Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Not This Time, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #3

Multnomah Books Not This Time, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #3

Relationships are fragile things, especially at Crossroads Crisis Center. Beth believes her best friend and business partner, Sara, is married to an unscrupulous man. Sara disagrees, and the resulting friction between the two women becomes almost unbearable for Beth. Tensions rise even more when Sara's husband goes missing and is presumed dead--and Beth appears guilty of his murder. In her attempt to prove herself innocent and help Sara see the truth, Beth calls on Joe, a special ops member and a man she loves although she shouldn't. Together, they discover an international link to NINA, the most feared terrorist group in the world, and realize the head of the group is among their closest friends; but which one?
Average Customer Rating:
4.256 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
18
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
37 out of 3995%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Not This Time, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #3
Review 1 for Not This Time, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Have you ever been betrayed or deceived by someone you trusted? I know I have, and it is very painful. That is one of the themes in this story. There are also extreme loyalty, love, confrontation, lies, and murder. Sound interesting yet?
Sara and Beth are best friends and business partners. They own a computer company and have made millions of dollars, but they both are very down-to-earth ladies. Their business works with the government sometimes. Sara has married Robert via a 5-week courtship and elopement. Beth thinks Robert is a slime ball who is just using Sara for her money. Beth is single for now. Sara has health issues that require close monitoring and Beth is always on-hand to look after her. Lately, Sara has been acting weird, but won’t discuss what’s going on. Beth is determined to find what’s happening. Then, Robert is kidnapped and a ransom is demanded.
Sara is hospitalized with a medical emergency, so that leaves Beth to pay the ransom. She doesn’t pay it to free Robert, but because she loves Sara. However, the ransom is never picked up. What’s going on? Is Robert already dead? Sara is able to leave the hospital after a few days. Beth has been keeping in contact with Joe, who works for the government watching spies and their organizations. Is that what is at work in this case? Beth and Joe talk frequently on the phone and develop a relationship. Beth has trouble trusting him, as well as herself, in their developing relationship. Is Joe the one God has brought to her as the one to spend her life with? Sara admits something is going on, but refuses to tell anyone about it. The lead detective on the case begins to have feelings for Sara, but doesn’t act on them as he knows she is married. Sara returns those feelings, but she won’t act on them either. As the situation comes to the highpoint, can these characters trust when lives are on the line?
There is lots of tension amongst the various characters, and danger abounds for some. The story flows nicely, and I thought the characters were fleshed out well. I’ll be reading more of this author’s books in the future for sure!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Not This Time, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Vicki Hinze definitely saved the best for last!

Date:July 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
TellNJasmine
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not This Time is the conclusion to her Crossroads Crisis Center series, and in my opinion is the best book of the series.
I, honestly, took a few days to read each of the first two books, but I finished Not This Time in about 24 hours. I went to bed and had a such hard time putting it down, it kept drawing me on and on. Just one more page. Just one more chapter. You get the idea.
The suspense angle in this book is very well written and paced nicely. The reader is drawn on, hardly taking a breath, to find out what happens next. It doesn't careen from one moment of danger into the next without pause or break. There are the quiet moments as well, where you get a chance to learn more about the characters, what motivates them, their thoughts and emotions. I was very happy with how the story played out. The author struck a good and enjoyable balance between action and emotion.
I absolutely liked Beth and Joe. They are “crazy” about each other and it's fun to watch.. eerrr...read. Both of them value friends and family, having 'adopted' people into their circles of those they call family.
Sara is Beth's best friend. They have a lot of history together. Beth is willing to do whatever it takes, no matter how dangerous, to protect and help her friend. Just how far will she have to go?
Joe is pretty closed mouth about his family, but his former spy group The Shadow Watchers are as close to family as a guy can get. He leads a life of danger and now NINA has a price on his head, just what will it take to beat them and save the woman he loves?
Don't miss this exciting book! Make sure you have a long quiet evening ahead so you won't have to stop reading, that is, IF you can stop.
(I received this book from the Publisher through The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Not This Time, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More Crossroads

Date:June 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
msharry
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third of the Crossroad Crisis Center books. NINA is still causing trouble, and this time Beth and Sara and their software company are the targets. Through all the plot twists and turns, the reader is hard pressed to decide whether several of the characters are good or bad as several are not what they appear to be. Deaths are threatened, kidnappings orchestrated, and terrorist attacks are planned as the good guys rush to stop NINA operatives in their little village. Through it all, God provides comfort and strength to believers, and a murderer finds redemption. Very exciting and satisfying book with all the Crossroads characters ones with whom I'd like to be friends.
I received this book from The Book Club Network in exchange for an honest review. The opinions are solely mine
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Not This Time, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Full of Twists and Turns

Date:May 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
I really enjoyed this third book in The Crossroads Crisis Series. All the characters from the last two books are back and the story picks up from where the last book ended with very little time lapse.
Our main characters Joe and Beth have great chemistry together as they navigate their way through a maze of mystery, dodging NINA's attempts to disrupt their lives and those they love, while trying to unravel the hidden truth of who is behind the abduction of Sara's husband.
Author Vicki Hinze has woven a story of suspense and mystery that will keep you turning the pages only to find that nothing is as it seems. You will not be disappointed with Not This Time!
I was given a copy of this novel by bookfun.org in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Not This Time, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Last book in a great series!

Date:August 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
AddLibrarian
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not This Time by Vicki Hinze is the conclusion *sob* to her Crossroads Crisis Center series. Hinze writes top-notch romantic suspense. She tackles tough topics including human trafficking and domestic violence, and her characters are great. Hinze does a fantastic job with her romantic leads. She knows how to write swoon-worthy heroes! Her bad guys *semi-spoiler alert* (and gals) *end semi-spoiler* are also very well done, even sympathetic at times. I was really hoping that this series would be longer, but Hinze has a new title, Survive the Night, coming in October from Love Inspired Suspense that looks like the first in a new series so Yay!!!
Read-a-like Authors:
Dee Henderson
Colleen Coble
DiAnn Mills
Lynette Eason
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Not This Time, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Read the first two books first

Date:July 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not This Time is the third book in the Crossroads Crisis Center series, and it gets straight into the action when Jeff Meyers arrives late to a wedding reception and finds all the guests lying lifeless on the ground. Unfortunately, this is about where the confusion started, as my first reaction was that this was some kind of elaborate joke, and my second was that the author had just killed off fifty people. Neither reaction was correct: it was a deliberate attack but there was only one (accidental) fatality, as the guests had actually been knocked out by a gas.
It is determined that this is an attack by NINA (Nihilists in Anarchy), who have been behind two previous incidents in Seagrove Village, Florida (I assume these were the subject of the earlier books in the series). It is then discovered that Robert Trayton has been kidnapped, and when his wife, Sara, is admitted to hospital it falls to her business partner, Beth, to assist the police and come up with the ransom money.
The first chapter is from the point of view of Jeff Meyers, and the second from the viewpoint of two policemen, who find a blood-soaked mattress in an abandoned house that was previously used by NINA in their criminal activities. The third chapter then introduces us to Beth, Sara, and everyone else of any importance to the plot. There were a lot of characters, with confusing relationships, and it took several chapters to actually work out who and what the story was about (it turned out that Jeff and the blood-soaked mattress are both sub-plots).
This, frankly, seemed strange. Most modern novels make an effort to introduce the main character in the opening pages, and, where there is a romantic subplot, to introduce the hero quickly as well (we meet Joe in Chapter Four), but Joe and Beth don’t actually see each other in person until well into the story, which makes it difficult to for the author to develop a convincing romantic interest. I liked Beth, I liked Joe (and I particularly liked his Cajun pet name for Beth), and I liked the idea of Beth and Joe, but their romance could have been better.
I did enjoy Not This Time, but I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone who hasn’t already read and enjoyed Forget Me Not and Deadly Ties. I still have questions about aspects of the suspense part of the plot, and the romance, while sweet, wasn’t enough to make up for the confusing beginning.
Thanks to WaterBrook Multnomah and BloggingforBooks for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Not This Time, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

NOT THIS TIME by Vicki Hinze is a suspenseful read

Date:July 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Eleanor Anders
Location:USA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Look:
Nuptials are interrupted by a gas attack leaving one dead, and the wedding cake decoration had the groom removed. How did NINA perpetrate this attack right under everyone's nose?
The answer is beyond clear, but one thing is for sure; a trader is among them. Betrayals, alliances, and fear all lead up to death, kidnapping, and torture. One of the wedding day survivors knows something awful is happening.
Beth knows there's something Sara isn't saying, and her she's acting more freaked out about her no good, husband's whereabouts than of the attack that killed Clyde and left almost the whole town unconscious. Robert's probably having a fling in a hotel somewhere while Sara's driving herself sick with worry. Not only is she acting strange, Sara's dressing strange. Why this woman won't take off an obviously painful pair of high heels, Beth just don't know, but it's most likely due to Robert's tastes and influence.
Over Robert these two women agree to disagree but mutual tensions over the marriage has taken its toll on the relationship. Until Robert Tayton, Beth and Sara were closer than any blood siblings could be. Sara's parents died and Beth's family grew to be Sara's. Jointly, they run their own successful firm, which contracts with many government agencies for software and assistance. However, Robert has even seeped into their business life as he now occupies an office at SaBe.
Notwithstanding, Sara's cryptic messages and just plain lack of work inside the firm had brought Beth to a painful decision.
Inside her briefcase, Beth is carrying legal paperwork to keep Robert out of the firm. But when Sara's spouse has been kidnapped, and the police suspect Beth of his disappearance, and Sara's been hospitalized for a near fatal asthma attack, when is the right time to get it signed? Though she has a former Shadow Watcher on her side, Joe wasn't something Beth could think about now. He could have any woman he wanted and she didn't want another broken heart, until Robert's blood is found in quantities that spell death. Is Beth going to be the main suspect of murder?
My Take:
NOT THIS TIME by Vicki Hinze is a suspenseful read!
Between it's pages you'll find the thrill of suspense to keep you turning pages, a mystery you'll want to solve, and a full romance you'll want to see through to the end.
Vicki Hinze's characters draw from their faith, have flaws, and make you want to know more about how they got here and what came before this point in their lives. This author's backdrop of Seagrove Village is a far from the idealized setting of small towns, and you'll find it fraught with international terror and murders. Vicki Hinze uses prayer warriors, strong characters, and faith against a ring of terror. She also demonstrates not everyone is all bad or all good and sometimes bad things happen but good can still come from it.
I enjoyed meeting Sara and Beth. Sara's fragility is endearing, and her budding strength amazing. However, Beth's strong personality has it own flaws. I watched her go from unmovable iron to a form of steel that can bend and from a woman who is scared of love to one finally accepting the gift. The townspeople are a mix of personalities. These folks will make you want to read the other books in the Crossroad Crisis Series to get to know the stories behind their stories.
Although, NOT THIS TIME is a stand-alone novel, you will want to catch up with the other titles in the series, DEADLY TIES (2011) and FORGET ME NOT (2010). ***Though the publisher provides the free book, I offer the opinion.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Not This Time, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Oh me, Oh my! Couldn't put it down!

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
sawmillsmedia
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am usually very careful to read a series in order... but I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review and didn't realize at first that it was third in a series. It took a chapter or so to get to know all the characters and follow the plot... but then, I couldn't put it down. Forget the housework, forget supper, forget sleep! I NEED to keep reading!
Suspense, understanding, love, hate, abusive relationships, Godly friendships, trust, doubt... the emotions of the characters are realistic and understandable. The book includes up-to-date technology and is believable!
I WILL read book one and two of the Crossroads Crisis Series this summer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Not This Time, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not This Time

Date:June 6, 2012
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
+Not This Time is a great summer read. The 3rd book in a series by Vicki Hinze this has a storyline full of mystery and suspense.
Sara and Beth are friends who have built a multi-million dollar business together. However, after attending a wedding where everyone is knocked unconscious only to awake to find Sara’s husband missing; they know the situation is bigger than they can handle on their own.
Hang on for a wild ride where no one knows who to trust!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Not This Time, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not This Time

Date:May 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Middleburg, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sara and Beth built a multi-million dollar business and act as anti-terrorism consultants. Now their business and friendship are strained because Beth is leery of Sara’s husband. When he goes missing and is verified kidnapped, authorities consider Beth their prime suspect. Then their hometown, Seagrove Village, Florida, is rocked by an act of terrorism, and Beth doesn’t know who to trust. Someone close to her is connected to the attack, but who? Is there a connection to Crossroads Crisis Center? In the midst of the confusion and fear, Beth finds herself attracted to a man from her past, the former Shadow Watcher, Joe. She knows she shouldn’t fall in love with him–she can’t resist or even explain their bond. And as her world unravels around her, she wonders…Will the truth set her free or ruin her life? Is it possible to be pushed beyond redemption?
This is the 3rd and I believe final book in the Crossroads Crisis Center Series by Vicki Hinze. I've enjoyed the series, beginning with "Forget Me Not" and then "Deadly Ties". For this to be centered around an idyllic oceanside village, they sure have their share of intrigue and danger. After the first book, I would have moved from this town! This story revolves around Beth and Sara, the owners of SaBe and Sara's husband, Robert. Robert is kidnapped and held for ransom. Is he faking the kidnapping or is the terrorist group, NINA back for more? From the way that "Deadly Ties" ended, it's a safe bet that the terrorist group NINA was going to be returning and causing chaos once again. Mark and his crew of Special Ops members are back in this novel as Joe finally makes his feelings known to Beth and her tough facade begins to break down towards him as well.
This book is not one that can be read by itself, so if you are interested in purchasing this book, you will need to get the other 2 books and read them first. There's a lot of characters that are carried over from the earlier books and you have to know their history and relationships in order for any of this to make sense. There are times in the book where there's so much going on, that it kinda bogs down, but not enough to totally ruin the story. All of the danger and intrigue that have been relevant in the other novels have culminated in this final book. There's a nice letter at the end that wraps everything neatly up in a bow, which is a great way to end the series. I enjoyed the fact that for every mention of evil there was always something good to overshadow it. This series is strong on faith and redemption, two traits that we should carry with us at all times.
In the end, from this guy's perspective, this book has plenty of suspense and intrigue to satisfy any guy's interest and just enough romance for him to remember that special woman in his life
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Not This Time, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Intensely Suspenseful

Date:May 18, 2012
Suspenseful from the beginning to the end, Not This Time by Vicki Hinze will keep you turning pages to see what happens next. I didn't realize when I started that this was the third book in the series, and it would probably have helped me understand a bit more about what was going on in the beginning. However, several chapters in, I was caught up on the past and totally into the book. I can't really summarize the plot without giving key things away, but let me say that I didn't figure out what was going on until the very last few pages. Not This Time was intensely suspenseful with a perfect blend of romance, and I look forward to reading more from Vicki in the future! [4 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah's Blogging for Books program in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Not This Time, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
dorthy
Location:illinois
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good story. Hard to get a handle on the plot at first.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Not This Time, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Action-Packed Thriller -- the end of a series

Date:April 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not This Time is the first book I've read by Vicki Hinze, and I'm glad to have discovered her work. This is the third book in a series, and I felt a little lost in the early pages because I had not read the first two books. But once I got into this thriller, the plot and the pace were more than enough to keep me interested in the story.
Beth and Sara are friends -- in fact, they look at themselves as sisters -- who run a very successful software business together. They find themselves and many of their friends involved in a frightening terrorist situation, which leaves them not knowing who or what to trust. Sara's husband, a man Beth has had serious misgivings about since he appeared on the scene, has disappeared, and no one is really sure whether he is a victim or a member of the organization bringing terror to the village. Beth is determined not to put her heart at risk (after having it broken before) but finds herself falling for a member of the special ops forces who is involved in trying to get to the bottom of the dangerous situation.
Not This Time is an action-packed page turner that I didn't want to put down until I finished the book. From the very first page, there is mystery and intrigue that quickly draws you into the story. I would recommend, though, that you read Forget Me Not and Deadly Ties first. I now have both those books on order so I can learn the whole story.
You can read the first chapter here.
(This book was provided free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for my honest review.)
Vicki Hinze is an award-winning author of multiple novels including Forget Me Not and Deadly Ties. Hinze’s willingness to take risks in writing and genre has earned her a reputation for trail-blazing skill. She holds a Master of Arts in Creative Writing and a Doctorate in Philosophy, Theocentric Business & Ethics and served as vice president on the International Thriller Writers Board of Directors. She lives in Florida with her husband.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Not This Time, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this thriller a lot. It opened up right in the middle of all the action. So you know you have a big action packed book. The characters for Seagrove Village are a close knit community that is at a lose as to why someone would target them? Who could it be? Could it be one of their own?
While this is book 3 in the Crossroads Crisis Center you won't be lost or wondering what the author is talking about. While the relationships are built through out the books, the author does a wonderful job and given you enough of the back story so you can follow along.
thank you Blogging for Books for sending me this book to review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Not This Time, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not This Time, the third book in the Crossroads Crisis Center series by Vicki Hinze, is an excellent book. It was filled with suspense, kept the reader’s attention to the very end, and was filled with plot twists. I had not read the first two books in the series, but this story stands alone very well.
Beth Dawson is highly suspicious of her best friend and business partner’s husband. When a whole group of her friends endures a chemical attack at a wedding and Sara’s husband is kidnapped, Beth becomes a suspect. While she tries to be strong for Sara, a whole scenario of twists and turns happen to keep the reader’s full attention. Beth turns to her friend, Joe, for help and support. Her friend, Nora, also is suddenly missing. Those Beth thought were friends are apparently not as friendly as she once thought, but seeds of faith that Beth plants in one of them begin to grow and make a huge difference in the outcome of the situation.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and may even go back and read the first two in the series! I would certainly recommend it to anyone who loves a good romantic suspense novel.
Kara
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Not This Time, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Definite must read

Date:March 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
kelisni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
What an intriguing book! Vicki Hinze didn't pull any punches and started off with a bang. I've never read a faster moving book than this one.
Relationships are fragile things, especially at Crossroads Crisis Center. Beth believes her best friend and business partner, Sara, is married to an unscrupulous man. Sara disagrees, and the resulting friction between the two women becomes almost unbearable for Beth. Tensions rise even more when Sara's husband goes missing and is presumed dead--and Beth appears guilty of his murder. In her attempt to prove herself innocent and help Sara see the truth, Beth calls on Joe, a special ops member and a man she loves although she shouldn't. Together, they discover an international link to NINA, the most feared terrorist group in the world, and realize the head of the group is among their closest friends; but which one?
I didn't realize that this is book #3 in a series. You don't necessarily have to read the other 2 books to know what's going on. As I said earlier this was a fast moving book. I had a hard time putting it down as every page seemed to have action on it. One theme that seemed to be weaved through the book was trust. Not only trust in those closest to you, but ultimately trust in God because He does know what's going on and cares about you. I would definitely recommend this to anyone to read! Job well done Ms. Hinze!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Not This Time, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #3
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not a good stand-alone book

Date:March 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Teddy G
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not This Time, by Vicki Hinze is the third book in a series. In this third installment, best friends Sara and Beth have to work together to rescue Sara's husband, Robert, who has been kidnapped. But is Sara what she seems? Is Robert? Is Beth capable of harming her best friend's husband, whom she openly dislikes? The authorities think that maybe she is, even as she works with them to find Robert, and the people behind his alleged kidnapping. Everyone in the village is either in danger, under suspicion, or both. In the midst of the chaos, Beth continues to fall harder for Joe, a man who comes with his own secrets, and who is trying his best to get past the hurt in Beth's past to show her he can be trusted.
It took me longer to get interested in this book than usual. Part of that was not realizing it was part of a series until I had already begun reading. The characters seemed to have backgrounds that I wasn't familiar with, and there were references to events in the past that I can only assume were covered in previous books. Also, it felt weird to me to keep talking about the "village," but that grew less weird as the book went on.
As a reader, I don't like when it feels like an author is deliberately obtuse about information. This story felt like it was working hard to keep the reader from guessing the mystery, and that bothered me a lot. A well-written plot shouldn't have to give false leads, or continue to hint at information that the author refuses to reveal. At that point, I begin to stop caring about the details.
I would give this book 2.5 stars. I don't recommend it as a stand alone book, but perhaps, with more background on the characters, it might make a decent series.
I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah publishers as part of their Blogging for Books progam, in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Not This Time, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

NOT THIS TIME a Crossroads Crisis Center Series

Date:March 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
LAURABO
Location:SPRINGFIELD, MO
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WaterBrook Multnomah has introduced me to an addiction I’m afraid. I just finished the latest book in the Crossroads Crisis Center series by Vicki Hinze. NOT THIS TIME is an enthralling, spellbinding, compelling book that I finished in little over one day.
It is the culmination of intrigue surrounding a community where an international terrorist ring named NINA is trying to take over. Sara and Beth are two women who have created and own a multi-million dollar software business and one of their primary customers is Quantico. Sara has married a man Beth does not trust which has put a strain on their relationship.
When NINA again makes its presence felt, it puts the whole community on edge and everyone is suspect. Who can you trust? Who is Raven? You may be surprised but not disappointed in the outcome.
I loved this book, now I just have to go back and read the first two in the series. I am captured by the writing style of Ms. Hinze and will definitely read more of her books. I have no qualms about recommending this book to anyone who likes a good mystery with a little romance thrown in.
I received this book from WaterBrook Multnomah free for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Not This Time, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good action, writing technique less welcome

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is the third in the Crossroads Crisis Center series. If you have not read the other two, this one may be a difficult read for you. Much of the impact of the novel relies on action in the previous books.
In this novel, Sara and Beth have created a multi-million dollar business. Sara fell head over heels for and married Robert Tayton, someone Beth intensely dislikes and does not trust.
The novel opens with a terrorist attack by NINA (a terrorist organization seen in the previous books). Then Robert is kidnapped. Sara is preventing Beth from getting close and supporting her in this time of need. Beth knows there is something strange going on in Sara's life, something Sara will not talk about.
The tension heightens as it becomes evident that someone in Beth's acquaintance is a NINA operative. Add to the mix Joe, part of a secret investigative team. The possible romance between Joe and Beth must first make it through their previous hurts.
I have mixed emotions about this book. I liked the action. There is much going on that kept my interest. Hinze's writing style is not my favorite. Sometimes I'll read through a dialogue and what was supposed to be communicated in the choppy sentences just mystifies me.
And she frequently uses the “shock at the end of a chapter” technique that actually comes to nothing. Here is an example. Joe and an antagonist are fighting. “A gunshot fired. Joe went down and they fought no more...” (206) The next chapter starts with other characters. Six pages later, we get back to Joe. “The special phone vibrated at Joe's hip. Omega One. Joe pulled off Highway 98 and onto the shoulder.” (213) Joe's riding his motorcycle, alive and well. We find out on the next page that a woman fired the gun the antagonist had dropped – fired at the ceiling. The bad guy took off running. Now, keeping the reader in suspense for several pages, thinking Joe is shot, might be acceptable literary technique. But after several of these, I get a bit to disliking it, actually, quite a bit.
So, the action is good. It's an exciting novel. I'd change the writing technique a bit. But that is just my preference.
There is a Reader's Guide at the back of the book for discussion groups.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Not This Time, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

not this time review

Date:March 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Not This Time" by Vicki Hinze is is the 3rd book in the Crossroads Crisis Center series. It is a Christian fiction. This book stars Beth and Sara. Sara was orphaned as a teen and went to stay with Beth's, her best friend, parents. As adults, the two have their own company that aids with the government to solve crimes. I think. This is not one of those books that you can read without having read the other two in the series. The first several chapters were complete confusion trying to catch the reader up to what was going on. It is a continuous series that must be read in order. So if you are interested start off with her book "Forget Me Not". However, this one is a very good thriller. It starts off fast and goes fast to the end. It is one that makes you WANT to read the other two, not because you need to, but because you can't stand the thought of not knowing what all is going on.
This book starts off with a party that has been attacked by a terrorist group and goes on with Sara's husband being kidnapped. Beth is the prime suspect in the kidnapping. Beth must solve the crime's before she is labled. I received "Not This Time" for free from www.bloggingforbooks.com.
http://vickihinze.com/books
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>