Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan A January Bride - eBook

Zondervan A January Bride - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A January Bride - eBook
Review 1 for A January Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Sweet and Adorable Story

Date:May 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
stampincass
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received an eARC copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley. Here is my honest review.
This is the second book in the A Year of Weddings series. Just like the first novella, this one is sweet and an enjoyable read.
What I really enjoyed in this book was the fact that Meredith and Art began their romance with a series of daily notes and a misconception that the other was older. The fact that they connected through the written word in a honest and genuine way made it more believable that they would be marrying within four, five months of that first note being exchanged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A January Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet story

Date:May 14, 2014
A January Bride by Deborah Raney is A Year of Weddings novella. I really enjoyed this little story. I couldn't put it down because I enjoyed the characters and the plot so much. It was such a perfect, cute, fun book. :-)
Madeleine Houser is an author with a dilemma. Her house is being renovated leaving her without the peace and quiet to write. With a deadline looming closer and closer, she is feeling the pinch in a big way. When her neighbor, Ginny, tells her of an old Victorian house she could write in, she is thrilled. The beautiful bed and breakfast is just what she needs, and she jots a quick note thanking the owner for letting her use his gorgeous home during the day. They start to correspond through letters every day, and begin to fall in love with each other.
Such a sweet, captivating story! I didn't want it to end, but on the plus side, I've now found a new author to enjoy. :-)
I was given this book free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A January Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A January Bride shows how God is at work.

Date:April 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
ceemee
Location:Metro Manila, Philippines
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Annabeth's Inn became more than a peaceful place where author Madeleine Houser continued writing her latest novel, when the construction at her sister's place became too distracting. She was grateful to octogenarian Ginny Ross, her neighbor and friend, for the arrangement made with the inn's owner and Ginny's friend, Arthur Tyler. One note left by Madeleine to Arthur started a correspondence between them like old friends, although they have never met. Both of them enjoyed their daily exchanges, but some misunderstandings led them to have false preconceptions of each other.
I was eagerly anticipating the moment and the manner in which Maddie and Art would meet. How the sparks would fly, and the novella did not disappoint. But both of them had issues that needed to be addressed. A January Bride showed how God was at work in both of their lives and how things seem so serendipitous and yet, there's knowledge that prayers are answered and God is putting the puzzling pieces together. This story developed quite nicely. It was quite wittily written, actually. I smiled at how the words Maddie and Art used in their letters even deepened their misconceptions of each other. I'm sorry if I'm kind of talking in riddles, but you have to read the book yourself to discover what the mystery is all about.
Note: I got this e-book to review compliments of BookLook Bloggers in exchange for honest opinions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A January Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not your usual romance: fun comedy of errors

Date:March 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Katharina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The second book in this fun series has quite a unique twist.
I really enjoyed reading a story about a historical fiction writer trying to write a book. The setting was cozy. The misunderstandings are funny and natural, quite the comedy of errors. Alex the cat is cool. The matchmaking neighbor a lot of fun. And the way the romance develops is different and interesting. It’s a squeaky clean romance with two or three kisses.
Disclosure: I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A January Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Slow and Sweet

Date:March 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Simply Emmy
Location:Bacolod City, Philippines
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The story is filled with warmth. I liked the idea of how Deborah Raney, the author, brought in the traditional or old-fashioned to the modern, that of the characters writing each other love letters – in the form of little notes. The relationship of the characters were built through the written word and spun around it. The issues that the characters have to deal with are very true to real life – dealing with grief and letting go of the memory and dealing with heartbreak and loving again – these are no easy feat. But, what I like the most is the courage and the bravery of Maddie especially when she needed to confront and get things out in the open.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A January Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great plot!

Date:February 21, 2014
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I completely enjoyed this sweet story! The friendship established through letters, the misunderstanding, and their "meet-cute" made this a wonderful novella. The only thing I felt was lacking was the chemistry between the main characters, but the friendship was very well depicted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A January Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet and Intriguing

Date:February 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
January Bride
Deborah Raney
Book Summary: Part of A Year of Wedding Novella series In A January Bride by Deborah Raney, what will happen when novelist Madeleine Houser’s “pen pal” friendship with a lonely widower takes an unexpected turn? Who can work in a house that's overrun by contractors and carpenters? Not Madeleine Houser, a successful novelist who gladly accepts the help of her octogenarian friend, Ginny, to arrange for a temporary office in the charming bed and breakfast owned by Ginny's friend, Arthur. Maddie's never met the innkeeper - but a friendship grows between them as Maddie and Arthur leave messages for each other each day. To Maddie's alternate delight and chagrin, she seems to be falling for the inn's owner - a man who's likely many years her senior - and who she's never even met.
Review: This is a unique book in that it is debuted as ebooks and will later be published as a book. I like this series. The stories are short and sweet. The main characters are Maddie and Art. The majority of the story is spent with Maddie. You get glimpses of Art - so that makes the story even more intriguing. I liked Ginny a secondary character but the facilitator of events. She knows things about both Maddie and Art that the other does not. It is sweet and for anyone who has spent time apart prior to marriage from their fiancé knows that sweet can be a great start. I hope the rest are as enjoyable as this one.
I would like to thank Net Galley and Zondervan Fiction for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A January Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A January Bride: A Year of Weddings Novella, by Deborah Raney, is a charming story. A short story set in modern times, this book tells of two people who never expected to fall in love, but find themselves hopelessly drawn to each other.
Madeleine Houser finds it difficult to write her latest novel in the midst of the renovations on her house. Still living out of boxes from her recent move from New York to Kansas, Maddie decides to accept her neighbor’s offer to ask a friend if she can write at his inn. Arthur Tyler is happy to allow his friend’s neighbor the use of the house during the day while he is teaching. Both assume the other is much older, and begin leaving each other notes each day. When they finally meet and realize their mistake, they are already intrigued by each other.
I enjoyed this short story. It addressed issues such as feeling too old to find love, finding love after the death of a spouse, intergenerational friendships, and caring for parents with Alzheimer’s disease. The characters’ flaws and problems were common, and their personalities drew me into the story.
I would recommend this book to all who enjoy a good Christian romance.
Kara
I received this book free from the publisher and was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A January Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A January Bride

Date:February 1, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A January Bride, from the Year of Wedding Novellas series, is the latest novella by Deborah Raney . This is a fun short story that tells the tale of Madeleine Houser, a successful author who is having trouble meeting a deadline on her latest novel. She has no idea what she will find, when she simply goes looking for a quiet place to write!
Madeleine has recently moved to Kansas from New York to be near her ailing mother. When her home becomes over-crowded with contractors, trying to update her house; she must find a place to escape and finish her latest novel. Her elderly neighbor and new friend, Ginny, suggests a local bed & breakfast.
Madeleine problems are solved as she ventures into this quiet spot to gather her thoughts and put them to paper. She thinks the B&B is owned by an elderly professor, Arthur Tyler, whom she daily communicates with by hand-written notes. Madeleine's world is turned upside-down when she learns that Arthur is really a young, handsome widower!
This tale has a fun ending as Madeleine finds love where she least expected it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A January Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

sweet and lovely

Date:January 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Larik
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A January Bride
Its amazing when writers write about writers, it gives a whole new perspective to their life. It's hilarious how written words can be interpreted and even more so how our mind fill in the blanks. this book, second I've read from the collection - a-year-of-weddings, is concentrating on it and also on the fact that our inner beauty and actual value can be exposed, or better yet, shown, only through our words.
Such a sweet story of love at "first sight"! after exchanging numerous notes Maddie and Art finally meet face to face and instantly fall in love but love is never easy and brings its challenges. Art is afraid that he won't be able to truly love another person after his wife's untimely death. and at the same time he is ridden with guilt over his feelings for Maddie. Maddie on the other hand had her heart broken one too many times and is afraid that giving Art a chance to do the same will be the last straw. But everything Planned by God has a perfect timing and a miraculous way of becoming reality.
very enjoyable and encouraging short novella- perfect way to start a new year of reading.
Disclaimer: I received a free copy go this book from Publisher, through netgalley, in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A January Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lots of fun

Date:January 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Author Madeleine Houser has moved to Clayburn, Kansas, to be near her sick mother. She’s living in her sister’s house, but the endless renovations are making it impossible for her to write. So her 80-year-old neighbour, Ginny, makes a suggestion: that she write at a local guest house, owned by Ginny’s widowed friend, Arthur Tyler, an English professor at a nearby college.
Maddy doesn’t meet Art, but is introduced to him through the note he leaves for her, which she replies to, starting a daily correspondence. She thinks Ginny might be interested in Art and tries to set the two up, only to find Art is actually only in his thirties. For his part, Art was convinced Maddie was much older, so is equally surprised when they meet and the sparks begin to fly.
I really enjoyed A January Bride. I liked both Maddie and Art, and it was fun to watch them get together (and then suffer. As Madeleine says, it’s “the bane of an author’s existence—the need to make her beloved characters suffer”). It is a novella, so it’s a quick read, but it’s a lot of fun. The writing was excellent, and I especially liked the way the author fall victim to the common fault of trying to cram in too much plot or too many characters. Close to the perfect romance.
A January Bride is the first title I’ve read by Deborah Raney, and I’m sure it won’t be the last.
Thanks to Zondervan and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A January Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Sweet Read

Date:January 7, 2014
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a sweet read.
I loved the description of the inn that Maddie writes in. I could see the sun filtering in through the windows and the warm of the cat snuggled at her feet. I enjoyed reading about her writing process and knowing that is probably how Deb Raney writes as well. I love glimpses into the author.
The notes Maddie and Art exchange build a tension that you can't wait to be relieved and you keeps you wondering what will happen when they finally meet.
When they do finally meet I did feel their feelings for each other were a bit strong at first. But then as I thought about it they really did know each other, they just thought the other person was older.
Overall a nice read. It didn't have any heart twisting with emotion but I enjoyed A January Bride. It's fun to read about a bride in the month we are currently in (which is VERY cold here in Michigan).
A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher through Netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A January Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Charming Love Story

Date:December 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a really creative love story! For much of the book, Madeleine Houser and Arthur Tyler had not even met in person! It is quite a cute concept and the author did a very good job with this sweet novella.
Maddie is an author in need of a quiet place to work. Arthur is a widowed professor who has a bed and breakfast that he used to run with his deceased wife. When a mutual friend tells him of Maddie’s dilemma, he agrees to let Maddie do her writing there at the inn during the day while he is gone. What ensues is a fun mix up involving little notes left between Art and Maddie. Each thinks the other is much older and bares more of themselves in the notes than they would have if they knew to whom they were really writing.
The author did a nice job of creating likeable characters. Arthur had quite a bit of baggage to let go of, creating some good, heartfelt conflict. This is a charming love story that I would recommend to those who love reading romance. This novella is another good example of writing that can tell a full story and not seemed rushed, even if it is not a full length novel.
I received a complimentary copy of this novella from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review, which I have given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.