Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers My So-Called Life as a Submissive Wife: A One-Year Experiment...and Its Liberating Results - eBook

Harvest House Publishers My So-Called Life as a Submissive Wife: A One-Year Experiment...and Its Liberating Results - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for My So-Called Life as a Submissive Wife: A One-Year Experiment...and Its Liberating Results - eBook
Review 1 for My So-Called Life as a Submissive Wife: A One-Year Experiment...and Its Liberating Results - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth the time

Date:August 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Laura
Location:Louisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you can only find 20 minutes of free time in a day, I say you need to fill it with reading this book! I was a little hesitant at first to venture into this one but I am so glad I did. Sara touches on a very controversial issue here, but I believe she brings His truth to light in a way that is honestly applicable to our every day lives as wives. Thanks Sara!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for My So-Called Life as a Submissive Wife: A One-Year Experiment...and Its Liberating Results - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enlightening

Date:August 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Daverly
Age:35-44
Sara explores what it is to be submissive and how to incorporate it in marriage. This is not a how-to book, but one can definitely learn from it. I believe the most important part of the book is the communication with her husband from this task. In my own life, it helped to show me that submission can be different in every marriage and trying to be a submissive wife is a unique experience for every woman.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for My So-Called Life as a Submissive Wife: A One-Year Experiment...and Its Liberating Results - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Encouraging and Practical

Date:August 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carrie
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I wasn’t sure what to expect when I started reading this book. I was hoping the book wasn’t going to be just a dry theological lesson. Had it been, I either would have most likely stop reading or possibly finish it with battle wounds upon recognizing my own ongoing failings. But this book was much different than I expected!
The book is not a how to manual but rather the writings, in a wonderful conversational style, of a woman who honestly shares her failures and successes in seeking to honor God and her husband. She uses humor as she shares stories of her day-to-day life and the choices she makes in different situations. From those choices she learns more and more what it looks like to submit to her husband. Through her spiritual growth and choices, it becomes obvious the changes that take place in her as well as her husband.
Sara’s honesty is part of what draws in the reader to the point that you feel as though you have made a new friend. As a reader, you can sense she is warm, genuine and down to earth. Because of these qualities, I found that what I learned from her could be applied it to my own marriage.
I recommend this book. You won’t be disappointed!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for My So-Called Life as a Submissive Wife: A One-Year Experiment...and Its Liberating Results - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to relate to and enjoyable to read!

Date:August 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blessed
Location:Fayetteville, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this book. Sara captured me from the start with her conversational style of writing. Every time I opened this book I felt like I was sitting down with a friend chatting and catching up. She seamlessly wove humor and scripture throughout the book. Not only was this book fun to read but it has also helped me look closer at my role as wife. To see my role as a blessing and an intricate part of a much larger whole, not just a crazy lady trying to check things off her todo list. I highly recommend this book. At the very least it will brighten your day, but it might just change YOUR world! I know it has changed mine!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for My So-Called Life as a Submissive Wife: A One-Year Experiment...and Its Liberating Results - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Its Not What You Are Thinking, Its So Much Better

Date:August 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
JLoveWilkinson
Location:Pride, LA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Society today will tell you, “Do not read this book!”. However, I challenge you to step out of the box and READ THIS BOOK! This is not a “how to”, or a “do this and you can accomplish being the perfect wife” type of book. It is an earnest look into one women’s journey to get closer to God and closer to the wife, mother and child of God that He intends her to be. Sara Horn is a woman like you and me just trying to dive deeper into the word of God. It’s honest, thought provoking and humorous to read about her journey. I saw myself throughout the book, my circumstances different, but the internal conflicts and feelings were the same. We are not meant to be door mats. That is not what is meant when the Bible uses the word submission. Society has twisted that word into something ugly. So I say gain a new perspective on this word by reading this book and just see where it takes you. I will leave you with one of my WOW moments from this book: “But I’m not sure God designed us as wives to be yes-women to our husbands. Otherwise, where does the whole “iron sharpening iron” thing happen?” (Pg183 Sara Horn) You and your husband should sharpen each other!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for My So-Called Life as a Submissive Wife: A One-Year Experiment...and Its Liberating Results - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You'll laugh, you'll cry...

Date:July 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
angela72023
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sara Horn's newest release is another hit! I fell in love with her writing when I read her Proverbs 31 Wife book last Christmas. Her witty, real-life, heartfelt writing carries through to the Submissive Wife book as well. This truly is a book for wives of all ages and is now on my list for wedding shower gifts, along with her Proverbs 31 book! Sara uses her real life experiences to share with us the joys, frustrations, fears and amazing changes being a submissive wife can bring to a marriage. Including her husband's thoughts and reactions to this whole submissive wife thing takes this book up a level, especially page 184, which particularly resonated with me and my marriage.
Read it, read it again, then pass it on to another wife who could use some encouragement.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for My So-Called Life as a Submissive Wife: A One-Year Experiment...and Its Liberating Results - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Following God's Way on the tough stuff...

Date:July 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
LGDerrick
Location:Austin, Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of my favorite authors! Sara brings to light a subject that is hard to swallow and not only shows the reality behind it, but though humor shows us the trials and successes of her self imposed challenge. Wonderful and easy read, perfect for women of all ages. Highly recommend if for self study or women's groups.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for My So-Called Life as a Submissive Wife: A One-Year Experiment...and Its Liberating Results - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Katie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sara's words are practical, thought-provoking, and encouraging. Her stories are funny and meaningful and more then once gave me a feeling of de-ja-vu. But even better then her easy reading, down to earth chapters, Sara has draws you to the heart of God. She uses Ephesians 5:22 to remind us that wives are to submit to their husbands as they do to God. So more importantly then coming to grips with submitting to my husband is submitting to the heart of God. Sara puts it as loving HIS way. Honor. Intention. Selflessness. This book brings a hard topic to life. Read it to laugh and be encouraged. But more importantly, use it as a platform to draw closer to the heart of God.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for My So-Called Life as a Submissive Wife: A One-Year Experiment...and Its Liberating Results - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Honest Writing!

Date:July 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
1kyteacher
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Submissive is probably not a word that most women would want to have describe them; after all, we come from the generation of Girls Can Do Anything Boys Can Do Only Better. We've been told to dream big, become independent, and successful. Not that there is necessarily anything wrong with having goals and dreams, but maybe we need to take a long look at what being submissive really means when it comes to marriage.
That's exactly what author Sara Horn did.
After her Proverbs 31 experiment, Sara felt that God was leading her on another journey, what it means to be a submissive wife. Many people, including her husband, questioned why she would want to do this new experiment. For Sara, it was finding out what God's will was for her as a wife and mom. Her journey is documented in her book My So-Called Life as a Submissive Wife.
Sara writes honestly about her journey through the submission experiment. She discusses her highs and lows as she struggles to change her thinking, behavior, and attitude. I was able to relate to many of the things that Sara wrote about: the feeling/need to do it all, micromanaging a marriage whether you mean to or not, wanting more out of life/following your dreams, but not wanting that to interfere with your family responsibilities, and letting go so your husband can lead.
Like most women, Sara didn't feel the call to be a domestic goddess, although the experiment did help her look at the responsibilities of marriage and family a bit differently. Sometimes we can become resentful in having to cook and clean, in having to take care of children, and fulfilling other duties when it seems no one notices or helps. But in trying to live according to biblical submission, a new perspective is formed.
By the end of the book, I no longer viewed submission as a bad thing. Sara's story showed me that biblical submission can strengthen a marriage, yet, that submission and the process is different for each marriage.
I loved reading this book. I laughed. I cried. I felt convicted. Most of all, I feel motivated to work on being more submissive in my own marriage. I highly recommend this book to any woman who has a desire to become the wife that God has planned for her.
I received a free copy of this book from Sara Horn and Harvest House Publishers as part of The My Wife Team. I was asked to read and post an honest review of this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for My So-Called Life as a Submissive Wife: A One-Year Experiment...and Its Liberating Results - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Honest journal on biblical submission

Date:July 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
mommyglover
Location:Fort Campbell, KY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was an encouragement as Sara wrote from the heart, was honest, and shared her highs and lows of this experiment. What she learned, she shares with us amidst stories of her daily life. I laughed, cried, and nodded my head many times as I read this book. It is good to know we aren't alone in our struggle to balance being godly and submissive when we are strong, independent women living in a modern world. This is not a how-to book; it is a journal of Sara's year long experiment on how she looked to the Bible for how to love and be submissive to her husband. My So-Called Life as a Submissive wife would coincide well with her previous book, My So-Called Life as a Proverbs 31 Wife.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.