Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The New Evidence That Demands a Verdict

Thomas Nelson The New Evidence That Demands a Verdict

Christians today face growing challenges to show that their faith is both relevant and credible. In Josh McDowell's The New Evidence That Demands a Verdict, you'll get the ammunition you need to defend your faith against the barrage of criticisms. This 760-page hardcover combines the two original best-selling volumes into one, maintaining their classic defense of the faith, yet answering new questions posed by today's culture.
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
0
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 out of 786%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The New Evidence That Demands a Verdict
Review 1 for The New Evidence That Demands a Verdict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

If if it's not in here you don't need it :-)

Date:September 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jim S
Location:Tucson, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked up this updated version in hardback, having used Josh's previous versions in paperback. It's well updated and much more user friendly than his first publication. If you were going to get only a few books in the area of apologetics, this would have to be at the top of the list. Josh is considered one of the foremost writers and speakers in the area of apologetics for the last 40 years. His research is impeccable. I have learned much from him.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The New Evidence That Demands a Verdict
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It's ok.

Date:August 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
dragonnkohan
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I wasn't expecting it to be in outline form. I preferred the original format of the first book
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The New Evidence That Demands a Verdict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:June 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ilona
Location:Sacramento CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was for my husband, and he said it is excellent!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The New Evidence That Demands a Verdict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Super Apologetic Reference

Date:May 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dave Stewart
Location:South Bend, IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
Became acquainted with the first book years ago. Hand it out all the time, especially to young people going away to pagan state colleges.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The New Evidence That Demands a Verdict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is what whole entire church is missing today.

Date:May 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Respectthewind
Location:California
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reformation is necesary, and the only way to do it, is going back to the basic, the real Gospel of our Lord Jesus, not the Man Ideas, wrong information to the people.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The New Evidence That Demands a Verdict
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not the best book for average reader

Date:April 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jodi T.
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This book has some good information, but it is HORRIBLY disorganized and not user-friendly at all. Nothing is where you think it should be, and if you don't have a long stretch of time to sit down and grapple with this 700-some-page tome, you will find yourself losing interest somewhere around the second chapter. While I have nothing against this author, the book itself is simply too much to wrangle with - unless you have unlimited time on your hands, and an equally unlimited amount of patience.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The New Evidence That Demands a Verdict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
TEXANLADY
Location:Houston, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book to give to someone questioning Christianity in today's world. We gave as gift to a teen who has one Christian parent & one athiest parent. They are a deep thinker and we thought this would be the perfect book for them instead of just listening to us talk about our faith. We pray this book will plant a seed of faith in their developing life. PTL!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The New Evidence That Demands a Verdict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
I am 22 and have only just started reading this book, but it is quite fascinating and can't wait to finish it. It really adds more knowledge for a Christian. Helps one answer those questions that seem to really put Christianity on the stand. But truth always prevails and this book will help any Christian uncover it from the lies this world will shovel upon it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The New Evidence That Demands a Verdict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tim Kurtz
This is the book you need lay strong foundations for your faith. Each section gives you the tools to refute seclurist, humanist and new age thinking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The New Evidence That Demands a Verdict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joshua Nichols
This is definitively the most comprehensive and honest source for the historicity and personage of Jesus Christ, the Gospel, and the accuracy and infallibility of the Bible. A must read/have for scholars and everyday Christians alike!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The New Evidence That Demands a Verdict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2009
This book has been completely translated into Thai language and warmly welcome!!!. It is a book that all christians should read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The New Evidence That Demands a Verdict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jim Crawford
After reading the Bible cover to cover, I had some questions. This book has not answered all of them. But, it has confirmed a great deal of the Bible for me. As for those who don't find what they were expecting. They should understand that those who are predisposed to one point of view may never be convinced. For me, I want to thank Josh McDowell for a job well done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The New Evidence That Demands a Verdict
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jack
A good effort, but ultimately incompletely and woefully lacking. A lot of what he says is easily challenged and refuted by skeptics (e.g., infidels.org), and a lot of my own questions are left unanswered (e.g., what if it's just legend?). Worth noting is that McDowell has been contacted by skeptics groups, and he has refused to address (or even acknowledge) their well-thought-out arguments.Also, as has been noted, the book is lacking in organization. His "outline numbering" scheme is difficult to follow (at least for me). A lot of information is repeated in multiple section. It could have used some more editorial cleanup.Overall, as a book that is intended to be a definitive "answer book" for skeptics, for me it has been a miserable failure.
-13points
1of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The New Evidence That Demands a Verdict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
teresa
This is a fantastic book and the fact that he brings out the Hebrew text makes it even better. The Bible is the most fantastic book to read and read about and everyone should remember that this is what we are reading about in this book, is God's Word which is quick and powerful, and sharper than any two edged sword.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The New Evidence That Demands a Verdict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Christopher Mabee
Encyclopedic in reviewing the evidence for Christianity. A must have for any Christian interested in evangelical work with logical, evidence based, apologetics as a defense of the faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The New Evidence That Demands a Verdict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Andrew Mclaughlin
Excellent to me! Though a reference for all things Christian, I find myself just reading it straight through. As a compendium of knowledge, the Evidence that Demands a Verdict is easy to read and remarkably precise. If you believe, but just need help with your disbelief and enjoy reading a dictionary/encyclopedia, this book is for you! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The New Evidence That Demands a Verdict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
David Toews
Great book for reference to confirm areas in your faith that are hard to nail down. Josh McDowell has a good way with words and explains even the toughest issues with ease. Great book, highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The New Evidence That Demands a Verdict
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Doanld Tracey
I tried to like this book. It just too disjointed and poorly organized for my tastes. It's just what says it is, not a book but a series of lecture notes; a good example of the "Oh yeah? Yeah?" school of apologetics and debate. Still, I hope others can find it useful.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The New Evidence That Demands a Verdict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Denise Sharp
I bought this as a gift for my husband and he hasn't put it down. It must be good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The New Evidence That Demands a Verdict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Leonard Castaneda
Every serious Christian should have this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>