Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Journeyforth Changed Into His Image

Journeyforth Changed Into His Image

How can you grow spiritually if you don't fully understand God's plan? Originally written for his daughters, Berg's guidebook combines Scripture-based teaching and practical examples to teach believers how to build an intimate, satisfying relationship with God. It's part biblical worldview and part basic road map for Christian growth! 372 pages, softcover from BJU Press.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Changed Into His Image
Review 1 for Changed Into His Image
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good book

Date:August 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brad
Location:IL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm only about a third of the way through the book, but well worth the read. I orginally bored a copy and after reading the first chapter knew I wanted my own copy so I could highlight and make notes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Changed Into His Image
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read for every serious believer!

Date:July 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
momof3
Location:Wingate, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cannot express enough how life changing this book is! If you really are ready to be serious in your relationship with God, then your first goal should be to become Christlike. I love that this book is not full of the author's opinions, instead Mr. Berg shows us how Biblical change is accomplished only through God's word! This is a book you need to read more than once. I am starting to read it again and use the companion study with my daily reading, Taking Time to Change. Order this book, open your Bible everyday alongside it and get ready for Biblical growth!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Changed Into His Image
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good book for Growing in Christ

Date:March 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pastorscott
Location:Albuquerque NM
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I great book for growing in Christ, good for new believers as well as those who have know the Lord for some time. Good use of Scripture and practical application.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Changed Into His Image
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa Mather
My husband was able to sit under the author while in college and this book is a wonderful example of great godly principles.If you're looking for a book to grow deeper as a Christian, this is the book for you! Very informative and uses multiple biblical references.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Changed Into His Image
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Francis Richardson
If you are a Christian man, or if you want to be a man living for Christ, this book must be read before you do anything else. To be like Christ is our ultimate goal, and Dr. Berg shows you how to do that. I did not do the small group study, but I would think this book would be powerful with its reliance on Scripture and its practical application of those Scriptures to every man's life. Dr. Berg does rely upon his experiences and education in child rearing to make his points, but that helps us to understand the principles he is sharing from Scripture.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Changed Into His Image
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Darren Blough
This is a MUST read, MUST study for everyone who is truly a Christian (follower of Christ). We purchased a copy for everyone in the family. We cannot praise this one too highly. It should be read and reread. What a blesseing it is.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Changed Into His Image
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patrice Haynes
I would highly recommend reading this book. It is one of the best written books on this subject, and the study guide is also well worth the investment. I have learned so much from them both, and have truly enjoyed the study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Changed Into His Image
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2007
Customer Avatar
Christina
I recognize some of the names of the other reviewers up there - very godly Christians who regularly influence others for Christ. I, on the other hand, am your average Christian, and not really a stellar one at that. I'm just trying to understand what it is to live the Christian life, and thankful that God hasn't tired of me and my many failures yet, but rather, shows me patience and tirelessly works on me everyday. I am in the middle of reading Changed into His Image. Well, middle? I just finished the chapter on "Recognizing the Evil Within," - the second chapter. While God has already, in His grace, seen fit to give me a fairly clear understanding of this in practical experience even before reading this, it has, gloriously, brought me one step lower in my own estimation, and one step closer to realizing my total dependence upon God for the change that I desire to see in my life. See? Just two chapters in, and it's already making a difference. ;) I bet it will do the same for you! :D BTW, Mr. Collier, I also appreciate your wife's book, and have begun my own "Notebook." My favorite title so far is "My God is NOT LIKE ME." PRAISE THE LORD! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Changed Into His Image
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2005
Customer Avatar
Craig N. Johnson
Jim Berg, the author, will give you the 'big picture' of sanctification (the believer's growth in holiness). He uses Ephesians 4.22ff as his outline for the book. In that passage, the apostle Paul gives us God's plan for growth in Christlikeness. Three parts of sanctification are given: putting off the old man, having your mind renewed, and putting on the new man. These 3 parts of sanctification could also be called 3 responsibilities for the Christian. This is the blueprint that God gives us for growth in holiness; if a man should expect to see any growth in the Christian life, it is only reasonable that he 'follow God's plan.'Berg's first chapter is an introduction to the book. There he highlights the goal of sanctification - Christlike humility, and tells us in a nutshell how we reach that goal. We are to work hard (putting off, renewing our minds, and putting on) while we trust the "Person of Change" (the Holy Spirit) to produce the fruit in our lives. The rest of the book explains what it means to put off, renew our minds, and put on. Berg gives 4 chapters per responsibility.Berg does an excellent job explaining Scripture. He is clear and interesting. His illustrations are very helpful. Not only is he clear, he is applicational. Truth from God's Word is never meant to be only 'understood.' The job of a teacher of the Word is to teach others 'to observe.' Berg does that. He shows the reader how to apply the truths. He intends, as much as he is able, to make it easy to obey by giving simple steps to follow.This book will be one that you will go back to over and over again.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Changed Into His Image
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 15, 2002
Customer Avatar
Jeremy Herbert
In a day when books about the Christian life are being written by the scores, "Changed Into His Image" stands out! It offers real help and encouragement because it is a serious and practical look at the doctrines of man and of God. Much more than good ideas or helpful thoughts, it is a systematic and thorough look at becoming like Christ. I would recommend it highly for personal, small group, or discipleship study!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Changed Into His Image
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2000
Customer Avatar
Karla Armstrong
A friend gave me this book, raving about what an impact it had on her. So I read it. And now I rave about it and have given it to many friends. I can't say I learned anything "new" about sanctification, but what I did gain was a fresh understanding of it with plenty of practical application. There's something here for new believers, stalled believers, and even non-believers. This one is destined to become a classic. Get it, read it, apply it. You'll be glad you did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Changed Into His Image
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2000
Customer Avatar
Debbie Carroll
I have been trying throughout my Christian life to overcome anxiety, depression , and overweight. Unfortunately I have always tried solving these life-dominating problems my own way. Jim Berg has taught me that God's recovery program is santification. God's Word contains all I need for life and godliness and each day I am finding new life and joy in Christ like I have never had before. My husband and I are leading a group study of this book in our church and it is having a tremendous impact on many lives. In order to succeed and be useful to Christ every Christian must understand and apply the process of Sanctification to their lives. I highly recommend this book (as well as its accompanying workbook and video series) as a tool to understanding this great Bible truth. Not only a "must-read" but a "must-do" as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Changed Into His Image
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2000
Customer Avatar
Ken Collier
A clear-viewed look at a critical subject! What could be more important than being taught how to grow as a Christian? This book has brought an understanding of God's plan for growth to each member of my family. It has greatly helped my daughter, who is a 15 year old high school sophomore and has equally been a help to my son, who is a third year seminary student! I have used it disciple adults as well as to train 100 plus college-aged summer camp counselors. I refer to it daily in my own life and I am pleased to recommend it to you as a truly understandable and accurate manual for Christians who desire to grow in the image of Christ!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Changed Into His Image
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2000
Customer Avatar
Bruce McAllister
I would highly recommend this helpful book on the theme of sanctification. Jim Berg has an unusual gift for using analogies to clarify and apply truth. Our church has used his book and workbook in our adult small group Sunday school classes. Many people were greatly blessed and helped through the study. There is also a workbook and video series available as companions to this book. I have known Jim and his wife and children for many years. His personal and family life strongly exemplify the principles taught in this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Changed Into His Image
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2000
Customer Avatar
Jim Newcomer
Charles Spurgeon's words to his students are timeless: "Master those books you have. Read them thoroughly. Bathe in them until they saturate you. Read and reread them, masticate and digest them. Let them go into your very self. Peruse a good book several times and make notes and analyses of it. A student will find that his mental constitution is more affected by one book thoroughly mastered than by twenty books he has merely skimmed. Little learning and much pride come of hasty reading. Some men are disabled from thinking by putting meditation away for the sake of much reading. In reading let your motto be 'much, not many.'" (Quoted in J. Oswald Sanders' Spiritual Leadership, 106) The reading of good Christian books is a key element in any Christian who is seeking to grow in a living, thriving knowledge of God and His Word. As we make our way through the Christian life we come across a few books that grab our attention, uncover a weakness, stimulate our thinking and lay out needed direction for us. These books become our favorites and, as Spurgeon counsels, we find ourselves both rereading them on a regular basis and recommending them to others as a first resort. Jim Berg's Changed into His Image will be such a book in your life. It is in mine.I had the privilege of reading through this book before it was published. Jim Berg had placed several copies of chapters and the final book into my wife's and my hands during the time of his writing. As I watched this work come together, I knew that a Christian classic was in the making. Having seen the finished product, I am not disappointed. I wholeheartedly recommend this book to every Christian.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Changed Into His Image
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2000
Customer Avatar
Jon Daulton
An outstanding resource for dealing with the heart issues of sin problems. I have found it valuable not only as a counseling guide for others but also as a stirring challenge to my own heart..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.