Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Saturdays with Stella: How My Dog Taught Me to Sit, Stay, and Come When God Calls

Multnomah Books Saturdays with Stella: How My Dog Taught Me to Sit, Stay, and Come When God Calls

In this heart-warming, thoughtful, and at times laugh-out-loud hilarious tribute to her beloved canine, Allison Pittman will introduce readers to Stella--a slightly neurotic yet curiously adorable pup of indefinable breed who bears a striking spiritual resemblance to Christians who want to please their Master but often miss the mark. Obedience training can be tough, but with the right master it can also be rewarding! As readers laugh and cry their way through puppy school with Stella, they will stumble on unmistakable spiritual applications and insights into their own growing relationship with God. Each of the essays focuses on a specific dog training behavior and how that behavior translates to a life of faithful submission and unconditional love.
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Saturdays with Stella: How My Dog Taught Me to Sit, Stay, and Come When God Calls
Review 1 for Saturdays with Stella: How My Dog Taught Me to Sit, Stay, and Come When God Calls
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robyn
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this as a gift, so I didn't have the opportunity to read it myself, but it was well received from the animal loving pastor I gave it to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Saturdays with Stella: How My Dog Taught Me to Sit, Stay, and Come When God Calls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Both entertaining and rich with spiritual insight.

Date:September 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Caroline Protteau
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book "Saturdays With Stella ..." far exceeded my expectations. It is a wonderful story about Stella and her relationship with her owner (author) and their experience with obedience training. The spiritual lessons drawn by Allison Pittman from the experience with regards to our relationship with our Heavenly Father were amazing also. I highly recommend the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Saturdays with Stella: How My Dog Taught Me to Sit, Stay, and Come When God Calls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Delight to Read

Date:August 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
GrpLdr
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this book because I thought it would be fun to read, and I was not disappointed. I was entranced. Stella's foibles, and Pittman's frustrations make for great reading. What Pittman learns about herself, her dog, and her relationship with the Lord are hidden treasures in the book. This book could easily be used as a kick-off study for a new small group. It does not have a study guide, but discussion could easily be generated by asking a couple of questions after reading each chapter: 1) Have you ever experienced this behavior in a pet or child? 2) How did you deal with this behavior? 3) What did you learn from this week's obedience training? 4) How does this topic apply to your personal relationship with the Lord?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Saturdays with Stella: How My Dog Taught Me to Sit, Stay, and Come When God Calls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
JandB
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Highly recommend! Purchased more of this book as gifts for friends!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Saturdays with Stella: How My Dog Taught Me to Sit, Stay, and Come When God Calls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A LESSON FOR ALL

Date:July 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
HEARTS
Location:Rhode Island
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having just rescued a dog, this book jumped out at me. Then reading it has made me think. My animals have all taught me lessons from God. This book has done the same. It made me laugh, cry and think. What lesson is God showing me and I"m not getting until He tugs on my leash! This book has really touch my heart and soul.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Saturdays with Stella: How My Dog Taught Me to Sit, Stay, and Come When God Calls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book fun and informative

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Melody
Location:Whitby, ON
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life with Stella sounded hilarious and made the book a delight to read, but the valuable leassons learned for our own growth in our relationship with God made this book well worth reading.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Saturdays with Stella: How My Dog Taught Me to Sit, Stay, and Come When God Calls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What an exceptional book! A gem :)

Date:May 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
alex
Location:Margate, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't be deceived by the size of this book. It's a treasure! Immensely readable and entertaining, it contains some powerful lessons in a memorable format. If you're a dog-lover, this book will be hugely relatable. If you're not a dog-lover (and I simply can't imagine that!), you WILL be after reading this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Saturdays with Stella: How My Dog Taught Me to Sit, Stay, and Come When God Calls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great book.

Date:April 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tina
Location:Columbus, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband, who is not a reader, picked up this book and read the whole thing in one sitting! It is truly a delightful story of a wonderful dog and wonderful family--a family we all can identify with. We recently lost our beloved 12 year old yellow Lab, Jake (the joy of our lives) so this book was a comfort to us. And thank you, Christianbook.com for your affordable books and products. I love you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Saturdays with Stella: How My Dog Taught Me to Sit, Stay, and Come When God Calls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
GRANNY
Location:KNOB FORK,WV.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EVERYTHING I BUY FROM HERE IS GREAT,BUT THIS BOOK WAS MORE THAN I BARGENED FOR. I READ THE WHOLE BOOK WITHOUT STOPPING,IT WAS THAT GOOD. I BOUGHT IT BECAUSE OF THE COVER AND GOT MUCH,MUCH MORE. I'M PASSING IT ALONG TO THE LADIES OF MY CHURCH,THEN I'LL START ON FAMILY.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Saturdays with Stella: How My Dog Taught Me to Sit, Stay, and Come When God Calls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
ellensusan
This is the most wonderful and meaningful book I have read yet. I have shelves full of self help books. This is the best of them all. Not only does it show how we can teach our beloved dogs to become obedient companions to be enjoyed, but it teaches us to become lovers and followers of our merciful and loving Father in heaven(so He can also enjoy us to the fullest). After all that is what we are here for right? Thanks to Allison for writing such an insightful book and to Multnomah PG for putting it out there for me to find. I will be reading it again soon. God Bless you all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Saturdays with Stella: How My Dog Taught Me to Sit, Stay, and Come When God Calls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nancy Miller
This book is excellent. easy to read and meaningful. such a good reminder of how we stray unless we focus fully on God. and, how life is so much better when we do God's will and abide by His instructions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.