Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House City on Our Knees: If You Gotta Start Somewhere, Why Not Here

Bethany House City on Our Knees: If You Gotta Start Somewhere, Why Not Here

Inspired by TobyMac's #1 single, City on Our Knees is a collection of stories, thoughts, and inspirations to challenge readers to "step across the line" to change their world.
Average Customer Rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 out of 28100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for City on Our Knees: If You Gotta Start Somewhere, Why Not Here
Review 1 for City on Our Knees: If You Gotta Start Somewhere, Why Not Here
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyed this greatly

Date:March 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I love testimonial style books, they inspire me so much. These testimonies were so moving. You will find yourself laughing and crying along with the stories. Each story has a profound message with the underlying message and theme of the entire book, being about helping the downtrodden.
And while no one rarely agrees with everything others have to say, this book if you allow it to, will stir your heart to help others. To reach out to a lost and dying world around you.
4 stars from this reviewer. A wonderful book filled with great stories of faith.
This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for City on Our Knees: If You Gotta Start Somewhere, Why Not Here
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!!

Date:February 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
zhanesmom
Location:Beaverton, OR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Toby Mac as an artist and was excited to read this book!! It is a great compilation of many stories with Toby writing the intro and conclusion to each of the chapters!! Go get it if you are a fan of his!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for City on Our Knees: If You Gotta Start Somewhere, Why Not Here
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book!

Date:December 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Polina
Location:Western Mass
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just received this book, I bought it as a gift for my friend. When I started to read stories from the book I couldn't stop reading. Now I wish I could buy several of them. I'm going to buy more, one for myself and a couple for my other friends. These stories are easy to read and very inspirational. Buy it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for City on Our Knees: If You Gotta Start Somewhere, Why Not Here
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Inspirational gift

Date:June 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Starbright
Location:Surprise, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The song and focus of this book are inspirational. I couldn't have said it better. It is not so much a "how to" book as it is a series of quick read testimonies, easy to pick up when you have a few minutes. Creative cover makes it a lovely gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for City on Our Knees: If You Gotta Start Somewhere, Why Not Here
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Inspirational

Date:December 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kayla Merritt
Location:Defiance, OH
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was a great inspirational book. It had a lot of uplifting and motivating stories that made me want to work harder and become a better Christian. I like how at the beginning of every section, Toby waould put in his input, but the whole book wasn't about him. It was a bout people giving praise to God for miraculous things happening in their lives. I think my favorite story was where James King rescued Nadia, a girl with Asperger's, from a swamp. This book is a very powerful motivational book. I would recommend it to anyone needing some inspiration or faith boosting.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for City on Our Knees: If You Gotta Start Somewhere, Why Not Here
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring!

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amanda B
Location:Iowa
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In a word -- inspiring! Those who have read Under God and the Jesus Freaks books will recognize Toby's familiar short story writing style. Each true story is fresh and unique. These accounts of unshakable faith, unearthly love, and undying prayer will encourage you anew in stories you've heard before and provide new awe in those you've never heard.
Perfect for reading in short, devotional-style bits or just devouring all at once! However you read it, you'll be uplifted by stories from people from all backgrounds and walks of life. Black, white, hispanic ... young, old, and middle-aged ... rich, poor, or in-between. All of them come together in one way -- their love for God. Stepping across all lines that separate us, we can be a city with one King.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for City on Our Knees: If You Gotta Start Somewhere, Why Not Here
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Inspiring

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
lipto
Location:Wisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I received a review copy of Toby Mac's book, "City On Our Knees", from Bethany Book House a few months ago. As I read this book one word kept coming to mind, action. Everyday we see needs all around us. Unfortunately, at best the number of needs is so overwhelming that we often feel powerless to do anything about them or at worst we have become numb to any need that does not directly affect our lives. This book offers stories of people who did not offer these up excuses instead they found a way to make a difference. Toby Mac not only offers up stories of bold love he also offers prayers and passages of Scripture that call us to action.
I used this book during my daily devotions and I found it it to be a tremendous resource. These stories are not only great to read, but they are very inspiring and motivating. I highly encourage every Christian to take the time to read "City On Our Knees".
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for City on Our Knees: If You Gotta Start Somewhere, Why Not Here
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great book for young people

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amanda
Location:Sturgis, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
City on our knees is a very inspiring book. Each chapter corresponds with lyrics from Toby Mac's popular song "City on our knees". This book is full of great stories of faith, encouragement and testimony's of how God moved in situations. I enjoyed reading this book but think a young person (High school or college age) would love reading this book. It would be a great High School graduation gift. I received a review copy of this book from Bethany House.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for City on Our Knees: If You Gotta Start Somewhere, Why Not Here
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:February 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
rlb19
Location:Concord NH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very inspiring. Lots of ideas of things (even small things) you can do to help others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for City on Our Knees: If You Gotta Start Somewhere, Why Not Here
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good book

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rachel
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
City On Our Knees, by Tobymac, coauthored by Todd Hafer and Rick Killian,is a compilation of stories about people stepping out of their comfort zones and doing something for God. Stories range from a girl who had cancer and started raising funds for research, to the story of an American in the Haiti earthquake trapped under the rubble.
Not only are there recent stories but also stories of heroes of the faith in past centuries such as George Muller and John Wesley. The book is sprinkled with inspiring quotes and Bible verses along with excerpts from Tobymac. The story that jumped out at me the most was the story of one of Hitler's youth, Hans Scholl, who gave a white rose to a Jewish girl in a concentration camp to show his kindness. I'd suggest this book for 14 year olds and up.
I rate this book 5 stars out of 5
Bethany House Publishers
2010
note: I received this book freely from Bethany House Publishers to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for City on Our Knees: If You Gotta Start Somewhere, Why Not Here
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My son will love this!

Date:December 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
SaraG
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son and daughter really like TobyMac, so I thought this would be a great book to read and pass on to them. It is filled with inspiring stories that create a desire for each of us to make a difference in the world. There's quite a variety in the stories, both old and new. I liked the quotes from other Christians and scriptures that were sprinkled throughout each chapter, as well as the "blog entries" by TobyMac - each adding depth to the topics. Prayers are included too. The sections correspond to lines from the popular song CITY ON OUR KNEES by TobyMac . We can all be used by God to make a difference and this book is a good reminder. Be inspired! This would be great as a devotional for teens as well.
I received this book from Bethany House Publishers free for review. The opinions are my own.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for City on Our Knees: If You Gotta Start Somewhere, Why Not Here
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Gift for Young Person

Date:November 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
trusthimto
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At first glance, this book would be a perfect for Christmas present for your favourite high school student in your life. Picking up the book, flipping through the pages you see it is filled with short stories of past and present people who have stood up and made a difference, photos, and inspirational quotes.
Based on his song "City on our Knees", Toby Mac's book draws you in and challenges you to take a step out of your comfort zone and allow God to use you where you are at.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for City on Our Knees: If You Gotta Start Somewhere, Why Not Here
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book challenges to GO and DO...

Date:November 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Momof4
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My eyes welled up with tears many times throughout the course of the book, City On Our Knees, written by well known songwriter and performer Toby Mac. The stories in this book, written similar to the famous 'chicken soup' writing style are certainly inspiring.
The author tells of his desire to bring all Christians together, working for the good of the kingdom, and he writes to challenge us all to get out of our comfort zone, to go deeper right where we are and find what we can do to minister to Gods people. Toby Mac writes from the heart, and you can sense his passion for ministering with love to people in need.
This book will motivate you to go and do...I would recommend this book and give this book 4 1/2 stars. Well done! I was given this book by Bethany House Publishers for purpose of review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for City on Our Knees: If You Gotta Start Somewhere, Why Not Here
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

City on Our Knees

Date:November 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chris Land
Location:Wichita Falls, Tx
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Grammy and Dove Award winning artist TobyMac has produced a book based on his hit song, City on Our Knees. This book is not about how to make a difference, but it is a collection of stories from people all over the world who are making a difference. These stories are from people from long ago to the here and now.
This is a great book to give to teenagers because there some teenagers mentioned in this book. This is also great for any believer who wants to be motiviated to make a difference.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for City on Our Knees: If You Gotta Start Somewhere, Why Not Here
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"Nothing ever happens on Someday."

Date:November 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debra Brinkman
Location:Yoder, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow. Separated into four sections, each consists of an intro spread with quotes and scripture passages, followed by a "blog" entry by TobyMac introducing the general topic of that section. Those really made me think.
What follows is a series of about ten stories of people. People from the distant past, people from the recent past, people from right now. And people in many different parts of the world. All people who stepped out of their comfort zone and acted in a way God was calling them to, and those actions made an impact... in their own lives, and the lives of people around them.
From lemonade stands or collecting loose change, to running for parliament or starting an international mission, these stories are fascinating. And challenging. I've gotten this message a few times recently. What am I doing to reach my world? What is it that God wants from me right now? "If we gotta start somewhere why not here" is the subtitle, and the overwhelming message.
This book is not necessarily calling me to do big things. But it is calling me to do something. And to start now. "Nothing ever happens on Someday."
Disclosure: Bethany House provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes. No other compensation was received, and all opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for City on Our Knees: If You Gotta Start Somewhere, Why Not Here
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Destiny
Location:Riverside, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Grammy Award winning artist, TobyMac, compiles influential stories in his book, City on Our Knees (2010), which is inspired by his hit Christian song by the same title. The stories are drawn from all over the world and range the past to present. TobyMac writes this book with the hope that we will be “inspired to see how just one person, or one small group, can be a mechanism for change.” He hopes that we will be able to step out of our comfort zone and make a difference in someone’s life.
An array of stories is included in TobyMac’s book. For example, he opens with the story of a young girl, named Alexandra Scott who is diagnosed with neuroblastoma. The four-year-old opens a lemonade stand to raise money for medical research to fight cancer. Shockingly, she earns $2,000 during her first summer. Others are inspired by her efforts and open branches of Alexandra’s lemonade stand across the nation. Other stories include missionary trips, college prayer groups, and the founding of orphanages.
TobyMac’s book is interesting and enlightening. The numerous stories provide many ideas and models for spreading faith and helping others. The book is a very fast read because each story is brief and direct. Prayers, quotations, and blog entries are included with each section. City on Our Knees is a great book that powerfully shows how individuals are capable of making a huge difference in the world.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for City on Our Knees: If You Gotta Start Somewhere, Why Not Here
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Motivational Book!

Date:November 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
So Mommy
Location:Hartselle, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Toby Mac's new book "City on Our Knees" has several short, motivational-type stories seperated into sections so that you get the most out of the book. There are a lot of these types of books out there right now, I know...I've read several and enjoyed them. These type books are great for people that don't have a lot of time to just sit and read. This book was different for me, though. This book challenged me in so many ways, I can't even begin to tell about it all! Several stories made me cry for how the world is hurting, some made me cry because I was so proud of how some people took a leap of faith and followed God's instructions for them. I know I haven't been very good at getting out of my "comfort zone" and this book definitely stepped on my toes for that! This book also showed me how important prayer is! Well, not just prayer, but prayer and listening to God. If you listen, he will show you things you need to see!
I already have a list of people that I want to share this book with because it challenged me so much. So if you are looking for a simple gift for a hard to buy for person, be sure to check this one out!
I received this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my review. See full disclosure for more information.
www.somommy.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for City on Our Knees: If You Gotta Start Somewhere, Why Not Here
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Book

Date:November 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
DWii
Location:MG, Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a long awaited book for me and had to have it as soon as it became available. Was a slight let down, thought Toby would write more from the heart and around this song and how it came to be, suprised to see it full of short stories. Would recommend for easy read though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for City on Our Knees: If You Gotta Start Somewhere, Why Not Here
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Inspiring!

Date:October 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wasn't sure what to expect when this book first arrived for me to review. I had never heard of TobyMac before, I think he is popular among the younger audience, but I soon realized that each section in this book is named after a song that he released sometime earlier this year.
Each section consists of short stories, of how God has used people to change the world, some of the stories I had heard before and some were new to me. You will also find prayers and scriptures peppered through out this book that will further inspire and uplift you. Each section ends with a one minute remix and also a call to action prayer.
This books resounding message is "If we gotta start sometime, why not start now."If only we are willing to step out of our comfort zone and unite that we can make a difference and change the world.
In the right hands this book could be life changing, I think it would be great especially for youth pastors, because I think that is TobyMac's audience, but I think overall anyone reading this book would enjoy reading these inspiring stories!
Even though I was provided a copy of this book for review by Bethany House it in no way alters my opinion of this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for City on Our Knees: If You Gotta Start Somewhere, Why Not Here
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chris
Location:Texas
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was quite anxious to see what this book by a phenominal Christian artist such as Toby Mac would be like. I hear small blurbs from his other books read by him on the Christian radio station I listen to, so as I was reading through this book his voice actually resonated through my mind as I was reading the inspiration stories of hope, encouraging prayers, scriptures, quotations, and "One-Minute Remix" devotions. I much enjoyed the inserts from Toby's blog as well. I highly recommend this book for all ages to inspire and encourage us to move beyond mediocracy and complacency, to allow God to use just average folks as He has for decades to start somewhere, and start now coming together as a City our Knees, a City with ONE KING. *This book was sent to me free from Bethany House for review purposes. Opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>