Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc Secrets, Glenbrooke Series #1

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Random House, Inc Secrets, Glenbrooke Series #1

Jessica ran from her past...but can she hide from love?

Jessica Morgan wants desperately to forget the past and begin a new life. She chooses a small, peaceful town tucked away in Oregon's Willamette Valley as the place to start over-Glenbrooke. Once there, Jessica conceals her identity from the intriguing personalities she meets-including the compassionate paramedic who desires to protect her and the jealous woman who wants nothing more than to destroy her.

Will Jessica's deceit ruin all hope for the future? Or will she find a deeper peace that allows her to stop hiding the truth from those who love her most of all?

This heartwarming bestseller, book one in the Glenbrooke series, introduces the fascinating people of Glenbrooke in a compelling tale of romance and spiritual truth.

Average Customer Rating:
4.19 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Secrets, Glenbrooke Series #1
Review 1 for Secrets, Glenbrooke Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Secrets:Great introduction to Glenbrooke Series

Date:January 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
KevinWWJD2
Location:OR in USA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Over 10 years ago, I had enjoyed reading and discussing the Sierra Jones series with my teenage daughter, and was happily surprised to find another title by the same author, Robin Jones Gunn, at my local library.
I read the first chapter and was hooked by the realistic characters, the realistic reason that Jessica had for initially hiding her identity, and I was sympathetic to her reasons for not giving her heart right away to the wonderful people in Glenbrooke, or to the God of the universe. I love the way these characters mature spiritually and emotionally, without coming across preachy. A great read for both men (may help you understand how women sometimes think differently than men) and women, single, married, or "in a relationship." I ended up reading all 8 books in the Glenrook series, sometimes by myself, sometimes with my wife, and this is still one of my favorites.
For a little more insight on the sources for some of the ideas for this and other Robin Jones Gunn books, I also suggest "Victims of Grace."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Secrets, Glenbrooke Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A keeper

Date:September 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:Lewisburg, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I will often pass on my books to others, but this is a keeper. I will probably read it again (like I watch decent movies again) once I read and digest other books. I'm an avid reader and to find good Christian novels is wonderful!!!! Thank you ChristianBook Distributors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Secrets, Glenbrooke Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Secrets: Everyone has Them

Date:May 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
ajb1303
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“Secrets” by Robin Jones Gunn is the first novel in the Glenbrooke series. This is the only book I’ve read by this author and was quite an easy read, plus…I couldn’t put the book down and read it in about four hours. Jessica, the protagonist, is running from something in her past and has moved to Glenbrooke, Oregon to start over. When she first arrives, she’s involved in a car accident and meets Kyle, every girl’s dream guy. She has no money, goes without food for days and, in coming up with a new identity, she starts her life over. “Secrets” follows her journey to finding herself and finding God.
I really enjoyed the start of this series. The characters are great and easily relatable; the romance is sweet and yet still, adult. There is not sexual content, but the attraction of the two parties involved is still an important part of the story. And the portrayal of Christ in this novel isn’t pushy. It’s about the personal choice a person makes to follow Him.
Overall, this was a great read and I would recommend this to readers from middle school age to adult who enjoy Christian romance/fiction books.
**This book was obtained by WaterBrook Multnomah’s Blogging for Books program in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Secrets, Glenbrooke Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

everybody has secrets

Date:May 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
"Secrets" by Robin Jones Gunn is the first novel in the Glenbrooke series. This is the second book I have read from the series, "Echoes" being the first, but book number three I think. I haven't read them in order. Apparently it doesn't matter. Jessica is the main character from "Secrets." Jessica is running from something (that's the secret) and has come to Glenbrooke, Oregon. When she comes into town, she has a car accident and meets Kyle, every girl's dream guy. Jessica has no money, even going without food for days, she comes up with a new identity, and starts her life completely over. "Secrets" follows her journey to both finding her new self and God.
I really like this series. The characters are great, the romance is sweet, yet still adult. There is no sexual content, but it is still an important part of the story. Jessica's boss plays the villain; she is out to find out the secret and expose whatever it is. Jessica is a good role model for younger readers plus she doesn't come off as annoying for us more mature readers. The Christianity in the book isn't the "agree with me or go to hell" variety. It is a more personal choice that Jessica is to consider. The other characters tend to be Christian, but not overbearing. Good book. B
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Secrets, Glenbrooke Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Go Around

Date:March 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Secrets
Robin Jones Gunn
Book Description: The Glenbrooke Series Jessica ran from her past...but can she hide from love? Jessica Morgan wants desperately to forget the past and begin a new life. She chooses a small, peaceful town tucked away in Oregon’s Willamette Valley as the place to start over—Glenbrooke. Once there, Jessica conceals her identity from the intriguing personalities she meets—including the compassionate paramedic who desires to protect her and the jealous woman who wants nothing more than to destroy her. Will Jessica’s deceit ruin all hope for the future? Or will she find a deeper peace that allows her to stop hiding the truth from those who love her most of all? This heartwarming bestseller, book one in the Glenbrooke series, introduces the fascinating people of Glenbrooke in a compelling tale of romance and spiritual truth.
Review: I enjoyed this book the first time I read it and again this time. It was the first Christian fiction book I ever bought and for that alone means a lot to me. I loved the mystery that surrounds this character and the people, some of whom become lead characters later. This was a soothing story for anyone who was or is wayward in life, faith or with others. I liked and continue to use index cards with scripture on them. To this day it is one of my favorite things to do and use for book markers and to memorize. I thought the story line was well developed and the main characters well written. I am glad that I had another chance to read this story.
I would like to thank Blogging for books and Waterbrook for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Secrets, Glenbrooke Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terrific storytelling

Date:March 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
KidOfTheKing
Location:South Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Secrets is the first book in the Glenbrooke Series and the first book I have read by Robin Jones Gunn. The story is about Jessica after she arrives in the small town of Glenbrook, Oregon looking for a new start. The author is a terrific story teller. Her characters were believable and interesting; the plot was intriguing with a bit of mystery (Jessica is keeping a secret). The story provided important truths that Jessica came to understand such as learning to trust people and surrendering to God’s plans.
I recommend Secrets to readers from middle school age to adult who enjoy Christian fiction/romance/series books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Secrets, Glenbrooke Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Enjoyable Visit to Glenbrooke

Date:February 24, 2013
I've long been a fan of Robin Jones Gunn—like since middle school! I read most of The Glenbrooke Series a few years after they originally released and was excited to see that WaterBrook Multnomah has recently re-released them with updated covers. I thought it was high time to go back for a visit to Glenbrooke and am so glad I did!
Secrets is the first book in the series. Jessica arrives in Glenbrooke looking for a new start. It seems like bad things continually happen to Jessica upon her arrival and she questions her choices. Slowly but surely, though, her new friends start getting through her self-imposed defenses and she realizes that she must trust others—and most importantly, God—to help her as she faces trials.
While this book may be "old," the timeless messages of trusting in God and the need for relationships come through loud and clear. I think Jessica's desire for independence and resistance to asking for help are characteristics that many readers will be able to relate to. And the way that various characters throughout the book come to her aid and teach her about having a relationship with the Lord is both genuine and heartfelt. The romance between Jessica and Kyle is so sweet, even if it developed a little quickly for my tastes. Overall, the story is very touching, and I am happy to recommend Secrets to readers of all ages—from high school to adults. [4 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah's Blogging for Books program in exchange for my fair and honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Secrets, Glenbrooke Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Gunn does it AGAIN!

Date:February 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Victoria
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a great book. If you're up for a little mystery with a new friend in a new town, you'll enjoy "Secrets"!
Gunn writes so that her readers can get inside the main character's head. Seeing life through Jessica's eyes as she faces life in a new town without family, friends, or much money...Well, it was a good dose if reality.
Pick up your copy and keep reading, the "Secrets" will unfold!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Secrets, Glenbrooke Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Secrets

Date:January 31, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Do you have secrets in your past that are weighing you down? Do you want to run away and get a fresh start? That’s what is motivating Jessica in Secrets by Robin Jones Gunn!!!
She runs to a small town in Oregon. She quickly makes new friends. But her secrets are a roadblock in these new friendships.
Join her on this bumpy journey to make a new place for herself!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Secrets, Glenbrooke Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

High moral standards and great lesson in trusting

Date:December 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marcy
Location:Vancouver, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Secrets is a wonderful book about starting over and learning how to trust God in everything. Jessica is trying to escape her father's overbearing nature. Her biggest problem is first not trusting God in her change in life careers and choices and second in lying to everyone about who she is and why she is starting over.
Jessica through a horrible scare, being stuck in Mexico all by herself in a disabled truck while thieves ransack the cargo out of the back, finds her way to trusting god for everything in her life. This book has a great moral of always trusting God because he will always take care of us, whether it is food we need, protection or to find the love of our lives, God knows what's best for us. we must always trust God to protect us, even in our darkest moments when our lives are in danger, God, is there to love and protect us.
I really liked this book. I found it's lessons to be ones I have learned in my own life. I too have gone into hiding and had to trust God to keep me safe when everything around me was dark and scary. I love that once Jessica trusted God Greg was then open to date her. The story line taught of keeping a high moral standard and how just one mistake can change our lives. As a teacher I would love to use this book in a reading lesson, although public schools probably would not like me using a God based book. I will definitely be recommending this book to my friends and family and I will also be reading the rest of the books in the series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Secrets, Glenbrooke Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable Read

Date:December 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Piper
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Secrets by Robin Jones Gunn
Jessica ran from her past... but can she hide from love?
Jessica Morgan wants desperately to forget the past and begin a new life. She chooses a small, peaceful town tucked away in Oregon's Willamette Valley as the place to start over---Glenbrooke. Once there, Jessica conceals her identity from everyone she meets---including the compassionate paramedic who wants to protect her and the jealous woman who wants nothing more than to destroy her.
Will Jessica's deceit ruin all hope for the future? Or will she find a deeper peace that allows her to stop hiding the truth from those who love her most of all?
All in all this book proved to be an enjoyable read. At first there were a few things that bugged me, such as the overuse of Jessica's name when "she" or "her" could have been used instead, and the fact that the second sentence in the book reads "The summer breeze whipped through her open window and danced with the ends of her shoulder-length, honey-blond hair." yet on the cover of the book is a woman with dark brown, if not black hair! Things like that tend to bug me, but it was really only irritating through the first little bit of the book. After a while I got swept into the story and didn't notice them. This book was fairly well written, and I would read more from this author.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Secrets, Glenbrooke Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Secrets

Date:October 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andrea
Location:Red Hook, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great 'easy read' book. If you want something to take your mind off things and help you relax, this is for you. I have read several of the books in this series and had to back track and find #1 and #2. So I do not have the benefit of reading them in sequence but even out of sequence, each can stand on its own and is a heartwarming read that gives a bit of hope for those who are still searching for love.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Secrets, Glenbrooke Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melissa Mashburn
This was one of those books that I just.could.not put down. I broke it out on a rainy Saturday and sat in a nice comfy chair and read the entire book in one day. I couldn't tear myself away from it and absolutely loved it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Secrets, Glenbrooke Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
debbiedeefisher
In Secrets Jessica is beginning a new life in a new town to start a new job. She meets a handsome firefighter and a jealous new boss who both want to know her secret. I loved this book. You don't learn of the secret til near the end and has enough twists and turns to keep you reading til the end! This is the first in a series of 8 and I would definitely be interested in reading the others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Secrets, Glenbrooke Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2010
In this story, Jessica heads out on her own to be a teacher. She encounters many sweet people in Glenbrooke whom she comes to appreciate, but why did Jessica head out on her own? What is she looking for? She doesnt trust God or want to talk to Him. She wants her own life. She meets a firefighter named Kyle, a teacher named Teri, and a landlord named Ida. Each of these people sow into Jessicas life in different ways, giving Jessica a new perspective on things. This book has a wonderful cast of characters and a real sense of family to it. I highly recommend picking up a copy of Secrets and discovering just what can happen when you open your heart to a new place, new friends, and a new faith. Then you can follow the rest of The Glenbrooke Series and enjoy seven more great stories!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Secrets, Glenbrooke Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2010
This is the First book in the Glenbrooke Series and also the first book that I have read from Robin Jones Gunn. I have to say she did not disappoint. I enjoyed this book. Jessica learns many valuable lessons in life. Secrets take us places we don't want to be and cause you to go deeper and deeper into darkness. She strives to do things on her own and in time learns to depend on others and the Lord. Secrets is a book that would be great for new believers or even for those that aren't as it teaches truths that everyone can learn from.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Secrets, Glenbrooke Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer AlLee
Jessica Morgan is a woman with secrets. She moves to the small community of Glenbrooke in the hopes of starting fresh. But before she can put her plan into motion, a car accident throws everything off course. When the handsome, compassionate paramedic who comes to her aid becomes attracted to her, it's just one more complication to deal with. How long can Jessica keep up her ruse, and will her deceit cost her a chance at real love?In Secrets, the first book of the Glenbrooke series, Robin Jones Gunn creates a charming Oregon community that most people would love to spend time in. She's populated it with interesting characters, the most interesting being Kyle Buchanan. The noble paramedic is the perfect story-book hero, the kind that makes you almost long to be a damsel in distress just so he can save you. But Jessica Morgan presents Kyle with a problem... she resists being rescued. While she's a sympathetic character, it's a bit hard to believe her motivation or her methods. The secret she harbors doesn't seem to support the necessity of changing her identity. And while moving to a new town with no ID whatsoever and managing to get a job, a driver's license, and a bank account may have been feasible in 1995 (when the book was originally published) but I doubt it would be as easy today. Still, Gunn has a very easy-to-read style, making this the perfect book for when you want to kick back and relax.NOTE: I received a copy of the book from the publisher for review purposes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Secrets, Glenbrooke Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2010
My first introduction to Robin Jones Gunn was Sisterchicks Go Brit! and I loved it. When I heard that "Secrets," the first novel in the Glenbrooke series (of about eight novels I believe) and the first adult novel that Robin wrote I was greatly intrigued. This is the book that so many people have told me was their first Christian Fiction novel to read that hooked them on the genre. The new cover is gorgeous and definitely something I would reach for. I was really excited about the opportunity to read this one. Through the Value Fiction from WaterBrook Multnomah, several fabulous titles have been released under an unbelievable price of just $6.99!! These are not mass market but trade paperback and that makes me so happy. This is the kind of thing that I can afford when it comes to books. This novel is good. It is heart beating, curiosity peaked, turn the next page enjoyable. There were moments when I was quite nervous and moments when I was exceedingly happy for the characters. I would say that this book goes on my keeper shelf and I'm just about guaranteed that I will look for the others in the series. I do hope that the entire series will be republished with such awesome covers. If so I cannot wait to see them! I recommend this book with out hesitation. I have seen some reviews where people had qualms about the secret not being what they expected, but is it ever? This is a book about walking away from something and trying to hide from God. Going forward in life and being with or with out the support is what we all go through. Follow Jessica on her journey and see where she turns out to be in the end. I look forward to reading more of her story and the people that she comes across. *Thanks to WaterBrook Multnomah for providing a copy for review.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Secrets, Glenbrooke Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sara @ Embracing Destiny
I know Robin's writing from the Sisterchick series, but this book is quite different. Secrets is Book One in the Glenbrooke series about a community in Oregon. I tend to like a series where the location becomes almost a "character" in the story and this is one of those kinds of books. There's even a map at the front of the book so you can really get a sense of the area! Secrets is a quick read and has left me wanting to continue reading the Glenbrooke series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Secrets, Glenbrooke Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shellie Billings
I would call Secrets by Robin Jones Gunn a Christian romance novel. Like most romance novels, its a question of how long will it take for boy to get girl and what difficult circumstance do they have to overcome to live happily ever after? This book is an easy read and a good escape if you need one. You wont have to think too hard but it did seem to take too long to find out the big secret which was then too easily resolved.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>