Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc Mother-Daughter Duet: Getting to the Relationship You Want with Your Adult Daughter

Random House, Inc Mother-Daughter Duet: Getting to the Relationship You Want with Your Adult Daughter

Written by a mother and daughter who have successfully navigated the minefield from distance and tension to acceptance and friendship, Mother-Daughter Duet helps moms open wide the door of communication so that daughters want to walk through it. Filled with personal anecdotes and based on proven principles, each chapter offers timeless wisdom as well as a daughter's perspective. Often these principles apply to daughters-in-law as well. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mother-Daughter Duet: Getting to the Relationship You Want with Your Adult Daughter
Review 1 for Mother-Daughter Duet: Getting to the Relationship You Want with Your Adult Daughter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
JMG08
Location:Texas
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very insightful book about mother and daughter relationships.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mother-Daughter Duet: Getting to the Relationship You Want with Your Adult Daughter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Delicate Duet

Date:January 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Urailak
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughter and I have a wonderful, close relationship. However, we occasionally misunderstand each other and don’t always get along perfectly (we’re too much alike for our own good :)). I desire to be a better mom and have a deeper & stronger relationship with her. This book helps prepare me for the near future when she steps into adulthood. I don’t agree with everything in the book but I still appreciate lots of valuable insights shared by both Cheri Fuller (the mother) and Ali Plum (the daughter). I will keep their warnings in mind; hopefully and prayerfully, by God’s grace…I won’t make the same mistakes that many moms have made. The authors share about the main ingredients in developing a stronger relationship between mother and daughter which include unconditional love, understanding, prayer, grace, space, prayer, kindness, patience, prayer, acceptance, respect, encouragement, and prayer. You probably get the point that prayer is so crucial. God is still in the business of relationship restoration. I really like the discussion questions in the back of the book for each chapter. These are very good for mothers and daughters to discuss with each other and learn to understand each other better; they are good for mothers to ponder alone, too.
~This book was provided for review by the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mother-Daughter Duet: Getting to the Relationship You Want with Your Adult Daughter
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

For mothers with teenage daughters

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Location:Jackson Hole, WY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this book hoping it would help me open dialogue with my adult daughter. I found several chapters very pertinent, but most of the book is directed to mothers of daughters who are approaching adulthood, not already there. The book is easy to read, and the discussion questions at the end are wonderful. I gave the book to one of my daughters who has teenage daughters, and I'm sure it will be useful to her for years to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mother-Daughter Duet: Getting to the Relationship You Want with Your Adult Daughter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Eileen Kottmeyer
The recommendation to read this book from the focus group was a blessing from God.I felt that God was talking just to me through this book.I am thankful for this mother & daughters perspective.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mother-Daughter Duet: Getting to the Relationship You Want with Your Adult Daughter
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gretchen Acheson
The theme of this book is learning the intricate balance of being a mom without mothering too much, letting her know you are there for her without threatening her independence, connecting in friendship on your common ground instead of focusing on the generational differences. When I agreed to review the book written by Cheri Fuller along with her daughter Ali Plum, I didnt realize it was directed to moms. I have two daughtersbut at ages 6 months and 2 years, respectively, they arent exactly adult daughters. So for me, reading Mother-Daughter Duet was more of a chance for reflection on my own relationship with my own mother. And a time of considering the habits and traditions I want to establish with my little girls, who will be 21 before I know it.The relationship of the mother-daughter authors looked much different from my relationship with my mom. Ali and her dad both struggled with alcoholism and depression, Cheri with trying to fix everything and being co-dependent. But what Mother-Daughter Duet so beautifully illustrates is that while every mother-daughter relationship will be different, each has the same themes: generational differences, the transition from childhood to adulthood, the faith of our mothers becoming a personal belief, the craving of respect (for everything from hairstyles to lifestyle choices), the need for letting go, the delight of mother-daughter friendship.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mother-Daughter Duet: Getting to the Relationship You Want with Your Adult Daughter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angie
Even though I felt, "been there-done that" when I entered this book, I still found informative thoughts and ideas for getting along with my own daughters. With each chapter, both Cheri and Ali share their views, struggles and success as they find the middle ground with their relationship. That place where we see both sides. This is a book that can encourage mothers of all ages, even mothers of sons as I recognized quickly that the issues that Cheri and Ali faced are not specifically targeted to one gender. When raising my own girls, I found myself doing some of the same "mistakes" that Cheri admits to. I encourage all mothers and daughters alike, read this insightful book! Your relationship will gain strength as you discover that place of understanding of each others hearts and needs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mother-Daughter Duet: Getting to the Relationship You Want with Your Adult Daughter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Johnson
I wish I had this wisdom years ago! Even though it's written for mothers and adult daughters, I think it would be very insightful for mothers with younger daughters as well. Instead of learning how to rebuild a relationship, it would be easier to apply these principles when they are young. Im always glad when I read a book by a Christian author who shares wisdom learned through enduring the issues of life rather than from an academic platform. The authors arent writing about how perfect they were. They write about common struggles women face today in their own mother/daughter relationships and how to do life together. Tougher issues like how to deal when your daughter chooses a different lifestyle than you would have chosen for her as well as common everyday stuff issues like how to deal with what they wear and whether or not they need to lose weight. Cheri addresses how the comments we make affect their self-esteem. Cheri writes, The more we as mothers are dissatisfied with the internal and external women we are, the more we tend to criticize our daughter. Are we seeing our daughters as a reflection of ourselves? And are we projecting our own self-image on them? They arent writing from a we-did-everything-perfect attitude. Rather, they spill the beans in the very first chapter. Their transparency breaks the perfect-Christian-family mold by disclosing how alcoholism threatened their family. It made me want to listen right off the bat. Maybe we dont have alcoholism, but we all have issues in our families. Cheri speaks to us with a grace-filled attitude of, Heres what I did wrong and heres what I learned. Ali speaks to us from her perspective of how her mothers actions made her feel. She helps mothers realize how different their culture is than the one we grew up in. Expecting them to conform to the same ideals that shaped our own growing-up years places too many demands on them. Im in chapter 5 and cant wait to read the rest!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mother-Daughter Duet: Getting to the Relationship You Want with Your Adult Daughter
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jamie
When I decided to review this book, I figured that even though I don't have an adult daughter, yet that is, I am an adult daughter and maybe I could get some pointers on my own relationship with my mom. Even though this book had some good points to it, I felt like it was a waste of my time. I was distracted (and sometimes upset) the whole way through by the extremely different world view that these writers have from me. In some portions, I almost felt that the daughter was writing negatively about the idea of traditional stay at home moms. I also noticed that scripture, prayer and the Lord weren't really even mentioned until about 100 pages into the book. Sorry, but I feel that every relationship, but especially ones as close at this particular one, has to be bathed in prayer and God's guidance. I do realize that this book is written for mothers regarding the relationship with their daughters, so it's aimed at them. However, I feel that it gave daughters way too much opportunity to be rude and callous towards their mothers, while the moms just need to let their daughters "have their space" and "discover their own spiritual journey". While I agree to some point, it really made me feel that I was helpless as a mother and that I am to just throw them to the wolves. I'm sure they had good intentions and it was hard work writing a book, but I would not use this as a resource or a source of advice, or even recommend it to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Mother-Daughter Duet: Getting to the Relationship You Want with Your Adult Daughter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andrea Schultz
Mother-Daughter Duet is written by a mother/daughter team, Cheri Fuller & Ali Plum. Ali and Cheri, explain their reason for writing this book:Looking into the past to process what has happened in our relationship is the hardest thing either of us has ever done. But we were willing to go there because we know what its like to come out of the struggle and conflict to relate as equals and adult friends and how enormously satisfying that is. Because of our experience, we want to provide hope for discouraged moms who think their daughters are too far gone, or for the mom who simply doesnt understand her daughter or just longs for a closer, more connected relationship. (p. 6)I had a wonderful relationship with my mother as I reached adulthood; adolescence was another story! She went home to be with the Lord on Christmas Eve, 2004. I look forward to our reunion in heaven!Being that my mother is no longer on this planet, and the only daughter I have is an English Cocker Spaniel (!), I was not sure how much I would glean from this book. However, I found it to be helpful for relationships apart from the mother/daughter relationship. I am a womens small group leader at church, and I appreciated the information on Generational Differences found in chapter 2, in particular. This book includes discussion questions for each chapter. I think it would be neat if mothers & daughters came together to work through the questions, & learn more about each other!Overall, although I came in reading this book thinking it may not necessarily be helpful in my personal situation, I was pleasantly surprised that that was not the case. Human relationships are human relationships, so good advice in one case can be applied in other cases. I appreciate how they share what they have learned with others!This book was provided to me by Waterbrook Multnomah for review purposes.Reviewed by Andrea Schultz Ponderings by Andrea
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Mother-Daughter Duet: Getting to the Relationship You Want with Your Adult Daughter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Sikora
When I first got this book in the mail, I was not sure it would pertain to me much at this point in my life because my daughter is only 11. Can I just say that this was the wrong assumption? As soon as I started reading it, I saw myself in these pages and how some of the things I am doing with my daughter at this moment might be triggers of pushing her away later in life. YIKES!!!Here is a thought from the book that spoke to me early on:Sometimes it's a daughter who leans too heavily on her mother, wanting Mom to fix every crazy, serial situation. If that's our situation, it's in her best interest to stop bailing your daughter out if she gets into trouble. If she goes to college and ends up with credit card debt, for example, let go of the compulsion to rescue. That sends a powerful--and ultimately more helpful--message that your daughter is grown up, and that she can work things out herself. We can support and advise if asked, but we should not solve everything for our daughters.I love how God gives me books to read to help me see exactly where I am. That little verse above is me. I did not realize how much I have been bailing Kayla out, all because she sometimes is scared of failing. I have made her that way. Upon reading this book and coming across this chapter, I have since started urging her to try without my help and learning to solve things on her own.This book was a wonderful read and I would recommend it to anyone who has daughters regardless of whether they are grown or still at home.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Mother-Daughter Duet: Getting to the Relationship You Want with Your Adult Daughter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sara @ Embracing Destiny
As a mom of three girls, I was intrigued by the opportunity to review Mother-Daughter Duet: Getting to the Relationship You Want with Your Adult Daughter by Cheri Fuller and Ali Plum. I had previously read When Couples Pray: The Little Known Secret to Lifelong Happiness in Marriage by Cheri Fuller, so I was familiar with her writing. Mom Cheri and daughter Ali teamed up to help navigate the sometimes rough waters of the relationship between a mother and her adult daughter in Mother-Daughter Duet. They shared some experiences from their own relationship to illustrate how to get through the tough times together.I originally thought this was something I wanted to study for the future with my own daughters, but I actually ended up recognizing some patterns between my own mother and myself. It gave me a different perspective on some things, including how we can hurt each other's feelings without even intending to do so. Although we don't have some of the major issues that Cheri and Ali faced (alcoholism), we do have our minor sensitivities that can make it difficult to relate to each other from time to time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Mother-Daughter Duet: Getting to the Relationship You Want with Your Adult Daughter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Darcy
Although it is a book about having a relationship with your adult daughter, I thought it would help me better understand my relationship not only with my own mother, but also learn some things on how to treat my daughters so that we can have good relationships when they are adults.I truly believe this would be a great book for mothers with adult daughters. Although a lot of it was filled with things that I can't relate to, I was able to pull some things out that spoke to me about my relationship with my mother and made me think about how I am treating my girls and giving me a head start on thinking about how I should treat them when it comes time for them to leave the home, get married, have their own children, etc.I did find some things in this book that I disagreed with because I think it comes from a feminist world view instead of a biblical world view. Both authors have relationships with Christ, but it just goes to show how much the world has become part of the church instead of the church becoming part of the world. As I stated earlier, I think this book would be highly beneficial to mothers of adult children, but even if you don't have adult children or aren't even married yourself, it is full of insights to your relationship with your mother and your young daughters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Mother-Daughter Duet: Getting to the Relationship You Want with Your Adult Daughter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2010
Okay. True. I don't have any daughters. But I am a daughter. And I have a daughter-in-law-to-be. So I suppose I have every right to read this book. (I also know that when one reads a book about relationships, not all, but some ideas can apply to other relationships, too. One gleans what she can where she finds it!)Actually, I found "Mother-Daughter Duet" to be a sweetly insightful bookvery much worth my time. Real-life mother and daughter, Cheri Fuller and Ali Plum, write to mothers about strengthening relationships with their adult daughters. They share honest stories from their own relationship which help to illustrate each point. They also include ideas and examples from other mothers and daughters they know and useful quotes from other books on this topic. Within each chapter, Plum writes a section called, A Daughter's Perspective, to help moms see things more clearly from a daughter's point of view. Fuller closes each with a summary called, Two Part Harmony. There's a discussion guide at the end of the book as well.In a positive, encouraging, and hopeful way, "Mother-Daughter Duet" covers topics such as letting go, generational differences, validation, recovering from dysfunction within the family, respect, communication, bonding, weathering crises, understanding the new-mother-daughter, and forgiveness. Overall, the book focuses on relationship building, maintenance, and, sometimes, repairing.If you're the mother of a grown daughterthe authors mention ages 18 to through her 40's, you'll find useful information in this uplifting book. Daughters can gain insights about themselves and their moms, too. Thank you Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group for providing this book for me to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Mother-Daughter Duet: Getting to the Relationship You Want with Your Adult Daughter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bethany LeBedz
No relationship is more complex than between mothers and daughters. As a mother, my ultimate goal is that my daughters will grow up to be my friends. As a daughter, I know that that friendship can be pretty rocky at times. Mother-Daughter Duet was written by the mother-daughter team of well-known author Cheri Fuller and Ali Plum. Who better to show the way than women who have successfully navigated the minefield from distance and tension to acceptance and friendship. While written mostly from a moms perspective to other moms, Ali adds just enough of a daughters perspective to balance it out. The authors include personal anecdotes and proven principles to help you improve your relationship with your daughter(s) and daughter(s)-in-law. Even though Mother-Daughter Duet is aimed towards mothers of adult daughters, I found many helpful insights to apply to my relationships with my teen and pre-teen daughters. Cheri and Ali discuss validation (needed by daughters of all ages), respect, crises, motherhood, and more in a relaxed, open tone that makes every motherand every daughterwant a relationship like theirs. I think Ill have to read this book more than once to glean all of its golden nuggets! This book was provided by the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Mother-Daughter Duet: Getting to the Relationship You Want with Your Adult Daughter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2010
Here we have a view between mother and daughter on how to have the relationship we desire.We dream of being close and telling one another everything. We wonder what has happened to the relationship we had when they were young that we thought would never change. Sharing from their own experiences as mother and daughter, Cheri and Ali open their hearts and wisdom in teaching us to grow and move forward. Letting go can be one of the hardest times for a mother and for a daughter wanting her Independence, but still wanting mom to bail her out of unwise choices can be a struggle for her too. This book helps set us on common ground. It helps us to see the other side, one that we struggle with. When we put on new glasses, a new vision can set us free of the past and help us move on to a future together that we have always desired. One of my favorite parts is this: "Practically speaking, here's what letting go looks like; To let go doesn't mean we stop caring. To let go isn't to enable but allow your daughter to learn from natural consequences. To let go means to admit powerlessness and realize the outcome isn't in my hands. To let is not to fix but to be supportive. To let go isn't to protect your daughter from reality, but allow her to face it. To let go is not to nag, scold, or argue but discover your own shortcomings and correct them." I found this book to be enriching to my life and thankful to have it placed in my hands when I am letting go. I also loved how the book was written by a mother and daughter. They not only shared from their hearts, but they do so with an honesty that is needed and will set you on the right path. This book was a gift from Multnomah WaterBrook Press for its review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Mother-Daughter Duet: Getting to the Relationship You Want with Your Adult Daughter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
Mothers and daughters have a special bond, yet their relationship can also be rocky and complicated. Cherie Fuller and her daughter Ali, have co-written this book to help mothers and daughters understand each other. Cherie writes from her perspective, Ali writes from her perspective and then each chapter has a section called Two Part Harmony which basically helps balance each side. This book helps readers understand generational differences, personality differences and how to integrate communication and forgiveness into the parent/child relationship.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Mother-Daughter Duet: Getting to the Relationship You Want with Your Adult Daughter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Margaret
If you're not a mother, you're a daughter, and all will find Mother-Daughter Duet an insightful and helpful book. A mother-daughter team co-authored it, giving their individual perspectives on every subject addressed and then a unified final exhortation at the end of each chapter. Cheri Fuller and Ali Plum speak honestly about the tensions that arise between mothers and daughters, why they happen, and what can be doing to avoid them or at least extend grace to each other. Just as with other relationships, mothers and daughters can find themselves at odds over generational and cultural differences, or just personality clashes.This book gives insight into principles that can help mothers and daughters navigate their differences and disagreements and develop a lasting habit of honoring, respecting, and loving each other, even while holding different opinions and maintaining their individual personalities.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Mother-Daughter Duet: Getting to the Relationship You Want with Your Adult Daughter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2010
This book was very interesting to in the fact that I have a college age daughter, that is in community college right now and still at home, and also a newer teenage daughter in the house. When I saw it come up for review I jumped on it because I want to keep the mother/daughter lines of communication open. This book was very enlighten as to hour to build a life long friendship with my daughters. Some of the things that are discussed in this book were: * learning to let go of your daughter * learning to respect your daughter * learning to believe in your daughter * learning to listen to your daughter * learning to take care of yourself * learning the effects of forgivenessFuller and Plum give ways to connect or in some cases reconnect as a mother/daughter team. There were also ideas given on how to stay connected. Releasing your adult children is the hardest work of motherhood and this book has some equipment in it to help us in the letting go process. This book focuses on commonalities we have as women and discusses some of the generational issues. When we understand our daughter's generation we can better relate to each other. We need to be able to get on their turf. Each chapter has the mother's perspective, daughter's perspective and a two part harmony. is followed with discussion questions to help apply that which was discussed in the chapter. Maybe you aren't a mother, but everyone is a daughter so this book could help you in your relationship with your own mother. There are ideas for fostering and improving communication in the relationship. The author's will get you thinking and hold your attention. The information they present is very easy to read and digest and appealing to any that would love to have a better relationship with their mother or their daughter(s). I would recommend this book.A copy of this book was provided for review by Waterbrook publishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.