Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc The Male Factor: The Unwritten Rules, Misperceptions, and Secret Beliefs of Men in the Workplace

Random House, Inc The Male Factor: The Unwritten Rules, Misperceptions, and Secret Beliefs of Men in the Workplace

Women---here's an eye-opening look at what's going on in the minds and hearts of your male colleagues and clients! Claiming that women unintentionally sabotage their careers because they don't understand their male co-workers, Feldhahn shows you why men want to be respected instead of liked, how they collaborate differently than women, and more. 304 pages, hardcover from Multnomah.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for The Male Factor: The Unwritten Rules, Misperceptions, and Secret Beliefs of Men in the Workplace
Review 1 for The Male Factor: The Unwritten Rules, Misperceptions, and Secret Beliefs of Men in the Workplace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lynne Snow
Being a woman, working in a male dominated industry, has had many challenges. Reading this book definately has benefitted me - helping me understand my counter-parts. a 'must have' for all women!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Male Factor: The Unwritten Rules, Misperceptions, and Secret Beliefs of Men in the Workplace
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angela
As a woman living in a house full of men, husband and 5 sons, and just entering the workforce for the first time in 20 years, I was completely enthralled by this book. Shaunti Feldhahn definitely gets into the male psyche and reveals things that all women need to know, especially women in the workforce today. Its an eye opening, thought provoking read that really makes you think twice about the male/female relationship in the public work place today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Male Factor: The Unwritten Rules, Misperceptions, and Secret Beliefs of Men in the Workplace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary
If you are looking for a well researched, well presented, well documented book that shows what the male gender is doing in the workplace, this is the book for you!! Understanding Your Male Colleague for Dummies, if there is such a book, wouldn't be this extensive or exhaustive. A book of this magnitude could only be tackled by Feldhahn, author of For Women Only. She understands the male mind and makes it possible for the female reader to do so also. While I believe research can be slanted and flawed, it is in the readers best interest to remember that going to the source-in this case, men-is the best way to get the most productive answer. I believe Feldhahn's research is neither slanted or flawed and is very telling for both men and women. As a reviewer, I realize it is taboo to interject "I love this book" at any point, yet my enthusiasm prohibits me from saying anything but. I love being a stay at home mom but wished Feldhahn could have released this years ago so that I could have put the research to good use. However, this is useful information for anyone wanting to understand workplace politics better. It's a winner! And yes, taboo or not, I love this book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Male Factor: The Unwritten Rules, Misperceptions, and Secret Beliefs of Men in the Workplace
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2010
What a great resource for all women to have. This book will help all women understand how male bosses, colleagues, subordinates and customers privately think, and why they react the way they do. A great book you will enjoy as you gain some eye-opening insights about the inner lives of men.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Male Factor: The Unwritten Rules, Misperceptions, and Secret Beliefs of Men in the Workplace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gina
This is the key to the "boy's network" that you've been looking for. Through scientific research and real-life examples, Ms. Feldhahn walks through the mind of a working male. Notice the qualifier. One of the keys is that a male is able to compartmentalize. When he's a work, he's in his work mode and while the core beliefs and personality may be the same he's "working" and when he says, "It's not personal, it's business" that's exactly what he means.The seven years that Shaunti Feldhahn took to put this book together shows with every chapter. If you are female and you work or volunteer with male co-workers, get this book. It doesn't matter what size company or whether it is profit, non-profit, secular or ministry. This book is unbelievable.As this is an expanded edition for Christian believers, it will give you that edge you require without compromising your beliefs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Male Factor: The Unwritten Rules, Misperceptions, and Secret Beliefs of Men in the Workplace
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2010
The Male Factor is comprehensive guides that will help women learn to not only get along with men in the workplace, but also to learn how to relate to men and how men relate to women. Shaunti Feldhahn did extensive research while writing this book, so her expertise comes from experience and knowledge. I had no idea there was so much to learn about working alongside men, but there really is a great deal of useful information and advice in this book. I work from home so I do not have the same exposure to men in the workplace many women have, but if I ever do work outside the home again, I will appreciate the authors work on this book. I really like the fact that this is the expanded edition with Christian insights. Many improper relationships form in the workplace and this book will help Christian women avoid falling into traps that may lead to men disrespecting them. This book is well written and well documented. I think it is a must for all working women.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Male Factor: The Unwritten Rules, Misperceptions, and Secret Beliefs of Men in the Workplace
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2010
"The Male Factor" by Shaunti Feldhahn contains the results of extensive research through surveys and interviews meant to help working women understand and, therefore, work more effectively with the men in their workplaces.While Feldhahn does present some interesting and useful information in the book, most of it focuses on the research. The first two chapters, for example, are devoted to how she conducted her research and why. After that, each chapter starts with a rule, perception, or belief held by men about how people should conduct themselves in the workplace. Feldhahn spends a lot of time explaining how her research led her to believe that this is what men are thinking and gives many examples from her survey and interviews to make her point, but she spends very little time explaining how women can use the information productively in order to be more effective in their jobs. In other words, the book tells women what Feldhahn discovered, but leaves them almost entirely on their own to figure out what to do about it.She does explain how and why men and women perceive things differently and how this can lead to a woman inadvertently doing something in the workplace that can hurt her career. She also gives hope that in some places, men's perceptions are changing, so they recognize the value women bring to the job just by being who they are.The book focuses almost exclusively on the high-powered, white collar, competitive, fast-track work environment, however. If a woman is in a position where she is competing for promotions, raises, bonuses, and partnerships, Feldhahn's conclusions may be useful to her. Other women may glean some insight from the book, but would probably find a book that covers a broader application range more useful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Male Factor: The Unwritten Rules, Misperceptions, and Secret Beliefs of Men in the Workplace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mocha with Linda
This is a must-read for women who are in the workforce. Like her previous books, the information which Shaunti shares was gleaned from hours of interviews and surveys of men who shared frankly about, as the subtitle says, The Unwritten Rules, Misperceptions, and Secret Beliefs of Men in the Workplace. The result is a book filled with invaluable information for women, whether they work alongside men in the secular or sacred world. This expanded Christian edition contains additional information not found in the general business edition; each chapter has input geared for the woman who brings a Christian perspective to her working environment. An additional final chapter provides insight from "Titus Women" - senior Christian women in the workforce who share the wisdom reaped from their years of experience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.