Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc What Matters Most, Diary of a Teenage Girl Series #3

Random House, Inc What Matters Most, Diary of a Teenage Girl Series #3

Sixteen-year-old Maya Stark has a lot to sort through. She could graduate from high school early if she wants to. She's considering it, especially when popular cheerleader Vanessa Hartman decides to make her life miserable-and Maya's ex-boyfriend Dominic gets the wrong idea about everything.

To complicate matters even more, Maya's mother will be released from prison soon, and she'll want Maya to live with her again. That's a disaster waiting to happen. And when Maya plays her dad's old acoustic guitar in front of an audience, she discovers talents and opportunities she never expected. Faced with new options, Maya must choose between a "normal" life and a glamorous one. Ultimately, she has to figure out what matters most.

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for What Matters Most, Diary of a Teenage Girl Series #3
Review 1 for What Matters Most, Diary of a Teenage Girl Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Third Book in the DOATG Maya Series :)

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review : What Matters Most - DOATG Maya Book #3- Melody Carlson - Sept 2009
Maya has had all that she could imagine come her way, however it hasn't been easy with tragedy one way or occuring. Firstly the death of an aunty she never realised she had, then her mother ended up in prison and Maya went to live with her dad then Uncle and at the end of Book #2 we saw Maya's friend Marissa end up in a coma and Maya's conflicts about guys especially one in particular - Dominic. In Book #3 Maya is still coming to terms with Marissa's accident that left Marissa Brain damaged , her mother has been released from Jail and not only does Maya have Dominic to worry about, another guy at school Wyatt is showing an interest in Maya and his ex-girlfriend Vanessa isn't too happy about it and is putting her vipers out on Maya. Can Maya cope with all that is happening or when she is offered a chance to leave school and become a rock 'n' roll star , will she jump at the chance to escape from reality when the going gets tough ? We also once again see Maya's judgement about God start to sway , can she remain strong no matter what happens?
Also in this book, we discover a new christian singer called Anna Gilbert, I youtubed her and ended up downloading some of her songs onto my IPOD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for What Matters Most, Diary of a Teenage Girl Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Maya is trying to figure out what matters most in life. Should she graduate early? Date the boy she likes even though she knows its a bad idea? Join a rock band and go on the road? Then her mom shows up and threatens everything Maya has worked so hard for. How should a Christian act toward a parent like her mom? Should Maya let her mom ruin her life again? Should she stand up to her?I really enjoyed this series. Maya is a neat character. Shes very independent and hard-working. She always tries to do the right thing, and when she fails and loses her temper, she eventually comes around and does the hard thing of apologizing. This book was really about how to love difficult people. My only wish, I would have liked to see more about how things respovel with Dominic. As with all Mayas stories, each chapter ends with one of Mayas Green Tip for the Day. I highly recommend this series for any teenage girl who loves to read. Maya is an awesome character to get to know.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for What Matters Most, Diary of a Teenage Girl Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patty LeBlanc
This is actually the last book in the Diary of a Teenage Girl series. I hadnt read any of the previous books, but I really liked this one. Maya is a carefree girl who has a lot on her plate and a history that got her to where she is. I found Maya to be a very lovable character. She was genuine and real. I feel like I want to go back and read the previous books to understand the journey of how Maya got to where she was in this book. I found this to be a story that I would definitely recommend and I appreciate having a book that relates to teens in a positive way and gives them good examples to follow.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for What Matters Most, Diary of a Teenage Girl Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mike
This is the 3rd book in a series of books subtitled, Diary of a Teenage Girl.In this book, we see that Maya Stark is sixteen years old and has been mostly on her own for about a year. Living with her Uncle its more like a place to lay her head. Her father did not fight for custody as being a musician he is gone more than he is home and her mother is in prison for drug addiction.As a Christian teen Maya has a lot to think about and sort through. It's a tough time of life and there are more complications anyone would want for their teen. Maya could graduate from high school early if she wants to. Shes considering it, especially when popular cheerleader Vanessa Hartman decides to make her life miserableand Mayas ex-boyfriend Dominic gets the wrong idea about everything.To complicate matters even more, Mayas mother will be released from prison soon, and shell want Maya to live with her again. Thats a disaster waiting to happen. And when Maya plays her dads old acoustic guitar in front of an audience, she discovers talents and opportunities she never expected. Faced with new options, Maya must choose between a normal life and a glamorous one. Ultimately, she has to figure out what matters most.This would be a good book to give to a teen girl who is considering options in life as she reads about Maya and her writings which uncover more of her personality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for What Matters Most, Diary of a Teenage Girl Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2009
"What Matters Most" is the latest and last in Melody Carlson's Diary of a Teenage Girl series. It is book 16 I believe though the series follows four different girls and all of them show up in this book. I think the concept is great, we read the whole book through the eyes of Maya's diary which is actually kind of fun, with the exception that I don't know anyone that is THAT detailed when they write in their diary! I mean, goodness, she writes entire conversations down word for word :-) Maya is a great character - a smart girl with a rock star dad who is never around and an incarcerated mom who has never been a mother to her, she lives with her uncle and is in the process of trying to get emancipation when her mom is released from jail. She has boy issues, girl issues with the snotty cheerleader and the girls from youth group, lots of irons in the fire and now she is starting jam sessions with this Christian Girl Band, Redemption, that lost one of their members to college. Does she really want to be a rock star? Great premise... here is where it goes wrong... I read the last chapter and look to see when the next book comes out to wrap up all the loose ends in this book... um, try never??? As great as this book is and the series is... I can't believe all the things that are left undone. I was left feeling unsatisfied. It would be a great book if there were another one following, as it is I enjoyed it, I just wish there was more to it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for What Matters Most, Diary of a Teenage Girl Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
What Matters Most by Melody Carlson is the third book in the Maya line and the final book in the Diary of a Teenage Girl series. Maya Stark is finally starting to have a normal life. She's started high school and is making friends, but her mother's release from jail threatens her peace of mind. And the possibility of touring with Christian girl rock group, Redemption makes normal life seem not so appealing. She'll have to make some major decisions for a sixteen-year old girl, as well as deal with the repercussions of previous books in the series. As someone unfamiliar with the DOATG series, I did feel a little lost when it came to juggling characters and backstories. But when focusing on Maya the story was appealing. This is a young woman who has been through an enormous amount in just a few short years and has a good head on her shoulders along with a strong faith. Her "green" tips seemed a bit unnecessary, and while her appearances on TV were referenced regarding them, she never actually seemed to actually do them. Carlson completely nails how teenage girls think and speak, and I am truly impressed by her ability to write believably in so many different voices!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for What Matters Most, Diary of a Teenage Girl Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Guyer
This book reminded me a little of the Princess Diaries books, only cleaner. And despite how much I laughed with Limelight, this one didn't have me laughing out loud like the Princess Diaries books did. One similarity that Mia and Maya have are their "green" tendencies. Which is actually the only thing that bothered me about this book. Not that I don't think we should be environmentally responsible, but I am not tree hugging fanatic and some of the green tips bugged me. But, that was the only thing that I didn't really like. Maya is a fairly new Christian, who comes from a rather troubled background, and didn't grow up with some of our pious Christian prejudices. So, while she strives to live in God's will and do what is right (which I think she does admirably) she is willing to risk her reputation by hanging out with students that her churchy friends frown upon, thus opening the doors of Christ to them.Another good book and I will be looking forward to reading the rest and sharing them with my daughters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for What Matters Most, Diary of a Teenage Girl Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Emily Cox
I was pleasantly surprised by the depth and sincerity of this book. Author Melody Carlson is wrapping up her Diary of a Teenage Girl series with this book What Matters Most. Maya is a character that any young teenage girl can relate to. While her story may be unique, her experiences and struggles are things that many young girls struggle with and wonder about. I appreciated that there was a nice balance between entertaining fiction and biblical values throughout the book. The book is written in the context of a diary which allows the reader to relate to and understand the intimate emotions of Maya. The author shares Maya's thoughts candidly and moves from storytelling, to emotional sharing, to the personal struggles of being a Christian teenager fluidly.At the end of each chapter you find "Maya's Green Tip for the Day" which creates a natural mental break from the intensity and emotion that is evoked in some of the chapters. Plus it's a fun way to engage readers in an issue that is an important topic without overwhelming them.I would absolutely recommend this book to all young teenage girls. It is a great example of what teen fiction should be. It relates to the struggles of young girls but also reminds them of the importance of holding to their values and convictions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for What Matters Most, Diary of a Teenage Girl Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Deborah
I have enjoyed Maya's story since she was first introduced in the Kim books of this series. She has struck me as a character that is very real, very down to earth and someone who is trying to figure out life each day at a time. Her story is different from other teens in most Christian YA fiction. First off, there's the fact that Maya is biracial, which sadly is uncommon in most Christian lit. Then there's the fact that she's struggling with a mother who is unable to take care of herself or her own daughter. Maya is extremely mature for her age and it's interesting to see her compared with other teens. While they may have more things material wise, she's far more richer in knowledge of the future and mental growth.Once again, I really enjoyed reading the Green tips at the end of each chapter. I may not agree with all of them, but the fact that they're even there shows a nod to those who do care for this topic. I have yet to really see this featured in other Christian fiction books so this is a major plus for the series. The only thing that bothered me about this book was that I felt there were a lot of loose ties at the end of the book. I've read every book in the entire Diary of a Teenage Girl series and each time one of the other girl's stories ended, I felt a sense of completion. However with this book I felt like I was left hanging. This is even more disappointing because this is apparently the last Diary book ever, therefore there won't be another opportunity for Maya to appear in another book as a background character to finish up her story. Overall, I did enjoy this book. I think that teens will really enjoy reading Maya's adventures. Carlson has done another wonderful job connecting with the YA audience and really speaks to them. I'm really sad to see this series ending as I think it's been a landmark in the way that Christian YA fiction has become.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for What Matters Most, Diary of a Teenage Girl Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2009
I loved this book. I was given this book as a review copy & went to get the first two to read first. I'm pretty sure I read all three in about a week. They are quick, fun, easy reads but also make you think - even though I'm now a middle-aged mom & in no way, shape or form a teenager any longer. I loved them all the same. I'll even be checking out the other books in the Diary of a Teenage Girl series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for What Matters Most, Diary of a Teenage Girl Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2009
This is book no.3 in the Maya Stark collection. Maya is one of those girls you will fall in love with. One you can relate to and see yourself in her diary. Maya's life is not an easy one. She shares her fears and struggles. I would encourage any young woman to read this book and others from the series. In this sweet story Maya faces decisions, does she choose fame with a glamorous life or does she choose to be who God made her and have a normal life. As we all cross that path, Maya too must figure out what is most important in life. This was a joy to read, one that can bring you to thoughts of your own struggles as a young woman and Maya shows us just how to overcome all that life can throw at us. Maya shares her green tips of the day as she faces the mean girls of her school and faces the decision whether she should finish school early or stay in for another year. Is there a young man that will stay in her life? Will she live with her mother who is being released from prision? All things change when she figures out her the gift she has been given from God as she picks up her father's old guitar and it feels so natural in her hands. Come and see Maya blossom through her journey of struggles. This book was a gift to me from Mutnoma for the review of its contents.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for What Matters Most, Diary of a Teenage Girl Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
LC Kerr
First, let me say that it would really help to have read books one and two of this series. There are many books in the Diary of a Teenage Girl series, but this is only the third in the Maya section.Second, you don't have to read the other sets in the series to get Maya's story, but I believe they will all intermingle.Third, for the review... I was pleasantly surprised by the story and the way it was all set up. Maya Stark is a 16 year old girl who is struggling to find some normalcy in her very chaotic, messed up life. Her mother is in prison and her father is touring with his music. Maya is just trying, and sometimes failing, to fit in at the local high school. She struggles with all the normal stuff: peer pressure, guy pressure, decisions about school and her future, but she turns to God and godly friends to guide her. Maya is also green, meaning is very much about recycling and saving the planet in small and big ways every day. Each chapter ends with a tip from Maya on ways the reader can help the environment.All in all, I enjoyed the book and believe that my teen daughter will also! In fact, she is already trying to snatch it from me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.