Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Sir Kendrick and The Castle of Bel Lione, Knights of Arrethtrae

Multnomah Books Sir Kendrick and The Castle of Bel Lione, Knights of Arrethtrae

A sinister new order threatens the Knights of the Prince. Dispatched to Bel Lione, Sir Kendrick and Sir Duncan seek to uncover the identity of the secretive Vincero Knights---and expose the truth about their stronghold. But first they must contend with evil Lord Ra! First in The Knights of Arrethtrae spiritual allegories for teens. 176 pages, softcover from Multnomah.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sir Kendrick and The Castle of Bel Lione, Knights of Arrethtrae
Review 1 for Sir Kendrick and The Castle of Bel Lione, Knights of Arrethtrae
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The young fellow I gave it to has asked for more!

Date:April 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sunshine
Location:Calgary, AB
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave this as a gift to an avid tween and told him that if he liked it, I would get him another. His grandmother said he couldn't put it down and I was thrilled when he asked for the next in the series - and his face was alight with anticipation! So glad I discovered it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sir Kendrick and The Castle of Bel Lione, Knights of Arrethtrae
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

exceptional series

Date:January 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
dallasmom
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My boys (age 8 and 14) love this series and the companion Kingdom books. We listen to the audio books driving to and from school, and my older son has also read all the books. It is hard to imagine a more exciting yet inspiring series for tweens and teens.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sir Kendrick and The Castle of Bel Lione, Knights of Arrethtrae
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love these books!

Date:January 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
kitkat
Location:WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 12 year old is in love with this series. She read the Kingdom series and enjoyed it so much that she had to read the Arrethtrae Series. They teach so many wonderful character traits and values! I couldn't be happier with these books. The story has enough appeal to keep both boys and girls interested in the books. My 10 year old daughter has started reading these as well and is enjoying them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sir Kendrick and The Castle of Bel Lione, Knights of Arrethtrae
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Heidi Nickel
Location:Abbotsford, BC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent spiritual allegory that encourages teens to get into the Word of God.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sir Kendrick and The Castle of Bel Lione, Knights of Arrethtrae
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Book

Date:October 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
lrsgk35
Location:Toronto, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We picked this book up after reading the first paragraph and we were entranced by the emotion of this book. I could not put it down. Sir Kendrick and Sir Duncan show the mentor-student relationship perfectly. It is a very engaging book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sir Kendrick and The Castle of Bel Lione, Knights of Arrethtrae
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hannah, age 14
Trying to leave his tragic past behind, Sir Kendrick is a faithful knight of the Prince. Now a mentor of a adventorous young knight named Duncan, Kendrick travels to Bel Lione where Vincero knights are being trained. Duncan, attempting to save a friend, is captured, and Kendrick has little time to save him. The only man who can help is reluctant. What does he know of Kendrick's past? Can Kendrick hope to save Duncan and stop the vile work of Lord Ra? This story was thrilling, and I was so wrapped up in it, I started crying at the end, because I was so touched. I would highly recommend Chuck Black's books to anyone over ten.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sir Kendrick and The Castle of Bel Lione, Knights of Arrethtrae
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Peggy Compton
My boys really don't enjoy reading very much, but they really liked the first series that Chuck Black wrote, The Kingdom Series. So, when I saw that these books were out, I bought them right away. Again, my boys are loving to read. They are full of adventure and hold my boys interest!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sir Kendrick and The Castle of Bel Lione, Knights of Arrethtrae
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kelly Anderson
I'm fourteen yrs old and I've heard every single book Chuck Black has published and Sir Kendrick I have to say is my favorite yet! It sent chills down my spine, it was such a heart-touching story of this man. I highly recommend this book to everyone who wants an adventure yet a godly book!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sir Kendrick and The Castle of Bel Lione, Knights of Arrethtrae
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Luke Hogan
I am 9 years old and I really enjoyed this book. It was exciting and biblically accurate. I enjoyed the fact that the stories were about knights because it made the story more interesting. I would recommend this book to both boys & girls from 8-12 yrs old.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sir Kendrick and The Castle of Bel Lione, Knights of Arrethtrae
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sherry Mcgilberry
My daughter is twelve and she loved this book!She didn't want to put it down. I love it because it is very clean and spiritual while very entertaining.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sir Kendrick and The Castle of Bel Lione, Knights of Arrethtrae
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
John3v36
From one of my favorite series! Great for reading aloud with the family. The kids enjoy reading them on their own. They are a great flight of the imagination and full of suspense, action, and drama. On top of being incredible fantasy stories, these books contain very clear allegory which can easily be related back to passages from the Bibleeven by our 8 year old. The series takes you through the whole Bible in only a few characters. Definitely a must-read from age 8 to 80!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sir Kendrick and The Castle of Bel Lione, Knights of Arrethtrae
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Misti Konsavage
My 10/12 yr old boys love the Kingdom series so they could hardly wait until Sir Kendrick was released. They started reading it on their walk back from the mailbox and loved it as much as the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sir Kendrick and The Castle of Bel Lione, Knights of Arrethtrae
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Sir Kendrick and the Castle at Bel Lione is thoroughly engaging. I think the author is a genius with an amazing gift of showing through fiction what the heart of man is truly like. I was enthralled with the story and am amazed that the genre is categorized as teen fiction. Adults who love Medieval stories will enjoy this, too. The only thing that tipped me off was the lack of descriptive violence. When someone got killed they "ran into the blade" but that was as descriptive as it got. Even the sickest scene in the dungeon/torture chambers was easy to stomach despite the cat o nine tails being used on someone. I am a bit of a wuss when it comes to gore, so this book was perfect for me. At any rate, I enjoyed Chuck's lyrical style of writing so much I read several portions out loud to my husband. The author has an amazing "voice" for writing medieval fiction with castles and knights and I felt as if I were watching a movie as I read.What made this story unique was the allegory to the New Testament ministry of Paul. Sir Kendrick reminded me of Paul and Duncan was a lot like Timothy. I loved the clear parallel to scripture and the emphasis on good versus evil, minus the witches and dragons and other mystical themes that are often found in fantasy novels. The story did contain some pretty scary wolves, though. I felt the terror from the attacks of evil. The moral lessons were fabulously knitted into the fabric of the story, and I was moved to tears several times over themes of forgiveness. It really isn't about what we say we believe, but it's about how we actually apply our faith in Christ to our lives. The author demonstrates this theme with perfection. You can't help being inspired by reading this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sir Kendrick and The Castle of Bel Lione, Knights of Arrethtrae
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2008
I was blown away by how much I loved this book! It looks like a great start to a fantastic series. This is a book that would be a great read aloud to your family and would keep everyone entertained while giving you good discussion of spiritual truths and ideas. The characters are great and the settings are vivid with imagery that will take you right into the castles and countrysides as the characters go there. This is a series that I will be collecting for my family and I would strongly suggest that you do as well!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.