Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books The God Pocket: He Owns It. You Carry It. Suddenly, Everything Changes.

Multnomah Books The God Pocket: He Owns It. You Carry It. Suddenly, Everything Changes.

From the author of The Prayer of Jabez comes a powerful vision of how you can partner with God to provide a financial miracle for somebody in need! Expanding on the most talked-about chapter in You Were Born for This, Wilkinson shows how to recognize a "miracle in the making"---and act on heaven's invitation.
Average Customer Rating:
3.909 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 1182%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The God Pocket: He Owns It. You Carry It. Suddenly, Everything Changes.
Review 1 for The God Pocket: He Owns It. You Carry It. Suddenly, Everything Changes.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
BONDing over BOOKS
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The God Pocket by Bruce Wilkerson is a book about random acts of kindness, one way that you can “be your brother’s keeper.” The twist is God “chooses” the person(s) that you are to give the money to (you have no say in the matter – all you need to be is obedient).
I seem to be drawn these days to books that make me think deeper, reach deeper, leave me reflective and help me leave one more footprint on my journey than ever before. After reading The God Pocket, I started thinking what would happen if I had a God pocket?
A God Pocket is money that you would carry in a wallet, coin purse, envelope with the specific intent of helping a complete stranger out of a financial bind.
Poignant Pearl of Wisdom:
“God wants to put a face on giving – and the face He has in mind is not yours or mine but His."
Reprinted with permission from Multnomah Publishers, a division of RandomHouse Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The God Pocket: He Owns It. You Carry It. Suddenly, Everything Changes.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sharing God's resources with others

Date:August 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Eeny
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I have been in situations when my deep needs didn't match my lean resources. Of course, I called out to God for His help and He answered that call. However, He did it through people. This book helps the reader see the joy and fulfillment that one can experience when asking God to allow them to be His partner in being Jesus' hands and feet to others. It is exciting and inspirational. I couldn't put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The God Pocket: He Owns It. You Carry It. Suddenly, Everything Changes.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
angel
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Wonderful, I would recommend that everyone read this book and hopefully be excited about sharing this idea.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The God Pocket: He Owns It. You Carry It. Suddenly, Everything Changes.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Too Much Emphasis on Money, Both Here & In Heaven

Date:January 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janice
Location:Virginia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good points:
(1) Mr. Wilkinson is encouraging Christians to think of others and to be generous givers.
(2) In an interview in which he discussed his book with Dr. James Dobson on 1/31/12 on Family Talk, Mr. Wilkinson said Christians should look forward to being rewarded at the Judgment Seat of Christ and live their lives accordingly.
Bad points:
(1) The type of giving Mr. Wilkinson encourages is based on a feeling, a "nudge," to give to someone, many times a complete stranger. This does not seem to be the wisest way to give.
(2) The reward Mr. Wilkinson says the charitable Christian will receive at the Judgment Seat of Christ is money. He says that as we give, money is added to our heavenly bank account and awaits us in heaven. [He doesn't make this as clear in his book as he does in his interview with Dr. Dobson on Family Talk.]
(3) There is more concern for giving money to others than sharing the gospel with them.
Conclusion: Don't judge a book by it's cover. This is an adorable little book with a catchy title, but it places too much emphasis on the importance of money, both here and in heaven.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The God Pocket: He Owns It. You Carry It. Suddenly, Everything Changes.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Intimacy with God

Date:November 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
angelfuz
Location:Ohio
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Theme Verse of the Book 1 Timothy 6:18 "Let them do good, that they be rich in good works, ready to give, willing to share." (KJV)
Encouraging Verse Psalm 27:8 "The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and he helps me. My heart leaps for joy, and with my song I praise him." (NIV)
Imagine if you could share the loving touch and presence of God with a complete stranger, and in the process both your lives would be changed forever! Ministering to a stranger might seem like a scary prospect to you, but if you want to seek His face and want to find his true heart, then the "God Pocket" is for you! This book was definitely a soul-searcher for me. Even now, as I write this review, I realize that one of my struggles is submission to God's will. Psalm 28:7 is a reminder for all of us (including myself) that if we follow His will in all we do, we will receive perfect joy that can only come from God! Even though I had to do some soul-searching, I enjoyed the book overall. It was a quick read, (122 pages) he laid the concept out clearly, and even included some of his own exciting real-life experiences! The "God Pocket" tool is applicable to people of all ages and lifestyles. It is designed for anyone who wants to experience the Lord on a new level of intimacy. Like a quote from the book states "The God Pocket tool is like a mysterious doorway into an almost limitless life of joy in His service." Are you ready to walk through?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The God Pocket: He Owns It. You Carry It. Suddenly, Everything Changes.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Giving "Spontaneously"

Date:November 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
sblumer
Location:Princeton, MA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The premise of this book is about giving your money to people in need. The Bible is clear about giving consistently and systematically. This is a common way people give. We give to charities and institutions and churches often this way. The Bible is also clear about giving spontaneously by being “ready to give, willing to share” (1 Tim 6:18, James 2:16). The God Pocket is all about giving “spontaneously,” but in a way that you can truly be ready and willing.
“We’re focusing on a special kind of giving, one with a distinct protocol where we prepare in advance so that God can guide us to deliver His provision to a person with a need we couldn’t know about otherwise” (p. 38).
What makes this kind of giving great is that the giver is following the Holy Spirit to lead them to the right person in need. Another advantage is that it brings the need to a personal level, a higher level of connection between giver and receiver even if only for a brief conversation. Bruce does a good job talking about how to determine if God is directing you to give at that moment to that person. Bruce does a good job talking about how to make sure that you are really ready to give and willing to share.
The God Pocket is a short book filled with real stories of people putting the God Pocket principles to practice. Bruce doesn’t talk much about making sure you finances are in order, such as being out of debt or being smart about taking care of yourself first. I believe it is because Bruce talks how God desires to use anyone and everyone to be carriers of His money to those who need it, including the poor helping the poor. I liked how Bruce talked about God giving back to the giver and not in a way that promotes a “prosperity theology,” as though this kind of giving is a way to get rich. Bruce is very upfront that this kind of giving is all about giving God the praise, glory and recognition.
“…the people who will come into your life and mine today are hungry for God. Starving even. They want to believe that He notices them. They want to know that He cares about them as human beings with names and faces and that He just might -hope against hope- be at work in the details of their lives” (p. 98).
The truth is that God desires to use you and me to deliver His hope, His love, and His possessions to those who are in need of hope, love and yes, possessions. The problem comes when person after person refuses to be that delivery agent. I recommend this book as a great reminder in how God desires His people to follow His guidance and how to be “ready to give, willing to share” His help.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The God Pocket: He Owns It. You Carry It. Suddenly, Everything Changes.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Useful Ministry Tool

Date:October 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Val Frania
Location:Wausau, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The God Pocket is a book by Bruce Wilkinson about our ability and responsibility in showing Christ’s love through financial gifting. He gives us a formula for easy and productive witnessing through what he calls the God Pocket. I was intrigued and challenged by his God Pocket program and plan to follow his example with my own God Pocket. I have also passed the book along to a friend at church and am expecting her to also implement this plan into her daily life.
It’s a simple plan that everyone should follow. Wilkinson uses his own life as an example and tells stories to show how his program works and that it is very practical and easy to implement. He also shows how God provides for the gifting that leaves us in a position of messenger of his love. I recommend this book because the God Pocket is an excellent way to show God’s love and gets us up and out there - being productive Christians is much better than sitting around wondering how and when to witness effectively.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated for writing this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The God Pocket: He Owns It. You Carry It. Suddenly, Everything Changes.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful Idea, but not the only way to tithe

Date:October 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hannah Jane
Location:Alabama
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quick Synopsis:
The God Pocket, which is not only the name of this book, but also of the method promoted within, is a certain fund dedicated only for giving away to whomever God leads the holder to give it to. The idea is that it is more personal than just donating to a charity and easier than trying figure out what to give on the spur-of-the-moment.
It was titled "the God pocket" because the authors wanted to give the impression that it was not just "your" offering, but someone else's fund which can only be used in the way which that someone designates.
The Good:
"At the end of three years thou shalt bring forth all the tithe of thine increase the same year, and shalt lay [it] up within thy gates:And the Levite, (because he hath no part nor inheritance with thee,) and the stranger, and the fatherless, and the widow, which [are] within thy gates, shall come, and shall eat and be satisfied; that the LORD thy God may bless thee in all the work of thine hand which thou doest." ~Deuteronomy 14:28 & 29 (KJV)
"And when ye reap the harvest of your land, thou shalt not wholly reap the corners of thy field, neither shalt thou gather the gleanings of thy harvest. And thou shalt not glean thy vineyard, neither shalt thou gather [every] grape of thy vineyard; thou shalt leave them for the poor and stranger: I [am] the LORD your God." ~ Leviticus 19:9 & 10 (KJV)
"Now all who believed were together, and had all things in common, and sold their possessions and goods, and divided them among all, as anyone had need." ~Acts 2:44 & 45 (NKJV)
As illustrated in the above passages, the Bible teaches us the doctrine of the giving a tithe to the poor. This is something which I have often seen neglected by the Church today, and so a book like this is a great resource.
I also really like the idea of having more personal encounters with who I give my resources to, and this offers a good method to use. I imagine that things other than cash could be put into the God Pocket - i.e., gift certificates (this would be a good idea if giving to a homeless person or someone who just might use the money for something such as a drug habit), time, etc.
The Bad:
The fact that this is almost presented as the only good way to give your offering bothers me. Even if it were the very best possible way, it certainly is not the only way. Sometimes giving it to an organization such as Voice of the Martyrs, Persecution Project, or various missionaries might be what God calls you to do.
Another thing which annoyed me was the fact that the author seemed to feel that he had to sell the idea to people by telling them that they will probobly get their cash back. Although God sometimes works this way, and He tells us that we will be rewarded on heaven for what we do on earth, but he does not give us a cash back garentee.
Other Thoughts:
[I think] This is a compainion book for You Were Born For This, which is by the same authors. Anyway, they would work well given sold, packaged, or given together.
My Rating:
8 out of 10 Stars
Note: I was given a free Advance Reading Copy of this Book by Waterbrook-Multnomah for review purposes. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The God Pocket: He Owns It. You Carry It. Suddenly, Everything Changes.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Motivating!

Date:October 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pam M
Location:NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The God Pocket by Bruce Wilkinson is a small book with a huge message. The subtitle to the book is "He owns it. You carry it. Suddenly everything changes."
This book is about giving, generousity, helping, meeting needs. The focus though is not on just doing these things and feeling good about it. The focus is on God. I liked the verse Wilkinson mentions Psalm 50:10 "...for every animal of the forest is mine,
and the cattle on a thousand hills [says the Lord]"
The earth and all in it and on it belong to the Lord...including us and our money and our resources. When we grasp this concept it becomes easier to let go of "our" stuff for HIS glory!
As I read the book, I loved the idea of having a specific holder for the money you set aside to give when God tells you to give it. I looked online for the store that is supposed to be selling these holders but could not find it. So I created my own by crocheting a drawstring pouch and writing on a slip of paper what the God Pocket is all about...or WHO it is all about. I am waiting for the Lord to show me my first mission.
The prayer that he includes says this:
**The God Pocket Prayer**
Dear God,
Today I ask to be sent to show Your love and deliver Your funds to the person You choose. I carry Your provision in my God Pocket, and I am ready and willing. I am Your servant, Lord. Whenever You nudge me, I will respond! Here am I – please send me!
Amen.
I read this book in one sitting...could not put it down. It made me want to take action ...and I like a book that will get me moving!
WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group provided this book to me for free in exchange for this honest review as part of their Blogging for Books program.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The God Pocket: He Owns It. You Carry It. Suddenly, Everything Changes.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Eh

Date:October 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anthony Shuler
Location:Kansas, USA
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The God Pocket: He Owns It. You Carry It. Suddenly, Everything Changes.
By: Bruce Wilkinson and David Kopp
Bruce Wilkinson has a history of being very close to the prosperity gospel (example: The Prayer Of Jabez). I do not see a blatant prosperity gospel in his writings but I think he really pushes it again here. He does a good thing by encouraging people to give to those in need (which is what the book is all about) but I'm a little troubled by how he believes that God will automatically reign material blessings on you if you do and uses this as a motivation to give. This is really closer to the modern tithe theory than the prosperity gospel and in fairness I don't recall him suggesting you write him a check to get rich. Anyways, I do give him much credit for encouraging charity but think he should rethink his theology of giving and how he motivates people to do so. Not a total lose but I wouldn't recommend it for someone who isn't well grounded in their theology.
Thank you to Multnomah/Waterbrook for sending me a free copy of this book for a review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The God Pocket: He Owns It. You Carry It. Suddenly, Everything Changes.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

great concept but to pricey

Date:September 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sunflowers
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's a good book and a wonderful concept. If you don't want to know what that concept is, stop reading right here becuase once you know, well, then you have pretty much read the book........
..........still here, okay then. Here it is......the God pocket is nothing more than a pocket of money that you have set aside and consecrated to God for Him to use through you. The authors mention several times that you can purchase God Pockets through their website www.godpocket.com (at the time of this writing the website was no operating, however, the book lists this as the official website.) To me it felt a bit pushy but that may be my crafty side bristling at the thought of paying for something that can easily be made.
The concept is great. You give God the money and ask Him to show you who it is for and then you simply be obedient and give it to him or her when they appear being sure to tell them it is a gift from God and not you. The book is full of stories about how God ochestrated such events and how they can change the lives not only of the receiver, but of the giver also. To be honest, we did something similiar at my church about a year ago by creating business cards to give out with our gift of either money or service to let the receiver know that it was from God.
I really enjoyed the book and would recommend it to others if the price were lower. I realize that it costs money to print the book as well as promoting it. But for me, the price tag is to big for what you get. That is really sad because this book has a great message and provides a way for even those who feel like they don't know how or where to serve God to do so.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.