Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Soulprint: Discovering Your Divine Destiny

Multnomah Books Soulprint: Discovering Your Divine Destiny

Many people live their entire lives trying to be something they're not---don't be one of them! Drawing on theology, psychology, neurology, and defining moments in the life of King David, Batterson helps 20- to 30-somethings process the baggage of old mistakes, insecurities, and outright lies in order to live the authentic life God wants. 184 pages, softcover from Multnomah.
Average Customer Rating:
4.451 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
20
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
51 out of 51100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Soulprint: Discovering Your Divine Destiny
Review 1 for Soulprint: Discovering Your Divine Destiny
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Definite Must Read!

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janet Bender
Location:Goose Creek, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! This book has so much thought-provoking content that I can only digest a few pages at a time. I want to underline every other sentence as important to remember. A wonderful life-changing, spiritual experience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Soulprint: Discovering Your Divine Destiny
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You are "incalculably unique"!

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
JJ Shimko
Location:Williamsport, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Soul Print: Discovering Your Divine Destiny by Mark Batterson was an excellent read. I found it helpful in reflection and study for a few messages I was doing on the life of David. Mark is one of my favorite contemporary pastors/ authors. I found his take on the life of David to be refreshing and insightful. His perspective on each of us having a dual destiny was quite encouraging. Most Christian books would rather simplistically encourage us to make our ultimate destiny to be Christ-like, which he calls our universal destiny and acknowledges is our ultimate purpose in life. But he goes further by identifying our other destiny is unique to each of us: to be unlike anyone who has ever lived. God created us to be someone unique and to do what only we could do. Mark terms you and me as being "incalculably unique". I like that.
God is at work around us to help us become all He longs for us to be but are we willing to trust Him with everything? David did and so can you! Don't quickly read this book. Allow each chapter to soak in and to be absorbed. If you only get one thing from this book absorb this truth, "God wants you to get where God wants you to go more than you want to get where God wants you to go. So take a deep breath, and enjoy the journey (28)."
I received this book to review from Blogging for Books for Multnomah Publishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Soulprint: Discovering Your Divine Destiny
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Soulprint - book review

Date:October 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Doorkeeper
Location:Altus, OK
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Once again, it's time for a review of a book I have read. I received Soulprint, written by Mark Batterson from Blogging for Books/WaterBrookMultnomah Press.
This is the fourth book I have read from Mark and each one has touched my heart in a different way. The cover art gives a great insight into what is to come in the copy to be read inside. ark describes how each of our lives has a unique "soulprint", much like our unique fingerprints. Nobody has the same and each has its own defining characteristics.
Through the pages of this book, you will be challenged to find your divine destiny that God has placed specifically for you. Obviously, we all have different ones, thus it takes work from each of us to find our own.
Come into this book with an open mind, and a heart looking for answers...a pad and pen will help while going through this study. There is also a study guide included to aid with your efforts.
Once again, a brilliant book by one of my favorite authors/ Please read, study amd find what your true calling is!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Soulprint: Discovering Your Divine Destiny
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Discover who you are in Christ

Date:May 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor Deb
Location:Cleveland, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have you ever read one of those books that hit its mark on every page? “Soul Print; discovering your divine destiny” by Mark Batterson is such a book. I’m not surprised. I’ve read his other material; “In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day,” “Wild Goose Chase,” and “Primal.” Each one spoke directly to the heart just as “Soul Print” does.
There are so many people who ask the questions, “Why am I here? … What did God create me for?” I, too, have asked the question numerous times in my life. Batterson’s book takes us on a journey of discovering or rediscovering who we are and why we are here … to embrace each moment in our lives as defining moments for the purposes of God. To know that it’s okay to let things go so that we can move forward in the daily and life long discovery of our purpose in God. Some place this book with “self-help” topics but that would be incorrect. This is a book of self-discovery in which each step is focused on God and not on self. We are defined by who God is and the uniqueness of who we are is found by the creative hand of God.
I have recommended this book to many and will continue to do so. Mark Batterson continues to write books that speak to the believers and leaves them changed for the better when once the book is read through to completion. I look forward to seeing what material Batterson writes in the future. “Soul Print” as found its home on my book shelf along with “In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day,” “Wild Goose Chase,” and “Primal.”
I have reviewed this book for Multnomah Blogging for books program.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Soulprint: Discovering Your Divine Destiny
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Mark Batterson's Soulprint

Date:May 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Greg
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mark Batterson's Soulprint is a thought provoking work that encourages everyone to find their God-given identity, to live the life and be the person that God created each of us to be. Batterson takes the reader through moments in the life of King David to illustrate the purpose of finding our soulprint.
The book was initially difficult to follow as I looked for a progression of Batterson's thoughts as he chronicled the life of David. While the author presents "soulprint" moments in David's life in chronological order, one concept or idea does not connect to the next point. It was as if the author had thoughts in mind and then connected them to David's life.
While the book is, in effect, divided into 6 chapters (5 "scenes" and a closing), the book actually reads as a collection of what could be stand alone essays or blog entries.
As with other Batterson books I've read, this book spends considerable time relating psychological concepts to Scripture. The author is clearly intrigued by mental and psychological theories.
I reviewed this book in conjunction with WaterBrook Multnomah's Blogging for Books program, was not compensated for this review and the opinions expressed are solely mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Soulprint: Discovering Your Divine Destiny
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A life-challenging read

Date:April 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dr G
Location:Chicago
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think for once, I’ve finally gotten it right. Mind you, not everything is always a “do-over.” Nor is much sad or difficult in my life. But I have had a journey of reading that was often met with books that I just could not connect with until I had approached them a third or fourth time.
But I have finally gotten it right (or at least something in that “reading” genre has finally taken ahold of me.)
I just finished reading Soul Print by Pastor Mark Batterson. Keep in mind that I have three other books by Batterson and that I fell absolutely in love with his, In a Pit with a Lion of a Snowy Day. So Soul Print was high on my list of desire-to-reads. And it DID NOT FAIL. In this book, Batterson addresses your uniqueness, as well as God’s unique plan for you. Pastor Mark also encourages and teaches each Christian in the paths of integrity and spirituality.
I think that Batterson brings a fresh breath to the Christian world in the facts that he is relevant and yet, with sufficient Biblical depth. I find his writing engaging as well as thought (and LIFE) provoking and I am always encouraged yet challenged when I read his works. (Plus, it didn’t hurt any that Soul Print drew much of its attention from the stories concerning King David, who happens to be one of the Bible’s most interesting individuals.
I strongly recommend Soul Print and I look forward to using it in my personal life as well in my teachings. I rate it 5 out of 5. I find no fault with it other than I prefer briefer chapters … but with the divisions within each chapter, that was over-lookable.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
Isaiah 49:2- “I am like a polished arrow in His quiver.”
Garrett Ministries is a division of Polished Arrow Christian Endeavors, a Not-for-Profit Corporation licensed in the state of Illinois.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Soulprint: Discovering Your Divine Destiny
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Food for thought

Date:April 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sharding
Location:Tell City, Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received and read this book through the Blogging for Books program for Multnomah publishing. I am glad I did. It was worth my time and contemplation. I was pleasantly surprised that the book has a discussion of David throughout. I was not expecting that.
While I do not think every assumption and assertion is directly from the Bible, the book discusses many ideas that are certainly thought-provoking. I am usually reluctant to read this type of book because so many authors write as though “having it all” is easy, and is even “our right as Christians”. That is hogwash.
With that in mind, I read this book hoping to find some nuggets of truth. I believe there is some truth in this book. For example, using David’s life to demonstrate how to succeed in our own skin (when David did not wear Saul’s armor), what humility is (dancing for joy and in praise in front of God), how to confront and get past sin, etc. is effective and could be truth.
I enjoyed the book. I would have preferred more Bible references and that the passage be noted with the passages instead of hidden in the endnotes at the back of the book. I appreciated the discussion questions at the end of the book, but again would have liked them after each chapter.
I made a number of notes and highlighted several sentences in the book. These were ideas that sparked my interest for further review and reflection. Since I believe that we are each created to praise and worship God, the premise that only I can do it the way I would do it and that makes me unique conforms to some degree to my thinking. It is possible to get carried away with this thought. The author does warn against that in more than one place.
A couple of statements I question: pg 12: “He also died to resurrect the person we were destined to be before sin distorted the image of God in us.” I don’t know where this idea comes from! Pg 25: “…God never sets us up to fail.” My comment to that: If for some reason God’s purposes require us to fail, – our definition of failure – we will fail! It’s about God’s purposes, not ours.
Some statements that I believe: pg 38 “Our control issues are really trust issues.” AMEN. Pg 62 “The ultimate objective of every circumstance is to cultivate the character of Christ in us.”
I enjoyed the book and will recommend it to those people who are most likely to will use discernment when reading it. I read one review of the book that suggested that it is good for new believers. I disagree with that. There is too much in this book that needs a good foundation in scripture and a good relationship with God or parts could be misinterpreted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Soulprint: Discovering Your Divine Destiny
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Soul Print created thoughts that I needed to have.

Date:April 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brian
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mark Batterson, Soul Print: Discovering your Divine Destiny.
I judge a book by the thoughts it causes me to think. I did not get off the first page of Soul Print and my mind was reeling. As a campus minister on a major university in the North East, identity formation is a common topic of discussion with my peers and colleagues in Student Life. I have often seen the becoming who God designed you to be through the redeeming work of Christ and the transforming action of the Holy Spirit as being the example of identity formation par excellence. It is the benchmark to which everyone is striving. Mark’s opening chapter lined up with what I was already thinking. He was able to coherently express what I have wanted to for awhile. One major disappointment with this book is that I did not get to write it first.
Soul Print directly connected with what I’m actively pursuing as I help develop college students. It also connected ideas from three other books I had read in the recent past. The first is the End of Memory: Remembering Rightly in a Violent World by Miroslav Volf. Volf is much more academic in his treatment of the concept of memory but he comes to the same basic conclusions. We need to properly steward our memories. Soul Print, in my mind, became the application of Volf’s esoteric text.
The second book connects with Soul Print at an entirely different point. Erwin Raphael McManus’ Soul Cravings is the book that gets you to pick up Soul Print. Soul Cravings is the discussion about what does your soul need. What is it looking for? Intimacy, destiny, purpose are McManus’ answers. Batterson gives a good blueprint in Soul Print for finding those answers. Soul Cravings produces the questions. Soul Print is the workbook for finding the answers.
The final book is from Donald Miller. A Million Miles in a Thousand Years is exactly what it would look like if someone went on the journey Batterson encourages us to take in Soul Print. Donald allows us to watch him as he sorts through the destiny questions in a very Soul Print kind of way. Donald would be a fellow traveler for anyone who goes on the journey.
Soul Cravings creates the question that needs to be answered. The End of Memory provides the theological and philosophical ground work for answering that question. Soul Print is the applied workbook for developing that answer that is specifically tailored to your life in the eyes of God. A Million Miles in a Thousand Years is a firsthand testimony of someone on the journey. With that said, evaluating how these books fit together, Soul Print is the lynchpin. It was the book that connected them in my mind. It is also the one that I would recommend to read if you could only read one of them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Soulprint: Discovering Your Divine Destiny
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Soul print is not self help

Date:April 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor George
Location:Randolph, VT
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a recovering psychology major, I am skeptical when Christian authors delve into the “self-help” market. In order to avoid the self-help label, the author states in the opening chapter: “Make no mistake, this is no self-help book. Self-help is nothing more than idolatry dressed up in a rented tuxedo (page 2).” The author’s purpose is to go deeper than the typical Christian examines their unique gifts and talents.
Several times in the book the author encourages the reader to see weakness or disadvantages as strengths and advantages. One reason: “They force us to develop attitudes and abilities that would have otherwise gone undiscovered (page 18).”
I was encouraged when the author discussed the need for us to build “altars” to remember the faithfulness of God. (My office shelves are lined with many such memories of God’s hand in my life.)
The crux of the book is found in his application of the Johari Window – a matrix on the study of human personality (page 116). I don’t want to give away too much of the book, so I won’t go into specifics.
I found this book to be insightful and enjoyable (although at times personally challenging). At the end of the book are discussion question that would be good for a small group meeting.
* Note: I received this book for free for the purpose of doing a review, but was not required to write a favorable review of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Soulprint: Discovering Your Divine Destiny
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Soul Print Timeless Truth made Contemporary/Fresh

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dartman
Location:Montana
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In Soul Print Batterson addresses the God-wired desire in each of us, to realize our divine destiny. His extensive use of the life of King David to help his readers gain a mental picture of the twists and turns in finding ones "Soul Print" communicates well. Batterson makes his point about divine destiny, but not in a much different way than did Craig Groschel in Chazown. What Batterson did do a bit differently was emphasize the importance of community in helping one realize their Soul Print. He also added the element of needing spiritual healing from past hurts, habits, hangups, and failures to reach our divine destiny much like Life's Healing Choices. I guess there is no new thing under the sun, just more contemporary and fresh ways to comunicate it! His insight about needing others to speak into our life freely to uncover blind spots was dead on. If you have read any of Battersons other books you will hear some of the same stories, but aside from that this book is a quick read; insightful, and gives practical application. I recommend it with no reservations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Soulprint: Discovering Your Divine Destiny
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In his book "Soul Print," Mark Batterson strives to open up the path of discovery for Christians. His desire is to open up to each person who calls upon the name of God the five defining moments in his life that will help determine his destiny, that will help him discover what God can do in him and through him.
Mark's writing style is extremely exceptional, as it has the ability to speak clearly the truth in such a manner that it grabs your attention, causing an examination of your own life as compared to that which you just read.
Through his knowledge of Biblical truth and worldly understanding, Mark wants the reader, the Christian, the seeker, to come to understand that which they are and what they have gone through in life are all essential to who they can be in the name of God.
This point is brought forth as we read about our own life's footprints, or in essence, how our past helps define our future and how our present is effected by our past, which will carry us into the future.
The most transforming aspect of the book for me came as Mark explained in detail the Johari Window. The Johari Window is a passageway into our soul. Thinking of the meaning of each quadrant brought me to reflect upon my own life and where it stood in the presence of God. I hope it does the same for all others.
All in all, this book is a MUST read, for it is a powerful tool that God will utilize within our lives if we will allow Him to do so.
Dr. Jeff Krupinski
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Soulprint: Discovering Your Divine Destiny
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent for challenging you walk of faith.

Date:March 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Morgan
Location:Interlochen, MI
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Soul Print, by Mark Batterson is a journey of personal discovery that leads to the discovery of our “soul print”, our true divine destiny. In this book, Mark Batterson uses stories from King David’s own story in the Bible as a way to show the reader how God uses everyone and how He is showing us our own destiny. Batterson also becomes transparent through this book, opening up to his readers about many personal and insightful things that have gone on in his own life. He states that it is not the size of your ministry or how accomplished you are for God as much as who you are becoming in your relationship with God.
This book is recommended for anyone who is seeking to be challenged in the walk of faith, but know that I, personally, believe that even though it does matter how grown you are in your relationship with God, He also has called us to share with others who do not know him. And if we don’t do that because we are focusing on ourselves, then who is?
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Soulprint: Discovering Your Divine Destiny
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read!

Date:March 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mike
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The back cover of this book says it all. "God would like to introduce you to yourself." Mark's work focuses on how to really discover your divine destiny, and he uses the story of David from the Old Testament as his guide. Not only does this book contain insights into the familiar story of David that I've never heard before, it is also highly applicable. The marriage of theology and practicality in this book is awesome. Every book should be this theologically sound, and yet this applicable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Soulprint: Discovering Your Divine Destiny
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thought Provoking and Challenging

Date:March 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Proverbs 31 Wannabe
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

In his book Soul Print, Mark Batterson challenges the reader to find their destiny, their purpose for being. He explains that God created us all in His image, but He also created each of us to be different. We all have a purpose and while we are to live that out, it's more about our relationship with God than what we do. Batterson writes "Jesus didn't die just to get us off the hook. He also died to resurrect the person we were destined to be before sin distorted the image of God in us." Jesus died to set us free from all of our imperfections and insecurities.
Batterson uses illustrations from the life of King David to explain that God uses everything that happens in our lives to prepare us for His plan. David was a shepherd boy, not a soldier like his brothers. When he fought Goliath, he didn't use a sword and wear heavy armor. He fought Goliath using experience he had gained as a shepherd, fighting off predators from the sheep. That's how he won the battle against the giant. Whatever we face in life is preparation for what's to come.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Soulprint: Discovering Your Divine Destiny
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WOW! This is a must-read!!

Date:March 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
BrittanyKetter
Location:PA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
*"There are no ordinary people. You have never talked to a mere mortal."* - C.S. Lewis, *The Weight of Glory*
In *SoulPrint*, Mark Batterson takes you on a journey of self-discovery while exploring the life of King David and walking through his destiny getting a clear view of his soul print.
When I picked up this book, I knew it would be a good read - but it did not occur to me how it would change my own mindset on my divine destiny.
Mark takes you through this journey hitting on key points to help you discover your destiny. Some of these points include:
-Confidence
-Divine Delays
-Letting God lead
-Integrity
-Willpower
-Your Own Weaknesses
-Your Strengths
-And there are others!
Mark expertly takes you through and raises questions to bring you to a place where you must question your own divine destiny.
God created us uniquely. And each of us has a unique calling on our life and a different journey of getting to where we are called. Our calling and our journey make up our soulprint. But the purpose of our soulprint is to show the very prints of God himself as He has shaped us to be!
Consider *SoulPrint* a guide in taking your first steps towards self-discovery and to finding your soul print. What mark are you destined to leave?
This is a must read! You will be challenged, encouraged and blessed by the message that Mark Batterson shares in this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Soulprint: Discovering Your Divine Destiny
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Soul Print by Mark Batterson

Date:March 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
jlpministries
Location:Dothan, Al
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What is your soul print? To begin to answer that question you have to understand what a soul print actually is. In Soul Print, Mark Batterson answers that and seeks to show how each person’s soul print is a defining part of their life. An easy summation of Batterson’s definition of a soul print is this: Who you were, Who you are, and Who you can become. Throughout our lives there are certain moments; certain situations that have seared themselves into our memories. Many of these moments are moments when God had become particularly real and active in our lives and on our behalf. These moments and memories make up who you were. These things are not always bad and they are not always good. No matter which, they do however have a defining impact on who we are now and who we can become. Many times however we never let God use these in our lives to shape us into what His soul print for us is. To do this, Batterson suggests that we build monuments or reminders to these past actions of God on our behalf. In this way we will never lose or forget what God has done for us to bring us from who we were to who we are. Likewise who we are now, our personality, our talents, our faults, our good; these things are all influenced by who we were and who we can become. This is where we get to make the choices in life that will lead us into what we will become. The present, where we are now, is the place that God intersects our lives daily and places choices in are path as to who we will become. Will we let God mold us into our perfect soul print for His glory, or will we choose to make our own soul print in this life? Who we can become is only fully known by God but the choices we make in our present will affect whether we allow God to make that future for us or if we will be our life molders. So Batterson places that question before each of us. Who are you? What is your soul print? Who were you, who are you now, and who are you going to choose to become? The major question is this, Who will you let make that choice?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Soulprint: Discovering Your Divine Destiny
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

awesome interpretation of the life of David!

Date:February 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rachel
Location:Milford, MA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome interpretation of the life of David! Mark Batterson takes the reader, through what the Bible tells us about King David, into a deeper examination of God's design of each person. Personally, I found the book to be both comforting and probing. It invited me to look at myself through the lenses of the God that created me and has called me to me more than I am already. Also, loved the thought-provoking questions in the discussion guide.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Soulprint: Discovering Your Divine Destiny
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A worthwhile read, good for the heart and soul

Date:February 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Madison preacher
Location:Madison, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was the fourth book by Mark Batterson that I have read. Like the others, I found it a worthwhile read, filled with thought-provoking ideas and worthwhile illustrations. He speaks to the reader's heart and soul and helps you understand your walk with God.
I appreciated how Batterson grounded the material of his book on the life of a Biblical character, in this case King David. As an expository preacher, I have a strong sense that we need to ground Christian teaching in the words of Scripture and in an understanding of the people that we find in Scripture.
For this reviewer, however, I found that the grounding of Batterson's book in Scripture is also its weakness. Except in a couple of places, Batterson does not adequately "exegete" the life of David. His look at David's life mostly has the sense of illustrating his thesis, instead of guiding his thesis.
I did find Batterson's transparency about his own life and ministry were helpful tools in illustrating and clarifying his ideas. He does not, in my view, let his life get in the way of what he is "teaching," but does show how he has wrestled with his concepts in his own life before preaching and writing the ideas.
In the end, I think there are some things that could strengthen the book, but overall found it to be helpful and thought-provoking.
I was provided a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Soulprint: Discovering Your Divine Destiny
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good for the soul

Date:February 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cody Stauffer
Location:Payette, ID
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Some times we send a message to others that humanity is utterly worthless and useless. The Protestant movement had as one of its founding principles the idea that man is totally depraved, and our preaching throughout the centuries has been rife with phrases comparing humanity to bugs or worms.
But God started with an entirely different perspective of us. God originally called us "very good," because God made us, and God loved what God made. While I understand the aim of preaching like I mentioned above, one of the unfortunate side effects of such teaching is that we often end up with this understanding that we are of no use or good at all, even after meeting God.
Mark Batterson, in his book Soulprint: Discovering Your Divine Destiny, instead argues that we are in fact unique and that God wants us to use that uniqueness to step into the story God is writing. Others might see something entirely different- they might look at us and see "too young" or "not smart." But God instead sees the unique gifts and purpose that God wants us to embrace.
Batterson follows the life of David from the Old Testament. In the very beginning, we see that even Jesse, David's father, does not see much in David. But God does. And as the story unfolds, we see that David steps bravely into the role God was calling him to play. We know the results.
As I read the book, being a preacher, I could see that this was clearly an adaptation of a sermon series that Mark probably preached in the past. In old preacher lingo, "it preaches well." The book is a quick, engaging read, and would be perfect for small group discussion. Batterson calls us to recognize that our uniqueness is not a testament to us, but rather to the God who made us all.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the WaterBrook Multnomah Blogging For Books book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Soulprint: Discovering Your Divine Destiny
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great self-discovery

Date:February 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jack
Location:West Bend
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looking back on your life to gain insight into your soul can be a process that challenges the core of your being. In the book Soulprint by Mark Batterson this is what he asks you to do and frankly what you may find will help you to understand "you". I think it goes without saying that there are times that you can look back at and realize how it impacted your life, but have you ever considered how it shaped your very soul?
Self discovery books can be found anywhere and most will have your head spinning with information that leaves you questioning even further who you are. As the author states "self-discovery always leads in one of two directions: self-worship or worship of God."In this book, thankfully, you will be led to worship of God. The author is plentiful in the use of Scripture and although you are not going to be reading a lengthy book, the meat is there without the fluff. This is the first book I have been exposed to by Mark Batterson and it will not be my last.
I received this book as part of the Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group's Blogging for Books program in exchange for an honest review and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.