Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Destiny Image The Untold Story of the New Testament Church

Destiny Image The Untold Story of the New Testament Church

A scholar of the New Testament Church and a forerunner of modern church renewal, Frank Viola casts his gaze back at the birth pangs of first century Christianity in this book. Using a "you-are-there" approach, this epic volume gives readers a first-hand account of how the witness of Christ's testimony impacted the world. In the era right after the Day of Pentecost, the power of Holy Spirit prompted a massive harvest of souls yet a great persecution surged against those preaching Good News to the lost. Now, get up-close with apostles Paul, Peter, and John and learn of their personal struggles to fight for the faith amidst a backdrop of in-house strife and foreign tyranny.
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Untold Story of the New Testament Church
Review 1 for The Untold Story of the New Testament Church
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pleased with this product.

Date:September 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Fred
Location:Nova Scotia, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book has helped with my understanding the New Testament on a chronologically basis.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Untold Story of the New Testament Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sound doctrine

Date:July 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kingeddie
Location:Lumby , B. C.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a different approach to my daily bible reading ; which I call ' my daily bread'. I have a new understanding of why the letters were written to the believers and by getting the proper context I'm less apt to judge myself and others. As well I'm reading whole books in context instead of a few verses or a chapter. This again is confirmation that the Word of God is alive. Lord Bless you all, love Ed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Untold Story of the New Testament Church
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Erin
I found this book to be a great resource on early church history. Not only does the author tell the story of the New Testament Church in chronological order, but he adds a wealth of other tidbits to go with it. At the end of each chapter there are extensive end notes and references to scripture and history so you can verify everything. This isn't just some man's opinion. I found myself getting out my Bible and looking up the scripture references. I learned a lot about biblical culture. I wish I had this book when I first came to the Lord. I realize that although I have been a Christian for almost 25 years, there is so much I still don't know. I have a new respect for Paul and what he went through while planting the early church. I always thought he came across as so arrogant in his writings, but now I understand what and who it was that he was contending with. My view is completely changed. I would recommend this book to any new Christian that wants to understand more about the history of the early church or if they just want to understand the background of each letter. It was well worth the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Untold Story of the New Testament Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kathy Huff
This book focuses in on one event in relation to the following event and reads like a real life story throughout the New Testament. With this book, the New Testament becomes a brand new experience to the reader; each part of the story intertwines within the order of time in which the events took place.The chronological order and also the sharp focus of this book brings the New Testament alive, like a broken-up puzzle put back together. Behold, What a picture!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Untold Story of the New Testament Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Anthony Verderame
This is a fantastic book. It is concise and simple yet very profound. Although I was aware of the chronology, etc. I absolutely loved how he put it all together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Untold Story of the New Testament Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
John Blass
I've been teaching New Testament Survey for over thirty years and this book is one of the best treatments of the New Testament that I have come across. For the last two years, I've made it required reading in my courses. The book gives a fresh reading of the New Testament that's based on chronology. Sources are cited well and the conclusions are logical and historically grounded. I would recommend this book to anyone who wishes to understand the historical underpinnings of the New Testament documents.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Untold Story of the New Testament Church
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Peggy
I was intrigued by the concept of this book. I have been studying the New Testament chronologically for about three years, so thought this would be a valuable adjunct. Sadly, I found many statements that contradict the New Testament record and no supporting data to validate them. I usually find good information, even when I do not agree with an authors argument. I cannot do so in this case. Some of the errors reflect a lack of understanding of Scripture while others are speculation presented as fact. NOT RECOMMENDED!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Untold Story of the New Testament Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
M. Henry
Most Christians have no idea what really happened in the first-century church. In fact, we have many misconceptions about the early church because our approach to the New Testament is misguided. The reason for this is simple, yet mostly unknown. The books of the New Testament are not arranged in chronological order! Further, because our New Testament is not in chronological order, we cannot understand the letters from the perspective of the people who received them. Nor from the perspective of those who wrote them. We are ignorant of the cultural, the social, and the political environment behind the New Testament books. Instead, we learn chapters and verses, out of context. This is one reason why there are so many divisions in the church today. It is because anyone can prove any doctrine or practice by cutting and pasting verses together when they are lifted out of their historical, chronological context. There is now a remedy for this. Frank Viola has written a masterful New Testament handbook that puts the entire first-century story together in an understandable way. In, The Untold Story of the New Testament Church, Frank takes all the New Testament books and puts them in their proper chronological order. He then "fills in" all the historical details behind each book, giving us a complete picture of what really happened in the first century. The book of Acts is weaved together with all of the New Testament letters, giving us a first-hand "you-are-there" narrative of the entire saga of the early church. The book includes maps, dates, and much more. After reading you feel as if you were transported back in time. Now each NT book comes alive, you understand what is going on, why Paul or James or Peter is writing these letters. This book revolutionized my understanding of the New Testament, and I believe it will do the same for all who read it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Untold Story of the New Testament Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
Russell
WOW! Wonderful book! If you have been confused on how the NT fits together and what the context, situation, occasion and purpose behind the writing of the NT letters then you've got to read this book! I wish this book would have been around years ago. Every Believer should read this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Untold Story of the New Testament Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
David D. Flowers
Viola's epic volume "The Untold Story of the New Testament Church" is absolutely the best little guide to understanding the order of events in the life of the first-century ekklesia! Viola relies on the scholarship of F.F. Bruce, Donald Guthrie, and A.T. Robinson for the dating of the books. He wonderfully weaves together the book of Acts with the Epistles to create one amazing story. Viola follows the story of the church according to Acts and successfully places the epistles in their historical-cultural context. Enabling the reader to better apply the Scriptures to their life. The New Testament comes alive in movie form as Viola uses some of the best N.T. scholarship to reassemble the entire story of the church as it happened in the beginning! I found that this book was able to give me deep insight into the lives and the circumstances behind the writings of the letters of the Apostles. Viola helps the reader along with his use of maps and background information on people and places. His book is easy to read. You follow his graphic retelling of Acts and stop to read an epistle at every point in time the book was believed to have been written. His book is fluid and he makes little to no assumptions about the chronology of the events. I connected with Paul's trials and tribulations in ways I never had before. Many times I had to stop reading just to reflect on the sufferings of Paul and ask myself if I could have endured what he endured. From the conflict and turmoil of the immature and immoral at Corinth... to the Judaizers and "super apostles" who opposed Paul at every turn... you will not want to stop reading until the story is complete.However, as Viola points out, the story is not complete. The Bride of Christ is still in a battle bewteen good and evil. The story of the early church is a reminder of the trials that are inevitable for the Christian. Yet... the Bride will endure and will persevere unto the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Untold Story of the New Testament Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2006
Customer Avatar
Darla Hutton
I have been a Christian since I was a child and grew up learning the stories of the Bible. It is only after reading this book that my entire view of scripture has been re-adjusted and changed. The Bible is now a living book for me. For the first time I actually feel like I undertand Paul's letters. I just read the reviews and am unsure why Amazon put that critical review as the spotlight especially when there have been so many positive reviews on this book. I too have read Gene Edwards and this book is nothing like them. If you want to understand Paul's letters this is the book to get.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.