Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Snapshot - eBook

Thomas Nelson Snapshot - eBook

Federal prosecutor Lisa Waldren's estranged father wants her to investigate a cold case from his FBI days. Lisa nearly refuses, even though a wrongly convicted man faces execution for murder. Then her father reveals a photograph: a little white girl playing alongside a little black girl at a civil rights rally in 1965 where the crime-the shooting of a civil rights leader-took place. She recognizes herself in the photo.

She was there.

Lisa agrees to help, resolved to boldly seek answers she's skirted for decades. What she discovers are layers of deception, both personal and professional, reaching as high as the head of the FBI. Possibly even the president.

Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
10 out of 1191%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Snapshot - eBook
Review 1 for Snapshot - eBook
This review is fromSnapshot.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lisa Waldren is a middle-age, widowed federal prosecutor living in Boston. She has been estranged from her father for many years. He is now retired from the FBI and calls her out of the blue to help him with an old case. The man convicted of killing a civil rights proponent is on death row in a Texas prison and has been given an execution date. Her father is convinced that the man is not guilty. Why has her father kept silent for almost 50 years? Why try to do anything for this man at this late date? Lisa hasn’t had much of a relationship with her father after her high school years and even then he was done a lot with his FBI job. Now she has a chance to reconnect with her father maybe, but does she really want that? He has never been there for her when she needed him, so why should she have hope that this will amount to a renewed relationship? He is her father and she decides to help him.
Lisa flies to Texas to go over the case with her father. She soon realizes that indeed the wrong man has been convicted, but who is the real murderer and how can they find proof after almost 50 years? She and her dad begin investigating and ruffle the wrong person’s feathers. They realize they are being followed. Lisa has her hotel room searched and her home in Boston broken in to. The past reaches out to tell the future, and a mystery is solved. At what cost? Should the past remain in the past?
This is just a fascinating look back at a small portion of an event during the civil rights movement in 1965. Although fictitious, there are several factual names and events included in the story, which makes it all the more interesting. There is a relationship between a man and woman who aren’t married and spending the night together is mentioned, which I didn’t really think added anything to the story. Other than that, I thoroughly enjoyed the plot. The addition of Stanley Blackstone and the missing key from JFK’s desk while in the oval office added a great deal of intrigue and tension that kept the story moving right along. There were so many good intentions without action or with the wrong action that led to much unhappiness. Everyone seemed intent on protecting someone, which only caused more heartache. There also is a very interesting interview included with the author’s father, who really was an FBI agent and worked on the Warren Commission, investigating JFK’s assassination. I think it is cool that the picture on the cover is an actual picture of the author at a civil rights march. I think that this story will entertain and engage readers just as it did me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Snapshot - eBook
This review is fromSnapshot.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cold Case Murder Mystery Adventure Thriller

Date:March 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lis Wiehl in her new book, “Snapshot” published by Thomas Nelson introduces us to Lisa Waldren.
From the inside jacket flap: Two little girls, frozen in black and white. One picture worth killing for.
The Civil Rights Movement is less than a distant memory to Lisa Waldren—it is someone else’s memory altogether, passed on to her through the pages of history. Her life as a federal prosecutor in Boston feels utterly remote from the marches in the South that changed her father’s generation—and the entire nation—forever.
But the truth is, she was there.
When a photograph surfaces showing a blond, four-year-old Lisa playing with an African-American girl at a civil rights march in Fort Worth, Lisa is faced with a jarring revelation: the girls may have been the only witnesses who observed the killer of civil rights leader Benjamin Gray . . . and therefore the only ones who can exonerate the death row inmate falsely accused of the murder.
Soon, Lisa finds herself in the dangerous world her father had shielded her from as a child. After some searching, the Waldrens find the other little girl from the photo and, in the process, uncover conspiracy mere steps away from the likes of Bobby Kennedy, Lyndon Johnson, and J. Edgar Hoover.
Based on real events and a photograph snapped by author Lis Wiehl’s own G-man father, Snapshot is a remarkably original marriage of mystery and history.
Take a FBI agent and a federal prosecutor who just happen to be father and daughter, add in a case from over 40 years ago that, if they don’t solve, an innocent man is going to the death chamber for and you have a formula for action and excitement. Ms. Wiehl has outdone herself here. The hunt for the killer who does not wish to be discovered means the killer will strike again. The father/daughter duo have their own issues to resolve and then there is the issue of race relations and trust. ”Snapshot” is an excellent murder mystery filled with marvelous characters, great plot twists, suspense and thrills. This is an exciting book, extremely well paced and suspenseful.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Snapshot - eBook
This review is fromSnapshot.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Julie Graves
Location:Oklahoma
Age:45-54
Gender:female
In 1965 Lisa Waldren's father, an FBI agent, takes his daughter to a Civil Rights rally. While there she meets another little girl her age. Her father takes a snapshot of the two little girls enjoying each others company. Then the unthinkable happens and all chaos breaks out.
Jump ahead several decades and Lisa is now a successful Federal Prosecutor estranged from her father who is now retired. When he contacts her to help him solve a murder that he has never been able to forget, Lisa at first is unwilling. But eventually she goes to Ft. Worth, TX to help her father and maybe try to understand why he distanced himself from her all those years ago.
James Waldren is now trying to help the man convicted of murdering the Civil Rights activist before he is put to death for the crime he didn't commit. Government as well as local authority cover-ups, and threats to his family caused James Waldren to stop investigating many years before, but now he is determined to right a wrong. But as with all secrets, some people would prefer they be left alone.
I really enjoyed this story. I loved the step-by-step search for the killer and all of the twists and turns to get there. We as the reader know exactly who the killer is, but the "why" is slowly revealed throughout the story. Loved that the two little girls, now grown up, were able to get back together and help each other in the investigation. When I think about the Civil Rights movements for some reason I always think farther in the past than what they really are. I was born in 1965 when the event of the story happened. I honestly can't imagine that time period actually being in my lifetime. The author touches on a bit of the hatred that surrounded the times and some of the events: JFK assassination, Martin Luther King Jr., Viet Nam war etc. Such major events in history while I was just a little girl. Lis Wiehl has written a page-turning snapshot of history, the legal system, and human greed and hatred all wrapped up into an entertaining mystery. If you have never read any of her books before I would highly recommend them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Snapshot - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent! Personal and historical details

Date:January 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kristie
Location:upstate NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking forward to a new book from Lis Wiehl as I have enjoyed her previous novels so much! "Snapshot" was an exciting and touching read to start out this new year with! This novel is filled with so much historical detail and also personal details as the author is a little girl in the photograph this story is based on. The legal system plays such a large role in Lis' story and I find this fascinating and also with all the twists and turns, Lis takes the reader on quite an unforgettable journey. Any fan of Lis' previous novels will not want to miss out on this one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Snapshot - eBook
This review is fromSnapshot.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Carol Warner
Location:Glastonbury, ct
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Don't know why this is considered a Christian book. Subject matter, though interesting, had nothing to do with the Lord-just a mystery like so many other worldly books. Historical facts were educational, but expected it to have a Christian theme.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Snapshot - eBook
This review is fromSnapshot.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Historical fiction based on a real picture

Date:January 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Debbie M
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Snapshot by Lis Wiehl is a work of fiction, about a real picture taken by the author's father. Lis Wiehl's dad is a retired FBI g-man, who was going through some old files and found this picture of Lis and a little black girl. She was captivated by the picture, and came up with the story line for the book, Snapshot.
In the story, Lisa Waldren is contacted by her father, James Waldren, a retired FBI man who is going through some old case files, and asks for his daughter's assistance in helping a man who is in prison, on death row, soon to be executed. Do they have the wrong man in prison? Lisa's dad, who was always so determined to get to the truth, why did he let the case fall silent for so many years? Who really did shoot Benjamin Gray all those years ago? Did Lisa, or her little friend see the actual shooter? You will have to read this book, filled with mystery and intrigue! It kept me up at night to finish the book.
I did enjoy the book, and trying to figure out the mystery. Some of the characters in the book were people the author knows (Lisa Waldren is Lis Wiehl; James Waldren would be Lis' father, Richard Wiehl; William O'Ryan would be Bill O'Reilly) I thought that was fun!
The only thing I didn't like about the book, being published by a Christian company, is that it is mentioned that Lisa's father, James, and his girlfriend have spent the night together on occasions. Thankfully, it does not go into detail, but the thought is there. It is a good story, just not a strong Christian witness.
I received a complimentary copy of the book, Snapshot, from BookSneeze and Thomas Nelson, for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Snapshot - eBook
This review is fromSnapshot.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Righting a decades old murder conviction

Date:January 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This contemporary novel has its roots in the 1960s. Four year old Lisa's father James, an FBI agent, had been assigned to Dallas to help in the investigation of President Kennedy's assassination. About a year and a half later, James takes Lisa to a demonstration in Fort Worth. She sees a little African American girl about her age and sits by her. James takes a couple of snap shots. Just at that time shots ring out and a well known man leading the demonstration is killed.
In the present, Lisa is a federal prosecutor in Boston. She is surprised when she receives a request from her father, a man with whom she has a distant relationship. Now retired from the FBI, he wants her to help free the man convicted of that demonstrator's death over forty years ago and find the real killer.
That's the beginning of this low key novel. The plot involves trying to find out who actually killed the demonstrator and why another man was arrested and convicted. There is the possibility of a cover-up that may go all the way to the top.
There is not a great deal of action in this novel. It deals more with investigative procedure, such as using face recognition software in trying to find out the identity of the little African American girl. There is a tiny bit of suspense at the end but it resolves almost as fast as it arises.
If you like investigative procedural novels, solving a murder decades ago, you'll like this one. Personally, I would have liked a little more suspense.
The strength of this novel is that it is based on the actual experiences of the author and her father. He was, in fact, an FBI agent sent to Dallas to help in the Kennedy assassination. She and her dad did, in fact, go to a demonstration in Fort Worth where her photo was taken with a little African American girl. Recently being shown that snapshot, her creative thoughts began to flow and this novel is a result.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Snapshot - eBook
This review is fromSnapshot.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Believable Historical Fiction

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Floyd Johnson
Location:Upstate NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The mid-60s were a turbulent time. The JFK assassination, Robert Kennedy’s death a year or two later, and the civil rights movement all contributed to a coming change to American culture. And in that era a murder takes place in the midst of a civil rights parade - a murder witnessed by two four year old girls and a father. Now, the man convicted of the crime asks the father, a retired FBI agent, for help proving his innocence, even as the date for his death sentence has been set.
As they begin to track the details, old hurts, old betrayals, and old adversaries seem ready to stand in the way. Before the truth could be found, the daughter and the father had to find a way to work through the pain they had felt years before when her father and mother had divorced. Forgiveness needed to be offered - so the two could work together to arrive at the facts that would free Leonard Dubois for a crime he did not commit.
The story and writing held my interest from beginning to end - I could not put it down. As I passed the 80% mark in my reading, I was determined to not go to bed until I reached the end of the story. The book becomes all the more meaningful as the author fills in her and her dad’s back stories - she a retired federal prosecutor; he a retired FBI agent that worked along with the Warren Commission to explore the facts behind the JFK assassination. I cannot wait to see a paper copy of the book to see the snapshots (not included in my preview copy) that helped Lis Wiehl pull together a believable story that is worth the time spent reading from cover to cover.
______________
This review is based on a free electronic copy of the book provided by the publisher for the purpose of creating this review. The opinions expressed are mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Snapshot - eBook
This review is fromSnapshot.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Electrifying

Date:January 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pamela M.
Location:Memphis, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Starting with a real life snapshot taken by her father when she was a child, Lis Wiehl has written an electrifying story about a murder for which the wrong man has been imprisoned for fifty years. His impending execution brings federal prosecutor Lisa Waldren and her estranged retired FBI father together to make an effort to find enough evidence to stop the execution. Although “Snapshot” is a novel, it is filled with a wealth of historical facts from the years following the assassination of J.F.K. as well as some valuable insight into the effect those turbulent years had on the people who lived through them, especially the black victims of racism.
I especially enjoyed reading along as Lisa and her father tracked down each clue with the assistance of others who were drawn into the tale as it proceeded. The character development was excellent and the plot was well paced and kept me invested in the story until the very end. Although it was not constantly filled with action and danger, a very real sense of tension pervaded the narrative as it built to a dramatic confrontation near the end.
“Snapshot” is an exciting tale made all the more enjoyable after reading the author’s notes at the end and viewing the video clip found on youtube.com where the author describes the inspiration for this book.
This book was provided for review by Thomas Nelson Publisher’s BookSneeze program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Snapshot - eBook
This review is fromSnapshot.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

Date:January 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
cici
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Snapshot by Lis Wiehl was the amazing. I thought this novel captured the time and the crazy scene of assassination during one of the most tumultuous times in our history. This novel literally took me on a path that I never would have seen and I enjoyed the escape. The idea that we have important moments before we can keep the memories is fantastic. I have been asked what my first memory is and it is from my last day of kindergarten. I have no memory prior to this day and there are all these moments that can be more meaningful than I realize. I have never been more enthralled with a novel devoted to the civil rights like I was with this one. Not only did I learn about a time in our history but I was bitting my nails with all the excitement developing. This is novel I would recommend to everyone with an ear and a need to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Snapshot - eBook
This review is fromSnapshot.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of Lis Wiehl's best books

Date:January 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
raisingbookworms
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lis Wiehl does it again, I love Lis Wiehl books you just can't go wrong when you pick up one. She keeps keeps you on the edge of your seat with twist and turns that you never saw coming. Just when you think you figured it all out, bam! she throws a curve ball that shatters that theory all way. Snapshot is a bit of a personal one since she is the little girl in the picture. Snapshot is based on real life events and the picture one that her very own father took while at the civil rights demonstration when she was little. I have read every single one of Lis Wiehl's books and Snapshot is my favorite! I love them all but this one was my favorite hands down. If you like a little bit of family drama, real life event stories, suspense and mystery then you are going to want to grab a copy of Snapshot when it comes out on January 14th, 2014.
thank you Thomas Nelson for allowing me to review this edge of your seat book my favorite author Lis Wiehl!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.