Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books #5: Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor

Multnomah Books #5: Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor

Sir Quinlan leaves his boyhood friend to serve the Prince, fighting a battle darker and more intense than any he's ever known. The mysterious Sir Baylor recruits him into the ranks of an elite unit of knights known as the Swords of Valor, but when tragedy strikes and everyone blames Quinlan, the Swords of Valor disband, ending a legacy of heroic deeds.

Alone and despairing, Quinlan wanders the kingdom, fleeing his past. His providential encounter with Taras, a mysterious Silent Warrior and former trainer of Valor Knights, offers Quinlan a chance to redeem himself and learn the ways of the secret warriors.

The training is grueling, and just when Quinlan seems to have left his failures behind, he receives an impossible challenge from the Prince-one that will force him to face his past.and the mighty men who blame him for the tragedy that ruined them. Can Quinlan reunite the Valor Knights in time to save the people from the Dark Knight's evil plot to rule the Kingdom of Arrethtrae, or will the Valor Knights lose the most important battle of all?
Average Customer Rating:
4.79 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 out of 19100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for #5: Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor
Review 1 for #5: Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good for reluctant readers

Date:August 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cworthy
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you have a reluctant reader in your house who needs high interest fiction (and especially if said reader is a boy), check out this book. This is book five in Black’s The Knights of Arrethtrae series. Swords of Valor is the only one in the series that we’ve tried, but there is enough action to intrigue my son and enough allegory to make mom happy. It is a bit King Arthur-esque and is a fantastic vocabulary builder. (In fact, pulling spelling and vocab from this book/series would be a great project for some enterprising homeschool mom who is feeling especially benevolent.) Attending a renaissance festival this school year? Add this one to your book list as a literature tie-in. Enjoy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for #5: Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great book by Chuck Black!

Date:December 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Samantha
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is one of my favorites. Chuck Black is so talented in allegorical writing! Sir Quinlan instantly became one of my favorite characters. Thanks, Mr. Black for making such wonderful stories, please keep writing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for #5: Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Great Read

Date:June 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
cap44
Location:Pensacola, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor by Chuck Black is an excellent book for both the young reader and the old.
At first I was afraid that since this was book #5 I wouldn't have any idea what was going on, but my fears were laid to rest, this is a worthy stand-alone novel.
Sir Quinlan grows into his role as our hero and along the way leaves behind childhood and the would-be heroes of his life.
Overcoming mistakes and forgiveness are lessons learned along the way and the very straight-forward parallels drawn between our King and His Son and those of the book are very hard to miss.
I heartily recommend this book and will be reading the first four books as soonas possible.
And as soon as my children are old enough to read this level book, I am going to make sure they start this series.
I was provided this book by WaterbrookMultnomah free of charge, under no obligation than to provide a review of the book, either positve or negative.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for #5: Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sir Quinlan- the best yet!

Date:May 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
StoryGirl
Location:South Carolina
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the time since I posted my review of the first book in the Kingdom's Dawn, I've read all of the Kingdom books (without actually buying a single one!). I was almost a little afraid to start the Knights of Arrethtrae series, because I figured they couldn't possibly be as good as the first series.
I was wrong. They are even better.
Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor, is, in fact, my favorite I've read so far. Unlike the Kingdom series, which was an allegory of familiar Bible stories, each book in The Knights of Arrethtrae series focuses on a single virtue or vice that we often encounter in our Christian walk.
The main character, Twitch, is a quiet, somewhat shy boy who has never been the best at anything. Content to rest in the shadow of his best friend and adopted older brother, Tav, Twitch lives a very ordinary, uneventful life.
When Tav's Uncle Baylor comes with a message that the Prince needs Tav to become a part of an elite team called The Swords of Valor, Twitch knows he is going to miss his friend. But Tav refuses to go- so Twitch offers to leave instead.
Rejected at first, Twitch has a hard time of it from the start. The other members of The Swords of Valor look down on him because of his lack of skill, both with his words and with the sword. Just when things seem to getting better for Twitch, an unimaginable tragedy happens- a tragedy all of the other members blame on Twitch and causes The Swords of Valor to disband.
Alone and miserable, Twitch is astounded when the prince calls him to a seemingly impossible mission. A mission that will take just as much courage to overcome his self-doubt as it will to overcome the enemy.
I greatly enjoyed this book- and I can't wait to get my hands on the next one!
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for #5: Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sir Quilan - great read

Date:May 3, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Several months ago, a friend recommended Chuck Black’s Kingdom Series to me. My children devour books quickly so I am always looking for quality selections. We were give book one of the Kingdom Series and my daughter was hooked. When Sir Quilan and the Sword of Valor arrived at our door, I had to remind her that I needed to read it first.
From the first few pages I was captured into the story of Twitch. Twitch was a young man that was average or even a bit below average. He had given himself to service for the Prince but wasn’t the greatest swordsman and walked in the shadow of his friend Tav.
However, the Prince, uses the unlikely and the ordinary to do great things. When Twitch gives himself to whatever the Prince needs him for, the Prince changes Twitch and helps Twitch to see who he is in the Prince’s eyes. Along this journey, Twitch transforms into Sir Quilan and encounters many challenges and obstacles that make him a mighty servant of the Prince. Sadly, not all heed the call of the Prince and their journey does not end well.
Mr. Black does an excellent job with this allegory. The setting of knights and swords and mighty battles engages young readers and opens the door for great conversation. Discussion questions are provided in the back of the book. My daughter and I have discussed much about the book and how it relates to our walk with Christ. As a father of 6, Mr. Black knows his audience well. We look forward to reading more of Mr. Black’s Knight’s series. Sir Quilan and the Swords of Valor is one we would recommend to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for #5: Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great book by Chuck Black

Date:April 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:Nebraska
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In book 5 of The Knights of Arrethtrae, a young man named Twitch tries to serve the Prince, but when rejected he’s forced to learn a valuable lesson. What happens when Quinlan is caught in teh Dunes of Myner by a horrible pentomoth? Or when he tries to defend a city from thousands of evil warriors with only 24 knights of the Prince? Will the might silent Warriors arrive in to time to save Burkfield, or will Sir Quinlan and his army be destroyed by Lucius, the evil and deadly commander of teh Shadow Warriors? Will cute but deadly paytha’s overtake the team or will a mighty friend destroy them in time?
Chuck Black has done it again! This is definitely a page turner!
(Review by my daughter, age 10.)
(Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor was written by Chuck Black, it is also the 5th book in The Knights of Arrethtrae series)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for #5: Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Convicting Allegory and thrilling adventure!

Date:April 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaryRuth
Location:Midwest
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When it comes to Christian fiction, few things delight me more than well-crafted allegory. Which makes it seem somewhat odd that Sir Quinlan was my first experience with Chuck Black’s work. But regardless, this book had me hooked from page one, and I couldn’t put it down.
The story begins with Tav and Twitch—two young knights in training for the service of the Prince of Arrethtrae. Their training is basically just a hobby for them, an enjoyable pastime. But then Tav’s uncle Baylor, who his family considers just a little bit shy of sane, shows up and tells Tav that he wants him to come and join the Swords of Valor. Baylor claims that a deadly war is engulfing the kingdom of Arrethtrae, and that they need men willing to leave everything and join in the battle.
But no one—neither Tav nor Twitch—has seen any sign of a war being fought, so why leave a comfortable and peaceful life at home to chase imaginary enemies and fight unnecessary battles? Tav refuses his uncle’s offer. Baylor offers him two days to think about it and make his final decision.
It is Twitch, however, who finds himself seriously thinking about what it really means to be a knight of the Prince and what a life of service really looks like. It is Twitch who meets Baylor two days later and offers his life in service as one of the Swords of Valor.
At first it seems like the life he’s always dreamed of… until disaster strikes. It is a disaster so terrible that the Swords of Valor disband completely. And it is Twitch’s fault. Ashamed and convinced that he’s incapable of serving the Prince, Twitch returns home.
But his destiny won’t leave him alone, and before long he finds himself back on the road of service to the Prince. Back on the road to rejoining the Swords of Valor. Back on the road to becoming Sir Quinlan.
As I said before, this book had me hooked from page one and held me until the end. It has a classic plot filled with page-turning drama and delicious, breath-taking action. Best of all, there is a deeply moving and convicting message woven through the story. Unlike a lot of attempts at allegory, the author doesn’t pause the story to ‘preach’. The reader knows the message is there and understands what it is saying, but Chuck Black has done a stellar job of weaving it seamlessly into the natural structure of the story.
Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor is a book I will definitely be coming back to for a re-read, and there will be many more of Chuck Black’s books joining Sir Quinlan on my bookshelf!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I received this book free of charge from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for my review. A favorable review is not required; Waterbrook is committed to gathering honest opinions about the books they publish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for #5: Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor

Date:April 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lukie
Location:Milford, NH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This post was graciously provided by 14 year-old Cal.
Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor is an amazing story. It starts out in the lair of Lucius as he talks with two of his commanders, Luskan and Malco, about the battles that have taken place, the one at Moorue and the one at Drox’s lair. After the conversation was over, Lucius ordered Luskan to summon another one of Lucius’s commanders to him, Paython. We then turn to the city of Burkfield to the life of two friends, Tav and Twitch. Tav is waiting for the day when he would be knighted as a Knight of the Prince and Twitch just tries to be as good of a knight but just can't do it.
This story kept me glued to the pages with every unexpected detail, right down to the very last page. Normally, a book takes me awhile to get me interested, but this one got my attention immediately and I read it in two sittings. I would definitely suggest this book to anyone who has read any of books in this series. I read Lady Carliss and the Waters of Moorue after I read this one and there is no comparison. As good as Lady Carliss and the Waters of Moorue was, Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor won by a landslide and I wished the book was actually longer so I could learn more about the adventures Sir Quinlan will have. THIS IS A MUST READ BOOK.
I received this book free for review from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group. Thank you so much!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for #5: Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Angel
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I chose Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor book for my 5th grader, who is a big Chuck Black fan. This story is about a knight who chooses to follow the Prince, even when his friends are falling away to apathy. My son loves the setting of knights and enjoyed the action filled battles, as well as the creatively described creatures in the book. This book quickly became a favorite, that we are excited to add to our collection.
As a mother I love the lessons behind the story. The truth that you must choose to serve the Prince, or to serve self, and that the easy road is not the best road. Not to mention that all of Mr. Black's books contain no questionable material, no bad words, and are refreshingly clean books, great for boys yearning for exciting reading material! The discussion questions at the end of every book are also helpful in pulling out the Biblical truths from the story, things that you just "get" as an adult that you may forget are not so obvious to younger readers.
I received this book as part of the Multnomah Press Blogging for Books program. I am under no obligation, nor do I receive any recompense for, a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for #5: Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I really enjoyed this book

Date:January 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
plainolme
Location:WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wasn't sure that would enjoy this book, but I read it and then my son read it. Wow! I was surprise. The book kept me engrossed from beginning to end. It didn't matter that I hadn't read the other books in the series, even though I plan to now. Sir Quinlan starts our as your ordinary knight, but through the different scenes, changes. I really felt like I was beside Sir Quinlan as he was fighting and on his journey. I could feel his frustrations and his hopes. I would highly recommend this book. I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for #5: Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceptional Series!

Date:January 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jan Marie
Location:Indiana
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor" is book 5 in The Knights of Arrethrae series by author Chuck Black. Sir Quinlan, more commonly known as Twitch by his friends, responds to the call given by Sir Baylor to join him and the knights known as the Swords of Valor in their fight for the Prince and His kingdom. Twitch mistakenly believes that the true call was for his friend, Tav, who is everything that Twitch wishes he could be in order to be a true Knight of the Prince. However, as is often the case, the call is not to the one who seems to be the most qualified, but rather, to the one who is most willing to serve.
Tav, who enjoys the status, position, and comforts of being a Knight of the Prince, not to mention the attention of the ladies, declines the call to follow his uncle, Sir Baylor, choosing rather to stay at home and live a life of ease.
The writer takes us on a journey, a journey that requires the Knights 0f Valor to battle the evil forces of the Dark Knight, Lucius, and his minions. When Sir Baylor is killed in battle, Sir Quinlan blames himself and mistakenly believes the death also signifies the demise of the Swords of Valor and returns to his childhood home and friends. Dissatisfied with his former life, he roams about the kingdom, seeking redemption. Events transpire that enable Quinlan to encounter the Silent Warrior who offers Quinlan a chance to redeem himself. Quinlan then undergoes extremely rigorous and grueling training in order to prepare himself to better serve the Prince. Then comes the day that Sir Quinlan is given a mission by the Prince Himself and he must reunite the Swords of Valor in order to succeed.
I was afraid that, by not beginning with book 1 of the series, I would not be able to follow the storyline. Happily, this was not the case. Each book is about a different knight of the Prince and, as such, their stories can easily stand alone. The allegory is an obvious one. The parallels between the Prince and the Dark Knight are very apparent. The stories are outstanding and I can't say enough good things about them. The books are packed full of action and suspense and closely align with the battle that Christians are fighting on a daily basis. The violence is rampant and the clashing of swords quite vividly portrays the battle that is ongoing between good and evil. The books are written for youth but are so well-written and engaging that they will appeal to readers of all ages. I highly recommend this series. On a personal level, it is my intent to procure all previous and future books in this series and make them available to young people who desperately need to see the Battle portrayed in such a convincing manner. This is a Battle in which every one of us is a soldier. The question is, on which side are we fighting?
I received "Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor" for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. I am under no obligation to write a positive review and opinions expressed are my true and honest sentiments. I receive no compensation, whether monetary or otherwise, for any reviews written by me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for #5: Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Great Book!

Date:January 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
berrypatch29
Location:Maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sir Quinlan grew up with the nickname "Twitch" due to a muscle spasm in his cheek that occurred when he was nervous. While he wanted to follow the Prince and be a Knight of the Kingdom and fight evil, he never really thought he'd amount to much. Soon he learns that the Prince has other plans for him and Sir Quinlan must learn to overcome his feelings of being inferior and worthless to help fight the battle of his life.
Early last year I reviewed Book #4 of the Knights of Arrethtrae last year. I found book #5 just as compelling. While these are geared towards teens, I enjoyed it very much. I really want to read books #1-3 as well as continue the series.
Chuck Black does a really fantastic job weaving biblical truths throughout his stories. He takes the theme of knighthood and turns it in to the way we should live our life for Christ. Another excellent job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for #5: Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
bobbie
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor
by Chuck Black
1/7/2011
Sir Quinlan and Swords of Valor was a quick read for me which is what I wanted for my first review. Middle School children, boys in particular would enjoy this book. It is a powerful allegory depicting the kingdom of God against the kingdom of satan. I was drawn into the book quickly in remembrance that daily we are in a spiritual battle. The book talks about two kingdoms, two kings, and several knights (good and bad) who are willing to fight for their king. The main character, Sir Quinlan, is a lot like us. There was nothing in appearance or skill to set him apart as a leader in the good kingdom. The book shows Sir Quinlan's heart in surrender, being teachable, and the desire he had to be used of the King. The book depicts the battle in the heavenly when a person surrenders to the leadership of the Lord. The book reminds us of the enemies subtly ploys to distract us and make us comfortable. The enemy desired to defeat the entire kingdom with enjoyment and just being comfortable. I did enjoy reading this book. I enjoyed watching the Knights of Valor step in to fight when the enemy (shadow warriors) were attempting to destroy a city or a person. I am donating this book to a middle school teacher for her student library. I would recommend anyone with a child who likes to read adventure, battles and victories to read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for #5: Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great read for any age!

Date:December 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amydeanne
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Now that’s a real story! I love this kind of adventure. Knights and monsters, light and dark, heroes and villains, and much more.
One of the reasons why a story like this is so exciting is because you can see through it that a truth is being told. Whether you identify with the hero or one of the sideline characters, you can’t help but see yourself in the story.
Well done, Mr. Chuck Black. Can’t wait to read the next one and read this one to my children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for #5: Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great read for families and young boys

Date:December 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Book Moms
Location:Hutchinson, KS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommendation: Highly Recommended
I could not have been more pleasantly surprised by this powerful allegory. And while I now plan on reading the series from the beginning, I had no trouble picking up this book, the fifth in the series, and enjoying and understanding the storyline.
The story begins as the "Tale of Two Knights", best friends Tav and Twitch. Both are training to be nights of the King and will soon complete their training and be commissioned. Tav is by far the better soldier, an excellent swordsman and warrior. However it is Twitch, (whose real name is Quinlan) who proves himself a true Knight of the King.
Quinlan commits his life to serve the King while Tav becomes apathetic and enjoys a life of comfort and ease. Quinlan undergoes extensive and intense training, but he knows his life has purpose and he finds fulfillment in knowing and serving the King and His Son.
Positives: This book is filled with wonderful spiritual allegory. The Armor of God in Eph. 6 is referenced as well as the Bible being the Sword and Code of the King. The author also uses creatures to represent different aspects of the Christian life. The rich use of Scripture is evident through the entire book. I also thoroughly enjoyed the discussion questions at the end of the book. They helped to bring an even clearer understanding to the book.
Negatives: None
Talking Points: There are discussion questions for each chapter at the end of the book (and answers for those questions as well). I would use these as a starting point as you talk with your child. Many Scriptures are given in these questions so have your Bible handy and be sure to look up the Scriptures referenced. There is one question for Chapter 11 that I feel needs clarification. The question is about Tav's apathy that turns to unbelief and they ask how this can happen to a believer. In the answer they use the parable of the sower in Matt. 13. This parable talks about the condition of the different soils (hearts) that the seeds of the gospel fall on. There is only one type of soil that reflects the heart of a believer. Can believers become apathetic? Yes. Can a believer lose their salvation? No. Read John 6:35-40. I would instead turn to Heb. 3:12 to talk about the danger of the hardening of the heart. While I believe it is clear at the end of the story that Tav was not a believer, that particular discussion question needs clarification. I would also be sure to discuss the end of the story when Tav tries to board the ship with the King. Read the similar account in Matt. 7. Talk with your child about true salvation and the reality of one day standing before the King and giving account for their life.
Age Level: 10 years old and up
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for #5: Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Book Review: Sir Quinlan by Chuck Black

Date:December 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alyssa Liljequist
Age:Under 18
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor by Chuck Black is part allegory and part adventure story set in a medieval-ish time period. I appreciate how a very important lesson is woven into the text. How relevant it is for those who call themselves Christians today! The devil's schemes can seem so innocent and harmless at first. Complacency doesn't look like a sin. It doesn't look dangerous at first. Yet Matthew 7:21 stands. "Not everyone who says to me, 'Lord, Lord,' will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only he who does the will of my Father who is in heaven."
I also like how the hero isn't someone who's naturally brave, skillful, and dashing. Instead, it's someone who is weak. Again, this reminds me of a Bible verse. "But God chose the foolish things of the world to shame the wise; God chose the weak things of the world to shame the strong. He chose the lowly things of this world and the despised things--and the things that are not--to nullify the things that are." 1 Corinthians 1:27-28 Besides illustrating a Biblical truth, it makes you want the main character to succeed!
I did find the storyline pretty predictable but it was still a nice read and I'd recommend it for fellow teens.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for #5: Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great book by Chuck Black

Date:December 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
gracefulmaiden
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor was a great read, in my opinion. The book was written by Chuck Black, who is a very good author. I love all of his work, and have read many of his books including The Kingdom Series. They are always so full of stories representing truths found in the Bible. He has a way of writing that keeps his readers interested from the very start. Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor was full of adventure and Sir Quinlan’s duty to follow after the Prince in every particular way. Sir Quinlan was brought up with his dear friend but had to sacrifice his friendship in order to follow the Prince. He set out without knowing much of what he would have to face or what would come about, but he moved with trust, just like we should do in our walk with Christ. He ended up failing his Uncle, but the Prince was not done with him yet. The Prince still had many plans for Quinlan. Quinlan became commander in the war and conquered back what the evil had taken away. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Chuck Black’s books, and enjoys a good adventure involving knights and loyalty.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for #5: Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:November 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alysa Sawyer
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book by Chuck Black is about two Knights of the Prince who choose opposite destinies. One chooses the comfortable life and the other chooses the life of actively fighting evil and spreading the good news. Sir Quinlan learns many valuable lessons and truths as he trains to be a knight in the unit called the Swords of Valor. There are several battles between good and evil and a unique story line which would engage anyone who reads it. Black uses allegory to incorporate Biblical truths and the Gospel. The Prince represents Jesus, the Knights of the Prince represent Christians, the Dark Knight (Lucius) represents Satan, the Silent Warriors represent angels, the Shadow Warriors represent demons, and the list goes on.
This is the first book that I have read by Black and I loved it! This is book 5 in the Knights of Arrethtrae series. He also has another series called the Kingdom Series. I am look forward to reading all of them! Other reviews compare Black’s books to Pilgrims Progress. I would also compare them to the Chronicles of Narnia and Frank Peretti’s books. These books could be Christian replacements for families who prefer not to read popular secular series such as Harry Potter. These are categorized as Youth/Teen Fiction but I think adults would like them too. I highly recommend this book!
In accordance with the Federal Trade Commission I am required to disclose that Waterbrook Multnomah Publishers provided this book for free in exchange for my review. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for #5: Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read!

Date:October 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Wilson
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
I am 12 years old and enjoy reading. The Chuck Black series is my absolute favorite, and I think this book was by far the best one in the series. I read these in 1-2 days, and love Black's ability to keep me interested while reinforcing strong Biblical values. If you can't find a book that interests your son, try this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.