Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Summerside Press Love Finds You in Homestead, Iowa

Summerside Press Love Finds You in Homestead, Iowa

Times are tough in 1893 Chicago---so when Jacob loses his banking job, he takes his 4-year-old daughter, Cassie, and rides the rails west in search of work. He never imagines that their train will derail in Iowa---or that the Amana religious community will welcome them like family! Could they ever call Homestead home? 320 pages, softcover from Summerside.
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love Finds You in Homestead, Iowa
Review 1 for Love Finds You in Homestead, Iowa
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love reading about the Amana Colonies in Iowa

Date:March 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am always pleased to find a book about the Amana Colonies, that is what I knew them as when I was a child growing up in the midwest, eastern Nebraska. I have visited the 'Colonies' but have learned so much more about them by reading books like Melanie's. She did a wonderful job of holding my interest and teaching me more about the 'Community of True Inspiration' and their beliefs.
I have read other books Melanie has written and really enjoyed them too. I think I have all of Melanie's 'Love Finds You' books and I'm looking forward to reading them as I go through my bookshelves of TBR books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love Finds You in Homestead, Iowa
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interesting Amana living.

Date:January 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cheri
Location:South Dakota
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Amana people are hard workers but more than that are giving of themselves and their possesions to others that may be in need. Too bad more of us aren't as kind and giving with all God has given us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love Finds You in Homestead, Iowa
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2010
There are certain things about the way the Amana Society believes that bother me. So those instances made the book a smidgen less enjoyable for me, but for the most part, I liked the book. The writing was good, and I liked the characters, but I didnt fall in love with them. This is an enjoyable read with a sweet ending though, and I did like it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love Finds You in Homestead, Iowa
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Becca
A page turner for sure! I was swept into the history of the Amanas and of course, my heart has a sweet spot for the bit of romance sprinkled in there. I was challenged to imitate to my family and those I meet the devotion and love and kindness that Leisel exhibited. thank you melanie for such a wonderful book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love Finds You in Homestead, Iowa
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
kari adams
Just finished reading this book - probably one of my favorite Melanie books yet - I had never heard of the Amana Colonies before, and loved being introduced to them and their way of life. I loved seeing their kindness in caring for others, and working together. I am definitely a bit of a romantic, and I loved that side of the story too. For those of you who love Beverly Lewis stories about the Amish, you will LOVE this book. Melanie is like the Beverly Lewis for the Amana people in this book :) Thank you Melanie for sharing your gift with us!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love Finds You in Homestead, Iowa
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debora Aguiar
I love this book, i would recommend this book to anyone,Melanie Dobson congratulations!!! i would love to read more books written by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love Finds You in Homestead, Iowa
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2010
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I live nearby the Amana Colonies and enjoy going there often. My husband and I even had our honeymoon there because he couldnt get time off from work and we stayed in the great Holiday Inn for three days. It will always have a soft spot i nmy heart. This love story was ALMOST as good as mine, lol. Actually I found it very true to the facts. It was nice to read the history of the colonies. I have enjoyed a great restaurant in Homestead. I read this book in one sitting, I just couldnt put it down. It is a great read and I would like to see more books set in the Amanas, it is a very romantic area. Quaint shops to look in, great eating establishments, which serve their food homestyle which is bringing huge platters and bowls of food to the table instead of one plate per person. They have great wineries as well. I have read the other book out on the Amana's as well and cant wait for the sequel to that one. You cant go wrong with this book, it will transport you back to a time that is wonderful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love Finds You in Homestead, Iowa
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jodi Stilp
Melanie Dobson is a gifted storyteller and she doesnt disappoint in her latest book, Love Finds You In Homestead, Iowa. Dobson artfully weaves history, romance, and suspense together to create a story you wont want to put down. From the first paragraph to the final sentence, youll be transported to the peaceful Amana colonies of 1894 where life for Liesel is comfortable and predictable until a fateful day in July when a handsome outsider turns her life upside down. You wont want to miss this wonderful story of faith and love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love Finds You in Homestead, Iowa
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2010
I really enjoyed Melanie's book. I could easily feel the attraction between Liesel and Jacob, but also felt Liesel's struggle to remain true to her Amana roots.When Jacob is suspected of embezzlement, the relationship is tested on all sides.Love Finds You in Homestead, Iowa was a nice, afternoon naptime read. The characters were believable and likeable, and the financial crisis in Chicago (the whole US, really) added a fresh dimension to a usual love story.I also enjoyed reading the Author's Note regarding the Amana's history (yes, eventually, the well-known Amana Appliances were founded in Middle Amana, Iowa). I found their history interesting, although I do not believe their additional "revelations" by which they base much of their lives are God-given.***Check out more of my book reviews on my blog: thecreativesideofsteph DOT blogspot DOT com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love Finds You in Homestead, Iowa
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
I have always enjoyed Melanie Dobson's storytelling and so far I have read every book she has written. Love Finds You in Homestead, Iowa was just as amazing as all of her other books. She knows how to capture my attention from the first page and her stories always have excellent pacing. While tender and sweet, this novel was still enthralling for me and compelling, probably because I learned something new as I read. I have never heard of the Amana Colonies before reading this book, but thought they might be tied into the brand of appliances. I was surprised to discover their was a relationship between them. I loved how the author brought out information about the Amana colonies in an educational and yet entertaining manner. She did an excellent job showing their way of life and the beauty of living a simple life in harmony with others as opposed to living for your own interests.My heart went out to Leisel because of her desire to feel loved and wanted and yet her fiance was not emotionally there for her. I also hurt for Jacob and his daughter as they tried to make it through so many difficult circumstances. I was totally immersed in this story because the plot was emotionally evocative for me. These characters could say so much with just a tender glance at each other. That's very good storytelling when I will yearn for the characters to be happy and share just one more loving gaze, or a tender embrace. This love story was more than satisfying. I can't wait to read Melanie's next book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.