Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Luminary - eBook

Thomas Nelson Luminary - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Luminary - eBook
Review 1 for Luminary - eBook
This review is from#2: Luminary.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Luminary (The Second Book in the Anomaly trilogy)

Date:February 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nicki
Location:Missouri, Mo
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Luminary, the second book in the Anomaly trilogy, by Krista McGee was awesome!
After escaping an underground annihilation chamber in the State, Thalli, Berk, Rhen, and John find themselves fleeing across the former United States, aboveground for the first time. As the defectors cross the forgotten landscape, the three youths see things they had only read about on screens: horses, rain, real books—and a colony of unsanctioned survivors living the ancient way in a town called New Hope.
But a city close by to their village, called Athens, is threating their lives by raiding New Hope to steal the people's crops without regard to their injuries and suffering. And is ruled by an extremely violent murderous king who will stop at nothing to claim the land of New Hope by war.
So to save the village she has come to know and love she volunteers for a mission to be a spy for New Hope’s violent neighbor, Athens, to make peace. But her confusion mounts as the supposedly ruthless Prince Alex turns out to be kind and charming.
The time for her to decide what to believe is now . . . because the State is closing in.
In my opinion it was way better then the first book, Anomaly. It started out really slow, and her mood in the very beginning was a little annoying because she was extremely pessimistic. And I felt she was being a bit exaggerated about the whole thing. After all everyone is there to help each other and she was still alive because her friends saved her. I think it would have been more fitting if she was at least a little more grateful.
But in the middle it really picked up speed so much I could hardly put it down! And when I had to stop reading I could not stop thinking about it! It had a lot of drama and you will have a hard time guessing which way the story will go. There are also a few new characters you will not soon forget, and will love each and every one! And I love how the author expresses the characters facial expressions making it feel as if you are really there seeing them for yourself.
Though I still feel the author portrayed Thalli's prospective of faith overly elaborated. But I do love how John is strong in what he believes and helping Thalli throughout the books- it was just overly done by the author.
I can't wait to read the conclusion of the trilogy, Revolutionary, which is due July 2014!
I have received this book from Booksneeze, now Booklook, free for reviewing it and giving my honest opinion. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Luminary - eBook
This review is from#2: Luminary.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really pulls you in to the story

Date:January 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
alidanelle
Location:GA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Luminary
By Krista McGee
The second book in the Anomaly series, Luminary, continues with the escape of Thalli, Ber, John, and Rhen from the State. They find their way to New Hope and begin to adjust to life above ground and away from the State. Then, the nearby city of Athens attacks New Hope to take food back to their city that focuses on scientific advancements. Thalli goes to Athens to learn what she can about their vicious king and see if she can negotiate peace, only to end up drugged and promised in marriage to the prince! Throughout the book, Thalli remembers what she has learned from John about the Designer and learns to put her trust in a higher power.
I would highly recommend this book to anyone that enjoys science fiction. It is just believable enough to think that it could happen in our society and constantly keeps you guessing as to what will happen. The twist at the end will make you ready for the third book!
http://www.thomasnelson.com/luminary.html
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Luminary - eBook
This review is from#2: Luminary.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fantastic continuation in this dystopian world

Date:January 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kate
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The world that Krista Mcgee has created is interesting and detailed and keeps expanding with each book. In Anomaly, we only see a small amount of this world with the State. Now, we get to see what is left of a world ravaged by a massive war. Though desolate, the people are strong. In these two communities, there is so much that is different. In New Hope, they live as a community with their elders. In Athens, they are ruled by a king and his line and fear is the driving factor of submission.
We have several questions answered in Luminary which was great! Instead of waiting till the end to have all reveled, these revelations helped move the story along. It also offered a an opportunity for Thalli to learn from and question what she already knows. As the story progresses, her emotions and her knowledge grow, and you are able to watch her morph into a stronger person, both mentally and spiritually. Thalli has many questions and she does her best to find answers.
With Thalli, we have the return of Berk, Rhen, and John. Each offers much to the story. John is a sweet older man who just wants to share his faith. He has hope and is thankful to be free from his prison. Rhen, even though is still the quieter one of the group offers more in Luminary. She is slowly coming out of her submissive state and is offering her knowledge and help on her own and taking a little more of a lead. Berk is still strong and determined to lead and protect this little group, however when he is faced with physical injury, his intelligence can't seem to help him with Thalli determination to help.
I can't wait to see how this trilogy will end. The ending of Luminary left me with even more questions and I can't wait to find out the answers!
Thank you to Booksneeze, I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Luminary - eBook
This review is from#2: Luminary.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A thrilling sequel!
Back in the summer, Anomaly, the first in this series, was released. McGee left us wondering what would happen next as we waited for Luminary, and I was not disappointed in the least! She took the story in a direction that I generally anticipated, but she executed it much better than my expectations. I'm really looking forward to seeing how she wraps everything up with Revolutionary (July 2014).
I, like many of my friends, fell in love with Thalli not very far into the first book. Her character really evolved and she grew, not just physically but emotionally and mentally under the mentoring/teaching of John. Due to all this change in the first book, I was really intrigued to see what McGee was going to do with Thalli next. The end result? Thalli remains flawed, but watching her continue to grow into the young woman the Designer wants her to be reads very realistic. She's doing the best she can to trust in the Designer's plan for her, just like we are. I found her character more relatable in Luminary than I did in the first book.
Once again, McGee leaves us waiting. Sadly, the wait is a little longer this time, but I'm confident it will be worth it. :-) Luminary is filled with suspense, faith, and more of our favorite characters.
For those looking for a clean, Christian, dystopian novel, I really recommend they give the Anomaly Trilogy a try. This book is aimed at YA (young adult) readers.
I received this book from the Booksneeze program in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Luminary - eBook
This review is from#2: Luminary.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great sequel!

Date:January 11, 2014
After reading Anomaly this summer, I could hardly wait to read Luminary! I got my hands on a copy last week and moved it to the top of my TBR stack. While Thalli was a little ... whiny ... at the beginning, I soon got over my frustration with her and got swept up in the drama of their escape from the State. It was fascinating to read about three characters who were experience life as we know it (relatively speaking anyway) for the first time. McGee's creativity in describing things like home and parents and marriage and horses from the perspective on people who have never seen nor experienced these things was brilliant!
My favorite part of the story was seeing John and Thalli's friendship grow as Thalli came to know the Designer (God) better. John encouraged Thalli in so many ways. I also enjoyed seeing how Psalm 23 was woven throughout the book in subtle ways. I also enjoyed the fact that I never really figured out what was going to happen next. There were a couple of characters that I'm still not sure which "side" they're on. Ha!
With a huge cliffhanger ending, I'm really excited for the conclusion, Revolutionary, later this year! Krista McGee is a talented writer, and I highly recommend her stories for readers of all ages! [4 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Luminary - eBook
This review is from#2: Luminary.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a GREAT Sequel!!

Date:January 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wman4JC
Location:miami, fl
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DISCOVER. RESIST. HOPE.
My Comments
Wow, this book was everything I’d hoped it would be and more! Thalli, Berk, Rhen and John have escaped below ground and are finally venturing into the unknown searching for survivors. Berk has made all the necessary preparations for them to go two weeks on their own. Thalli is overwhelmed with different emotions, but she is mostly fearful that Monitors will be sent after them.
Thalli is very negative and fearful at first, she is in disbelief that they’ve gotten away so easily but at the same time it’s not the moment for celebrating yet. The four of them have no idea what they will face and traveling into the unknown for the first time (except John who keeps the morale of the group up with his faith) is the bravest thing these teens have ever done. They have also left the Scientists in a desperate situation, how far will they really get? This is the most human Thalli has ever felt and it’s incredible seeing the world through her eyes.
The world is unsafe and The Ten are the only good……this is what Thalli has known her whole life before she escapes. Now she will learn the opposite is true for both the world and The Ten.
What Thalli sees/smells/feels for the first time:
the moon
wind
wolves
a dog
rain
horses
cows
oranges
Berk keeps his distance throughout most of the book, his part in this sequel is much less. John is overjoyed at this new freedom and talking to people who are not scientists. I thought his role was much larger and more precious in this story. Thalli discovers what it means to feel jealous and it’s not pleasant.
It’s really difficult to make a sequel that has the heart of the story intact and the actual story is just as interesting as the original or even MORE interesting. I believe McGee achieves this for Luminary and then some. Thalli is still seeking peace for all survivors in this book and she takes risks thinking of others before herself yet she makes it clear that she’s no hero. She’s tired of death and evil leaders who make themselves look good while destroying innocent lives, I was amazed by what she is able to overcome and how her faith is built up in the process. Even as an anomaly, she is not meant to live a normal life by any means.
There is death and sadness in this book, but there is definitely hope and freedom as well. Just when I thought all had been resolved, another twist comes about making me eager to read Book 3, Revolutionary, when it comes out in July. I have no idea how this series will be concluded, but I look forward to going with Thalli all the way.
I want to thank Booksneeze and Thomas Nelson for the review copy provided. I was not required to write a positive review. The thoughts expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Luminary - eBook
This review is from#2: Luminary.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
StoryGirl
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was, at the beginning, a little slow for me: I found Thalli rather unlikable and the other characters seemed a little dull. However, after the first few chapters, the story really picked up (and I began to like Thalli again). It was very different in tone than the previous book, but it fit this story. It felt reminiscent of some instances in the Old Testament in the books of Judges and 1&2 Kings.
The one thing I didn't like was the beginnings of a love triangle. Nooooo, I felt like screaming, Luke-Skywalker-like. What is it with YA fiction and love triangles? However, though I didn't care for that aspect of the book, it didn't detract from my enjoyment of the story so much that it ruined it for me. I liked the way the Luminary gave closure to the main conflict of its story but still ended on a cliffhanger. I'm definitely curious for the next book, Revolutionary, and can't wait until it comes out this summer!
I received this book for free from booksneeze.com in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Luminary - eBook
This review is from#2: Luminary.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thrilling

Date:December 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
cici
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Luminary (Anomaly) by Krista McGee is the continued saga of Thalli. Book 1 was a thrilling read that I knew I just had to grab a copy of the next adventures in Thalli's life and this book was even better than the first. You are grabbed from the first sentence and taken into a world that seems impossible to exist and yet, for the briefest time, it does. I was happily lost in this new United States where Thalli is experiencing a life she only saw in pictures. It was an awakening for her and me, the reader, because I have been known to take life for granted and this story made me realize life is beautiful. Thalli may have to fight for way in a world she knows not how to live in but the struggle is worth the effort in the end. At times I feel a real connection to these characters because of their relatability, I was thoroughly engrossed in each of their parts in the story as a whole. All in all this is the kind of story that you can lose yourself in and enjoy the time away from the day to day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.