Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc Primal: A Quest for the Lost Soul of Christianity

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Random House, Inc Primal: A Quest for the Lost Soul of Christianity

Average Customer Rating:
4.675 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(80 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (80 reviews)
5 stars
59
4 stars
18
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Primal: A Quest for the Lost Soul of Christianity
Review 1 for Primal: A Quest for the Lost Soul of Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Fulky
Location:Cedarville, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an encouraging, inspirational book! Mark Batterson has a way of using his life experiences to draw analogies that enhance our understanding and gratitude for the Word of God. Highly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Primal: A Quest for the Lost Soul of Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding!

Date:October 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Darrell Beck
Location:IL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has depth while written in a style and challenges the reader to return to Love the Lord with all your heart, mind, soul, and strength!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Primal: A Quest for the Lost Soul of Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

4 Elements of Our Souls

Date:April 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
MyMrsO
Location:Wisconsin
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first impression of this small book was surprise. I expected a large volume to review regarding "A Quest for the Lost Soul of Christianity" as I read Primal, the latest book by Mark Batterson.
What would your faith look like if it were stripped down to the simplest elements possible? Storyteller and pastor Mark Batterson explores the four foundational principles of Great Commandment Christianity: compassion (heart), wonder (soul), curiosity (mind), and power (strength)---and supplies a new reformation beginning for your generation, your church, and your life!
Mark begins his story within the catacombs of ancient Rome while he and his wife were on vacation. The following can quickly sum up what is the primal essence of Christianity:
"As I tried to absorb the significance of where I was, I couldn't help but wonder if our generation has conveniently forgotten how inconvenient it can be to follow in the footsteps of Christ. I couldn't help but wonder if we have diluted the truths of Christianity and settled for superficialities. I couldn't help but wonder if we have accepted a form of Christianity that is more educated but less powerful, more civilized but less compassionate, more acceptable but less authentic than that which our spiritual ancestors practiced."
The four foundational principles are easily outlined and the heart, the soul, the mind and the strength are each defined with stories and scriptures.
One of my favorite remarks in this book is, "We don't see the world as it is; we see the world as we are. So wonder, or the lack thereof, simply reveals what is in our souls. If our souls are full of wonder, then life is wonderful. Why? Because you see with your soul. And when you see with your soul, everything becomes a reflection of the glory of God."
If you are a Christian, I believe this book will renew your spirit to retain your soul. If you are searching and questioning then I suggest reading this book. One thing I like about Mark Batterson is his honesty and his encouragement to ask questions.
I give this book 5 stars for reminding us of the 4 basic principles we each need.
Thanks to WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for sending me a free copy of this book to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Primal: A Quest for the Lost Soul of Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Phronsie Howell
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's all about Mark 12:30. Look it up, read it in context, see that it really is what Jesus said it's all about. And that's what Mark Batterson breaks down in his book Primal. He takes readers through each aspect of loving God and tells them what it looks like and how it can be done. It's not enough to just use one "spiritual love language" (a correlation I thought was great) because people are made up of all four (heart, soul, mind, and strength). To completely worship and honor God with the whole self, all four pieces of the puzzle should fit together.
I loved the book. I found it theologically sound and quite honestly, a breath of fresh air. Mark Batterson is pretty much saying that we need to be "sold out" for God. And it makes sense. I didn't find anything out of place, there was nothing said that wasn't un-Biblical (at least not that I saw). Oh, and since this is a big one for me, Mark Batterson used "He" and "Him" instead of "he" and "him" when talking about God or Jesus. Which I really appreciated because to me, doing otherwise isn't giving God the proper reverence He is due.
Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Primal: A Quest for the Lost Soul of Christianity
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great book to share with those who want to grow!

Date:February 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
fstrpstr
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mark makes you think and gives you plenty to talk about with those who really want to take their Christianity to the next level.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Primal: A Quest for the Lost Soul of Christianity
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Challenge for love to be more than a noun

Date:August 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
pastor les
Location:Williamston,MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is well written,very readable-great ideas,but so many not viable for the smaller churches that make up America today.
Having said that; I also was personally challenged for love to be so much more than a noun in my life.It must be a verb.
I appreciated the emphasis on Mark12:30-The four dynamics of the this command make up the core of the book. This brief passage really comes alive via his powerful pen.
Mark has the ability to communicate with stories and experiences of life to not only hold ones attention but to motivate us for change.
The author has the ability to take that which is complex and carefully explain it. The complex is made plain and then becomes applicable.
My copy of "Primal" is heavily underlined . As a pastor I especially appreciated how he shot down the old axiom,"I am not being fed."If you are not being fed,it your own fault.Cha-ching---High five.
So much jumped out at me! One more--"As the day ends God isn't going to say,'Well done-good and faithful servant-but just well done.'
This book is to be savored,not just speed read.
I recommend "Primal" as a great addition to any ones library and life.
Thanks Mark
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Primal: A Quest for the Lost Soul of Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a call to personal spiritual reform

Date:August 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Darlene
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received a complimentary copy of " Primal " by Mark Batterson from Waterbrook/Multnomah for review purposes.
Triggered by a trip to Rome, Mark Batterson explores the conviction that modern believers are living superficial lives and we are in need of a reformation, a return to what is the essence of Christianity. This book is a beautifully written call to the primal center of our original call to Christ.
Mark Batterson is quite clear and direct, yet gentle and comforting for us as believers. He asks the hard questions and this commands a response from our hearts. We will no longer reduce God to what we know, no longer choose political correctness over biblical truth and by experiencing personal spiritual reformation will in turn change our homes, churches and the world.
I thoroughly enjoyed this small book. His insights and personal experiences are interesting to read as he fulfills his aim to take us back the basic tenets of faith while leading us forward to spiritual maturity through the life application of spiritual disciplines. God will use this book to further His kingdom.
I look forward to reading more from this author. Mark Batterson has made his mark as a Christian author, and a place in my personal library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Primal: A Quest for the Lost Soul of Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reminder of things you already know in a new way

Date:July 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Eva Scott
Location:Greensboro, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The author of Primal states his purpose of writing this book is that he wants the reader to "discover new ways of loving God." He also wants the reader to go "back to a primal place where God loved you and you loved God. And that's all that mattered." Mark Batterson writes two chapters on each of the four ways to love God. 1) In the first way to love God, which is with your heart, he says that one way you love God is to love others by taking the time to notice that others are hurting. He points out that Joseph changed the entire course of his life and the world by noticing the cup-bearer and baker looked upset. (Genesis 40:5-7) 2) In the second way to love God, which is with your soul, Mark Batterson says that we need to go back to the sense of wonder we once had (or could have) by looking closely at creation. He tells of a story of a genius whose appreciation for God was expressed in a very unusual way. The author states that any time you are being creative, you are loving God with your creativity if you use it for his glory. 3) The third way to love God is with your mind. Mr. Batterson states that when you learn more in any field, you expand your love for God. Love is based on knowledge. 4) One quote regarding loving God with all your strength, which is the fourth way of loving God, that I loved from the book is: "God loves the smell of your sweat. It stinks to high heaven, but it's a sweet aroma. Your sweat is sacred incense. God loves it when we break a sweat serving his purpose. Our energy turns into beautiful melodies, and it's music in God's ears." Mark Batterson gives many other examples in his book, scientific data for the scientific-minded, and stories of people who showed God's love in these four areas, as well as examples from his own life. The book comes with a 10-session study guide that could be used for personal reflection, Bible class discussion, or small group study. I feel as the reader takes on the author's challenge to try something in each of the four areas that the reader's love for God will grow.
Disclaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Primal: A Quest for the Lost Soul of Christianity
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Some excellent points, but some problems too.

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaryRuth
Location:Midwest
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
A Quest for the Lost Soul of Christianity
By Mark Batterson
The book began with the author recounting a visit to Rome and a trip down into the ancient catacombs beneath the city, where Christians once hid to avoid persecution. I was hooked; from the title and first couple of pages, I was anticipating a call to return to the primal faith, the ultimate dedication to the King that drove Christians underground to worship rather than allowed them to give up their beliefs.
Unfortunately, that wasn’t really the direction the book took. After reading it cover to cover, I’m actually not sure why the title “Primal” was even chosen. Yes, the author does talk extensively about returning to the passion we once had for Christ, and I totally agree with him on that. The church in America today is in desperate need of reformation, and Mark Batterson does have some excellent things to say about that. But he also has some things to say that I don’t agree with.
One of the problems I found with the book was the fact that the author quotes J.I Packer’s statement: “Any Christian worth his salt ought to read the Bible from cover to cover every year”. And while he doesn’t come straight out and echo that, he does spend the next few paragraphs talking about what a great thought and idea that is. Personally, I take issue with Mr. Packer’s statement. If he wants to read the Bible cover to cover every year, then good for him. But I oppose the notion that because I prefer to work through the Bible slowly, studying it in depth for meaning rather than plowing through it to stay on schedule, I am not “worth my salt” as a Christian. (Ironically, in the very next chapter of the book Mark Batterson talks about the importance of taking time to be curious and ask in-depth questions rather than just “cramming for exams”, so to speak, and about how much more information is retained that way.)
The author spends a great deal of time in this book encouraging Believers to be creative, imaginative, and unafraid to think outside the box. And I agree whole-heartedly that many congregations as well as individuals seem to be stuck in a religious rut today. However, he also talks about the need for creativity to keep the church from becoming irrelevant. I have a serious issue with this. I believe it was Ken Ham who said: “Truth makes you relevant”. God’s truths are trans-cultural and trans-generational. If God’s Word is being accurately preached, it is relevant. Period.
I won’t say that this book was a total loss. As I said before, Mark Batterson does have some excellent things to say about the need for reformation in the Church and the need for Christians who are unafraid to be movers and shakers, and he has some great advice on how to actually be creative and undertake some of these things. But I also believe that he’s off-center on some issues too, and Christians need to be aware of that in reading this book.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I received this book free of charge from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for my review. A favorable review is not required; Waterbrook is committed to gathering honest opinions about the books they publish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Primal: A Quest for the Lost Soul of Christianity
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Simple, Yet Profound

Date:April 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Urailak
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What does Christianity mean to you? The message in Primal: A Quest for the Lost Soul of Christianity is simple, yet profound. Want to become part of a reformation movement? The author takes us back to the basic, yet underestimated command from the Lord. After all, it is indeed the first and greatest commandment (Matthew 22:37-38)! Have you ever taken the time to ponder what it really means to love the Lord with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your mind, and with all your strength? This book will help you do just that. The book is divided into 4 parts: The Heart of Christianity, The Soul of Christianity, The Mind of Christianity, and The Strength of Christianity. Our family is missions-minded so I am glad to see that the author is, too . I also appreciate Mr. Batterson’s childlike faith that delights in God alone. The whole Christianity boils down to one primal thing: Amo Dei = Love God! "Everything minus God equals nothing. God plus nothing equals everything. At the end of the day, all that matters is God." (p.165) God is enough. Not God and job. Not God and house. Not God and ministry. Not even God and family. Just God! This book will fuel you to be on fire for Jesus. Refreshing read!
~This book was provided for review by WaterBrook Multnomah.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Primal: A Quest for the Lost Soul of Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anthony S. Ingram
In the 1500s, Martin Luther nailed his 95 theses to the doors of Castle Church in Whittenburg, Germany, which launched a revolution in the Christian world as it pertained to right doctrine. Battersons Primal is a launching pad for another reformation of the Christian religion. This time it is not just about right doctrine, but it is about right living.This book is an exploration of the Great Commandment: that you should love God with all of your heart, soul, mind, and strength. In his journey into the primal nature of humanity, Batterson argues that this command invites us into a relationship with God meant to bring us to new levels of heart-felt compassion, soul-stirring wonder, mind-bending curiosity, and an Kingdom building energy level built on God-given strength. It is a challenge to love God more every day with everything He has created us to be, and when we accept the challenge, the new reformation begins. For me, this book has challenged not only the way I love God, but the way I reflect that love of God onto others. This book is brilliantly written using many modern scientific discoveries about human physiology and the wonders of Creation to point us back to the Primal reason we exist, and then challenges us to use everything we have, combined with the grace of God, to love God in such a way that everything and everyone around us is affected. God is an infinite being and that means there are an infinite number of ways we can love Him, most of which have not even been imagined yet. Upon finishing this book, I am certain that Christianity is not a dying religion on its way out, but rather an infant relationship with God that is barely learning to crawl. If Christianity is getting dry and boring to you, you need this book. If Christianity is thriving in you and God is blowing your mind, you need this book. And for anyone caught in the middle, you should read it too. We have so much love to give, and so many reasons to do so.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Primal: A Quest for the Lost Soul of Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mike Foster
Mark is one of my favorite authors. I have read both In and Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day and Wild Goose Chase and Primal lives up to all expectations. Mark does an incredible job dissecting the Great Commandment (Love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul, mind and strength). He points out that when we lose our way in our faith we often need to go back to these basics and the primal instincts of our faith to bring us back to a place of growth.The thing I love most about all of Marks writings is his interdisciplinary breadth of resources. He is almost as comfortable talking about neurology as he is theology. His view, and rightfully so, that all truth is Gods truth allows Mark to maneuver between disciplines with the greatest of ease. It is with this ease that helps expand my faith with each Batterson read.If you are looking for a light read, a fluff piece, this isnt it. If you are looking for a challenging book that will shed some fresh light on a verse that we have read and thought about for years. This isnt exactly the little known story of In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day. The call to greater compassion, wonder, curiosity and energy is a call to greater faith and love for God. Where the first reformation was about deeds, the reformation needed today is one of deeds. We cant afford to just be good at the Great Commandment,we need to be GREAT at it.Mark writes in an easy to read fashion, almost as if you are talking about things over coffee. If you are looking for a book to wake your soul, to remind you of what where our faith has come from and to bring life to a faith gone stale this is the book for you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Primal: A Quest for the Lost Soul of Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Paula Ebert
Primal delivered everything that I expected and more. As I started reading, I was drawn in by the challenge of stripping everything in life down to the basics. As I continued to read the more challenged I became in my Christian walk the more determined I became to pull every lesson possible from this book! It also grew incredibly clear that the entire point of Primal is to call us to a life based on The Great Commandment, Love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, all your mind, and all your strength.Nothing more.Nothing less.Mark writes in a way that speaks deeply to hearts and minds. Primal is a book that can be read quickly, but should be given more time to digest. There is so much meat inside so much that we can learn It is not primarily a book about how to grow a greater church but instead how to become a better disciple. However, if we all begin to live the principles in Primal, I believe we will see the church experiencing a reformation like we have never seen before!This is a great book to start off your reading for the new year I truly believe this is the first must read of 2010!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Primal: A Quest for the Lost Soul of Christianity
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
David
This book reads more like several sermons strung together and less like a book. Each chapter begins with a catchy story or example and is followed by supporting passages and never really gets that deep; and I am sure that it isnt supposed to. I believe Primal is meant to be a basic book of core tenants. Hence the title The word, Primal draws images of original and ancient ideas. However, the sub title: A quest for the lost soul of Christianity? Hardly. Unless this was a very short quest. Primal only really focuses on one key verse, the shema repeated by Jesus in Luke 10:27, "'Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind and then Mark follows by writing two chapters for each of the various qualifiers: heart, soul, mind and strength. But in the end it is a book of Sunday School answers: tithe, pray, read your bible and go to church. Basic? Yes. Primal? Kind of. Its more like a book on the Christian disciplines, but on a very very basic level. If you want a book on the disciplines there are scores better than this.On page 76, Mark says this: sometimes I wish I could forget the entire bible and start from scratch.weve read the stories so many times that we are blind to the beauty. And I would agree. How much more excited would we get when we read that the tomb was empty Sunday morning? But I could also equate Marks line to his own book. I feel like I have read these same words, heard them in sermons all before. Even a lot of the examples he uses are old. [or at least old to someone who has read a lot of books and sat through a lot of sermons.]The book is nice and its new and its from an author and speaker a lot of people enjoy. But do we need a new book that has nothing new to say? I dont know.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Primal: A Quest for the Lost Soul of Christianity
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2009
I loved the message of the book that we must regain the soul of Christainy which is following the Great Commandment. I agree with the author 100% that our generation needs a reformation. However, I felt the book was lacking a little more deep spiritual depth. I figure there will be more reference to scripture when talking about loving God with all our heart, mind, soul, and strength. I still feel that message of the book is worth reading which is why I gave it 3 1/2 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Primal: A Quest for the Lost Soul of Christianity
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
David Buckham
I was introduced to Mark Batterson several years ago when I found an oddly titled book In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day Loved that book. It changed my perspective on a few very important situations. A few years later a great friend of mine got me an autographed copy of Batterson's sophomore title Wild Goose Chase. I struggled with this book at the time and put it down and will eventually come back to it. So here we are with Batterson's third book Primal: A Quest for the Lost Soul of Christianity. When I read the title I thought, Oh great, another book bashing the perceived current state of the church. Thankfully, Primal is not that. The book opens with a wonderful illustration of an unexpected journey into an old church built on top of a very old church. Primal has to do with not getting back to our roots, but understanding our roots and what that means for today. To me, Primal feels like it is written to be publicly thought provoking yet experienced on a very personal level.I have been reading Batterson's blog for several years now and unfortunately many of his posts reappear in this book. I say unfortunate because the book doesn't have a lot of new material. I love Batterson's thought process and writing style so I wanted new material. With all that said, Batterson has strung several of what I thought were daily disconnected diary and blog entries into a singular well developed thought. The overall direction of Primal is to develop what it looks like to love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul, mind and strength. I don't know how many Christians have sat down and systematically constructed what it looks like to daily love the Lord their God with all their heart, all their soul, all their mind and all their strength. I would venture to guess not many. If you haven't, this book would be the perfect starting place.all about Christ,David
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Primal: A Quest for the Lost Soul of Christianity
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2009
I have heard Mark Batterson speak several times and read his first book, "In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day", so I was glad to receive an advance copy of his newest book, "Primal". The premise for "Primal" is what Batterson calls the "Primal Commandment", Mark 12:30: "Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength." To more effectively be "great at the Great Commandment", Batterson challenges his readers to focus on: the heart of Christianity (primal compassion); the soul of Christianity (primal wonder); the mind of Christianity (primal curiosity); and the strength of Christianity (primal energy).While there are abundant references to scientific terminology- alpha waves, disuse syndrome, reticular activating system and many more that cause the book to drag at times (Batterson states that he is fascinated by the study of the mind and science), there are numerous pages of concepts and thoughts that are certainly challenging for one who desires to grow in his walk with Christ. If you desire to reminded of the things of first importance, I would encourage you to read "Primal".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Primal: A Quest for the Lost Soul of Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Aaron Unnasch
In his latest book, Primal: A Quest for the Lost Soul of Christianity, Mark Batterson explores the Great Commandment.Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength. - Mark 12:30 (NIV)Mark describes his latest work asa reimagination of the four primal elements detailed by Jesus in the Great Commandment:The heart of Christianity is primal compassion.The soul of Christianity is primal wonder.The mind of Christianity is primal curiosity.And the strength of Christianity is primal energy.He challenges us to be great at the Great Commandment by using a mix of- fresh looks at Bible stories- interesting tidbits of history- personal stories from Marks life and the life of National Community Church- terminology and concepts from the world of scienceAnd just like his other books, In a Pit With a Lion on a Snowy Day and Wild Goose Chase, and his blog, evotional.com, Mark fills the pages with simple yet powerful and memorable one-liners and short paragraphs.If you are looking to reignite a primal faith and rediscover the compassion, wonder, curiosity, and energy that turned the world upside down two thousand years ago, then this book is for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Primal: A Quest for the Lost Soul of Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sarah M.
The blizzard that hit Northern Virginia last weekend provided the perfect opportunity to read my review copy of Mark Batterson's latest book: "Primal: A Quest for the Lost Soul of Christianity."I had the privilege of hearing him speak earlier this year and he spoke with great passion and fire - the passion and fire contained in this book. It isn't written for you to consume Mark's fire for God, instead it is written with the intent of igniting your own fire for God deep in your soul.He doesn't shy away from tough topics, and starts right off with the connection between our checkbooks and our spiritual lives.Mark gets right to the heart of this idea when he said, "You can give without loving, but you can't love without giving" (32).Absolutely! It has been exciting for me to see the spiritual growth God brought to me through learning to be a disciplined budgeter and giver. I don't have much to give, and I truly relish giving what I can. The year end letters from ministries that I support excites me when I read about transformed lives through continued ministry that I joyfully support.Mark writes honestly, sharing his own spiritual growth with the bumps and bruises that we all get on this life journey. He read the Bible cover to cover in 40 days and I believe that a drive to do that comes from a man after God's own heart, and he has willingly poured out his heart and soul onto the pages of "Primal." If you're looking to get excited about God's work in this world be sure to read this book!Note: I was given a copy of this book by the publisher, and I look forward to sharing it with my colleagues.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Primal: A Quest for the Lost Soul of Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bonnelle Pagel
Mark Batterson's books, "In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day" and "Wild Goose Chase" changed my life this year. When I received my copy of his latest book "Primal: A Quest for the Lost Soul of Christianity" I was both excited and even a little apprehensive. Author Mark Batterson writes in such a way that challenges what you believe and how you have been living your life... He challenges your belief system and what you are doing with your faith. He challenges you to go deeper then where you have been... and then to go deeper still. I highly recommend this book and would say that it is a MUST read for 2010. Get your copy today!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.