Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc Sisterchicks in Wooden Shoes: Sisterchicks Series #8

Random House, Inc Sisterchicks in Wooden Shoes: Sisterchicks Series #8

A multi-tasking mama, Summer Finley has found ways to handle whatever life throws at her with grace and a grin...until now. An "abnormal" medical test result sends Summer into a tailspin and prompts her to fulfill a life-long dream of "meeting" her best friend and pen pal since fourth grade, Noelle Van Zandt, face-to-face.

Their blissful week together in the Netherlands finds Summer and Noelle floating down a canal in Amsterdam, visiting Corrie Ten Boom's Hiding Place, sipping decadent Dutch cocoa in Delft, and bobbing merrily along through a sea of brilliant, spring-fresh tulips. Each day takes them further from midlife anxiety and closer to trusting God in deeper ways.

When Summer finally confides in Noelle about the abnormal test results, Summer's honesty prompts Noelle to share a long-held heartache. The two friends find they both needed to be together more than either of them realized. Could it be this adventure was tucked away in God's imagination long before Summer bought her ticket to fly to the land of merry tulips and kalomping wooden shoes?

Average Customer Rating:
4.69 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sisterchicks in Wooden Shoes: Sisterchicks Series #8
Review 1 for Sisterchicks in Wooden Shoes: Sisterchicks Series #8
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janice Jewell
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good book. If you have read one of these books you know how they are going to turn out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sisterchicks in Wooden Shoes: Sisterchicks Series #8
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A marvelous excursion through Holland.

Date:August 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jeannie Donaldson
Location:Statesboro, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Robin has such a wonderful talent for bringing spiritual teaching into her stories, at least all of the ones I have ever read. If you have read any other "sisterchick" story, you know you are in for another treat, if not, please believe me when I tell you, you will not want to put it down, and you will come away refreshed. There is so much of God in these books, and this one is not at all disappointing.
As you travel throughout lovely parts of Holland, you can "see" through the writer's eyes. Everything is so well described - you come away feeling that you have actually been there. This is the story of the close friendship between these pen pals throughout their lives from grade school to their late 40's. Now they get to meet, when Summer goes to Holland to spend a week with Noelle. And what a week it is! There is fun at every turn, serious times of sharing and growing, as well as lots of sight seeing in a beautiful land.
This is a great story, definitely a "chicks only" kind of book. I guarantee that you will love it, and you will want to share it with your teenage daughter, niece, or neighbor. A GREAT book to give an unbeliever, or a seeker of Truth, as the vast amount of spiritual food is never "pushy" or "preachy". The story will hold their attention, while gently showing them how God's hand works in the lives of His children.
I loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sisterchicks in Wooden Shoes: Sisterchicks Series #8
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Helen
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great read. an adventure as you travel through the pages of this wonderful book. Highly recommend to all women.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sisterchicks in Wooden Shoes: Sisterchicks Series #8
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sharon Maness
Location:Pendleton, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't put this book down, had to keep reading it, consequently I stayed up most of the night.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sisterchicks in Wooden Shoes: Sisterchicks Series #8
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Delights the Senses!

Date:June 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
JenniferL
Location:OR
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read this book slowly, in and around other books, savoring my little virtual vacation to Holland. I loved Robin's descriptions of everything from sampling Gouda cheese and Dutch hot chocolate, to Pannenkoeken, Dutch pancakes.
While Sisterchicks in Wooden Shoes was, on one hand, a light read that delights the senses, it also brought a depth that leaves the reader thoughtful.
The story, in a nutshell, is about two long-time pen pals, Summer and Noelle, who have never met. When Summer receives a scary test result, she takes a spontaneous trip to Holland to spend a week with Noelle. The two visit museums and churches, Corrie ten Boom's house, enjoy restaurants and the beach, all the while learning new ways to view the world and God.
I would recommend this book for anyone who is going through a valley in their life or faith, or who values the gift of friendship.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sisterchicks in Wooden Shoes: Sisterchicks Series #8
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

not the best Sisterchick adventure

Date:April 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Summer Finley has just received the disturbing news that there is an abnormality in her recent mammogram. Her thoughts go to her mother who died of breast cancer. Needing a diversion from her worry, she decides to spend a week with her pen pal from childhood.
Noelle had been raised in the U. S. but after high school went to Europe, married a Dutchman, and now lives in The Netherlands.
While the two had never met before, they had formed a meaningful bond through the years. Often their letters contained thoughts not shared with anyone else.
Summer has a great time as Noelle takes her to The Hague, Amsterdam, and Delft. They see paintings by the masters, wander tulip fields, and visit the ten Boom clock shop.
Over the days the two women begin to share even deeper parts of their lives. Both experience spiritual renewal and a need to deal with issues from which they are hiding.
I wanted to read this Sisterchick novel because I have Dutch roots. I recognized lots of the words was was familiar with the typical Dutch behavior. Perhaps for that reason, this novel did not capture me as have some of the other Sisterchick books. One does get a flavor of The Netherlands and how the Dutch live. The gals did have some funny adventures but I never really laughed as I did with the visit to Finland. The story line just did not seem "natural" to me. There is a reader's discussion guide at the back of the book.
I received a copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishers for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sisterchicks in Wooden Shoes: Sisterchicks Series #8
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Queen of Brussels Sprouts
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In true Sisterchick fashion, Sisterchicks in Wooden Shoes! by Robin Jones entertained me, educated me, and often made me pause to think.
This edition of the Sisterchick series takes the reader from the middle of the USA, across the ocean to the Netherlands, and back. The journey taken by Summer is physical and emotional. When a medical diagnosis throws her world into a tailspin, she jumps ship. Or rather, jumps onto and airplane to check off one of her number one “bucket list” items: to finally meet her lifelong pen pal face to face.
What happens is a sweet joining of two spirits. Summer and Noelle don’t just have a vacation. They learn about each other and dig deep within themselves to find God’s love and strength as they battle emotional struggles.
My favorite scene in the story occurs in a little antique shop. The women are digging in boxes of antique tiles, searching for just the right souvenir. The old shop owner makes an observation that their names are opposites. Summer is just that, the summer season. Noelle represents the winter season. The two look at dress differently, but underneath they are very much like each other, and need each other to reach balance…just like the seasons.
Sisterchicks in Wooden Shoes is the “deepest” of all the Sisterchick novels. I usually step away from the books in this series lighthearted. This time, I was more contemplative than anything. That isn’t bad, just different.
I enjoyed reading this book. It was given to me for free by from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for a fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sisterchicks in Wooden Shoes: Sisterchicks Series #8
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Book!

Date:March 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
librarymom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sisterchicks In Wooden Shoes was my first Sisterchicks book, and after reading it I look forward to reading more of this series. As a church librarian I'm always looking for great books our patrons will love and I feel this book meets my criteria for uplifting content in a book.
Summer is a busy mom who manages to juggle her life and keep it all together until she gets a bad report on a medical test. Because of this she decides to travel to Holland to meet her long-time pen pal, Noelle. Summer and her friend spend a wonderful time together visiting Amsterdam and Corrie Ten Boom's House in Harlem.Summer shares her fears with Noelle, and she in return shares her heart.
A few years ago I was able to return to Holland for a visit, so it was quite nice to read about the characters visiting the same places that I love.
The book was provided for me by the publisher, I was not required to give a good review nor was I compensated.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sisterchicks in Wooden Shoes: Sisterchicks Series #8
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't put it down!

Date:March 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
NicInNash
Location:Nashville, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sisterchicks in Wooden Shoes tells the fun story of long-distance penpals, Summer and Noelle. Life's difficult circumstances provided the perfect opportunity for the two friends to finally meet in person. After years of sharing life together via letters, they discovered how sweet it is to have a treasured friend by your side.
This was the first novel I had read from the Sisterchicks series, written by Robin Jones Gunn. When I noticed the book was set in the Netherlands, I knew I wanted to read it! I've flown into Amsterdam a few times -the views of the fields, canals and tulips have always made my heart long to spend more time there. The author did an excellent job of transporting me back, making me feel the moist air and hear the unfamiliar sounds of a foreign land. I can't wait to get my hands on other books in this series!
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sisterchicks in Wooden Shoes: Sisterchicks Series #8
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful!

Date:March 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Location:San Antonio, Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Sisterchicks in Wooden Shoes is my first Robin Jones Gunn book to read. I have two daughters who read all of her Christy Miller books, and they were life changing for the both of them--in the positive! So I was happy to read my first Sisterchicks book!
From the very beginning I felt like I could relate to the main character, Summer. She felt like a real friend to me. I understood her and her reasoning to just jump up and visit a pen pal she's never met in real life, in Holland. And along with her, I also was moved by the things she was experiencing in Holland and with her lifelong friend and pen-pal, Noelle. If you are looking for a fun book about friendship and spiritual growth, I recommend this book!
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sisterchicks in Wooden Shoes: Sisterchicks Series #8
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful

Date:February 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Summer receives a report that a medical test needs to be redone as it was abnormal, she panics. Within a short period of time has made and confirmed reservations to Holland to see her friend Noelle. Although they had never met they had been friends for years as pen pals.
What a delightful trip! I wanted to be there with them, and I could just picture the things that went on! Summer driving in a strange country, teaching the birds English, riding in the boat! I would love to go to the Ten Boom's home. I learned things about the Churches in Holland and what happened to them during the Reformation that I had never known.
I would highly recommend this book to anyone who want a delightful read. Am so glad that I agreed to read it!
The book was provided for me by the publisher, I was not required to give a good review nor was I compensated.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sisterchicks in Wooden Shoes: Sisterchicks Series #8
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great author, good book

Date:February 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
JJbooks
Location:California
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very excited to read Sisterchicks in Wooden Shoes, because it was written by one of my favorite authors, Robin Jones Gunn. As a teenager I waited impatiently for each book in her Christy Miller series to come out. In my early 20s I did the same with her Glenbrooke series.
The main character, Summer, gets an "abnormal" test result back from the Doctor and decides to live in denial for an extra week and go visit her long time pen-pal, Noelle, in the Netherlands. The two ladies embark on a few crazy adventures while siteseeing that leave them and the reader laughing. Robin Jones Gunn doesn't write her books on a shallow level though and throughout the book we see the characters help each other learn more about themselves (isn't it true that sometimes we know things about close friends/family that they haven't realized about themselves?) and more about trusting God at a deeper level.
Although I won’t be rushing out to find other books from this series, I enjoyed reading this book. I like how the characters seem like real people that I could sit down and hang out with and how they are struggling with real issues. I also like how the author digs deep and uses this book to help the reader grow as the characters in the book grow.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. The review is my honest opinion of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sisterchicks in Wooden Shoes: Sisterchicks Series #8
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Laury
Location:Waynesville, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sistersicks in Wooden Shoes! by Robin Jones Gunn, published by Multnomah, is one of the BEST fun books I've read in a long time. It may be the whole timing of the read, too. In less than five weeks now, my best friend is coming to visit in Central Illinois from Washington state.
The book begins with a middle-aged empty-nester, Summer, from Midwest United States, who receives some disturbing news from her doctor. Instead of facing it head-on, she decides to run to her best friend, Noelle, in the Netherlands. They found each other as pen pals in grade school and kept up their relationship all their lives. They wrote letters and later as technology improved, they emailed but have never once seen each other in person.
I laughed so much as I read this because the characters kept switching between my best friend and myself. The silly situations they got themselves into reminded me of the crazy things we went and go through, too. Some not so funny at the time but now we can laugh about them.
Even though Summer was in denial about her health situation, God followed her to Noelle's house and spoke to her through each experience. Summer learned many things about herself as she lived a week of her life with her friend. Noelle 'gently persuaded' Summer to milk a cow. This is what Summer learned from the experience.
"This is pretty amazing," I said a few moments later. My voice was more soothing than it had been earlier. "I feel very organic. I need to have a piece of straw hanging out the side of my mouth."
Noelle smiled. "I wish I had my camera. You're a little Dutch barn maid."
"I don't think I'll need a picture to remember that I did this."
"It's pretty cool doing things you wouldn't normally do, isn't it?" (pg. 114)
I don't want to ruin the book for you so I won't mention rental bikes that fall into the canal or 2 women who sail in a wooden shoe. I sure wouldn't want to say anything about pesky sea gulls, either. Awesome book. Perfect for middle-aged women who have friends who are in another city, another state, or maybe even across an ocean. We all crave friendship; maybe even more as we grow older.
If you want some big smiles and some giggles, please read this book. I must warn you, there might be some tears that come along with it, too. Where two good friends come together, tears inevitably follow: tears of healing and joy. Thank you Robin Jones Gunn for a book written just for me, for just a time as this!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sisterchicks in Wooden Shoes: Sisterchicks Series #8
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great!

Date:February 13, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoy reading the Sisterchicks books by Robin Jones Gunn. I always feel like I'm taking an adventure with her and truly feel like I am traveling the world with her. She does such a good job with describing the sights, sounds, and smells that she experiences when she is researching and visiting different places so that she can write these books.
Sisterchicks in Wooden Shoes is no exception. I feel like I hopped the pond and went to Holland. While I was there, I got to see the tulips and the windmills. I got to know the mannerisms of the Dutch and the purpose behind the wooden shoes. Who knew they actually had a purpose!
This book is a fun, easy, and light read. It's a great escape from those everyday tasks of life when you just can't get on a plane and fly somewhere!
___________________
I received this book free from Waterbrook Multnomah through their Blogging for Books program for their book review. I was in no way required to write a positive review for this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sisterchicks in Wooden Shoes: Sisterchicks Series #8
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sisterchicks Forever

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
True Grit
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love all the Sisterchick books. This one and the 'Go Brit' are at the top of the list. In this book I like how things do not go as planned , but they get right up and continue on the adventure.
I'm Dutch and always have wanted to go to Holland and felt as though I got to have a personal little tour. Someday when my little ones are older I look forward to having my own Sisterchick adventure with my closest friend (32 years and counting!) and we plan to use Robin Jones Gunn's books as guides for where we go, and places we see.
Great book! I hope she continues writing these for other places.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sisterchicks in Wooden Shoes: Sisterchicks Series #8
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2009
All of Robin's Sisterchick novels have been great! ---And of course "Sisterchicks in Wooden Shoes"--- is no exception! In every book I've found a bit of myself...Our Father's Loving hand...And an awesome way to relate, reflect and refresh! Robin Jones Gunn; has a Wonder-filled talent in introducing us to a world, one may never be able to travel.... Although once you've started reading "you are where she wants you to be" ~ a sisterchick getaway! Along the way you'll feel as if you've met a new friend or two. ~*~BRAVO~*~ For Sisterchicks! I hope the ride never ends...until we're home! Reading a Sisterchick novel is like a Warm Fuzzy Hug from our Abba Father!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sisterchicks in Wooden Shoes: Sisterchicks Series #8
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lou Ann Turri
I love the sister chick series of books. This one brought tears,laughter and spiritual growth. I am looking forward to my own sister chick adventure. I like how Robin is able to paint a vivid word picture that draws you in and enables you to see what the characters are experiencing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sisterchicks in Wooden Shoes: Sisterchicks Series #8
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary J Metcalfe
I loved traveling to Holland with Summer and meeting her friend, Noelle. The book was entertaining, informative, and fun with a great Christ-filled message. I hope Robin is writing about another adventure now. I have read all the Sisterchick books and have given them to my two daughters. They also have learned much from them. Thanks, Robin - keep writing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sisterchicks in Wooden Shoes: Sisterchicks Series #8
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lori
Come along and travel with Summer from Cincinnati to Amsterdam. Summer is married and is the mother of six kids. After hearing some unsettling news Summer decides on the spur of the moment, to book a trip to Amsterdam to visit her lifelong pen pal Noelle. I have to say I dont suggest booking a flight on a credit card before talking to your husband in real life, but Summer does something many of us put off in life; living out a dream.Once Summer arrives in Amsterdam, she and Noelle hit the ground running sightseeing. From visiting a field of tulips to seeing a real windmill the imagery of Amsterdam danced off the pages. Noelle had one surprise sight for Summer to visit that led Summer out of her comfort zone, while reminding her that everything is possible through Christ.Summer and Noelle visit Corrie ten Booms place and reminds readers of the unshakable love for God Corrie possessed. You felt like you were walking on sacred ground along with Summer and Noelle. Summer booked this visit in hopes of forgetting what may be waiting for her at home, what neither one of them counted on, is this trip healing some old wounds in each of their lives.I enjoyed this book. Robin Jones Gunn writes great escape books. This is the perfect book to take on vacation with you. Some of the details of how things come about are a bit unrealistic within the story, but Robin Jones Gunn has a way of catching readers off guard and driving home a powerful God lesson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sisterchicks in Wooden Shoes: Sisterchicks Series #8
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Barbara Bove
Thank you Robin Gunn. As a retired missionary and having traveled to over forty countries I enjoy reading the Sisterchick adventures and can relate to all the cultures and experiences she writes about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>