Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Torn: Trusting God When Life Leaves You in Pieces

Multnomah Books Torn: Trusting God When Life Leaves You in Pieces

We naturally ask the question "Why?" when we're hurting. But as pastor Jud Wilhite turned to the Bible in his own pain, he was surprised to discover that another question matters more: "Who?" Who is worthy of our trust when our trust has gone into hiding?

You may be experiencing a time of such darkness that you wonder if you will ever find "normal" again or look toward the future with hope. In Torn, Jud explores your questions as well as God's answers-and God's mysteries. With a pastor's heart, he looks with you at practical ways to fight for joy, deal with anger and depression, and make the million tiny decisions that add up to a life committed to God even when your heart is broken.

Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Torn: Trusting God When Life Leaves You in Pieces
Review 1 for Torn: Trusting God When Life Leaves You in Pieces
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

helping us to trust God in the darkest times

Date:June 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have you ever felt like your world was being torn apart? Did you wonder where God was in that mess of life?
Jud proposes that the most important question we can ask at such a time is not Why? But Who? After that comes How?
Jud spends the first part of the book on our expectations of God and life from a biblical perspective. He shows that God is worthy of our trust. God is good and loves us.
He then looks at how to put life back together again. He gives practical suggestions in fighting for joy, showing forgiveness, and reclaiming hope.
No matter how much we want to trust in our own abilities, we must submit our situation to God and let Him take it. We move beyond the why questions to answering who with trust and faith. We must come to the point where we love God for who He is, not what He gives. Jud covers the importance of worship in our trials and surrendering our pain and our questions to God. He then gives some practical ways to face the challenges and move forward, including those in community and in solitude. He also helps us in waiting, in having hope and finding comfort. He relates a number of stories, including that of Job from the Bible.
He reminds us to check our assumptions about God and suffering. Bad assumptions yield wrong conclusions. He has great encouragement and practical ideas for the battle of depression. He also reminds us of the importance of forgiveness.
A good study guide is included that could be used by an individual or a group.
“The security we have in our darkest times comes not only from knowing that God is in control but also from knowing that God loves us.” (68)
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Torn: Trusting God When Life Leaves You in Pieces
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow.

Date:April 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
grace
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently had the chance to read the book Torn by Jud Wilhite through a service at Blogging for Books which offers free books to bloggers in exchange for honest reviews, either positive or negative.
This book is amazing. I honestly don't get overwhelmed by books that often, but when flipping the pages through this book, I found myself either crying, shouting "Oh My God, Yes!" or dog-earing so many pages that it looks like my copy got caught in a shredder.
There is just no way to describe how beautifully compassionate this book is. Some get-better-right-now books scream at you to suck it up and move on and quit complaining... but this book doesn't.
It lovingly validated everything I've ever felt- and never I mean NEVER have I ever heard the definition of someone struggling with depression put as plainly and simply as this:
"Most of those who suffer from depression don't want artificial sedation to forget their troubles. They desire a sense of normalcy, an ability to process their troubles and manage their emotional reactions the same as everyone else does."
This passage literally made me gasp out loud. Because this is how I have felt so much of my life and even today.
This book then goes on to give real advice about what to do when you find yourself fighting for joy every step of the way... basic things things like...
-sharing your struggle... the first (and most important) step
-forcing yourself to think of the things your should, taking note of Philippians 4:8 (whatever is good, pure, noble, right, etc.... think on these things")
-refusing to remain stagnant.... just keep moving!
-learning the power of forgiveness... though it may be the hardest thing you ever do..
This book also includes a chapeter by chapter for you to go through by yourself or with other people, which I always love.
All in all, I haven't found a book like this before, nor have I found one I be willing to recommend as quickly as this one.
Just as I said before I am not usually overwhelmed by books, I also do not typically feel better just for having read one.
Well with this one, I did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Torn: Trusting God When Life Leaves You in Pieces
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So Good I Didn't Even Finish Before Giving Away

Date:March 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bekah
Location:Buffalo, NY
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually received this book (free in order to review for Blogging for Books) months ago but am just now getting a chance to review it due to the fact that I had loaned out my copy to a friend.
Even though I wasn't really in a "torn" season of my life, I could connect so well with the book. About halfway through reading it, a friend shared with me that her cancer had come back... for the 6th or 7th time in the last 5 years. She truly was torn asking why feeling like her life was in pieces. I knew she needed to read the book... now. She read the entire thing in one day and started reading it again. She couldn't stop talking about the book and the comfort it gave her. After years of battling this and the many ways God has spoken to her, this book was what she needed in this moment.
I've since finished reading the book and I too would recommend it to anyone. As a professional church worker, I plan to always keep a copy in my office to hand out when necessary. What a great book. Thank you Jud for your witness and care in the tough times of life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Torn: Trusting God When Life Leaves You in Pieces
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for anyone who needs a shoulder to lean on

Date:February 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
mojo
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jud Wilhite is an author, speaker and senior pastor of Central Christian Church in Las Vegas. Jud graduated from Dallas Christian College and holds a master’s degree from Lincoln Seminary. Jud co-founded People of the Second Chance which is a blog and a movement of people championing grace and love in our culture. Jud is an espresso fanatic and loves playing the guitar.
I got his latest book "Torn - Trusting God When Life Leaves You in Pieces." from his publisher Multnomah Books, so that I could write a review for my blog; and I think the title speaks for itself - this book is about trust.
Wilhite writes in a very open and very easy to read voice. I think he does a good job explaining that all Christians suffer at times, sure it's not what we expect, but we learn to trust God though it all. This isn't an easy thing for believers. I mean, how do you "trust" God when it seems "he" is the one beating you up? Wilhite dives into the misnomer that being a Christian means your life is going to be easy and free of pain.
Wilhite breaks the subject in half - trusting God and then putting the pieces back together, and for its size and subject matter, he does a great job getting you the basics. That' what this book is, a refresher, a reminder, a devotional on hurting and pain. This isn't a biblical treatise or even the "why" to the issue. After all, how would the author talk about "why" anyway? Can any of us truly answer the sovereignty of God question? Doubtful. Wilhite moves past "why" to address the matter of "who" - who is God? And moreover, "who is God at this moment?" We trust God when things are going great - we should trust him even more when we feel torn.
I think this book would make a great gift for pastors who are looking to offer key members a shoulder or a catalyst towards being put back together again. This book is for anyone who is hurting and broken and who needs a gentle reminder who holds the needle and thread of our lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Torn: Trusting God When Life Leaves You in Pieces
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Recommended!

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book offers hope when hurting, peace from the earth's trials and love from the only one who can ease pain, God. I learned so much from this book and I took my time in reading it so the author's words and thoughts could sink in and I could reflect on what I had read.
The personal life stories contained within this well written book tear at your heart and I realized that my life has not been as difficult as what others have endured. This book brings understanding and truth that no matter what happens you are not alone and that suffering is just not for one alone, that God and others can help. Each chapter and section contained something that I was able to personally benefit from or help others with, topics such as: learning to trust, handling depression, guilt, shame, anger and how to forgive, all relevant to everyone. Book also includes an extensive study guide.
I highly recommend this book to all who are hurting or who want to be a help to others who are torn and hurting. I received this
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Torn: Trusting God When Life Leaves You in Pieces
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Trusting God when your life is Torn.

Date:November 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy Navarro
Location:Cullman, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"When our world comes crashing down, it does more than steal our peace. Something inside us tears. We feel broken, stranded—torn." When I read that on the back cover of the book, I could immediately identify with this statement. Pastor Jud Wilhite has gone through his own moments of being torn and turned to the Bible as he sought comfort and understanding. He also found that rather than asking "Why?", he needed to ask, “Who?”. Who can be trusted to help mend the ripped pieces of your hopes, dreams, life? Can we trust God when the Whys? are not revealed?
In Torn: Trusting God When Life Leaves You In Pieces, Jud looks at practical ways to deal with depression, anger, and being robbed of your joy. Sometimes there is a clear reason why someone is going through a valley, but it can also come on for reasons no one can pinpoint. One sentence in the book that caught my attention is, "You can't control what happens to you, but you can control how you react to it." He also broke down Philippians 4:8 ("One final thing. Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise." NASB) in a manner that that I found to be a drink of Living Water as I wander through a dry valley right now.
Jud Wilhite serves as Senior Pastor of Central Christian Church. He is a graduate from Dallas Christian College and Lincoln Christian Seminary. Also, he is a frequent conference speaker and the author of several books. You can follow Jud Wilhite on Twitter at @JudWilhite.
“I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review and was not required to give a positive review”.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Torn: Trusting God When Life Leaves You in Pieces
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

"Torn" a competent message on a crowded topic

Date:October 11, 2011
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Vanilla is the most popular flavor of ice cream in the United States. Sometimes it also makes for good reading, and sometimes not.
"Torn," written by pastor Jud Wilhite and published by Multnomah Books, is "vanilla." Not because it's bland, but because it's one more book in the heavily crowded topic of how to deal with life's difficulties ... or, as the subtitle of the book describes, "Trusting God When Life Leaves You In Pieces."
Because human need never ends, publishers never stop printing books about how to overcome being "torn" by the struggles of life. The result is a vast array of books on the subject (perhaps more on this subject than any other). That means there are some that are brilliant and profound, others that are competent on the subject, and still others lesser so. "Torn" lands among the competent books on this common subject; it's not profound, as there are other books that deal more deftly and far more brilliantly with the subject, yet it provides competent, basic biblical insights for dealing with life when you are torn better than some other books do.
Adding to the vanilla is Wilhite's use of referring to Job as an example, and using some modern tragic stories for his content. There's nothing wrong with doing either, it's just that most all the writers of the thousands of other books on the same subject do the same thing. Again, Wilhite does it competently, but there's nothing new about the primary content or the approach Wilhite takes to the subject matter. Wilhite even quotes heavily from others as part of his content.
Thus, there's nothing terribly outstanding to point to about "Torn." Wilhite shares some great stories, and blends them competently with biblical insight. The result? Formulaic writing on the topic of dealing with life's struggles. Does he go deeper than some of the best who write on the subject? No. Is his teaching more insightful, more profound, better equipping in nature? No. Is it better than some? Yes.
Therefore, it's competent. And vanilla.
If you haven't read any books on this popular topic, perhaps "Torn" will be a bright blessing to you. If you like reading a lot of books on this same subject, you will likely appreciate it. If you have read some great books on this topic, you will probably appreciate the competency of the common message in "Torn," but find it unremarkable ... "vanilla."
But some people prefer vanilla.
I received this book free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Torn: Trusting God When Life Leaves You in Pieces
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Guide to Dealing with Difficulty

Date:September 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
IntelMin
Location:Belleville, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Author, speaker, and pastor Jud Wilhite provides a valuable commentary on the issues we all face when it comes to dealing with understanding the why of suffering, pain, and evil that seems so rampant not just in the world but in our everyday experiences. Many noted scholars, philosophers, and theologians have wrestled with developing a theodicy that holistically answers the problem of evil. C. S. Lewis, N. T. Wright, Alvin Platinga, and others have offered their attempt at analyzing this rather perplexing concept of a good and loving and omnipotent God with the seeming unrelenting existence of evil. This is at times one of the reasons why many choose to reject notions of a loving God who has an overall plan of action to deal with evil. Many ask and rightly so, “If God is so powerful then why does he put an end to evil and suffering.” This is an especially pointed question given this is the 10th anniversary of the tragic events of September 11, 2001.
Pastor Wilhite does an excellent job of immediately framing the question of suffering to that presented in Scripture. He comments “the most fundamental question, according to the Bible, is who. Who will we trust in the calamities and challenges of life? Who will we turn to in the reality of our pain? Who is worthy of our trust?” He admits the Bible seemingly “refuses to answer why” when it comes to the question of evil. Instead, we are commanded to place our faith and trust in a God who has existed for all eternity and who has promised in his word that in his perfect timing evil will finally be vanquished and wrongs will be righted.
So how do we deal with life on a day to day basis when we either experience pain, suffering, or evil first hand or we see the devastating impact of evil, whether natural or humanities penchant for causing pain and agony against their fellow man? When individuals question God’s overarching plan because their parent died a horrifically slow and painful death at the hands of cancer or when innocent children are abused killed by a drunk driver, how can we as believers respond to such tragedy?
These seeming theological conundrums are difficult. Throughout his book, Wilhite utilizes salient stories to demonstrate real world situations where people who experienced difficulty with tragedy nevertheless continued to trust God knowing “they derived their strength from him.” Wilhite rightly notes when tragedy strikes, notices this is not an “if” but rather a “when” reality, continually asking God why will typically not result in an answer. Our grief clouds our ability to correctly focus our trust on God. Wilhite avers “the danger with why questions are that they lead to a dark, confusing, frustrating, lonely, disconnected place.” When life seems to tear us apart, we have realize that “the universe is truly, utterly, and completely about God – and thus not about me” and then find our “greatest happiness in celebrating this reality.”
Perhaps this is best portrayed in the pages of the Psalms, in particular the imprecatory Psalms. David was anointed by God to be the King of Israel yet he seemed to be continually beset on every side by trouble. Saul and his men sought to put him to death forcing him to hide in caves. Even in what appeared to be his darkest hours, David pressed through the why questions of life and placed his faith in the God who has continually proven himself worthy of our trust. Even when the world seems to be spiraling out of control, Wilhite correctly reminds us it is “not spiraling out of God’s control. It isn’t barreling ahead into an unknown future with a powerless God at the helm. God isn’t sitting in heaven wringing his hands in fear. He is bringing his plan to fruition. He is working in our world each day to bring himself glory. In due time he will overthrow Satan, sin, and death.”
Wilhite reminds his reader of the life of Job, a man who experienced more tragedy and pain than most any of us will in our lifetime. His family, possessions, and physical health were taken away in a single day. Just like David, Job pressed through his whys instead reorienting his approach to faith in almighty God who has existed from eternity past and who has all things under his control. Wilhite also shares some valuable insights from the early church father Augustine who in his classic book City of God reflects on “Christians being killed, tortured, and raped during the fall of Rome.” Despite being persecuted to the point of death, Augustine reminds us of the following:
“Death is not to be regarded as a disaster, when it follows on a good life, for the only thing that makes death evil is what comes after death. Those who must inevitably die ought not to worry overmuch about what accident will cause their death, but about their destination after dying. Christians know that the death of a poor religious man, licked by the tongues of dogs, is far better than the death of a godless rich man, dressed in purple and linen. Why then should those who have lived well be dismayed by the terrors of death in any form.”
All in all, Torn is an excellent book. While it is certainly not a philosophical treatise on various past and present scholarly viewpoints of the problem of evil, it is certainly provides more on a practical level than even the best treatises have done. This is due to the approach by Wilhite to continually redirect the reader to not fall prey to asking why, not that asking why is incorrect in itself. Conversely, the message provided in Scripture is to constantly place our faith and trust in a God who has proven himself worthy. Scripture does not claim our lives will be free of tragedy, in fact it says quite the opposite. So in a time when many will be replaying the tragic events of 9/11 either on television, their computer, in conversation or in their minds-eye, we must remember that beyond asking why is the more powerful question of asking who – who will we trust will all seems like it is falling apart? We must keep in mind the words of Psalm 23:4, a powerful verse that Wilhite closes out his timely book with:
“Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.”
If you are looking for in-depth philosophical book on the problem of evil, then I would redirect you to other books on the market. However, if you are looking for an honest, practical and more importantly biblically centric overview on how to deal with difficult issues in life, then Jud Wilhite’s Torn is for you.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.