Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc When God Writes Your Love Story (Expanded Edition): The Ultimate Guide to Guy/Girl Relationships

Random House, Inc When God Writes Your Love Story (Expanded Edition): The Ultimate Guide to Guy/Girl Relationships

This expanded edition of Eric and Leslie Ludy's classic book, When God Writes Your Love Story, keeps all of its original beauty while adding new stories, deeper truths, and a greater wealth of application. Give God the pen for your love story and enjoy the extraordinary beauty of a God-scripted romance. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
13 out of 1493%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for When God Writes Your Love Story (Expanded Edition): The Ultimate Guide to Guy/Girl Relationships
Review 1 for When God Writes Your Love Story (Expanded Edition): The Ultimate Guide to Guy/Girl Relationships
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Age appropriate for young teen? not really

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
customer1124
Location:Greenfield MA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this book for my 13 year old daughter. When I got it I looked through and it has got a little too much discussion about sex what everyone else is doing etc. For example on page 110 it says, "In my world the only reason someone would graduate from high school a virgin was if he or she was a complete social outcast." Don't think I want my daughter to think like that. it also mentions 12 year old having a certain type of sex in the bathroom, talks about others with multiple partners. Guess it's for an older teens or young adults. I am a little disappointed. Wanted a book that talked about the benefits of waiting and doing things God's way without all the specific examples of what some people are doing wrong. We know there is a lot of bad stuff going out out there but don't want to fill her mind with things that shouldn't be there to begin with since she's only 13. Thought the book primarily talked about how they met, the benefit of doing things God's way and encouraging others to do the same. Didn't know it got in to so much of the other stuff. Guess would have liked the cover to mention primarily for older teens and up.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for When God Writes Your Love Story (Expanded Edition): The Ultimate Guide to Guy/Girl Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a sweeter song

Date:October 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jennie
Location:Ripley, OH
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has changed my life! Thank you, Eric and Leslie! They speak the truth with no apologies and in doing so, many young girls have been set free through the Ludy's books. I can't recommend this book highly enough. Read it, let God change you and prove to you that He has the music to a sweeter song!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for When God Writes Your Love Story (Expanded Edition): The Ultimate Guide to Guy/Girl Relationships
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
bobina
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is an honest look on how much God loves relationships.
God does not give us do's and dont's, that's why this book is so good for all people and it brings new christian's closer to God who already have been in an intimate relationship with someone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for When God Writes Your Love Story (Expanded Edition): The Ultimate Guide to Guy/Girl Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful read

Date:May 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
julitre1
Location:Russellville, AR
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is wonderful for singles. It really shows God's perspective on dating and waiting for the one God has for us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for When God Writes Your Love Story (Expanded Edition): The Ultimate Guide to Guy/Girl Relationships
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A True Love Story

Date:April 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sarah Rose
Location:Newfield, NJ
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We often get our first glimpse of love stories from fairy tales. As we grow, love stories become cast in Hollywood’s light. Some are pleasant, but unrealistic; others promise fulfillment but deliver cheap sensuality instead. After steady doses of these second-rate “love” stories, and observing all the shallow and broken relationships around us, we get to wondering… Does true love even exist, or are there only empty imitations? Are the world’s melancholy melodies all there are, or is there a sweeter song? And in a culture that says “Just do it!” is love worth waiting for?
In their best-selling book, When God Writes Your Love Story, Eric and Leslie Ludy provide answers to these relationship questions and many others. Sharing from their own love story and those of many other couples, they prove that true love is still possible When God Writes Your Love Story! With honesty and humor, they dare singles to give God the pen and allow Him to script a love story that surpasses any Hollywood screenplay.
But, as they point out, this isn’t possible unless you also let him write your life story. If you want to sing His sweeter song for romance, first you must fall in love with the Ultimate Romancer. A relationship with Jesus is the only one that brings true fulfillment. Without it, no human romance can be satisfying.
There are no formulas or check lists in this book. There’s only the challenge to trust God enough to wait on Him for a true love story. Of course, Eric and Leslie don’t literally mean waiting around! They encourage readers to live fully for God’s purpose in every season, including singleness. They also show how to practice faithfulness and preparation for marriage, even before your future spouse arrives.
Each chapter wraps up with several verses of Scripture and a section of questions to reaffirm the book’s truths. Although there were a few areas where it felt a little repetitive, When God Writes Your Love Story was a welcome reassurance that even in a world of cheap love, authentic love stories can- and do!- exist. It reminded me that I can wholeheartedly trust God to script a story that is just right for me; not only in romance, but in every other area of life. I give it 4 out of 5 stars!
I received this book from the publisher for free, in exchange for my review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for When God Writes Your Love Story (Expanded Edition): The Ultimate Guide to Guy/Girl Relationships
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great.

Date:March 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
grace
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently had the chance to read and review When God Writes Your Love Story by Eric and Leslie Ludy through a service at Blogging for Books- WaterBrook Multnomah that gives people the chance to get books just giving a review, whether positive or negative.
I have heard about this book for forever (honestly don't know any girl in any Christian circle who hasn't) but had never read it. I was hesitate to pick this, in all honesty, because I was afraid it would be like all the other 'cutesy, this is what you do, just be patient and wait in the Lord. just be content' blah blah, etc pre-marriage single girl books out there.
But it really wasn't like that at all. This book was real. This book showed what could really truly happen if you chose to let God "have the pen" and let Him do what He already knows is best for you.
This book also doesn't preach in a pretend to be ok, act like it doesn't matter, way where it's a sin to want to be married and to think about it a lot. This book shows how desiring a spouse and Godly marriage is totally ok- its just how you deal with and process those desires that determines the outcome. So many of us are afraid to REALLY let God be God in this area and this book shows you how unnecessary that fear really is.. in a honest tangible way. It talked about how it's ok to dream of that really great Christian guy, and furthermore, thats the desire God put it you- He gave you the desire for that kind of husband.
All in all, this is a really great book. Every one considering relationships should read it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for When God Writes Your Love Story (Expanded Edition): The Ultimate Guide to Guy/Girl Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Right on Time

Date:February 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marie Moniz
Location:Fairhaven, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Great book, I would highly recommend it to everyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for When God Writes Your Love Story (Expanded Edition): The Ultimate Guide to Guy/Girl Relationships
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Biased

Date:January 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mzbelly
Location:Toronto, ON
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After reading all the reviews I thought this would be a great read but to be completely honest this book just made me feel miserable and guilty. It did not in any way motivate me to give the pen to God just made me feel more like a slap to the face that oh they're lives were made perfect because they waited for each other which in my opinion is not realistic. It really bothered me each time I read something about purity. We are not Christ we are striving to be Christlike but this book makes it seem they achieved being Christ and more I'm sorry but this is definitely not a favorite of mine I forced myself to finish this book but was cringing at how unrealistic it all was and that is just my opinion God help us all
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for When God Writes Your Love Story (Expanded Edition): The Ultimate Guide to Guy/Girl Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!

Date:November 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
JVHE
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book 9 years ago as a senior in college (it was a gift from an older friend). It changed the way I looked at dating and God-honoring relationships. And because I was willing to keep the pen in God's hands, He wrote me a beautiful love story!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for When God Writes Your Love Story (Expanded Edition): The Ultimate Guide to Guy/Girl Relationships
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I would Recommend this book to everyone.

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
bubbles
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is very well written. From the introduction to the last chapter, the book is full of great wisdom. This book talks about letting God be in control of your love life. And in this book they tell their story and advice for others. I enjoyed this book very much and will recommend it to anyone.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for When God Writes Your Love Story (Expanded Edition): The Ultimate Guide to Guy/Girl Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read for Anyone

Date:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
jtinholt
Location:Moorefield, ON, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is chalk full of great advice for anyone whether or not you are in a relationship. The author provides biblical perspectives and insights that are very helpful for building healthy relationships. I highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for When God Writes Your Love Story (Expanded Edition): The Ultimate Guide to Guy/Girl Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
skatecrazzy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful book with an amazing message. It challenges readers to seek God's will completely in all areas of their lifes, but specifically in regards to dating, romance, and marriage. Only when we are fully in line with His will and are seeking Him above all else can we have a wholly fulfilling romantic relationship.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for When God Writes Your Love Story (Expanded Edition): The Ultimate Guide to Guy/Girl Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Keeper!

Date:October 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
My husband and I were married before we were believers, and our relationship very much followed the pattern of a worldly romance. It was only after becoming born-again that we were captivated by the vision of romances conducted in accordance with God’s will.
Rather than seeing God’s limitations on expressions of physical and emotional intimacy we could now see His guidelines as protections for the beautiful, pure love that could spring from a life fully dedicated to Him; a life devoted to staying faithful to one future spouse.
Eric and Leslie Ludy beautifully express this “sweeter song” that God has in mind for His children in When God Writes Your Love Story. Without becoming bound to outward forms and stifling legalities, the couple holds firmly to a high goal of emotional and physical purity while waiting for God to work creatively to write a unique love story just for you!
This vision is unfailingly positive and inspiring as the Ludys weave together their own personal journey towards marriage with the insights, principles, and applications that they learned along the way. Alternating between a light-hearted, self-deprecating writing style and deadly serious thoughts about fully dedicating your life to Christ, the Ludys are bang on (in my opinion) in their conclusions.
My husband and I have been married for nine years this fall, but I plan on passing this book along to our daughters as they grow. I can appreciate that waiting for God’s best can be SO difficult when the world continually trumpets its own plan; this book can be a faithful guide through those trying times.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for When God Writes Your Love Story (Expanded Edition): The Ultimate Guide to Guy/Girl Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
princessoftheKing
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not quite finished the book yet, but am only a chapter or two away. It is a great book. Well written and easy to follow. So glad that I purchased it. I would recommend it to anyone but especially those in their late teens to early twenties. Shows God's ever working hand. Eric and Leslie tag team writing is great! They make sure you get both viewpoints (as far as guy and girl go).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for When God Writes Your Love Story (Expanded Edition): The Ultimate Guide to Guy/Girl Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sonia
Great book! This book was the beginning of my venture into letting God take the pen of my love life. :D
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for When God Writes Your Love Story (Expanded Edition): The Ultimate Guide to Guy/Girl Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Laurie Degen
I have been married for 26 years, homeschooled my three adult children and we are all amazed at the candor, truth and transparency of this book. Not only has it blessed my children, but it has blessed me! Buy one for yourself, one for your children, one for your youth pastor and a couple to have on hand as a ministry tool.You will not regret the investment to purchase or the time to read this book! I am still giving God the pen to write the next chapters of our marriage!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for When God Writes Your Love Story (Expanded Edition): The Ultimate Guide to Guy/Girl Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nick
Great book! Very insightful and has helped me a lot in waiting for the person that God has for me!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for When God Writes Your Love Story (Expanded Edition): The Ultimate Guide to Guy/Girl Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cupcake
This book is one of the best I have read on the topic of dating and marriage. I highly recommend this book to anyone desiring God's best for the life and a wonderful love story written by the Author of Romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for When God Writes Your Love Story (Expanded Edition): The Ultimate Guide to Guy/Girl Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Maryjo Swann
Love the simple way of approaching relationships -- used this with a college Bible Study group and they loved it! Good for those in a relationship and those looking or waiting!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for When God Writes Your Love Story (Expanded Edition): The Ultimate Guide to Guy/Girl Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carrie
Absolutely AMAZING! Being a single christian in this day and age is tough! This book puts everything in perspective, and gives even the most inpatient of us, patience to wait for God, and his perfect timing. I have bought tons of copies to give to family and friends!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>