Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Shades of Morning

Multnomah Books Shades of Morning

When her sister dies unexpectedly and leaves behind a 15-year-old Down syndrome son, Marnie's world comes unhinged---and her past collides with the present. As she struggles to find healing and forgiveness, a man arrives, determined to destroy her. Will she face the consequences of decisions made a decade earlier---or will she run again? 352 pages, softcover from Multnomah.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shades of Morning
Review 1 for Shades of Morning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very good book

Date:December 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Adele
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed it very much. I couldn't put it down. I ended up reading until 2 in the morning to finish it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Shades of Morning
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quirky story of redemption and providence

Date:July 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sara @ Embracing Destiny
Location:usa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shades of Morning is at its heart a story of redemption and divine providence. I found myself drawn into the plot immediately, even though it did strain my "suspension of disbelief" several times. There were times I felt that the main character Marnie behaved in what I considered an unlikely and ridiculous way. It was a quick read with a surprise ending that I will not even hint about. Suffice it to say, I can usually predict the endings of books, but this was not what I expected at all. I do feel that there was a strong spiritual message throughout the novel. While avoiding "preachiness" or heavy-handed tactics, Marlo Shalesky was able to convey the significance of forgiveness and restoration freely offered by our loving Creator.
If you like quirky characters and following the "clues" left by God's guiding hand in situations, you'll like Shades of Morning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Shades of Morning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nora Finding Hope
Today Marnie meets her sisters child for the first time. Hes fifteen and has Downs syndrome. How could her sister Rose, keep a secret like this? Taylor, the executor of her sisters will and former friend was asking the impossible; she couldnt raise Roses son, Emmit. Marnie was single and had a coffee shop to run, people depended on her. Her life was full, and no room for anything else. But the longer Emmit stayed and the more she learned about him, a surprising thing happened. Marnie realizes she needs him. Emmit was showing her the way home. He was showing her how to trust, in people and in God again.Taylor realizes he has his own struggles with God and Marnie.God, who wanted him to let go. God, who had never stopped pursuing him. God, who wanted the past for Himself. Why couldnt he let go? What was he afraid of?Im so glad I received a review copy of this amazing, powerful, heartfelt story. Marlo has a talent to captivate you from the start and immediately draw on your heart strings, because her characters are believable and they deal with circumstances beyond themselves. I felt for Emmits situation as he was forced to live with an Aunt hed never met.This author captures the endearing qualities of Emmit and the real issues he struggles with being a Downs syndrome teenager, but at the same time youll see the simple way he views life and knows whats important. He hopes Marnie realizes it before its too late. I was absolutely taken in by Emmit praising God in church, how he loved life and I laughed at his obsession with doughnuts!When you meet Emmit and get to know him, you wont look at another Downs syndrome child the same. I highly recommend this novel. The story and its characters will stay with you long after the last page is read.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Shades of Morning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sweetslady
I loved this book! I had a hard time in beginning getting into it, but after I figured out what was going on then I couldn't put it down. Was a beautiful story of old love found again and coming back to Christ! I also loved how Marnie was able to find love for a child with Down's which in tured helped her to face her past. This was a great Christian romance, and just when I thought I had it all figured out. There was a huge twist and I was so wrong. LOL! Great read for summer! This book was provided for review by Waterbrook Multnomah. All opinions are my own.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Shades of Morning
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Heidi Main
This gripping novel was well-written and I loved the plot twists. It was a page-turner, especially towards the end. I truly enjoyed that Marnie and Taylor had a love story in this novel yet were in different cities for all but one scene! That created a mystery and suspense for me, the reader. Marlo answered a question in each chapter then asked another one, creating a heightened sense of curiosity to keep me reading. I was intrigued by this style and loved it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Shades of Morning
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Molly
Shame. Just one word with such huge implications. Shame can cripple and kill. Shame can take a life that was once whole and tear it apart. Shame tells us lies about ourselves.Marlo Shaleskys new book Shades of Morning deals with this powerful and profound subject matter. Shame. Marnie Wittier was raised as a foster child where she never felt wanted, never fit in. The one time she let herself love and be loved by Taylor Cole, she made the biggest mistake of her life. That mistake that led to an even bigger mistake. And now shes running from her past and the shame that haunts her. Although she claims a relationship with God, she cant let go of her guilt. Taylor, too, continues to live his life on the opposite coast haunted by the way he let Marnie down. Until both Taylor and Marnies lives are changed by a special boy with Downs syndrome, named Emmit. The twist at the end of this book with surprise you, but also make you smile as both Marnie and Taylor realize the joy of being set free from shame through the grace of Gods forgiveness. I enjoyed this book, but I still wish I could find a book out there that dealt with the foster care system and CPS workers fairly. As a foster mom who works with amazing social workers it frustrates me that literally EVERY book I have ever read in the Christian market treats foster parents and CPS workers as the enemy and paints us all as greedy, evil people with an agenda.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Shades of Morning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2010
Shades of Morning is a great story of regrets, mystery and renewal of the soul. You will identify with Marnie as her story begins to unfold and you learn of all her many regrets and disappointments she has faced in her life. She will again face her past as many of her secrets and regrets come to the surface throughout the story. I really enjoyed this book as I could identify with past mistakes and regrets, but just when I thought I had the story completely figured out, I would be completely wrong. Enjoyable read, but read all the way to the end to find out Marnie's true story and how her life changed.Here's a quote the I think we all may need to be reminded of: "It's kinda hard to receive something new when your hands are closed tight around something old." Shades of Morning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Shades of Morning
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2010
"Shades of Morning" is a book about love, healing, family, commitment, and self-worth. It has a wonderful message about forgiveness, letting things go and turning those things over to God.The story opens with a tragedy that immediately made my heart break and captured my attention. From that point on, I had to continue reading, and only the need for sleep made me put this book aside. It certainly was a captivating read. Even though I had most of the story figured out, I never saw the end coming.I did enjoy the storyline and a loved the characters, but the ending was not as real and believable as the rest of the storyline. Although good, it was a bit of a disappointment.One wonderful addition to the book is the author's note at the end. She explains one of the characters and where he came from and her personal thoughts. I really liked this little insight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Shades of Morning
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jamie Lynn T
This book was great. It really kept me turning the page and wondering what was going to happen next. It's a great story full of second chances, hope and long lost love. The plot and character development is amazing and really makes you take a second look at how you are living your own life. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who loves a good read and a great ending!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Shades of Morning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Missy
This is the first book of Marlo's that I have read. Multnomah sent me the book to review and blog about. Shades of Morning is one of the best books I have read in a while. The book is about Marnie Wittier who has had a hard life and a lot of regrets. She puts all of her regrets in a box and hides it on a shelf. Her sister, who she had not talked to in fifteen years suddenly dies and Marnie becomes the guardian of her 15 year old nephew, that she never knew about. When he gets there, he is a down syndrome boy whom she has no idea how to take care of. All of her memories from the past that she has tried to hide away comes back to the surface, including her old love, Taylor. Marlo does a great job of of showing every body's point of view and feelings in this book. It also has an ending that you will never expect. I could not put this book down and I read it in two days. This is a must read book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Shades of Morning
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
momL
This fiction novel follows Marnie Wittier on a journey back into her past following the death of her sister, and the arrival of her nephew, a special needs child. Its part mystery, part romance. I enjoyed the story as Marnies past merged with her future and she must decide whether God is big enough to trust with her life and heal her hurts. I found myself relating well to the roller-coaster emotions of raising a special needs child: the behaviors and frustrations that make you want to scream followed by the wonder and innocence of such childlike faith & love being offered unconditionally. Now, I dont want to spoil the ending but being the parent of a special needs child, the ending is totally unbelieveable. And I found myself sometimes confused and having to re-read a paragraph to get whether I was reading about Marnies past or her present. Other than that, its a nice pool side read. This book was provided to me for review by the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Shades of Morning
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mel's World with Melissa Mashburn
I recently received a copy of this book to review and was excited to read a book by Marlo Schalesky. This was the very first book of her that I have read so I went into it without any expectations and was quickly sucked into the life of the main character, Marnie.I laughed, I cried, I ached for Marnie and the journey that she was on. I picked up the book on a Tuesday afternoon on vacation and absolutely could not put it down. I was captivated by what might be coming next in the book, then by Wednesday night I finished the book. I had to sit there for about 15 minutes and just shake my head...wow, wow, wow!This book is not your typical Christian Fiction book, it's got twists, turns, and the most amazing ending I have ever read.You WILL enjoy this incredible book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Shades of Morning
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shellie Billings
Shades of Morning by Marlo Schalesky is a surprising book that had me turning the pages. I find it kind of hard to categorize this book. It is certainly Christian fiction but it has an element of mystery and romance with an interesting plot twist. The characters have depth and the author lets you see the internal struggles they endure. It is a story of triumph and redemption where bringing the past to light has positive results. And it happens in a way that isn't too sugary or trite. My biggest complaint is that I had to read the entire book to be able to understand the main character, Marnie, and why she acts the way she does.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Shades of Morning
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2010
Wow! This book was amazingly straight to the heart, fill you with love, and make you turn each page in anticipation for the next. Quiet small town living. Leaving behind the sorrows and trying to live in today, but Marnie is missing something. Her past is not quiet passed her yet and is about to come full face to the present. Marnie is working in her coffee shop, living a drama free life. She soon hears from Attorney Taylor Cole. Taylor is much more than an attorney, he is Marnie's past. But tragedy has accured and her sister has been in an accident. Now, her son needs a home, and Emmit is being sent to Marnie. But what Marnie doesn't know yet is that Emmit, a fifteen year old boy has Downs Syndrome. Is she up for the challenge?Emmit brings so much into Marnie's life. Ready or not, her life is about to change forever and in a wonderful way.You will fall in love with Emmit. We are able to watch Marnie and Taylor transform from their pasts to bright futures filled with a love they didn't know possible. This book contains so much more than the back cover. It has twists and turns for you to follow, and in the end when it all comes together you will be surprised. It holds a beautiful ending and carries within it much faith, a faith these characters search for. They are trying to leave the pasts, but they cannot without coming to terms with the truth of yesterday. Shades of Morning is one of those keepers to read again on a rainy day to bring some sunshine in your life. Within the shade of the morning is where we find a quiet beauty we don't really realize we need until we are there under the shade of the sun. This book carries such warm characters and the story line is simply beautiful. This one will bless you beyond words as you close that last page. We see how God makes everything complete in His time, and along the journey He gives us what we need to shine.This book was a gift from Multnomah Waterbrook Press for it's review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Shades of Morning
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
Marlo Schalesky won my heart with Beyond the Night the first book I ever read of hers. Shades of Morning stole my heart again and I fell in love with it from the start. Marlo writes with creativity and has the ability to take unusual, sensitive topics and create a story you can get lost in. Shades of Morning revolves around Emmit, a boy with Downs Syndrome and the aunt who unexpectedly gains custody of him, when his mother dies. This is a story of lost love, regrets, second chances and the courage to start over. Its also a story about God giving us gifts in unexpected ways we sometimes cant recognize.This is one book you wont want to miss out on!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Shades of Morning
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2010
I struggle when I need to be honest and give a negative review as is the case with this book. The storyline is that a 15 year old boy with Down's Syndrome has just lost his mother and is being sent to live with his aunt. The aunt left town 15 years ago and left her sister and boyfriend (who had left town and she didn't know if he was coming back). The boy arrives and throws the sister's life into chaos, but she adjusts and learns a lot about life and herself in the process. The writing is good and easy to read. The plot is where my concerns lie. A twist at the end doesn't work. I looked back and reread the beginning to see if I had misread something into the story, but I hadn't. There are some details that are implausible and very unrealistic as well. The twist at the end could also be very disheartening to a reader if you or someone you know has Down's Sydrome. The message could be that life is easier or more valuable or better if one does not have Down's Sydrome or that your child does not. So, am I writing negatively about something that God inspired? Is this a great book and I'm missing it? Should a Christian Inspirational Fiction book be held to the same standards as any other book? Should all elements of the plot work together and be believable? I do know that God encouraged me through this book, yet I still wouldn't recommend it. I do think that the plot of a Christian book should be plausible. For a book to be great, I think you need both wonderful writing and a wonderful, well executed plot where the pieces all fit together--not where your trying to cram a piece into a space that it wasn't made for. At the end, several pieces were trying to be put into a space in the puzzle that they weren't made for. Lastly, because of how the ending could be construed, I wouldn't encourage someone with a child with Downs Syndrome to read this book. Please note I was given a complimentary copy of this book for review by Waterbrook/Multnomah.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.