Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books You Were Born for This: Seven Keys to a Life of Predictable Miracles

Multnomah Books You Were Born for This: Seven Keys to a Life of Predictable Miracles

Wilkinson's The Prayer of Jabez changed how millions pray---now he offers advice about what to do next! In his straightforward, story-driven style, he'll motivate you to see your world differently; to expect God to work miracles through you to meet others' needs; and to master seven simple tools of service. 256 pages, softcover from Multnomah.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 out of 1182%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for You Were Born for This: Seven Keys to a Life of Predictable Miracles
Review 1 for You Were Born for This: Seven Keys to a Life of Predictable Miracles
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Too tediously long

Date:July 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mazzou
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You Were Born For This by Bruce Wilkerson and David Kopp- 222 pages
''You were created to help others experience personal miracles on a regular basis. You were born to accomplish God's work by His power.''
I agree with a few things in thsi book. Page 99 is good- the author has the right perspective on the apostle Peter!
And I totally agree that we need to be constantly willing to be tools in the hands of the Master! We are here to glorify Him, and we must be ready to help others. And yes, I also believe thta miracles are ubiquitous yet amazing....and we need to open our eyes and praise the Lord for them!
But otherwise, I would say the book was tedious; too long for its subject matter in the light that the author viewed it.
I received this WaterBrook Multnomah book free in exchange for my honest opinion from the book club Blogging for Books. I was encouraged to write my thoughts, negative or positive, on this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for You Were Born for This: Seven Keys to a Life of Predictable Miracles
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A little to predictable....

Date:August 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ian Hastings
Location:Dallas, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I’ve read many of Bruce Wilkinson’s books, and have always found them to easy but enlightening reads. He has a wonderful way of using stories from his life and ministries to illustrate the points he is making.
In YOU WERE BORN FOR THIS, Wilkinson asks us to consider an important question: If we believe God still work miracles, what happens if we are bold enough to ask God to accomplish those miracles through us?
Wilkinson sets out the idea that we are meant to serve as a “living link” between Heaven and Earth. That the miracles God wants to accomplish in this world require our willingness to partner with God. This partnership requires our active asking of God to be sent on miracle missions on God’s behalf, requires our willingness to take risks of faith.
In the book, he lists 4 keys to living a life of miracles, this idea of making ourselves open and available to God. He also gives the reader the tools to “deliver” the miracle, although the delivery is still God’s to do, we are as it has been said many times, God’s hands and feet in the world.
In all, it was a good read, but to me felt a little predictable, and a little too contrived.
“I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review”.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for You Were Born for This: Seven Keys to a Life of Predictable Miracles
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I would give it 3.5 stars...

Date:August 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jenny W
Location:Williamsburg, OH
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You Were Born for This by Bruce Wilkinson is a book about how to ready yourself to do the Everyday Miracle work of God. In some ways, this is a phenomenal book. If someone really wanted to focus their life toward delivering miracles from God to those who need them, but had never been brave enough to step out in faith, this would be the book for them. If someone is a newbie Christian and craves to see God move, this is for them. This book makes delivering miracles seem as feasible as driving to work or making dinner.
There were a few big things that bothered me about the book, though. For one, the author constantly referenced material to come. If he would have just cut those parts from the book, he would probably have saved 20+ pages. Then, the way he structured his components of miracle delivery caused him to be redundant. During the second half of the book, I felt like I was rereading a lot of the first half.
Lastly, the two biggest problems for me were near death blows. The first, I think the text would have been much stronger if he reinforced the whole point of miracles, which is God performs miracles to bring greater glory to Him. He mentions this offhandedly, but just as often he makes it seem like the point of miracles is to meet a need or to make the deliverer feel good. Those things may happen through a miracle, but the book as a whole would have been stronger had he made a greater point of saying that miracles are for God's glory. The second was he based his whole premise off of personal experience and not biblical example. For a book about miracles, there were surprisingly few scripture references, and the few included were weak. More comparisons with biblical miracles would have left few doubts in my mind as to whether miracles really work like this.
Bottom line, I recommend this book with caution. In some ways it is a phenomenal book that I would recommend every Christian read. I just get nervous any time someone takes a supernatural idea and because they think they know the ins and outs of how it works, attempts to put that supernatural occurrence in a box. As helpful as his steps may be for one to recognize a miracle potential, I would hate for someone to miss a movement of God because it didn't fit Wilkinson's "keys".
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for You Were Born for This: Seven Keys to a Life of Predictable Miracles
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Recommended

Date:August 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hannah Jane
Location:Alabama
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quick Synopsis:
Mr. Wilkinson encourages Christians to be aware of and alert to God's nudges, explaining how to minister to people who you have never even met before. He demonstrates through various stories how this could play out, and then exhorts others to do the same.
My Opinion:
For the most part, I strongly agreed with the book. There were a few things which I disagreed with, although these we generally things which were not very prevelant in the book.
Things I liked: the abundence of stories to help demonstrate what the author is saying, the realization of the fact that God is willing to use people, but that without His help we are useless, and the rest of most of the book.
Things I did not agree with: The nuanced teaching that God does not ever have bad things happen, and the idea that God's plans can be altered by our actions.
Rating:
8 out of 10 stars
Note:
I received a free copy of this book from the publishers for review purposes. I was not obligated to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for You Were Born for This: Seven Keys to a Life of Predictable Miracles
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You Were Born For This: Seven Keys To A Life Of Predictable Miracles, written by David Wilkinson and David Kopp, is a book designed to bring hope and inspiration to the reader while guiding him into a position to bring the presence of God into the lives of others.
This book has the ability to inspire it's readers beyond the normalcy of the Christian life. It encourages Christians to purposefully get involved within the lives of others on a daily basis with what is termed as "miracles." The idea of our involvement in the lives of others being considered as miracles leaves me a little skeptical. Miracles, in my opinion, are those things that occur contrary to nature by an act of God, thus the term blessings would seem to be more appropriate.
Another issue that was raised within my own mind was the numerous references to Mr. Wilkerson's best selling book, The Prayer of Jabez. Although this book, You Were Born For This, on the whole, has great content, these references to his other book seem to bring the reader back and forth from one book to another too many times.
Not withstanding the afore mentioned comments, this book is very well written and could become a blessing to anyone willing to turn its pages. Thus it is a recommended read.
Dr. Jeff Krupinski
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for You Were Born for This: Seven Keys to a Life of Predictable Miracles
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You Were Born for This

Date:July 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
countryman4ever
Location:Cumming, GA
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In You Were Born for This, Bruce Wilkinson explored how to deliver every day miracles to anyone who God nudges you to. He believes that God still wants miracles to occur. God wants to use us as a partner to accomplish them. We have to listen to his leading and take risks. Wilkinson teaches that you must give God the credit for prompting you to help deliver a miracle. It is by his power and leading that you can help other people. The book contains five signals that help the deliver to listen to the leading of God. He will walk you through delivering a miracle to people who are in deep need of one.
Wilkinson has found that there are three keys that cover everyone needs. The three keys are money, dreams, forgiveness. Everyone is affected and needs a miracle from God. Anybody can partner with God to let him use them for his Glory. We just have to be willing and listening to him. The book also contains a special section entitled “Real People, Real Miracles”. This section gives stories about miracles from everyday people. The book contains “Discussion Questions” to help you to go deeper in your study.
I would recommend this book to everyone who is longing to make a difference in someone else's life. God can use anybody if they will let him! No one is useless or unable to help deliver a miracle for the Glory of our Father! I have learned to partner with God to let him use me willingly. The steps in this book will lead you to helping accomplish a delivery miracle for God. You will learn how to make a difference in someone else’s life and give God the credit! The book will make you believe that miracles do happen daily!
“I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review”.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for You Were Born for This: Seven Keys to a Life of Predictable Miracles
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not Sure I Was Born for This

Date:July 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
pkerry319
Location:Waukee, IA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I’ve been a fan of Bruce Wilkinson for many years, but I can’t say I’m a huge fan of this book. It is filled with great stories and above average teaching, but I’m not sold on the whole idea of miracles being predictable. I also don’t think everyone is cut out for the kinds of experiences that Wilkinson describes in this book. Not everyone’s personality, experience, or financial status lends itself to follow some of the suggestions we are led to believe anyone can follow. Although, it is thought provoking and challenging at times, I’m not sure I was born for this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for You Were Born for This: Seven Keys to a Life of Predictable Miracles
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

OH MY GOSH! I want to be part of that!

Date:July 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sharding
Location:Tell City, Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this book from Blogging for Books for doing reviews for the publisher Multnomah Publishing. It is really my pleasure to review and recommend this book.
OH MY GOSH! I want to be part of that! Oh, did I already say that? Well, it is worth repeating. This book....oh my....I like what it says. I want to be part of witnessing and being part of daily miracles. The miracles discussed in the book are not parting-of-the-sea sized miracles. They are daily miracles. Ones that outsiders would think aren't even miracles, but that if they happened to you right when you needed them, you'd call them miracles. I've experienced that. I've witnessed that. I believe you have too. If I'm right, you might very well say you want to be part of that too!
The author elaborates on these personal miracles. He uses the term "everyday miracle territory" for personal miracles that the author says God wants do dole out using us as "delivery agents". I love the concept. Oh, to see someone's face when their immediate financial situation is met, or when someone understands first hand for the first time that God loves them, personally and uniquely. Some personal miracles would demonstrate God's love so personally and uniquely that only the recipient would understand it.
This is certainly an idea that is appealing. But I need someone with less "wow" tendencies than I have to tell me where this might stray from Biblical principles. I looked at the Bible references, and there are many, and see the author's points. I just don't know if I'm a too easy sell.
In any event, I loved the book. I have already recommended it to others and plan to do the study that is in the back of the book with some of them. If nothing else, the "personal miracles" in the book are worth the read!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for You Were Born for This: Seven Keys to a Life of Predictable Miracles
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bruce did it again!

Date:July 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary hess
Location:Summerville, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
From the Book:
In You Were Born For This, Bruce Wilkinson explores life-changing questions such as: Why do so few people experience miracles? What does it mean to be sent on a miracle mission? And, how can anyone partner with God to deliver miracles to others?
You will learn how to make a lifestyle of predictable miracles your new normal. Because when people ask God to accomplish the miraculous through them, things change. Relationships. Finances. Families. Spiritual lives. Soon the extraordinary becomes the everyday, and God showing up in supernatural ways is no longer something to wish for - it is the life God intended you to live.
My Review:
Bruce Wilkinson has always been a favorite author of mine. I loved "The Prayer of Jabez" and "Secrets of the Vine" as well. So I knew this book would be one that I would enjoy. Bruce always amazes me in that he takes situations, systems, whatever he is talking about, and he breaks them down for everyone to understand. He de-mystifies the mystery. That is exactly what he did in this book. He de-mystifies what it means to walk out your relationship with God and help bring about miracles to others - by allowing God to use you in a moment - to bring glory to Him.
This book is chocked full of not only the "how to's" and the "keys" to unlocking a life of predictable miracles, but he includes story after story of how this has played out his life and the lives of those around him. You need to read this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for You Were Born for This: Seven Keys to a Life of Predictable Miracles
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really makes you think

Date:June 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Smoothie71
Location:Alabama
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"God still performs miracles today, but I don't think I'll be apart of one on this earth." That was my thinking a few weeks ago. I mean I've never thought much about miracles except that I know God can do them if it His will to change someone or something miraculously. As far as how He did them and who He used I didn't have a clue really. When I saw this book I thought, yes I must read that! What better way to understand something a little better than to get knowledge on it? So I got the book and started reading. Let it be known that Bruce Wilkinson is one of my favorite authors and I will read anything by him. I think God speaks amazing things through this man. This is one of the best books I've ever read. There is so much information in it regarding not only miracles but also Bruce talks about how to be the person who expects miracles to be done, if it be God's will, each and every day and what a true godly person looks like.
I've read many interesting things but one particular thing has stuck out to me in this book (aside from the fact that God can use me to do miracles in people's lives) was in Chapter 3 where he talked about Heaven. We all have our view of Heaven in our mind... how we think it looks like, what people are doing, etc. and for some reason I didn't really think about what God might be doing while we are here on earth. Here is a quote I really liked, "While most of us think God is still resting from the demands of Creation week, the Bible shows another picture. He has a real-time, right-now agenda on earth." Could not have said it better myself! God is not resting in Heaven, He is doing work. And He chooses to use us to help Him accomplish this work here on earth.
As I have read this book I've noticed God changing many things within me. My attitude is changing, my heart is changing, and just the little nudges that we all know God gives us at times (you know, like when God tells you to talk to someone but you are nervous or afraid to.) I have been able to say, "Yes, Lord." God has helped me get out of my comfort zone and Bruce talks about some things that will convict you and make you want to get out there and tell the world about Jesus and help with miraculous things all by asking people one simple question, "What can I do for you?"
I encourage you to pick up this book. It has been a blessing and has left me with a really great attitude and a lot more knowledge and wisdom than I had before I read it. God bless you!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for You Were Born for This: Seven Keys to a Life of Predictable Miracles
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring book to get out of comfort zone.

Date:June 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
JJ Shimko
Location:Williamsport, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was truly inspired once again by Bruce Wilkinson’s writing. His way of tying scripture and grabbing ahold of one’s heart challenges readers to wonder why is it so hard to believe in miracles or the supernatural at work around us. Why aren’t these things happening on a regular basis in my life? The book has caused me to honestly re-examine the everyday situations I find myself in: whether it is driving to the store, talking on the phone, walking in the neighborhood, or counseling a young couple for marriage. I’m finding myself pausing to ask questions and being more aware of what is happening around me through the eyes of the Holy Spirit. These instances, I used to easily take for granted and not respond to, or if I did it would be by my understanding.
Bruce breaks down what he calls key questions and signals in a very simple way to respond to situations God places us in with the power of the Holy Spirit in order that we might be a partner in His miracle. Bruce writes,
• “God is constantly at work in supernatural ways in our world, and He has much He wants to get done.
• God is actively looking for loyal partners—people who consistently care about what He cares about.
• God is regularly nudging people to respond, but most people miss His intentions or simply say no.”
He describes seven keys which fall into two groups. The first group Special Delivery, which applies to specific needs and the second group, Miracle Life, which describe internal actions that prepare you for a life of miracles. He chooses to deal with the Miracle Life group first in the book which includes Master, People, Spirit and Risk Keys. He writes, “These can become a habit that will radically change how you see the world and how you partner with God in the supernatural realm (49).” The Special Delivery group includes Money, Dream, and Forgiveness Keys. He describes these keys as external actions we take that lead to a miracle breakthrough for another person (49).”
Often times, I do not believe myself to be worthy of participating in a miracle for God or I see it as totally beyond me from participating, but this book helps the me to understand He is longing to do great things through me by the power of the Holy Spirit. We don’t need a perfect situation or opportunity or be perfectly trained. God is looking for those who are simply dependent upon Him to work through them.
At the end of the book, we are challenged by the thought, “You are a sent person (Master Key) who shares God’s heart for people (People Key) and who intentionally partners with the Spirit to do God’s work (Spirit Key) through acts of proactive dependence on Him (Risk Key) to deliver His miracle to others. So how does God see you right now? He sees you with pleasure and great anticipation (217).”
This book was a wonderful read that I’m still processing. How can I take each key and allow them to become a part of my life to see God at work through me in miraculous ways? I’m humbled by the thought. Who does God want me to go to and where does God want me to be at work next? May everywhere I go in everyday life be with the attitude of “Here Am I, Lord, send me!”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.