Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc The Bridegrooms

Random House, Inc The Bridegrooms

Vada Allenhouse has been keeping house for her doctor father and three sisters since she was eight years old. And her days in turn-of-the-century Cleveland are predictable. But when an errant baseball sends a comatose stranger---and a multitude of men---to Marcus Allenhouse's clinic, five lives are turned upside down! A story of unexpected choices---and God's providence. 352 pages, softcover from Multnomah.
Average Customer Rating:
4.08 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for The Bridegrooms
Review 1 for The Bridegrooms
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2010
This book was enjoyable to read. Thse girls(sisters) in this story are interesting apart from one another but Allison Pittman brings them together and shows that they are a strong force together. As an older sister myself, I can relate with Vada. She had alot of responsibilities from such a young age. It was a another good book by Allison. Can't wait to see what she has to write about next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Bridegrooms
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
This book is about Vada and her sisters in the year 1898. The four girls live with their doctor father in Ohio. Vada is engaged to a sweet man named Garrison, who loves music and the violin as much as she does. But Garrison still hasnt set a date for their marriage and Vada is starting to feel like he never May.She comes home one day to find a baseball team, the Brooklyn Bridegrooms, in her home. A spectator was hit with a pitch and Vadas father is seeing to the man. Vada and her sisters lived are turned upside down by all these new, strange visitors, including a flirtatious reporter looking for a big scoop on the injured man. Vada falls into much confusion with so many male suitors hanging around.I was drawn to this book by the cover. It reminded me of Little Women, and in a way, it quite similar. Both books are about four sisters living in the 1800s and their romantic opportunities. The Bridegrooms was an interesting and fun read. Vada is confused about her relationship with her boyfriend and gets herself into a lot of mischief. I couldnt help but feel bad for poor Garrison, even if he is a little slow on the proposal. Pittmans characters are unique and fun. Each sister, especially, was so different from the other, I felt like I knew this family well. This is a fun story for girls who like historical fiction with some romance in it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Bridegrooms
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2010
The Bridegrooms will definitely keep you on your toes. I never knew who Vada was going to end up with until the last couple of pages. I did wish that the story had an epilogue or something that so that the final outcome of each of Vadas sisters stories could be told. Im a little unsure as to my feelings about the book. I didnt love it, but I didnt dislike it. It is definitely an original story, and I do like that. Its just one that I like, but Im not crazy about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Bridegrooms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2010
Vada Allenhouse became a mother at eight years old. Thats when her mommy found a new lover, abandoning her husband and four little girls to fend for themselves. Vada, as the oldest, took on the responsibilities her mother left behind, and did her best to raise her three younger siblings. As a physician, it was all too easy for their father, Dr. Allenhouse, to bury himself in his medical practice while his daughters survived with the help of a loyal, if slightly temperamental housekeeper.Seventeen years later, Vada is still living at home, still mothering her siblings. Dr. Allenhouse continues to hide out most of the time in his basement, caring for patients. But with the arrival of a visiting baseball team, The Bridegrooms, the Allenhouse home is about to be turned upside down.Four young ladies, hungry for love and aching for romance. A gentle, slightly staid suitor. An injured spectator, hidden away in the Allenhouse home. A handsome Cajun hitter. A flirtatious sportswriter. A lovestruck, guilt-ridden catcher. A series of love letters. All of these elements will combine to make emotional waves the Allenhouse sisters will be hard-pressed to ride out with their integrity and their virtue intact.The Bridegrooms is a wonderful depiction of sibling devotion, rivalry, and ultimate loyalty. A bevy of emotions, from deep-seated hurt to barely tethered passion to laugh-out-loud humor. Allison Pittman hits a homerun with this riveting historical romance. Definitely one for the keeper shelf.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Bridegrooms
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Erika Chapman
The characters are interesting and quite unique but likable. The largest mystery revolving around their mother's disappearance keeps a cloud of intrigue floating throughout the book but their are many subplots. It is a happy book yet touches on some very deep topics. It has a spiritual element but that is very light and mostly indirect.I enjoyed the book. I am hoping their will be a sequel because I was left with some unanswered questions and am anxious to see what becomes of some of the relationships and situations. I look forward to reading more of Allison K. Pittman's work and hope she keeps them coming!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Bridegrooms
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melissa Mashburn
What a fabulous book to sink your teeth into when you want to sit out on the porch with a cup of coffee and "get away" for a little while without actually getting away.I really enjoyed this book and found myself not wanting to "pause" in my daily activities just so I could finish reading it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Bridegrooms
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bethany LeBedz
With a title like The Bridegrooms, one would expect Allison Pittmans latest novel to be full of weddings. Instead, when a sports team invades the Allenhouse residence, more than just baseballs begin to fly. The only thing more enjoyable than reading about one romance is reading about a family of sisters finding romances to fit all of their different personalities. Each robust character played a pivotal part in the drama. I appreciated that Pittman didnt shy away from genuine feelings and female uncertainties. While some of the conclusions were obvious, there were enough twists to keep me reading long past my usual bedtime.Time to do the happy dance! This book came with an book to give away! I just love when publishers are generous like that. Anyway, in order to enter, leave me a comment detailing how your husband proposed to you. OR, if youre single, leave me a comment with your list of qualities that youre looking for in a husband. Be sure to leave me your email address or contact information. I will choose a random winner on Monday, April 26.This book was provided for review by the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Bridegrooms
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jodi
This was a fun book to read. I felt bad that they had to grow up without their mother, but they turned out well. All four girls end up in love at the end of the book, and the tales getting there were very entertaining.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Bridegrooms
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2010
This book most certainly was not what I expected, although it was enjoyable. Vada Allenhouse finds herself in charge the mother of her three younger sisters, after her mother left the family when she was just eight years old. From that point on it was a topic that the children we not allowed to discuss with their father Doc.Her life changed forever when The Bridegrooms came to town. Now here is the funny part. The Bridegroom are a baseball team. Yes historical fiction and baseball all in one. This is not your average book.The books details the lives of the four daughters and their quest to find a husband. Oh I long for the good old days when my only worry in life was to find a good man. I did that 18 years ago next month.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Bridegrooms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
jb05
This story is what I describe as Jane Austen meets Little Women. I LOVED this book. It takes place in Ohio during the 1880's. I am SO in love with this time in history that when I saw this book on the next tour I jumped at the chance to read and review it. This is the first book by Allison Pittman I have read but will definatly not be the last. This book was provided to me by WaterBrook Multnomah for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Bridegrooms
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sara @ Embracing Destiny
The Bridegrooms by Allison Pittman took me by surprise. Without reading the book description, I had guessed by the title that it would be a completely different kind of historical fiction. What I discovered was a quick, engaging read that was far from the typical historical romance type of story. I really liked the characters, the writing style, the mystery element, and the sister relationships. (The Bridegrooms are actually a baseball team in the book, by the way.) As a born and bred Ohioan, I found the familiar northeast Ohio setting entertaining as well. I haven't read anything by Allison Pittman before, but I'll be looking for her books in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Bridegrooms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2010
The Bridegrooms is a great story that will take you back to a simpler, less hectic time yet with some of the same struggles we face today. You will enjoy getting to know the Allenhouse family, you will learn of their struggles they have endured as a family, find out their secrets and experience the spunk each Allenhouse sister brings to the story. No matter the "squabbles" these sisters have with each other, in the end they are always very protective of one another, their father, and even Molly who is a protective "mother hen" of the entire family. This is truly a story of "sisters, secrets, squabbles, symphony, and suitors".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Bridegrooms
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2010
It only takes an instant for love to strike.Ive read mixed reviews on some of Allison Pittmans other books, so I wasnt sure what to expect when I agreed to read and review her latest work, The Bridegrooms.As the oldest of four sisters, Vadas days seem monotonous, even purposeless, until an unconscious man is brought to her home to be treated by her father Doc. Mystery surrounds the man, who was struck in the head by a baseball.From the strange Mr. Triplehorn to Hazels secret mail-order bride letters to baseball to orchestra instruments to bold acceptance of flirtations by supposedly-taken Vada to silent, poetic Althea, I felt that The Bridegrooms was somewhat disjointed, like there were too many storylines going at once that didnt really connect.Also, the Cajun language of Mr. LaFortune drove me crazy. I couldnt imagine how he was supposed to sound, unlike a well-known Southern accent or Mollys Irish brogue. To me, his speech came across as a combo of uneducated and irritating (like Pepe le Pew)!The cacophony of characters and storylines made it difficult to stay focused. I would read another book by Allison, but The Bridegrooms wasnt my favorite.Many thanks to Blogging for Books by Waterbrook/Multnomah for sending me The Bridegrooms to review!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Bridegrooms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sweetslady
This has been one of my favorite Christian historical romance books to read this year. It pulled me in almost from the start. The sisters in a way seemed like those in the book Little Women. Each of the sisters had individuality along with the quirks. I burst out laughing in some parts, and my husband had to turn around and ask what was so funny. Each sister is looking for romance and definitely not in all the traditional ways. Had a hard time putting this one down! I'm going to be sharing with my daughter and also my friends. I hope there is a sequel..This book was provided for review by the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Bridegrooms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2010
Well I would have never guessed that this was about sisters who meet a bunch of baseball players lol! A historical romance with baseball doesnt usually cross my mind if you know what I mean. Four very interesting sisters are all looking for suitable husbands well not necessarily intentionally looking and when love strikes it only has to hit once. I was mesmerized by this story. I mean I couldnt put it down. Allison Pittman has a way have holding your attention and if youre an Emma lover, P&P, or perhaps Little Women, youll find this equally appealing. The era where woman arent allowed to vote, yet there is definitely an opinion that gets voiced. Youll find yourself biting your nails as you follow this story wondering whats around the bend for these lovely young sisters. Does love wait? Or does love come knocking? Do you follow in family footsteps or do you break the mold and do whats right?A author Ill be on the look out for in the future!**review copy provided by WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Bridegrooms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2010
The four young Allenhouse sisters (the oldest was eight) had been abandoned by their mother and raised by their doctor father. They are now at the ages where thoughts turn to marriage. Two baseball teams (the Spiders and the Bridegrooms) come to town for exhibition baseball and the excitement begins. One baseball player is so smitten by the youngest sister that he fails to catch a ball that hits a man in the crowd and knocks him out. The unconscious man is taken to the Allenhouse home for recovery and is devotedly cared for by another sister. The third sister has sent off advertisements to frontier newspapers, looking for a husband. The oldest sister is being courted by a faithful yet somewhat boring man.The excitement increases as we find that the smitten baseball player has a secret, the unconscious man awakes, a frontier man shows up, and the oldest daughter is being chased by a romantic ball player.Pittman has woven a great story that contrasts passion against faithful love. The readers guide at the back would make this a good book for reading groups. This book was provided for review by the WaterBrookMultnomah Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Bridegrooms
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kimmy
I can honestly say I really enjoyed reading this. It was a refreshingly unique book filled with real characters and deep emotion. It was its own story, and didnt feel formulated as so many romance novels do. I found it very authentic and sweet. Im actually quite hoping for a sequel. This book was provided for review by the Waterbrook/Multnomah Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Bridegrooms
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2010
This book was good I liked how each sister was not only different but their story was told. This story was kinda like a twist to Little Women, in that the sisters each have their own story and the cover instantly reminded me of Little Women. This is no Little Women story this is a story about the sisters , fathers, love and God. Out of all the historical fiction that I've read from Waterbrook Multnomah this was better then the others.This book was provided for review by the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Bridegrooms
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2010
I liked this book. I found it enjoyable. I liked the story line. I liked the underlying theme as well. "The grass is not greener on the other side of the fence." This was the first book I have read by this author and I liked it well enough to search out more by her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Bridegrooms
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2010
Within these pages we have a story about Vada, the young girl who has become the head of the home, raising her young sisters. Vada was only eight when her mother vanished. Vada's father is the town doctor and when a baseball comes in contact with one of the players in town, fan fair begins and love in on the horizon.We watch Vada and her sisters grow into women of Christ, women that their mother would be proud of. We see how these sisters react to one another through their spats and quarrels only sisters understand. We see how their father tries to raise his daughters to his best ability and we see what happens when the Bridegrooms come to town waking these sleepy young girls.I had a hard time connecting with this one. I wanted to enjoy it so much, but found it slow and I really could not relate to any of these characters. If you are a lover of "Pride and Prejudice or Little Women" this will be one you enjoy. It is of that same time period and will take you back to a different time and place. This book was a gift from Multnomah WaterBrook Press for its review.robinsnest66.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>