Dad comes to town but Sadie cannot forgive him and give him a second chance for a long time. He had been in and out of her life most her life. But there are many areas where a second chance is needed. I had to laugh when the Russian is taken to the hospital with an allergy to nuts during Kylie's 5 year old birthday party. Sadie had asked her chef to add half peanut oil to the cake. A book you cannot put down from beginning to end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love Finds You in Hershey, Pennsylvania
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan Brooks
This was a light read book. It was easy to read and kept my interest. The many references to things in Hershey made me want to visit there.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love Finds You in Hershey, Pennsylvania
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2010
Love Finds You in Hershey, Pennsylvania is the sometimes sweet, sometimes sour tale of Sadie Spencers journey towards learning to trust and learning to let go. This book will really make you think about your priorities. What are you making into a big deal that doesnt need to be? What are you neglecting that is really important? Im definitely going to be shuffling some things around since reading this book.Jasper is amazing! He had so much patience and forgiveness, that I was shamed at my own lack in those areas. Grace is something I struggle with and I related to Sadie with her struggle to let go and give people grace like she has been given. Dmitri is great. I would LOVE to see him come back and have his own story made into a book. (HINT, HINT, CERELLA!) ;) I look forward to seeing what other books this author will come out with in the future!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love Finds You in Hershey, Pennsylvania
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dolly
Here is a book that has it all. If you enjoy fiction, then heads up! This story is not only full of romance but intriguing with a mysterious catch. The story takes place in Hershey, PA (where else?) with a young entrepreneur named Sadie (what a sweet name), who just opened her own restaurant called Suncatchers, (what a catchy name). A handsome Russian man moves in and wants to start his own business right across the street from Sadies restaurant. Sadie is almost positive he is the enemy and ready to take her business. But things quickly change and you will never guess how. Interspersed throughout the book, Sadies life take quick turns to the right and then to the left, always leaving you mystified as to what is coming next. Sadies young daughter, Kylie, who is the joy of her life, is far wiser than most 5 year olds and amidst all the commotion and confusion in her young life, she is the rock that holds Sadie together. This book will take you to a place that is full of surprises, joy, laughter and of course tears. You will find Gods love, forgiveness, compassion and joy all wrapped up in a neatly tied bow. The author, Cerella D. Sehcrist blends her thoughts, words and expressions in such a way, that you feel you are right in the midst of Sadies life. Whether you are 16 or 60 you will love this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love Finds You in Hershey, Pennsylvania
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carrie Turansky
I throughly enjoyed Love Finds You in Hershey, Pennsylvania by Cerella D. Sechrist!The author did a great job creating memorable characters and putting them in challenging situations that kept me turning the pages to see what would happen next. I especially enjoyed the relationship between Sadie and her daughter Kylie. As a mother of five kids myself, I remember some of those funny experiences from when they were preschool age, and that really added to my enjoyment of the story. Jasper's love for Sadie and Kylie was also very well done. I was sorry to say goodbye to these characters!I enjoyed the humorous situations in the story. They were a good balance to the issues Sadie was facing with her father and with her business. The themes of giving and receiving forgiveness as well as trusting God were well woven into the story.Congratulations to Cerella D. Sechrsit for writing such an outstanding debut novel! I will look forward to reading her next book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love Finds You in Hershey, Pennsylvania
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2010
Love Finds You in Hershey, Pennsylvania by Cerella D. Sechrist is a wonderfully charming book that you will not want to miss!I truly did love this story. The author has the most wonderful sense of humor. I love a book that gets me to laugh out loud and there were times when I was nearly crying with laughter during this book. The story has a few twists that keep you hanging on and guessing as to what's going to happen. It's the characters that make this story special, in my opinion. She has created some absolutely wonderful characters in this story!There's family drama and romance as well as faith issues and every day problems that we all face at one time or another. I would highly recommend this book to anyone. It will hook you from the beginning and keep you hooked until the end. I personally could not put it down once I started.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love Finds You in Hershey, Pennsylvania
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cheryl
What a fabulously sweet break-out novel. In Sadie Spencer, Cerella Sechrist has created a well rounded real heroine we all can relate to. Her life is far from perfect - she's a working single mother trying to raise her little handful Kylie, who has an obsession with the volcano - oh I mean the toilet! ;) Sadie's own obsession with desserts and perfection all add unnecessary fuel to her relationship with her best friend and rock, Jasper, making for a very combustible situation. This truly inspiring romance has everything - fun, quirky characters, who keep you laughing; a plot rife with solid conflict including a prodigal father, a mysterious Russian, and a dessert contest all set in the magical chocolate mecca of Hershey, PA. It's a must read for anyone who loves a good story of forgiveness, true love and chocolate!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love Finds You in Hershey, Pennsylvania
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Renee
Okay I should have waited until the end of the year to read this book...you know save the best for last and that sort of thing. I LOVED this book and I'm so excited to add Cerella Sechrist to my "must read" author list. What a way to start the new year!I love the Love Finds You series but Love Finds You in Hershey, Pennsylvania, is by far, my favorite. There's a little bit of everything in it, including romance (*sigh* some scenes in this book are soooo romantic, think Romeo and Juliet balcony scene) and humor (I'll never think of the bathroom in the same way again) plus it made me cry! Oh yeah, did I mention there are even Russian mobsters?! Seriously!It's not too often that I can say this about a book, especially an author's first novel, but I loved every minute of it. Sadie was terrific and it was easy to relate to her feelings of inadequacy and the need to compete to achieve "perfection." This book dealt with the important issues of seeking God's forgiveness as well as the forgiveness of others and yourself and letting go of the past. Sadie had to learn to mix the sweet and sour to create the perfect recipe for her life. This book is definitely a sweet success!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.