Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wesscott Marketing The Ten Commandments: The Complete Miniseries, DVD

Wesscott Marketing The Ten Commandments: The Complete Miniseries, DVD

Witness all the spectacle, human drama, and inspiration of Old Testament events in this blockbuster mini-series. A stellar cast, stunning color cinematography, and stupendous special effects combine to tell the story of Moses (Dougray Scott) and his destiny as the leader and liberator of the ancient Hebrews. Also stars Omar Sharif and Linus Roache. Not rated (Some violence). Approx. 3 hours.

DVD Features:

  • Widescreen
  • Dolby 5.1 Surround
  • The Making of The Ten Commandments
  • Closed Captioned
  • Average Customer Rating:
    3.273 out of 5
    3.3
     out of 
    5
    (11 Reviews) 11
    Open Ratings Snapshot
    Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
    5 stars
    4
    4 stars
    2
    3 stars
    1
    2 stars
    1
    1 star
    3
    1 out of 425%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
    Customer Reviews for The Ten Commandments: The Complete Miniseries, DVD
    Review 1 for The Ten Commandments: The Complete Miniseries, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    2 out of 5
    2 out of 5

    Does not follow the The truth of God's Word

    Date:February 28, 2014
    Customer Avatar
    moondancer
    Location:Ohio
    Age:55-65
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    2 out of 5
    2 out of 5
    Value: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5
    User submitted photo
    Did they even read the Bible from Genesis to Exodus???? From the moment Moses saw the burning bush God related and told Moses EXACTLY what He wanted Moses to do and to bring Israel back to this holy mountain- Sinai. God also told Him the wonders God would perform to get Pharaoh to set Israel free.It was a lengthy conversation with God & Moses. Moses knew the Plan of God for Israel. The parting of the sea was all wrong as well. They walked over DRY land, not rocky or muddy. They left out the whole important message of the Passover lamb as well. It started out good, but as it went on I lost interest and threw it away. I paid $5.00 for it and Charlton Heston's was even 100% the best yet
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 2 for The Ten Commandments: The Complete Miniseries, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    This movie has a lot of depth

    Date:November 11, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    Ahuva
    Location:Tucson, AZ
    Age:55-65
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    I liked this movie. As stated, it does have a lot of depth. The filming - location and setting were excellent. The production was well done. Dougray Scott did an exceptional job in the role of Moses. There was a variety of emotion and depth to the character. I think I had never considered some of the struggles that Moses may have had in his faith. The viewer can sense his frustration with the Israelites and their rebellion against God. Other than the make-up (Moses didn't age very well in this movie), I find it a very acceptable movie.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 3 for The Ten Commandments: The Complete Miniseries, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5

    Not Biblically Correct

    Date:April 25, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    eliteoz
    Location:Australia
    Age:55-65
    Gender:male
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5
    Interesting series but not to a Biblical standard. Would cause a lot of misunderstanding with non Christians.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 4 for The Ten Commandments: The Complete Miniseries, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5

    Very disappointing

    Date:February 11, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Luv2read
    Location:KY
    Age:45-54
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5
    Value: 
    2 out of 5
    2 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5
    When I had to send my son out of the room while watching what is supposed to be a Bible based movie, I decided enough was enough and turned it off. Between the graphic violence and the too oft reference to sleeping with someone they weren't married to and the scenes that were added for drama rather than accuracy, I cannot recommend this to anyone.
    0points
    1of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 5 for The Ten Commandments: The Complete Miniseries, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:March 27, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Deborah Geletka
    SUPERB! Everything about this film was excellent. Dougray Scott "was" Moses,he is so believable with a range of emotions. This was an epic production and very impressive visuals. The supporting cast are all believable also. You can really become immersed in this story and understand more fully the experience in Exodus. This is the DVD that you want to share with many people and to keep handy as a classic. Don't let the price throw you off, it is NOT low-budget in any way, but I am greatfull to have saved on my purchase.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 6 for The Ten Commandments: The Complete Miniseries, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5

    Date:January 17, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Lori J
    We bought this video on the recommendation of some of the reviews we read here at CBD. What a sad state the church is in if supposed "Christians" think this is a great movie. They neither read their Bible nor do they feel offense when His word (and our history) are presented through falsehoods and deliberate twisting and "artistic liberties" with the book of Exodus.
    +3points
    3of 3voted this as helpful.
    Review 7 for The Ten Commandments: The Complete Miniseries, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5

    Date:December 29, 2008
    Customer Avatar
    Robin Kelchner
    I threw it away. I did not feel it was biblicly accurate. Moses did not appear to be a humble man as the scriptures said and other things were off also. I could not recommend to anyone.
    +3points
    3of 3voted this as helpful.
    Review 8 for The Ten Commandments: The Complete Miniseries, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:November 9, 2008
    Customer Avatar
    Karen Cottrell
    Dougray Scott is phenomenal, he portrays a Wonderful Jesus, not to mention the actor is easy on the eyes, ladies!! It is an exceptional value, the scenery is fantastic, I HIGHLY, HIGHLY, HIGHLY recommend this movie!
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 9 for The Ten Commandments: The Complete Miniseries, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:July 1, 2008
    Customer Avatar
    Debora Lynn
    Excellent movie! Very well done. The first half of the movie didn't reveal any surprises, but the second half included several interesting scenes that the Charleston Heston version left out. I was quite impressed and very glad I purchased it!
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 10 for The Ten Commandments: The Complete Miniseries, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Date:June 20, 2008
    Customer Avatar
    Darren Ervin
    Move aside, Mr. Heston...Dougray Scott portrays Moses in such a way that it brings him from a figure in the bible to a man, just like us, who had his own thoughts and dreams, and struggles regarding his appointment by God to lead his people out of Egypt..a great movie!
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 11 for The Ten Commandments: The Complete Miniseries, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:June 16, 2008
    Customer Avatar
    M
    This is wonderful re-telling of The Ten Commandments. The best scene is the parting of the waters, and seeing GOD through Moses leading the people across on dry groundThere is a some violence.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.