Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc Dug Down Deep: Unearthing What I Believe and Why It Matters

Random House, Inc Dug Down Deep: Unearthing What I Believe and Why It Matters

How does God speak? What's so significant about Jesus being both human and divine? Who is the Holy Spirit? Whether you're just exploring Christianity or are a veteran believer, Harris will help you unearth the timeless truths of Scripture; discover that theology isn't just for scholars; and deepen your relationship with Christ. Approx. 240 pages, hardcover from Multnomah.
Average Customer Rating:
4.589 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
18
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
33 out of 3497%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dug Down Deep: Unearthing What I Believe and Why It Matters
Review 1 for Dug Down Deep: Unearthing What I Believe and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Next Generation with Biblical Theology

Date:March 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dug Down Deep : Building Your Life on Truths That Last
Joshua Harris
From the Publisher: What are you going to build your life on? Dug Down Deep is systematic theology like you've never seen it before. Readable. Relevant. Powerful. As best-selling author Joshua Harris shares his own journey from apathetic church-kid to student with a burning passion to truly know God, you'll be challenged to dig deep into the truths of God's word. With humor, conviction and compelling insight Dug Down Deep covers the basics of faith--God, scripture, Jesus, the cross, salvation, sanctification, the Holy Spirit and the church. Don't settle for superficial faith, dig deep.
Review: This was a good, easily read systematic theology book. I found the author’s journey to be very interesting and blended well with his theology. He is able to explain his understanding of theology to be transparent and well developed. I agree with much of his theology and am encouraged that younger people are holding to a Biblical theology by using the whole Bible and not parts of it. He has a fantastic story of mentorship and friendship with CJ Mahaney which is encouraging. Too often today people are coming up with Theology that is ‘new’ and this man has embraced the historical doctrine from the Bible.
I would like to thank Above the Trees and Multnomah for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dug Down Deep: Unearthing What I Believe and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Work out your salvation with fear and trembling

Date:October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
RTBC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mr. Harris challenges us to see the real Jesus in full 3D. You can't have the love without the judgment, heaven without hell. When He comes to pass judgment on all those evil people who have wronged us in the past, what will He have to say to us?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dug Down Deep: Unearthing What I Believe and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I don’t know of any better book

Date:April 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Adam Miller
Location:Cape Cod, MA
Since watching the book trailer a few years ago (a relatively new phenomenon within the publishing community), “Dug Down Deep” has been in the top ten ‘books I want to read’ list, but I hadn’t gotten around to it until recently. The topic of orthodoxy and having a deep faith is very close to my heart and vision. So close, in fact, that my preferences for how to approach the issue massively affected how I read this book. With that said, I have wrestled for a couple of weeks on how I would review and recommend this book. So please, take this with a grain of salt and understand the I have a great deal of respect for Harris and his attempt here.
Like most movies which have really tempting trailers, what you see initially is not always what you get. The trailer for this book is spot on, creative, and empowering. Just watching the video makes me want to poor into theology and understand God more. The book, on the other hand, doesn’t quite hit a home run for me. But that doesn’t mean it’s not worth your time and consideration.
Joshua Harris is a well known author, pastor, and conference speaker who has written several books on the topic of dating and purity. Even his book on the church first boasted a title humorously playing off this theme (“Stop Dating the Church”, now “Why Church Matters”). Harris started writing when he was 21 and one thing is clearly evident, he has grown up a great deal since then. “Dug Down Deep” is a narrative of sorts which catalogs his development into a mature scholar of theology. Harris writes primarily from personal experience and sometimes his stories cast a long shadow over the message he is trying to teach. As I’ve found with most of his books, I feel the gnawing desire to rewrite most of his chapters. But personal preferences aside, the message of this book is vitally important in out society today.
“Dug Down Deep – Building You Life On Truths That Last” is built on the analogy of Jesus’ Parable about the two men who built separate houses. One built his house on the sand and when the wind and waters came, the house fell down. The other, wiser builder dug down to the rock and built his house on a firm foundation. When the wind and waters came, his house withstood the storm. With this metaphor, Harris builds his argument that our faith needs to be built on theology, with deep and firm foundations.
The first two chapters, making up the introduction to the book, center around why it is so important that our faith becomes personal. While compelling in many ways, I feel that the argument is under-developed and could use further Scriptural support. This is what I mean by my personal preferences getting in the way and wanting to re-write the book. In many ways, his arguments fall flat and the illustrations he uses confuse rather than clarify. There are so many biblical passages that explain better what Harris is attempting to say (Romans 14 and I Corinthians 8-10 come to mind), but as I stated before, he relies heavily on his personal experiences.
Furthermore, Harris makes some unfounded theological statements that I found difficult to overlook in light of the fact that he is writing about right opinion. Harris states flippantly that babies automatically go to heaven (a doctrine I know many people hold to, but one that cannot be proven through critical exegesis). His opinion on the matter only heeds in confusing people on the process of a proper hermeneutic and was an unnecessary comment I would have left out altogether. Surely Harris knows his view is not generally accepted without opposition.
While his chapters on theology are a hit and miss, his chapter on the Holy Spirit greatly concerned me. As a charismatic, Harris spends the bulk of his time defending his position from critics on the right while overlooking the blatantly obvious way the Spirit is abused by those to his left. I don’t mean that he doesn’t state where they are wrong, but he quickly gets past it to defend his position from attacks from non-charismatics. I found his argument lacking support and consistency. Changing the definition of prophecy to ‘not foretelling events’ and accepting healings as a possibility just so that he can affirm his views on tongues is not a compelling argument for their validity. Personally, I think the gifts are a minor issue to really understanding the doctrine of the Holy Spirit. Sticking to what we know about the third Person of the Trinity and avoiding the controversy would have been a better approach. There is a lot that Harris overlooks for the sake of focusing so closely on the issue of gifts. Still, Harris is a charismatic that I could fellowship with closely. It’s just that his views don’t reflect well on a book that is centered on theological accuracy.
My final issue with the book is that while Harris is talking about going deeper into God’s Word and discovering who He is, he does not describe how that process can be accomplished. In the end, he lays out his thoughts and develops a desire to know God better, but he fails to provide the tools in which we can go deeper in our faith. Proper exegesis does not come naturally. It must be taught. But “Dug Down Deep” does not lay the necessary ground work for practically going deeper in theology. Each chapter is a rough overview of select doctrines. They are not conclusive, and not altogether sound in establishing a firm foundation. A fear I have about this book is that people will draw the conclusion that they have gone deep enough, thus preventing them from doing any of their own digging.
This is a tough balance for authors, pastors, and teachers, so I don’t mean to cast a blanket disregarding critique of the book without examining it’s valuable takeaways. The message of this book is critically important. Young Christians have not been challenged enough in their faith, and in light of our generations emphasis on tolerance, orthodoxy has become a negative word associated with radical and fundamentalism. Because we live in the information age, truth is relegated to knowledge and not discernment, therefore wisdom is rarely achieved. Harris’s book is fresh, current, and right where it needs to be on our time and culture. Harris notes through personal experience how settling with theological knowledge is not enough. We cannot simply accept the teachings of those who have gone before us. We must get our own shovels out and dig our own foundation.
This book was not written for a scholar like myself to pick apart, but instead for the new Christian, the immature believer, and the shallow liberal who is wrestling with their faith’s significance in the real world. In this way, “Dug Down Deep” is the best medicine currently out there.
With that said, I’m still waiting for that book which is solid and sound, enough theology but not too much to replace self discovery, and clearly concise that is yet to be written. Until then, I will recommend this book, with warning, to anyone who is at a place where they are ready to take on their own salvation and go deeper with their faith. As a starting point, I don’t know of any better book.
You can read this and other reviews every Wednesday on my personal website worthyofthegospel.com
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dug Down Deep: Unearthing What I Believe and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Superb

Date:March 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jimmy Reagan
Location:West Union, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How would you like to read a book on systematic theology that you could enjoy, learn from, and constantly forget that you were reading a book on theology? In this volume that is exactly what you will get. There's real depth here but it's sprung on you subtly. The cumulative amount of doctrine taken in will surprise you by book's end. In our day when Christians would rather face an IRS audit than read a book on systematic theology, this book has great potential. In fact, I don't think large theology books are read by anyone outside the categories of pastor or scholar, and probably few pastors have read such a work in years. This book will allow you to think of the great subjects again.
Mr. Harris can write. There's no question about that. When he uses the example of rumspringa from the Amish world in chapter one to lure us in, I was caught a third of the way in. We realize the gap between what we say we believe and what we do is often helplessly far apart. This could be because we have never really grasped what the Bible is saying to us as we have imagined we have. Another hint: Jesus Christ is part of the answer no matter what the question is.
I loved how he used his story and the earlier story of his father to tell this story. That's how he pulls it off. The story is captivating and doctrine woven through it. When you finish the story, you think, wow, that was interesting. Then as you think about it, you find yourself wrestling with the greatest doctrines.
He begins with the doctrine of the Bible as a foundation to decide our beliefs. He reads well and is never superficial. From there he makes us face the doctrine of Christ. Next he carefully draws a realistic picture of the depths of the tragedy of sin in us. How our age needs this discussion! We forget how badly we need Jesus because we haven't fully comprehended the mess we are in.
In chapter 7 the chapter is as good as its catchy title: "How Jesus Saved Gregg Eugene Harris". I think you will find it quite similar to the story of how Jesus saved you. There's no overt Calvinism in the chapter though you suspect he believes that regeneration precedes your putting faith in Christ. Still, the chapter was thought-provoking. In his chapter on the Holy Spirit I was absolutely shocked that he, to some degree, looked favorably on speaking in tongues. Had the few sentences that spoke of that been deleted, you would find an exceptionally balanced presentation of the doctrine of the Spirit.
The book works on every level. He even addresses common misunderstanding that are driving the Christian world and how they don't quite mesh with God's Word. As a pastor, I found the book personally rewarding. It was review, it was more perspective, and it seemed to suggest dozens of sermon ideas. Beyond that, I recommend Christians every where read this book and mine its treasures.
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 .
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dug Down Deep: Unearthing What I Believe and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an excellent book

Date:February 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
FamilleWayne
Location:Cantley, QC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book, it is great to depen your knowledge of the basis of the christian faith and your relationship with Christ. A bit appologetic in its approach, this is a fresh book to help you fall in love with Christ all over again based on what he did at the cross.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dug Down Deep: Unearthing What I Believe and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dug Down Deep The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly

Date:February 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
danielcooley
Location:Rio Rancho, NM
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interesting, fun, engaging, funny... doctrine? Inconceivable! That word, I do not think it means what you think it means.
The Good:
Dug Down Deep IS engaging, fun, interesting – and about doctrine. Joshua Harris has a gift taking dead, dry doctrinal bones and giving them new life. Some of his chapters or chapter descriptions are:
1. God is utterly different from me. And that is utterly wonderful.
2. Ripping Burning, Eating (on the Bible)
3. God With a Bellybutton (on Jesus)
4. How does redemption accomplished outside Jerusalem give life to a young man on a California beach?
5. The invisible made visible (on the Church)
6. And his best chapter of all, on Sanctification is titled: Change, Changing, to be Changed.
The Bad:
I hate to leave a section blank. Any section. But, there wasn’t anything I could label bad about this book. Maybe some pictures would have been nice?
The Ugly:
His drawings. Like and extremely ugly dog however, they are so ugly as to be funny/cute – and extremely helpful. They are in what was my favorite chapter, Change, Changing, to be Changed.
I will be recommending this book to our college/young adult groups at church. It’s the best doctrinal study for that age group that I’ve seen – ever. Way to go Josh!
I’d like to thank WaterBrook Multnomah publishers for providing me a review copy of this book. DanielCooley.com
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dug Down Deep: Unearthing What I Believe and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book Review - "Dug Down Deep"

Date:November 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dug Down Deep: Unearthing What I Believe And Why It Matters, written by Joshua Harris, is a book about Theology written for the everyday Christian.
Dug Down Deep brings a new look to the study and necessity of doctrine within the lives of Christians. Joshua takes his readers through deep theological truths, as they follow his own personal journey into understanding the place and presence of God within his life.
The truth and simplicity within Joshua's writing/teaching is seen throughout the entirety of this book. In his words, Joshua states the following in chapter one: "I've come to learn that theology matters. And it matters not because we want a good grade on a test, but because what we know about God shapes the way we think and live. What we believe about God's nature-what he is like, what he wants from you, and whether or not you will answer him-affects every part of your life. Theology matters, because if we get it wrong, then our whole life will be wrong."
This book is a refreshing look at theology, one that doesn't cross through 1500 pages, that keeps its readers attention from cover to cover. Thus it is a recommended purchase.
Dr. Jeff Krupinski
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dug Down Deep: Unearthing What I Believe and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Style v Substance

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
AlandWynda
Location:Minot, ND
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Doctrine and theology are subjects that can cause some Christians' eyes to glaze over. One reason for this is that it takes work to understand these issues, and our culture promotes instant gratification. As a result, many of us often settle for superficial teaching. Joshua Harris writes about topics that challenge us to dig down deep and understand the foundational principles of our faith. While the author’s writing style did not always engage me to the fullest extent, I recognize the importance of the concepts he discussed. He did use Scripture to support his points, although he could have gone much deeper. However, if he had he may not have been able to keep the book true to the tone with which he writes and he may not have been able to connect with a good portion of the audience that can benefit from this book.
I would recommend this book to Christians who know there is something more, something they want to build their faith upon – instruction they long to both learn and apply. However, this book should merely be used as a way to enter the conversation or a supplemental tool. Then, the challenge will be not to just rely on this book, but to dive into your Bible, devour God’s Word and use that teaching in practical ways as you live your life.
I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group, as part of the Blogging for Books Program, for this review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dug Down Deep: Unearthing What I Believe and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Harris offers a new book with real substance ...

Date:December 3, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you like the simplistic, fluff-oriented, more-motivational-than-biblical kind of book to read, don't go buy Joshua Harris' latest book, "Dug Down Deep" (published by Multnomah Books).
However, if you would like a book that has some substance to it and doesn't read like a frat boy trying to preach, then you'll likely appreciate and benefit by this new paperback.
Harris starts by posing a vital question: What are you building your life on? Jesus spoke directly to that question, and it's this biblical teaching Harris uses to push off into a book that offers substantive biblical response and content in a highly readable fashion.
Harris is a gutsy pastor to write "Dug Down Deep" because in this book he takes us back to Christian basics and makes an excellent argument that --- now get this --- that theology, doctrine, and orthodoxy are actually very important for Christians.
Many Christians couldn't accurately define what those three things are. Others criticize each and have rejected them. But Harris does an insightful job of making the case for the need for each.
What you build your life on matters!
Truth matters!
And Christians having a biblical theology, knowledge of doctrine, and orthodoxy really does matter!
Such terms sound heavy and usually frighten readers away. Don't be afraid of this book! Harris is a gifted writer who explains these terms, then takes us into key doctrines in a fashion that is readable, understandable, and even enjoyable for any reader. Through some story-telling, and relatable pastoral teaching, Harris not only makes things like doctrine understandable to a wide audience, but he takes us back to those things which are at the core of being Christian.
"Dug Down Deep" would be a solid learning tool for a variety of people --- the new believer, small groups and Bible classes, Bible students, theology buffs, the "average, ordinary Christian," or the unbeliever who would like to understand what Christianity is about.
I appreciate "Dug Down Deep" because it offers teaching with some real biblical substance to it. For that reason, I not only highly recommend it to you, I encourage you to buy it, read it, and share it with others.
I received this book free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dug Down Deep: Unearthing What I Believe and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Humble Orthodoxy

Date:November 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
jasonanderson1
Location:New Mexico
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Josh Harris has written a basic theology book without making it sound like a theology textbook. Throughout the 11 chapters he discusses the doctrines of God, Christ, the Holy Spirit, Sin, Salvation, the Church and more. There are plenty of necessary scripture references and technical terms, but it is all woven in with real-life examples and stories from the author's family. So while the Biblical foundation of an "orthodox doctrine" is laid, it does not feel boring or cumbersome. And what's best is how in the final chapter Harris challenges the reader (and himself) to have a "humble orthodoxy." In other words, to take the doctrines in this book and live them out in love. Not to be arrogant and puffed up because of new-found knowledge about God, but rather a different lifestyle because of a closer relationship WITH God. "I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review" and I enjoyed it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dug Down Deep: Unearthing What I Believe and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Book Review: Dug Down Deep

Date:November 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
rawhitfield
Location:Beaufort, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dug Down Deep, Joshua Harris. Colorado Springs, Colorado: Multnomah Books, 2010, 2011. 271 pages. Reviewed by Russell A. Whitfield.
Joshua Harris has brought fresh insights to the table concerning practical issues that every Christian deals with. In his past writings, as well as Dug Down Deep Harris has again done a thorough job of applying God’s truth to life situations. The book, Dug Down Deep, is a collection of chapters that covers the basics of Christian faith in a relevant, readable, and practical way. The thirteen chapters of Harris’ book are written to provide the reader with the materials needed to deal with the question posed at the beginning. Harris personalizes the parable found in Luke 6:47-48 by asking the question, What are you building your life on? as a way to introduce the basic truths that are crucial for every Christian to build upon. The first two chapters deal with his spiritual journey that led to his understanding the need to know God. He introduces terms such as: theology, orthodoxy, and doctrine, and how they matter to every believer. His next eight chapters focus on the basic truths of the Christian faith such as: God, Scripture, the person of Jesus Christ, the Cross, salvation, justification, sanctification, the Holy Spirit, and the Church with the last chapter titled Humble Orthodoxy.
As senior pastor of Covenant Life Church in Gaithersburg, Maryland of Sovereign Grace network, Harris has interwoven his personal experiences from being the average church kid to the person he is now who aims to truly know God with the basic truths of Orthodox Christianity. Harris recognizes that his focus in his own youth group experiences was not leading him to the clear vision of God and His awesome Word. The experiences of Harris’ younger ages have been used in his life to help him understand that everyone who thinks of God is a theologian, but not necessarily a good theologian.
Dug Down Deep aligns life experiences of the author’s path to spiritual maturity with the basic tenets of the Christian faith. The first two chapters talk about his spiritual journey from just being a church kid to realizing his need to truly know God. In the first chapter, Harris says, We are all theologians and theology matters. He shares about a time in his youth group when he was asked to do a Michael Jackson impersonation to illustrate the point that no matter what we are doing, we are all theologians good or bad. His experiences as a teenager have confirmed in him the importance of orthodox theology because if we get it wrong, then our whole life will be wrong. Next in chapter two, Harris reminds the reader that the wise builder was motivated to set his foundation deep on the rock. The motivation of the wiser builder, according to Harris, is set to remind every believer that pursuing orthodoxy and sound doctrine has to begin with a heart drawing close to Jesus(the ROCK)--not to a theological system, denomination, or book. The next eight chapters deal with the basic tenets of Christianity individually along with Harris’ personal experiences carefully woven into the pages for better understanding. These basic tenets of the Christian faith are: God, the person of Jesus Christ, the Cross, salvation, sanctification, the Holy Spirit, and the Church. The last chapter titled, Humble Orthodoxy, focuses on what he saw as important for every believer who is either new to the study of theology or been studying theology for awhile. According to Harris, each believer must ask the question: what will we do with the knowledge of God that we have? He has written this chapter with the understanding that Christians must approach the theological knowledge they have with the attitude of living it out.
Dug Down Deep, in my opinion, is a Christian theology book written in the most practical way for every believer young or old to understand. Harris has thoroughly crafted a work that informs its reader of the basic tenets of the Christian faith, as well as challenges them to become individual theologians. The humor and personal experiences expressed in each chapter has strengthen the believability and relevance of each doctrine discussed.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishers of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dug Down Deep: Unearthing What I Believe and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book

Date:November 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
jnjdet
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought this book was great. It describes doctrine in an understandable way. In fact, you wouldn't even know you were reading about all the different doctrines except he tells you. The examples he gives are down to earth and make sense. There's humor as well as humility in the writing. I like that in the end he gives statements of I am wrong but its through faith in Jesus I can be made right before God. I appreciate the message he's getting out in this book. We need to know what it is God wants from us and how else can we do that except to study His word. We need to build a solid foundation and this book helps to understand that. I recommend this book highly.
I received this book free from blogging for books in exchange for my review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dug Down Deep: Unearthing What I Believe and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Read

Date:November 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
SFaith
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Explaining why we believe, what we believe, seems to be a pretty daunting task for anyone and in Josh Harris's book, "Dug Down Deep: Unearthing What I Believe and Why it Matters", Josh shares a personal, emotional filled book, of moving from a faith based on just knowing enough to go through the emotions, to having a faith, filled with a deeper understanding of why he is a follower of Christ, why he believes what he believes, and why we need to go beyond the Sunday-Church attendence, and move into a deeper understanding of what it means to be a christian.
Truth is, manner, have a superficial understanding of Christian doctrine, maybe barely read the bible, other than on Sunday and would have a hard time explaining or even defending their faith, and in "Dug Down Deep: Unearthing What I Believe and Why it Matters", we meet someone who struggle with those very same issues, who lived a life that many would consider, "just on the surface" and takes us on a layman's understanding of discovery, awakening and growth.
This is a wonderful and powerful book, that I would personally recommend to anyone, who wants to live a more authentic faith and its written in a non-complicated, non-academic, we're not the only one to feel what we feel,way that in a world where the church is becoming an empty shell for many, and more are just walking away from the faith, unearthing the reasonings behind why-many of us, simply don't understand basic doctrine as well as we think we do.
"Dug Down Deep: Unearthing What I Believe and Why it Matters" is hard hitting in an emotional way; This is a pastor who shared a common background like many Christians, who probrably live a faith that is just enough, but never deeper than that and for him, Joshua Harris, searched for a deeper reason why and understanding.
He shows too that we don't have to have theological degrees, go to seminaries, but simply read God's word, the Bible, and many of the books, he shared he read, is available to everyday people as well, but the simple truth, is that as we will see in, "Dug Down Deep: Unearthing What I Believe and Why it Matters", many times, we take being a Christian for granted, until the hard questions come our way.
What I love about this book is that, he really shares about basic principles about doctrine that is scriptural strong and helps both new Christians, the "mature" Christian and even the "Growing" Christian, how to have a stronger foundation, but also see how that, no one is perfect and like many, often just don't understand their faith, beyond the Sunday School teachings or the weekly sermons, but if asked to explain, not many honestly can explain the basic doctrines/theology as Joshua Harris discovers.
From "Dug Down Deep: Unearthing What I Believe and Why it Matters", Joshua Harris, shares, "The doctrine of Scripture teaches us about the authority of God's Word. Scripture must be the final rule of faith and practice for our lives. Not our feelings or emotions. Not signs or prophetic words or hunches."
This is a book that will encourage you...challenge you...provoke you to ask yourself...what is it about Scripture that you really know and will have you re-searching, reading, re-learning and digging deep into Scripture to understand, why and what it is you believe.
****Thank you to WaterBrook Multnomah for the opportunity to read and review this amazing book****
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dug Down Deep: Unearthing What I Believe and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't put it down!

Date:November 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaryRuth
Location:Midwest
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really don’t want to sound like an ad campaign parrot, just repeating over and over again how much I loved this book. But truthfully, I couldn’t put it down. Joshua Harris has done a stellar job with this book, walking through the core, fundamental beliefs of Christianity, as well as taking the distant, ‘holier-than-thou’ feeling and sound out of words like ‘doctrine’ and ‘orthodoxy’ by explaining their essential meaning versus what they’ve come to be taken as.
The author begins the book with a recounting of his own years in which the gospel meant little, if anything, to him. He then shares the story of how he began to truly desire God’s word and to learn more about God Himself. He does this while cautioning Christians against coming to view God as an object we can study under a microscope rather than a living person we can know and have a deep relationship with.
The book dedicates a great amount of page time to the person of Jesus Christ, who He was, His complete uniqueness, and the purpose for which He came and died. I think that is a very necessary thing for Christians today—especially new Christians—to be told, since so often the essence of who Jesus is and the truth of His mission to Earth is lost amid diluted, child-friendly Sunday school stories.
There is also a chapter dedicated to discussing the role of the Holy Spirit in the lives of Christians, clarifying much common confusion.
Another chapter discusses the church—why it’s so incredibly important, what it really means to be the church rather than simply ‘going to church’ on Sunday morning (although the author does clearly urge church attendance) and how we the church are supposed to function as the bride of Christ.
There was so much more to this book that I could go into, but I’ll leave off with simply telling you that you must read it! Even if you’ve been a Christian for years and years, read it anyway. I’ve been a Christian for years too, but this book still helped me to see things and think about things in ways I hadn’t considered before.
Read this book. Loan this book to your friends. Add this book to your library—it’s definitely staying in mine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dug Down Deep: Unearthing What I Believe and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

"The Basics" Made Challenging

Date:November 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Steph Blogging for Books
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of those books about "the basics" of Christianity that challenges readers to slow down and really think. I found myself not only bookmarking where I left off each day, but also several pages that contain quotes I want to remember.
For those who think theology and doctrine are dry terms that only apply to academia, they may be surprised by Harris's words: "...sound doctrine has to begin in a heart drawing close to Jesus." I'm all about relationships, and it seems, from this statement, they're important to the author as well.
Doctrine simply defined, according to Harris, is "the meaning of the story God is writing in the world."
Hearts drawing close and meaningful stories don't sound like dry subjects to me.
I could have said, "I already knew that" to many of the observations in Dug Down Deep. However, I've found there are those Ah Ha moments in life when I come to know something at a deeper level than before. There were a number of such moments as I read this book.
Salvation is God's work. Christian growth means becoming more like Jesus. What we do is important, not just what we don't do. As John Piper puts it, "The issue is not separating rules but consecrated hearts." It's vital that Christian brothers and sisters, the church, work together for the common goal of making Christ known.
Harris teaches these truths in a very down-to-earth, sit-across-the-table-from-the-reader kind of way. The book is very engaging, and I appreciate the author's openness and honesty about his own shortcomings. (I'm not a huge fan of those who come across as "I've already arrived; hurry and catch up.")
The book ends with a challenge to dig down deep into the truth of the Scriptures to discover who God is and what that means to us.
I received a free e-copy of Joshua Harris's Dug Down Deep from Blogging for Books in exchange for this review.
If you like to read and have a book review site (or are willing to start one), I encourage you to pop by http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/bloggingforbooks/ and join the fun. Those in the U.S. can receive hard copies. Those outside receive e-books.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dug Down Deep: Unearthing What I Believe and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Doctrine Summary that isn't condescending

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Doctrine may as well be a four letter word, for as much as Christians sometimes seem to despise its mention. In Dug Down Deep, Joshua Harris tells us not only why we feel that way, but why it’s wrong to ignore doctrine and theology as part of our faith – indeed he says they are the bedrock on which our faith is built.
Joshua’s book reveals his journey to understand a solid theology. He talks about his discovery of what theology means, and how it is relevant to every Christian. As he describes the basics about God, the Word, Jesus, salvation, justification, the Holy Spirit and the church, he logically and thoroughly gives a picture of a doctrinal position that is Biblical and honest, without being overly technical or difficult to understand.
Using Luke 6:47-48 as a scriptural basis for why doctrine is important, Joshua Harris gives the reader a definitive picture of its relevance, and then describes what doctrine is critical and common to every believer. Doctrine can feel like a difficult and potentially unneeded understanding – after all, if I’m saved, all I need is Jesus, right? But Harris argues that understanding doctrine is not only necessary but important to being certain of your faith. The knowledge of the basic tenets of doctrine support the long haul nature of a believer’s journey – knowing who God is, the ways he acts in the world, and what to expect from him make it possible to trust him fully.
This book offers a succinct doctrinal summary without being arbitrary or condescending. It has a great study guide with questions that help the reader dig deeper. Grounded in the Word, and clear about the essentials, this is a good book that will stretch any Christian’s understanding of the intricacies of their faith.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dug Down Deep: Unearthing What I Believe and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book Review for Dug Down Deep

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Andrew
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joshua Harris does an excellent job in his book Dug Down Deep of presenting doctrine and orthodoxy in a new and fresh way. He takes the timeless truths of scripture and relates them to today's reader in a way that encourages you to spend more time in study on these topics. I went through two highlighters as I read this book. As a youth pastor, it is one of those books that I would love to get into the hands of every student and find a way to make them read it.
The entire book was a pleasure to read, but my favorite chapter was the one entitled "Changed, Changing, To Be Changed," which dealt with the doctrine of sanctification. It was very thought provoking in its points and pointed me to several deeper understandings that I had previously held. Of course, maybe I just liked this chapter the most because it had pictures.
I would highly recommend this book for anyone who is looking to better understand the truths of Scripture or who likes to be reminded of things they already know, but in a new and fresh way.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dug Down Deep: Unearthing What I Believe and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

To Truly Know God

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janetiwood
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I am one of the Christians that Josh describes in his book who 'knew a lot about the Christian religion, and so little about God'. The emphasis in my early Christian lfe was on developing a friendship with Jesus and embracing all of the 'good feelings' associated with following him.
I missed so much. I missed the opportunity to truly know him - through grounded and unapologetic doctrine. I was afraid of it, that in some way, absorbing all of the theology would diminish my love for Jesus. This book reminded me and encouraged me, that it is the theology that will actually move me towards knowing and loving him more.
I am so thankful for this book and for the simple and tender way with which it is written. Josh speaks through personal experience and careful observation that guides the reader through the process of embracing the need to dig deep!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dug Down Deep: Unearthing What I Believe and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

deeply a good book

Date:October 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
mojo
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joshua Harris is the senior pastor of Covenant Life Church in Portland Oregon, and was a student of C.J. Mahaney who had helped to found that same church. Josh is also the author of several books including I kissed Dating Goodbye and Stop Dating the church.
His latest book is actually a reprint that now comes with a study guide and a fancy cover. I got this book as a “freebie” to review, but I am so glad I picked this one up.
Joshua’s book is sort of a beginner’s guide to doctrine. Through each chapter, Josh takes the reader alongside his own personal journey all the while expressing deep theological truths. Dug Down Deep covers the nature of the trinity, the Holy Spirit, atonement, sin, the sovereignty of God, propitiation and regeneration. That to say, it’s not some thin drop in the bucket either – this is a real book - it has weight and substance (and hand drawn monster pictures).
While I was reading it, I was thinking, “I am going to buy this book for everyone who becomes a believer at my church.” I think this would make a great ‘guide’ for people new to the faith, because it covers all the bases and would get new Christians off on solid footing.
Josh writes, ”The doctrine of Scripture teaches us about the authority of God’s Word. Scripture must be the final rule of faith and practice for our lives. Not our feelings or emotions. Not signs or prophetic words or hunches.”
The book reads easy as much of it are stories from Josh’s life, but at the same time the author gives a very orthodox outline of the basic Christian faith. I loved this book – highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dug Down Deep: Unearthing What I Believe and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Blog Book Review for "Dug Down Deep"

Date:October 6, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recently I signed up to review books for WaterBrook Multnomah and I am so glad I did. My first selection for my complimentary copy was the book "Dug Down Deep" (Building Your Life on Truths That Last) by Joshua Harris. Before I read this book, all I knew about Joshua Harris was that he was the guy "that kissed dating goodbye" :) I didn't realize that he is currently serving as the senior pastor of a church in Maryland, and that he is an amazing author with a gift for writing.
If I had to rate this book I would give it a 5 star rating out of a possible 5 stars. It was that good. Actually I was a little nervous to read this book because it is a book about theology. Words like orthodoxy and doctrine are discussed and better yet explained in this book. I always felt that only theologians could understand doctrine, but Joshua Harris helped me to understand what doctrine is and how I could actually live out the truths that are in God's Word.
Harris breaks down the basics of faith-God, scripture, Jesus, the Cross, salvation, sanctification, the Holy Spirit, and the church (taken from back cover of book). I have been a Christian for over 25 years and I still did not have a knowledge or understanding about some of the things that Joshua Harris explained to me in his book. After reading this book, I actually feel that my faith in God has been strengthened because I now understand key verses in scripture that I had not really understood before. As the title of the book states Joshua Harris wants his readers to "dig deep".
"Dug Down Deep" will be a book that I keep and refer to in the future as I study my Bible. This book is also a great book for Small Group studies because there is a discussion guide with probing questions in the back of the book for every chapter. I would actually love to go through this book as a study with a group of my peers. This book also contains a heavy amount of scripture in it which I think is a must if you were going to use it as a Bible study book in a Small Group.
In closing I think this book will appeal to all readers, not just professing Christians. I say this because Joshua Harris gives his personal testimony about how he began his spiritual journey as an "apathetic church kid" but as a young student developed a burning passion to truly know God. Joshua Harris also is very candid and shares some of his own personal struggles which helps him relate to his readers in an authentic way. I think those people who do not have a faith would find Joshua Harris refreshing. If not refreshing, at least honest and real.
Thank you WaterBrook Multonomah for this wonderful book.
(In exchange for the complimentary copy of this book, I had to write and post a review)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.