Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Enduring Justice, Defenders of Hope Series #3

Multnomah Books Enduring Justice, Defenders of Hope Series #3

Hanna Kessler's childhood secret has remained buried for over two decades. But when the dark shadows of her past threaten to destroy those she loves, Hanna must face the summer that changed her life and the man who still haunts her memories.

As a Crimes Against Children FBI Agent, Michael Parker knows what it means to get knocked down. Difficult cases and broken relationships have plagued his entire year. But when the system fails and a white supremacist is set free, Michael's drive for retribution eclipses all else.

A racist's well-planned assault forces Hanna and Michael to decide between executing vengeance and pursuing justice. The dividing line between the two is the choice to heal. But when the attack turns personal, is justice enough?

Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Enduring Justice, Defenders of Hope Series #3
Review 1 for Enduring Justice, Defenders of Hope Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amy Wallace does it.

Date:July 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lawrence Lewis
Location:Flowery Branch, GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amy Wallace does a good job of using her characters in a human interest, love, suspense novel. This is one of three books in the series and all of them are well worth reading. It is not a chick book. It is a Christian book that shows that God is always in charge and never forgets you even if you try to forget Him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Enduring Justice, Defenders of Hope Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Location:Columbia, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I learned of this book from Christianbook.com's fiction catalog. After the first couple of chapters, I got the feeling it was part of a series and I was right! Leave it to me to read the last one first!
I usually read Irene Hannon and Terri Blackstock books, because I like my cop books to have a romance in them! And this book drew my attention because of the white supremist angle......there is a white supremist in our town that no one wants around! He is supposed to go to jail, but always seems to get appeals. I wanted to read a story where the hate-monger is actually locked up for good!
Hannah Kessler is running from her family for many reasons...but mostly because of a molestation episode that occured when she was six from a friend of her father's. Hannah blames herself for what happened and tries to escape by promiscuous behavior in college. But now she has fallen in love with Michael Parker, an FBI agent working for her older brother Steven. Michael has many demons of his own to deal with, so both are forging this new relationship with a lot of baggage.
Enter Sean Haines, a hate filled supremist determined to do away with anyone who is not caucasian. This includes Hannah's friend Eve and her daughter and Michael's partner Lee and his wife. Haines is truly evil. The photoshopped picture referred to in the book turned my stomach. Michael is determined to mete out justice in capturing not only the evil Haines and his cronies, but Hannah's molester - who is now a top Congressman.
In his zeal for justice, Michael tends to overstep his bounds. Hannah keeps reminding him to lean on God instead of trying to do it himself. A visit from Michael's estranged (and formerly abusive) father creates further turmoil.
This book kept me reading to make sure all the bad guys were taken down and all the good guys were okay! The last chapters tie into a very nice ending with much hope for the future. I've already ordered the other two books in the series, as I enjoyed meeting these characters and would like to see more of them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Enduring Justice, Defenders of Hope Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Stephanie Kingdon
Enduring Justice is the final installment in the Defenders of Hope Series by Amy Wallace. Hanna's story was so sad because you learn what happended to her as a child. She hides her secret and you know that it just eats her up and she feels ashamed because of it and its not her fault. You also learn more about Michael and get to see another side of him that is brought out by case that he is working. Its amazing to see how Michael and Hanna grow in there walk with God and learn to trust each other. I can't wait for the next Amy Wallace Series. These three books are a must read. It just pulls you in a tugs a your heart and sometimes you think that you want to cry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Enduring Justice, Defenders of Hope Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Susan
While you dont have to read the first two books in the Defenders of Hope series, this third book adds closure to the characters from Wallaces other books. Finally we get to see inside Hannahs past, while maintaining contact with all the characters as they interact with and support one another. Enduring Justice is an intense read with a heartbreaking story of childhood abuse that impacts Hannah even as she tries to live her adult life. Its a must read for all lovers of Christian fiction and criminal drama/suspense.Amy Walllace has become one of my favorite Christian authors! I hope she continues to write for years to come as I look forward to many more hours with her well-developed characters! Also, follow her work, life, and reviews of fellow authors on her blog: http://www.peek-a-booicu.blogspot.com/. Amy is a real person who shares her heart and love for her Lord clearly in all she does. Thanks Amy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Enduring Justice, Defenders of Hope Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Judy G
Enduring Justice by Amy Wallace is the third book in her Defenders of Hope Series and it doesnt disappoint! We learn more about Hanna, Stephen Kesslers sister, and the deep secret she harbors. We watch as FBI agent Michael Parker faces his own personal issues even while he works to discover the identities of the people perpetrating terrible hate crimes. How Hanna and Michael grow in both their faith and trust in God and in each other amid the inhumanity that surrounds them, makes this book a very powerful read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Enduring Justice, Defenders of Hope Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Heather Randall
Hannah Kessler was a wounded soul. She experienced trauma in her childhood that left her ashamed and eager to hide her hurts with lies and avoidance. She even ran away from home to escape her memories. When she returns home, at last, her family is happy to welcome her back. So is the handsome F.B.I. agent, Michael Parker. As their feelings are rekindled and their relationship grows, there remains a secret that Hannah just cant share. Not yet. Racial prejudice and corruption in the system seem to hold back justice. Healing seems impossible. Pain seems permanent. While crime and violence loom closer and closer to Hannah, Gods protection is also made evident.Amy Wallace weaves a wonderful story that involves the reader in all the suspense and emotional turmoil of the main character, Hannah Kessler. As the reader, you ride with Hannah through all of her tension and insecurity. You begin to sense the trappings of the past that have bound her. You really feel her struggle for justice and her desperation for freedom from this heavy weight she carries.Enduring Justice is a wonderful read that will keep your eyes moving quickly over each page anxious for the justice and hope that Hannah craves.At the end of this wonderful read, Amy Wallace shares her testimony and offers hope to the real life Hannahs who are hiding their shame and hurts and hoping secretly to heal somehow. Her testimony is powerful and grace-filled. Enduring Justice also provides wonderful questions upon the conclusion that make it a wonderful read for book clubs. These are thought-provoking questions that will quickly lead you back to the Word of God for answers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Enduring Justice, Defenders of Hope Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
This is definitely my favorite book in the series because it's closest to my heart. I've worked with abused children for two decades and can say for certain that this author has realistically portrayed the struggles the adults who were abused as children experience. Both Michael and Hanna had issues that affected their present lives that they had to work through. Healing is difficult work because you can no longer hide from the pain but have to confront it. Ms. Wallace portrayed that very well. I loved the theme of affirmation and how crucial it is in the lives of hurting people. Whether it's in the past or present, affirmation is critical to healing. It builds confidence and is necessary for personal growth. Both Michael and Hanna needed to be affirmed as they dealt with their painful histories. They also needed to forgive not only themselves but the people who hurt them so that bitterness wouldn't destroy their happiness. The way things were addressed in this story was very healthy. The worst thing you can do when someone finally tells you the painful truth is to throw it back in their face or not believe them. Great message and one that people need to hear! Enduring Justice is the perfect title for this book because sometimes you have to wait a long time before justice occurs in a situation. The characters were believable and the plot was complex and engaging. The romance was yummy but also had great themes regarding accountability. The issue of trust was fabulously handled as well as the complexities involved in racism. The author had the twisted mindset of bigots and child abusers spot-on. I've dealt with both for many years and her portrayal rings true all around. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Enduring Justice, Defenders of Hope Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 3, 2009
This is the third book written by Amy Wallace but only the second I have read. It is the third in a series, but can stand completely on its own. Though you may have to buy the previous two just so you can the other characters stories!I love Amys way of bringing suspense and emotion into her books. This book hits close to home for the author, and I am extremely impressed with her sensitive and heartfelt approach. I didnt connect quite as much to this story as I did to the first in the Defenders of Hope Series, Ransomed Dreams. But still, this is an amazing story and has a very much needed message. Ill be recommending this book to many people.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Enduring Justice, Defenders of Hope Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lori
Hanna Kessler has been running away from a secret that happened over 20 years ago. She has managed to keep her secret but with recent past events and a new case, her brother, Steven and boyfriend Michael are working on, it threatens to bring all her secrets into the light.Michael Parker, Crimes Against Children FBI agent, is recovering from his last assignment, when a new case emerges of a missing white supremacist who kidnaps an Asian child. While trying to solve this case, Michael comes face to face with Hannas past.This is the third book in Amy Wallaces Defenders of Hope series (see Ransomed Dreams and Healing Promises). Enduring Justice is another multilayered FBI suspense novel that will keep you hanging on to your seat until the last page. While struggling with the fine line between revenge versus justice, Michael Parker learns to rely on God while the storms of life are raging. Amy does a beautiful job in bringing her characters to life that you feel like part of the family. I look forward to more of Amy Wallaces books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Enduring Justice, Defenders of Hope Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Enduring Justice by Amy Wallace is the third book in the Defenders of Hope series about agents in the FBI. It picks up shortly after Healing Promises; Michael Parker is working a missing child case that may have connections to a white supremacist militia group. Hanna Kessler , his girlfriend, has been battling demons for over twenty years since she was molested as a child. Michael's case and the events of the previous book make her emotions boil over separating her emotionally from the people she needs to lean on most in the mistaken belief that it's all her fault. Wallace does a wonderful job of ratcheting up the tension and describing the difficult job faced by federal agents in tracking down pedophiles. Hanna's shattered heart influences every part of her life, even her friendships and make it hard for her to trust other people or herself; Wallace depicts that aspect of an abuse survivor with compassion and honesty. I felt that there were too many plotlines in the book between the militia, missing child, Hanna's abuse, and all of the various agents' personal lives. It was hard to keep track of who was doing or felt what. It also drew some of the power away from the militia story, because it was told in a very detached, rapid-fire manner. I didn't enjoy this book as much as I had the previous two in this series. Wallace may have added too many characters to handle them all. I do hope that she continues the series with Lee and Rashida and that she pares down the non-essentials.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Enduring Justice, Defenders of Hope Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2009
While I've never read the first 2 bks, my understanding is the same characters follow through.However,just finishing this book, it is a fantastic book on it's own.Amy's writing reminds me immediately of Dee Henderson or Brandt Dodson--Hard core suspense. It doesn't hold back. The action starts right from the get-go & draws you in immediately.Enduring Justice is a dark & intense read, but worthy of the time. It is a uncomfortable read at times b/c it touches subjects that are real--racism, bigotry, rape,& family issues.BUT it also gives hope to these issues.I love that Amy shares her personal story in the end notes. It really adds to the story and makes it more empowering. She says "Enduring Justice grew out of my journey where Ive come to see He is the one who puts shattered lives, hearts, and people back together again." Wow! Even though it is fiction, I can't help but feel honored to read this book... knowing that some of the emotions were very real and raw. :wtg Amy for putting forth such a scary personal area for all of us to see!The other thing I love about this book is how Amy wrote this. Each character shares a different angle of the story, and you'll be able to find someone to relate to. I really appreciate the fact that the characters are Christan. It's like when you read a mainstream book, or watch a movie and think to yourself , "Oh! They should be praying!".. or "arghhhhhhh why don't they see God's way???" (or at least that's usually the way I feel when I'm watching/reading mainstream). The beauty in Enduring Justice is that it's there! Amy adds in God and it really makes the book so much more! The struggle with emotions in this book from the un-forgiveness, and the rage are well represented. But most of all it really shows the hope and the healing we have by listening to God and letting His truth release us.This is a great read, and if you're looking for an edge of the seat thriller, this one is it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Enduring Justice, Defenders of Hope Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2009
"Hatred is one of the themes in this novel. Because of her past, Hanna Kessler hates herself; she wrongly blames herself for all of the bad things that happen to those around her. Michael Parker hates his father for his abusive childhood. Sean Haines, a white supremacist, hates so thoroughly that those parts of the novel make for especially tough reading. Child abuse and racism are difficult topics. This is edgy fiction.I found the pace slow from time to time. The characters are one-dimensional and not believable. Still, the book will be a good one to read, especially for those who read the first two in the series. All loose ends are neatly tied up. Some mild profanity. Discussion questions are included."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Enduring Justice, Defenders of Hope Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nora
Im so thrilled to discover in this third and final book of the Defenders of Hope series, all my favorite characters are back from Ransomed Dreams, Steven and Gracie and Clint and Sara,from Healing Promises. The stories of Hanna, Stevens sister and Michael, Stevens partner are told in Enduring Justice. I commend Amy Wallace for being brave enough to talk about the subject matter in this book. Heres what she says in the authors note section, Its true that every book has some pieces of the author in itFor five years, Id denied what happened or hid and blamed myself. When my walls of secrecy started to crumble, I felt alone, exposed and more terrified than I could handle. But God met me there. Amy and her characters learned that forgiveness sets the captives free. Forgiveness permeates this story. In the middle of a very personal situation for Hanna, another tough issue raises its ugly head - racially motivated killings. One of the characters has this to say, I know not all white folks act like those I grew up around. But no amount of my stories will help you see what its like to grow up black in a white world. So, its true, we can sympathize, but we cant totally get the full affect. The author busts through the lies her characters believe. Its only then that the truth can set you free forever. Gods truth and what He says about us is powerful. We just have to believe it. Walking in truth will affect every area of your life. Youll see that in this story. Youll definitely want to read Enduring Justice a suspenseful conclusion to this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Enduring Justice, Defenders of Hope Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Presley
All of the books in the Defenders of Hope series are well written and worth the time to read. They are filled with suspense and intrigue without profane or offensive language and Amy shows in each book how God can work in our lives even in the most difficult situations. The characters flow easily from book one through book three and by the time you finish Enduring Justice, you will feel like you know each one of them. I highly recommend this series to everyone. If you have read Ransomed Dreams and Healing Promises don't miss Enduring Justice. Or if you have not read any of them hurry out and get all three you will not regret the purchase. Linda Presley Midland, TX
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Enduring Justice, Defenders of Hope Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jules
Enduring Justice, the 3rd installment in the Defenders of Hope Series, is a thrilling read. Amy Wallace takes real-life issues like bigotry, hate and unforgiveness and helps her characters deal with them with God's help. This book challenges its readers to look deep into their hearts to see what they believe about God. For it is not what the reader is supposed to believe about God that is important, it is what the reader truly believes about God that matters. Enduring Justice is a 5 star read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Enduring Justice, Defenders of Hope Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2009
Hannah Kessler has a secret from childhood that she intends to keep hidden until she sees part of that secret on America's Most Wanted. If she reports the man she knows is guilty it will open up a part of her that has remained closed for 20 years. But what will happen if she doesn't? Her instinct has always been to run. Will her love for Michael and concern for her friends and family keep her grounded? She is trying to understand faith and prayer but with all she's been through it seems God has forgotten her.Michael Parker is working on a difficult case in Crimes Against Children Unit at the FBI. They are after a white supremacist leader who is trying to "purify" the nation with ruthless killings of women and children of other nationalities. Michael struggles with faith as he sees one of the groups members released on a technicality. He struggles with prayer when it seems like God isn't answering and when his precious Hannah ends up in the middle of trouble he struggles with the issue of justice vs. revenge. How can he be what Hannah needs when he struggles with his own past issues.How can Michael and Hannah's love survive when both have been so hurt? Can God truly heal those inner places enough to knit these two hearts together?Book 3 in the Defender's of Hope Series keeps you on the edge of your seat from start to finish. Although not an easy subject matter, Amy does a excellent job in handling it. You also get to catch up with all the characters from Ransomed Dreams and Healing Promises. I highly recommend this book. You could read this as a stand alone but recommend you read the previous 2 books to give the complete story. Great work Amy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Enduring Justice, Defenders of Hope Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Brenda Anderson
Riveting Suspense True to Life CharactersHanna Kessler thought shed buried her past years ago, but when it claws its way to the surface, she tries to run from its ugliness and the support of family and friends. That includes handsome FBI Crimes Against Children Agent, Michael Parker, whos struggling to cope with his own wounded past.With Enduring Justice, and the first two books in the Defenders of Hope series, author Amy Wallace has raised the bar for Christian fiction writers. Not only has she drawn a riveting and thoroughly-researched suspense story, but she melds it with complex, true-to-life characters you truly care about, and wraps it all in redemptive hope. Most writers shine in one facet of storytelling, but few excel at both plot and characterization. I look forward to reading Amy Wallace fiction for many years to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Enduring Justice, Defenders of Hope Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2009
This is an author to watch. If you like Dee Henderson, Terri Blackstock, Kathy Herman - check out Amy Wallace. the first two books in this series were excellent, and this one did not disappoint. In addition to the suspense and page-turning action, the issues of racism, bigotry, and true justice were explored, combing to make a great read. 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.