Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Summerside Press Sons of Thunder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Summerside Press Sons of Thunder

Sophie Frangos is in love with two brothers. Markos cares for her from afar while battling his thirst for vengeance. Dino wants to forget the horror that drove them from Greece to start a new life in America. One of these offers her a bright future---the other the past she lost. Which will be Sophie's choice? 320 pages, softcover from Summerside.
Average Customer Rating:
3.923 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
2
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
1
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sons of Thunder
Review 1 for Sons of Thunder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Historical read

Date:November 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joan K. Landis
Location:Perkiomenville, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another great book by Susan May Warren! Well written, great characters that drew you into their lives. Not a light read but one that keeps you up at night involved in the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sons of Thunder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved this book!!

Date:December 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
elizak
Location:canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the best books I have read in awhile, Sons of Thunder had me hooked from the beginning. This is not a light, romantic read like some of Susan's other novels, but a deep, gripping drama, that kept me reading late into the night. This book had suspense, drama, intrigue, and huge character development. I loved how the book plays out over many years, and just the honest portrayal of different struggles and issues each of the characters had to deal with throughout that era. Each had to weigh the consequences, and ultimately did what they thought necessary in order to survive. I highly recommend this novel, and can't wait to read the next one in this "series."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sons of Thunder
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
This story was honestly not the caliber of the Deep Haven series - my personal all time favorite. I missed the richness of characters like Joe and Mona, Noah and Anne, and Dan and Ellie; as well as definite Christian principles. Hope to see Susan go back to the depth of her prior writing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sons of Thunder
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
T Schwenberg
The lukewarm presentation of God stung; I anticipated more from Warren. Her Deep Haven series is wonderful and nothing has approached that quality since.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sons of Thunder
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Laura L
Rich time period and setting, which could have offered the readers great insight into how God works in evil and tragedies, but didn't.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sons of Thunder
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lover of Books and Art
I enjoyed this book imensely, but was greatly dissapointed in some areas. I thought the beginning started out strongly, but it tapered off slightly throughout the entire book. There was a LOT of death, which surprised me. There was immorality as well as brief language instances. What bothered me the most about the immorality was the fact that it wasn't shown as a sin against God, rather just against other characters, that it was wrong mostly because how it affected relationships. I was greatly saddened by the fact that a few major characters died with not even a slight inclination towards salvation. It is said that Markos believes in God at the end, but the fact that he became a Christian is never clearly portrayed. And, also, not a good thing or a bad thing, I found a lot of themes towards the middle and end of the book very similar to that of the movie Pearl Harbor. It was a well written book that I enjoyed reading, but it was not without it's dissapointments.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sons of Thunder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Katharine Macdonald
I really enjoy Susan May Warren as an author, her storylines are well thought out and easy to read. I love the history and setting of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sons of Thunder
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Margo T
Ouch. Didn't see this story coming from Susan. Loved her Russian suspense trio, but this just doesn't measure up. Darkness, immorality, and lack of Christian principles made it a disappointment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sons of Thunder
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Margo Roche
I never got a footing in this story. The harsh lifestyle and no foundation on faith threw me for a loop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sons of Thunder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2010
One of the best books about the war and thestruggle our pilots went through. It also shows us the hardships war leaves behind.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sons of Thunder
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cathleen Cole
Having little knowledge of this historical time period I was intrigued with the setting and events. I just didn't get all that much from the story though and found that disappointing. It sure wasn't on the same level as Mrs. Warren's other books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sons of Thunder
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
C. Louise Alley
The story and setting were dark. I realize it was a turbulent time period in Greece and the US in the 1930's and in WWII, but the tones and conduct of the character just didn't jive with SMW. While she tried to tie it up with redemption at the end, the scars of her cast of characters ran too deep for a paragraph feel good synoposis. I couldn't even compare it to the uplifting sense I got at the end of each book from the DEEP HAVEN series. In her next set Noble Legacy she started pulling away from the beauty of God's Spirit working in people's lives. In this book, she does introduce these ideas and Markos comes closest to living out these principles with Lucien; but the overall feeling of the book was "Oh well. I'm finished." I hope SMW returns to the excellence in DEEP HAVEN in her next book; we get enough of the ugliness of the present already, without a strong message of HOPE.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sons of Thunder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2010
Excellent! Filled with suspense, intrigue, and real characters. I loved this book. The writing was superb and the plot will draw you in from page one. Sofia is dealing with problems that many women face today. Feeling worthless, unloved, and alone. She is human and makes mistakes, but who doesnt? Dino and Markos are great characters. There is real growing up that takes place in this book; physically, emotionally, and spiritually. This is a book that you dont want to pass up. Move this to the very top of your TBR pile!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sons of Thunder
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2010
It was a good read, but there were some things I didn't like. Sleeping together before marriage isn't something I'd expect from Susan May Warren's books, but it was in there.The development of characters was different than in her other books and I didn't like it this way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sons of Thunder
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andrea Schultz
The latest release by SMW, Sons of Thunder, is an exciting and intriguing tome. This story has three main characters: Sofia Frangos, & brothers Markos & Dino Stavros, all from Zante Island off the coast of Greece. All three of them left their home to start a new life in the United States after a traumatic incident. The time period is the early 1940s; during their time in the US, the Japanese attacked Pearl Harbor in Hawaii (12/07/41). Both brothers are in love with Sofia. The question is: Which Son of Thunder will she choose? The story takes us from the Greek Islands to the jazz club of Chicago to the battlefields of World War II.Mrs. Warren is very adept at keeping the plot moving and keeping the characters interesting. She has paid a lot of attention to the details of that time period. I always enjoy reading about others countries and other eras besides our own. Susan has definitely brought the time & the places to light. She brings actual events into the story the Pearl Harbor attack as well as weaving real people into the story Al Capone and Bugs Moran.Here is an example of both Susans wonderful writing style and bringing God into the story in the words of Markos:.Maybe were all supposed to be a little broken, a little afraid, a little overwhelmed by our own sweeping mistakes. Otherwise, we might believe we can save ourselves instead of letting God deliver us. Maybe being on our knees is the only way we can ever be used by God Because without knowing what grace feels like, how will we ever really know how to give it away? (p. 225)I was engaged by these characters which is a big component in the appeal of a novel & hope Susan brings them back in some form in the future to continue their journey. This book was provided to me by Summerside Press for review purposes.Reviewed by Andrea Schultz Ponderings by Andrea http://andrealschultz.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sons of Thunder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa
I received Sons as Thunder free from the publisher in exchange for this book review, but even if I hadn't, I would've bought the book as soon as it hit the shelves. I've been a Susan May Warren fan since I found her books in 2003. Excitement rushed through me when I learned about the Brothers in Arms series. Susie has a way of taking the reader on a journey--both emotionally and spiritually--as her characters experience challenging circumstances to find their happily ever afters. That's what I expected when I started reading Sons of Thunder, but I can honestly say the book went above and beyond, taking me on an unforgettable journey with characters who have stayed in my thoughts long after I closed the book. Immersing me in a rich storyworld on the sands of a small Greek community, Susie painted word pictures that created vivid images as I turned the pages. Her characters with their own unique voices and goals solidified the story in my heart when I cheered them on or grieved alongside them through their circumstances. My heart broke in several places by the choices made by the characters, but Susie dealt with a difficult issue with understanding, grace, and showed the redemptive power of God's unconditional love. Although the book was not riddled with Bible verses or showed characters attending church, the story showed God's redeeming grace without overpowering the reader. Susie May's books get better and better, but I have to say Sons of Thunder is the best book she has written to date. I'm so excited to read the rest of the series!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sons of Thunder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Heidi G.
Too often Christian Fiction glosses over the reality of our human nature to give us characters that dont really have to make any tough choices, or worse, they always make the right choice. I dont go to Christian fiction for a sermon, I go to find people who are flawed, like me, who are experiencing real life and who can express all the doubt and shame that I struggle with myself. I go in hopes that I will get to see a picture of the faithful love and redemption of our awesome God and I will be reminded that He is steadfast and true no matter the choices I make. I was not disappointed. Susan May Warrens Sons of Thunder was the perfect blend of everything that I love in a book. The characters make hard choices and they are fallible and human. They experience the full gamut of human emotion. And through it all, God is with them, His plan in place even when Markos, Dino, and Sophia cannot see it. The story is beautifully written and I was especially impressed with Warrens delicate handling of some difficult settings and situations. I could relate to the characters and I was moved by their individual spiritual journeys. Even in the darkest night, even when we struggle to believe, God is with us and He is faithful to deliver us.And, if you are looking for a brilliant book club selection that will generate a discussion, this is the one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sons of Thunder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Molly,Book Reviews by Buuklvr81
I love a good historical Christian fiction book, and this proved to be one of the best ones so far. I loved everything about this book, from the style of writing to the characters to the theme. I was immediately pulled in from the first page, and wasn't let go until the very last. It was extremely hard to put this book down at times because I was so pulled into the story and the characters that I didn't want to lose the feeling of being in that time and place with those amazing people. This story takes place in both Greece and America, during the era of Al Capone and flapper girls. Amazingly written, this story of Markos, Dino and Sophia was both romantic and tragic, as well as suspenseful. It is a book that has something in it for everyone. My heart went out to all the characters, but Dino really tugged it the most, with his quietness. The message of redemption and sacrifice and friendship is truly amazing. I need tissues through alot of this book, but it's definitely worth it! This is definitely a start to a wonderful collection of books by a truly amazing author. I give this book a hands down 5 star rating and highest recommendations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sons of Thunder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Renee C.
I am a huge fan of Susan May Warren and her latest release just confirms why she is one of my favorite authors! Sons of Thunder has drama, adventure, violence, love, and most importantly faith! Right from the first page I was hooked! There were definitely NO boring parts in the story! It not only included awesome scenes in a Chicago speakeasy but WWII espionage in Greece and a really touching scene on the battlefields of Europe!Sons of Thunder is sooo terrific I could not put it down! I wasn't sure how I would feel about the book divided in 3 parts between the 3 main characters but I love it, each part flows naturally into the other. Let me tell you those Stavros brothers are 2 of my favorite fiction heroes *hubba hubba.* Who can resist tall, dark, and handsome? Not me!!! This is one story that both readers of Christian fiction and secular fiction will enjoy. It's not at all preachy but it doesn't lack a good message either! I definitely think Sons of Thunder is a must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sons of Thunder
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
Susan May Warren had my attention from the start of this book I loved it! It was slightly reminiscent of the movie Pearl Harbor in that the story line revolves around two brothers who are in love with the same woman and they are all affected by World War II. The book starts out with the three living in Greece and builds a rich background of their stories and connections. When a tragedy strikes at a family wedding, the three find themselves fleeing to America, pledging to stick together and watch out for one another. Facing culture shock, poverty and having no where to go they find themselves trapped under the forceful hand of Uncle Jimmy the only family member they have to rely on. Unfortunately, Uncle Jimmy is deeply involved in the dark world of gangsters (the likes of Al Capone) and his life of crime and violence have Markos, Dino and Sofia looking over their shoulders and walking on eggshells.This novel combined many of my favorite historical subjects and I thought the added touch of jazz clubs, Al Capone and gangsters was a nice twist from the usual Christian fiction. I look forward to reading more of Susans books.http://redlilycafe.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>