Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc Lady Carliss and the Waters of Moorue, Knights of Arrethae Series #4

Random House, Inc Lady Carliss and the Waters of Moorue, Knights of Arrethae Series #4

Lady Carliss has proven herself as a knight, being a master of both the sword and the bow. Now she finds herself racing against time to save two things she holds dear: Sir Dalton, who has been attacked by a poisonous creature, and the entire Kingdom, from a takeover plot devised by a powerful Shadow Warrior. But will she have enough time to rescue both Dalton and the Kingdom, or will she be forced to make a terrible choice?
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lady Carliss and the Waters of Moorue, Knights of Arrethae Series #4
Review 1 for Lady Carliss and the Waters of Moorue, Knights of Arrethae Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

interesting tale which has lessons 4 young people

Date:May 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bob Hayton
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:male
The appeal of fantasy fiction is wrapped up in its other-worldliness. On film, Peter Jackson captured this well in his Lord of the Rings trilogy. Of course, the books themselves are more effective at transporting the reader to another time and place.
In the "Knights of Arrethtrae" series, Chuck Black takes the grand Biblical story of redemption and crafts an allegorical, fictitious world to match it. Following John Bunyan's Pilgrim's Progress legacy, Black interweaves Christian themes into his fantasy tale.
The series is based on his earlier 6 part Kingdom series, and offers vignettes of followers of the King across the Sea. "The King reigns and his Son!" is the rallying cry of the Prince's Knights in the Kingdom of Arrethtrae. Shadow Warriors and evil knights battle Silent Warriors and the Prince's knights, in a battle for the souls of men.
In "Lady Carliss", we find a fascinating tale of treachery, deceit, a dark plot and mystery. Carliss battles more than just the dark forces, as she must master her heart and its attraction to her brother's best friend Lord Dalton. Along the way, she faces the dreadful choice of saving the life of one she can't help but love, or saving the lives of friends who count on her.
At the end of the book, a discussion guide is included with pointed questions about the allegory and the story, chapter by chapter. The peril of a pleasure-inducing substance that sends people into an alternate reality provides a platform for addressing the problem of escapism in today's world. The questions also come with answers and make this book, and the others in the "Knights of Arrethtrae" series, ideal for parents to read with their teens, or for youth groups to read together in a church-based book club.
The story moves along at a fast clip and includes surprising twists and turns. The style is straightforward and action-oriented, suitable for teen-age readers and a shorter sized fantasy book. The allegory is at times very direct, and detailed descriptions of the meaning are included at the end. Still the story stands on its own right, and entering the world Black creates is both enjoyable and instructive.
The meta-narrative or grand story of the Bible is indeed alluring. We need to remind ourselves that an alternate reality has nothing on the redemptive plan of our Savior. We, like Carliss, need to learn to trust the Prince and follow him in spite of our feelings and uncertainties. And our Lord will prove True and Faithful, every time.
Disclaimer: This book was provided by Waterbrook Multnomah publishers for review. I was under no obligation to offer a favorable review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lady Carliss and the Waters of Moorue, Knights of Arrethae Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
MORGAN
Age:Under 18
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this book for my fifteenth birthday and finished it by the next day. If you love action and adventure you have to read this book!
Morgan 15
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lady Carliss and the Waters of Moorue, Knights of Arrethae Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Even Better than the Kingdom Series

Date:November 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
ChrisC
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The books in the Knights of Arrethtrae Series are the best I've ever read. Chuck Black is an amazing story teller. Lady Carliss was my favorite. They are so exciting; I can't put them down. I can't wait until the next ones come out!
~Amy Joy (13)~
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lady Carliss and the Waters of Moorue, Knights of Arrethae Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book

Date:October 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
lrsgk35
Location:Toronto, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have been reading this series (minus book 3) and each one just got better and better. Lady Carliss was no exception. Although I think I was let down a little by the ending of the book which seemed too easy for the character while she seemed to be breaking too much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lady Carliss and the Waters of Moorue, Knights of Arrethae Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Family Read Aloud

Date:October 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Though I’ve never read Chuck Black’s allegorical Kingdom Series, our families has truly enjoyed his sequel series The Knights of Arrethtrae. This series is an allegorical fantasy complete with noble knights, dangerous creatures, and temptations to be defeated. It is set in the period following the Prince’s departure from Arrethtrae, leaving his Knights to fight the good fight and spread the news of the Prince’s imminent return (the age of the church.)
Each title in this series stands more-or-less alone, and Lady Carliss and the Waters of Moorue (#4) is no exception. Though it builds upon the events of Sir Dalton and the Shadow Heart (#3), our family read it first (we’re about to go back and read #3.)
Lady Carliss is a particularly loveable character for our family filled with girls (I have three daughters.) While a warrior and true Knight, Carliss also struggles with a heart that longs for one who is not rightfully hers. She nobly resists, but when Sir Dalton’s life is in danger and she is the only one who has a fair chance of finding the antidote to a poisonous bite, her heart is surely tested.
Filled with intense action sequences, clear parallels to the Christian life, and realistic temptations and victories, Lady Carliss was greatly enjoyed by our entire family. My seven-year-old is always asking me to read it again despite my initial misgivings that it might be too dramatic for her.
The discussion questions at the book’s end are perfect for leading teens to consider the consequences of escapism and the excessive use of diversionary pleasures as presented in the novel.
Black’s work makes excellent family reading material – parents can discuss parallels between the story and the Christian life. Tweens and teens can also benefit from reading the book independently, and are very likely to do so considering the engaging content!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lady Carliss and the Waters of Moorue, Knights of Arrethae Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hannah, age 14
Of all the Kingdom and Knights of Arrethtrae series, this on is my favorite. Carliss, struggling with her feelings for Sir Dalton, is suddenly thrust into a search for a friends family. Along the way, Dalton is posioned and Carliss has only nine days to find the antidote. With two companions, Salina the daughter of the kidnapped family, and Ganoaf, a giant man with the mind of a child, she travels to the strange city of Moorue. What astonishing truths await them? An exciting story with suspense at every turn and containing, (what I consider to be), one of the most unexpected surprises in all of Chuck Black's books.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lady Carliss and the Waters of Moorue, Knights of Arrethae Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Iaci Flanders
Absolutely fantastic!!! You will not be disappointed with this latest from Chuck Black...the Lord has truly blessed this brother with a great creative mind and ability to keep you in the book until the very end. Our whole family is hooked...and now we're getting our friends reading all of Chuck's books...and guess what? They're hooked, too!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lady Carliss and the Waters of Moorue, Knights of Arrethae Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2010
Chuck Black is an amazing master of allegorical fiction. Creating amazing characters and storylines that mirror an important truth in our lives. This is book #4 in The Knights of Arrethtrae series. I loved the first two and somehow missed #3 before this one came out, I'll be getting it though as it obviously lends a lot of storyline to book #4. In fact it appears that Lady Carliss actually makes her first shows up in Sir Dalton (book #2). All that aside, I was able to absolutely enjoy this book without reading Sir Dalton. Lady Carliss is on a mission to get home and see her family after her adventure in book #3. She gets sidetracked by another knight because their family has been taken. In the process she and Sir Dalton get attacked by a strange creature and it puts Sir Dalton in basically a coma. Lady Carliss has very little time to find the only possible cure for saving his life. Along the way she runs into Shadow Warriors, esca lizards, betrayers and much more. Can she really make a difference in the midst of all this darkness? Can the light stand a chance? Excellent book, I'm hoping for more in this series, Chuck Black is a master!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lady Carliss and the Waters of Moorue, Knights of Arrethae Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
bigguysmama
I read book 2 Sir Bentley and Holbrook Court, but missed book 1 and 3! These books can be read independently, but I would suggest reading them in order. I was so bummed knowing I was missing part of the underlying story. Guess from my review above I would've learned my lesson!Thankfully, I've read at least one of the books in this series so I understood the characters in the story. Right from the start the reader understands that there's a wonderful parallel between who the King and the Prince are (God and Jesus). The characters either are aligned with the King, are against him, or are undecided. Sound familiar?Right from the beginning the reader feels like they're on an amazing adventure. Lady Carliss is heading home to do some soul searching and from the start nothing seems to go right. Lord Dalton shows up and is attacked by some freaky lizard creature. Lady Carlilss and her friend take Dalton to the next town and go in search of a rare serum that could save his life...before 9 days pass!!Yes, Christian fantasy, it is possible! Chuck Black has done a fine job of creating this world. As I've said before, I wasn't sure if this genre would be acceptable, but there are some great authors doing the job. Chuck Black will be one my boys will love once they are old enough. If you have daughters who enjoy fantasy, they will love Lady Carliss because of her strength; not just physically, but morally as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lady Carliss and the Waters of Moorue, Knights of Arrethae Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2010
This title is the fourth book in The Knights of Arrethtrae Series.I have not been surprised by a book in quite some time. This book exceeded my expectations. The topic was not of great interest to me when the book first arrived. I don't really enjoy fantasy stories. Normally I struggle through the first few chapters of any book. I just have a difficult time becoming interested in the story. This was not the case with Lady Carliss. The first two pages of the book had me so hooked I actually read it in two sittings. That is just unheard of for me because I read to relax/fall asleep and normally it works like a charm. Just a few pages and my eyes are closing.Lady Carliss belongs to the Knights of the Prince, and she fights may fierce battles against the Shadow Warriors. When the man she loves becomes ill she is in the fight of her life to save him. The only problem is that the Shadow Warriors will stoop to very low levels in their battles. It is at that moment that Lady Carliss finds that she is not only in a battle to save her loves life, but the lives of everyone in the Kingdom of Arrethtrae.Not only do I highly recommend this book, I will be purchasing the entire series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lady Carliss and the Waters of Moorue, Knights of Arrethae Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Sikora
Anything by Chuck Black is awesome. I love the way he writes. My children enjoy his books as well. We are currently reading his Kindom Dawn series. His writing is SO interesting that my son, who hates to read, is engrossed in these books.If you like books about knights and them relating to God and faith in the Lord, you will want to get any books written by him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lady Carliss and the Waters of Moorue, Knights of Arrethae Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hearts Make Families
At first I had a hard time getting into the book but once I did, I was amazed at how involved I was. I have to give it to the author, Chuck Black, he kept this book full of action and adventure. Lady Carliss is a servant to the Prince, who represents Jesus Christ. She must save her friend's family from the evil, Lord Malco. During it she will run into a lot of different characters both good and evil. The story is a great example of how we all fight evil vs good all the time.Although this is the fourth book of the series, The Knights of Arrethtrae, I had no difficulties getting into the book. I found it to be a exciting fast paced book. I would recommend it to anyone.Disclaimer: This book was provided for review by the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lady Carliss and the Waters of Moorue, Knights of Arrethae Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Charlene
This is an edge of your seat read. In Lady Charliss and the Waters of Moorue, Chuck Black, former fighter pilot and communications engineer, has written an outstanding allegory for youth of any age. I loved this book. I didn't care it that was smack in the middle of a series from which I'd read nothing else. It was a complete story on it's own from beginning to end.If you like fantasy, coming of age, and/or quest novels, you will like this book. The vocabulary is best suited for 9-12 year-olds, but the story will span all ages. The story includes action, friendship, loyalty, betrayal, and a tiny touch of romance. It is also packed full of Christian principals and models wise decision-making skills, yet it does not come across as sappy or preachy.The back of the book contains discussion questions for every chapter. These questions help one think about what one is reading in the story and relate it to Biblical precepts. There is also a music score in the back of the book titled, Journey to Moorue. It was written by Emily Elizabeth Black.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Multnomah Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lady Carliss and the Waters of Moorue, Knights of Arrethae Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2010
I've been eying Chuck Black's Kingdom Series now for a while thinking that my boys would like it. Based on Lady Carliss, I think I'm right.I was given a copy of Lady Carliss to read and review. I was hesitant to jump in and read it simply because it is book #4. However, the author did a really great job of adding enough detail to the beginning and throughout the story so that you weren't left wondering who was who and who had done what previously. Of course, now I just want to go buy the previous books and read those to see how the story started!I absolutely loved this book. Chuck Black uses his storytelling skills well. I highly recommend it but I would probably start with Book #1.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lady Carliss and the Waters of Moorue, Knights of Arrethae Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2010
I loved this book from the opening line to the last page. The adventure story is easy to follow and understand. There are Christian themes that run throughout the book. The characters are a mix of heroes and villain. Lady Carliss a young woman has both knowledge and wisdom, she a seemingly girl has the experience as a Veteran Knight. This Christian Fiction Fantasy adventure is a enjoyable read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lady Carliss and the Waters of Moorue, Knights of Arrethae Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2010
As a big sister and a tutor of two teenage boys, I try to keep up a little with the world of Christian fantasy fiction although it is not my favorite genre. However, I truly believe author Chuck Black is a brilliant writer, tying in the truths of our lives as Christian warriors with the stories of the Kingdom of Arrethae. Lady Carliss and the Waters of Moorue is no exception. A tale of great heroics not only on the battlefield but in the heart and soul make for an exciting and thought-provoking read. Tween girls will especially enjoy it, and Lady Carliss is a brave heroine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lady Carliss and the Waters of Moorue, Knights of Arrethae Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2010
In this fourth book of the Knights of Arrethtrae series, Sir Dalton is attacked by an esca lizard. He lies at deaths door. Lady Carliss finds out that the only cure must be administered within ten days and can only be found several days journey away. She sets off for the distant city of Moorue where she finds fellow believers and a great deal of evil. This is an exciting tale for teens. Included in the story are allegorical aspects of the gospel and the practice of discipleship. Lady Carliss faces serious issues like the temptation to try the drugging waters of Moorue. She struggles with friendships including the betrayal of one she trusted. Lady Carliss fights the evil Dark Warriors as she tries to free captured believers and find the elusive plant with the cure for Sir Dalton. She plunges into the nesting area of the esca lizards and it seems all may be lost. Can she save her friends and get the cure to her beloved Sir Dalton in time? An exciting story with well presented examples of spiritual truths in a fiction setting. This book was provided for review By The WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lady Carliss and the Waters of Moorue, Knights of Arrethae Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2010
This book I really enjoyed. Its very much an allegory like Narnia but put in the age of castles, kings and knights. It is book 4 of the Knights of Arrethtrae. Even though it is part of a series you can easily read each book on their own without having to have read the previous books.This book is written more for the tween and teen group. The chapters are a bit shorter and easier to read through. This book took me two days to get through so it was a very quick read. However, the story was really good. I kind of hated to see it end. When I was done I gave the book to my 10 yr old daughter to read as well and she was interested in it because the main character is a female knight. I found it a lot of fun and am looking into finding the others in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Lady Carliss and the Waters of Moorue, Knights of Arrethae Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angie
Although Lady Carliss and the Waters of Moorue is the fourth book in the Knights of Arrethtrae series I didn't feel lost reading this book. I really enjoyed it and if you have kids (or are a kid at heart) I really think this would be a good series for them. It's filled with action, adventure, a little romance and most importantly faith. This book had me on the edge of my seat and there were a few twists that I didn't see coming. I really enjoyed reading this book. This book was provided for review by the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Lady Carliss and the Waters of Moorue, Knights of Arrethae Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2010
Another great installment in the Knights of Arrethrae series. This fourth book is a direct follow-up to the third: Sir Dalton and the Shadow Heart. At the end of the third book, a group of Knights of the Prince had freed their fellow Followers and Lady Carliss had disappeared. After a short introduction about her life, this book picks up with Lady Carliss where we left her in the last book. She is traveling home, wanting to visit her family, and to get away from Dalton. Her feelings for him confuse her because she knows he's promised to someone else. When he shows up, he is bitten by an esca lizard. The only cure is in a flower in the swamps of Moorue. If Carliss can't find it and return in nine days, Dalton dies. So she travels with a friend to find it. But in Moorue, dangers await. Carliss is betrayed and has to choose whether she will save the Followers in Moorue or leave them to die in order to save Dalton. Each of Chuck Black's books in this series creates an allegory for different temptations or trials we face in this world. This one deals with escapism: desiring to spend time in an alternate reality than face the real world. Though these books are geared towards younger readers, I have greatly enjoyed them and I hope there will be more! This book was provided for review by the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.