Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Blind Hope: An Unwanted Dog and the Woman She Rescued

Multnomah Books Blind Hope: An Unwanted Dog and the Woman She Rescued

Who would ever think that an almost-blind mutt could transform a hurting young woman's life? When Laurie adopted Mia, she wanted to show the world how kind and unselfish she was. But her relationship with her defiant dog unmasked Laurie's spiritual ugliness Meeder's lyrical retelling offers hope and healing for wounded hearts. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.312 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
0
31 out of 3297%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Blind Hope: An Unwanted Dog and the Woman She Rescued
Review 1 for Blind Hope: An Unwanted Dog and the Woman She Rescued
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God bless All the animals

Date:November 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
LyonsLady
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a true story and these are my favorite types to read, especially ones that I can relate to and this one is exactly that. When I saw the cover of this book and read what it was about I just had to get a copy to read...
We have rescued 2 dogs and a cat, so I can understand exactly what Kim and Laurie have shared in this wonderfully written story of how this precious dog and woman were both very blessed to meet and share their lives together...
What a special treat (no pun intended) how they share exactly what I say often "God will and can use anything and everything to get out attention"...this true story is proof...
This is so easy to read and keeps you wanting to turn the next page to see what happens next. Love the honesty that Laurie is not afraid to share.
Anyone at the age of 5 and up would enjoy this easily written book...which I find so refreshing because sometimes books can be so wordy and long that sometimes they are never read through to the end...this one is not!!! And it is for everyone who has OR has not have had the blessing of having a pet of ANY kind...
How Kim & Laurie share Gods Love through this sweet precious dog just rekindles my love for God and our fur babies....
Truly a MUST read for enjoyment and to share Gods Love to those who do not know HIM. I will be sharing this book with my sister in law who has 4 rescued Beagles and pray she will draw closer to God with me.
What a JOY JOY JOY!!!!!!!
I ask Yahweh to continue to use Laurie & Kim by writing more books to share Gods Love and for His Glory. And Him blessing all the ministries HE leads you in and through. In Jesus Matchless Name AMEN.
Please visit their web site: www.crystalpeaksyouthranch.org
I received this book free from Waterbrook Press to read and review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 55
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blind Hope: An Unwanted Dog and the Woman She Rescued
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Phronsie Howell
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Who knew that you could learn so much from a pet, even if it isn't your own! I really enjoyed this book. I love the openness in Kim's writing and I am thankful that Laurie let her share the story. Mia is such an inspirational little dog, I just wanted to love on her the whole book! The story of Laurie and Mia is amazing. I found myself nodding in agreement/understanding at several points throughout the book. Highly recommend this book, but don't expect to come away with dry eyes!
Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blind Hope: An Unwanted Dog and the Woman She Rescued
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A real tear-jerker

Date:April 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
jnjdet
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think there were tears in my eyes by the end of the prologue and they didn't go away either. This was a beautiful story of a dog being rescued as well as a woman who learned about who she was and who God is through rescuing a dog. You know the saying "God works in mysterious ways", here's a great example. I loved how she understood her relationship with God through the relationship she had with her blind dog. Her blind dog had to trust that her master was leading her the right way. It was all about trust and obedience. When Mia, her dog, thought she could find her own way without listening to her master's voice, she ended up being wounded by running into something. She would finally give up doing it on her own and go the way the voice was telling her to go. Such a great picture of how it is with us and God wants us to trust and obey Him. I thoroughly enjoyed the story. There were some awkward interludes between Laurie and Kim that threw me off when reading and seemed unnecessary to the story. But other than that, this is well worth the read - as long as you are prepared for some tears.
I received this book free from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blind Hope: An Unwanted Dog and the Woman She Rescued
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read

Date:April 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Misty
Location:Eugene OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do not read a lot of books because they do not hold my interest, but I read this book in less than 3 days. Did not want to put it down. Such a wonderful story and such a good message. Bought copies for my church library and have loaned my copy out to friends. Recommend reading for all my friends.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blind Hope: An Unwanted Dog and the Woman She Rescued
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reviewing BLIND HOPE by Kim Meeder & Laurie Sacher

Date:April 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
BevK
Location:WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From beginning to end, this true story will grab your heart, instruct, and along with tears, make you smile and say "God IS good and all-caring--all creatures great and small.' This is the story of an unwanted dog and the woman she rescued. The authors are located in Oregon at a ranch that generally takes in abused horses and along with that, youngsters who need help as well; the two working together, heal each other.
Important issues that are brought out in good taste include the hidden inner anguish this girl has put herself through. She was raised in a loving, good Christian home that attended church regularly, but as she describes her 'fall' all parents need to be watching for the signs she lists: joining the rebellious crowd where 'no one is ever at fault', moral code slackens, blaming others for what she didn't want to change; did not take responsibility for her own choices, changing her clothing from modest to tight and revealing and wore heavy, dark makeup. She matched her internal pain with external piercings.
The dog the girl is rescuing is dirty, unkempt, and sickly -- soon the dog goes blind, and she has to train it to get along without injuring itself. She concludes that much of the dilemma she has with the dog is the same as what her parents once had with her i.e., how does she allow the dog to learn from her own mistakes without being harmed by them... now she understands how hard it must have been for her parents when she had more selfish desires than sense. In the training of her dog she sees that it was not words that changed her actions but the consequences. Pain.
All her life she has faked knowing things just to please people and make friends, including her relationship with God. She finally understands she needed to pursue her relationship with God, for real. Previously she believed nothing was her fault, that things just 'happened' to her so she was the victim and had no responsibility to change.
The beauty in the story is when she concludes with the thought that no one ever warned her that when you rescue a dog, the life you save might be your own.
The book is filled with photos of the girl and the dog, and is beautiful to read. I highly recommend this book for all parents to read as well as teens and young adults. It can help those having difficulty as well as those put in authority to teach.
"I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review." and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blind Hope: An Unwanted Dog and the Woman She Rescued
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Blind Hope

Date:August 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
crystal
Location:Atlanta, Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Kim Meeder, author of Hope Rising and A Bridge Called Hope, is the founder and director of the Crystal Peaks Youth Ranch in Oregon. It is a ranch that rescues abused horses and then matches them with disadvantaged children in order to give the children a therapeutically healing experience through their care and interaction with the animals. Laurie Sacher, a team leader at the ranch, had her own problems with battling an eating disorder. Together, they joined forces to tell the story of a rescue dog named Mia and how she changed Laurie’s life.
Blind Hope relates the true story of an abused Australian Shepherd mix dog that Laurie rescued. Laurie was not prepared for the challenges of owning a rescued dog or expecting the insights she would receive as she saw her own life and failings in that of her dog, Mia. She is able to draw powerful parallels between how she has acted in her relationship with God with that of Mia’s relationship to Laurie and to her new world post rescue.
I loved the premise of this book but felt it could have had a greater impact if the perspective of the story had been either from Mia’s doggie view or Laurie’s first person point of view. The third person descriptions of what happened after the fact were not as engaging as living through the story in first person would have been. Hearing Kim tell what Laurie discovered felt more clinical than feeling Laurie discover it for herself. Nevertheless, I remain fascinated by the work of Crystal Peaks and was left wanting to learn more about the stories of their animals and clients. (FTC Disclaimer: "I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review")
Review by Crystal, re-posted courtesy of C2KSKwipsandKritiques review site.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blind Hope: An Unwanted Dog and the Woman She Rescued
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for Animal Lovers

Date:July 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pauline
Location:New Iberia, LA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Blind hope is an easy read. It is the experiences of Laurie Sacher as told to Kim Meeder. Laurie adopted an abandoned dog she named Mia. Through her relationship with Mia she learned about her relationship with the Lord. The story line of the book was interesting, although I felt it should have either been told totally from a third person's perspective or totally from a first person's persepective. I felt as though it was a story told to someone and then relayed by someone else. The way it was written kept me from fully relating to Laurie because it was told from Kim's perspective. I did enjoy the book and would be interested in Kim Meeder's other books. I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blind Hope: An Unwanted Dog and the Woman She Rescued
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

OUTSTANDING

Date:May 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
TOMMY
Location:LEBANON, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very powerful & a unforgettable journey! A triumph of recovery for wounded hearts. Will bring tears to your eyes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blind Hope: An Unwanted Dog and the Woman She Rescued
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

excellent book

Date:March 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
dk4him
Location:Southwest IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was an excellent book and I think you will in one way find it to be a quick easy read, but on the other hand, may want to go back and re-read some of the many lessons shared in this book. As I have often found God showing me things and teaching me lessons thru circumstances with my little dog Tanner, Laurie Sacher shares the same thing by telling of all the ways God has taught her thru her dog Mia. God places a love in Laurie for an ugly, smelly, unwanted dog that changes her life in amazing ways. Thru her dog Laurie is able to learn about God's love and acceptance of her. Thru her dog she is able to see how she has been lost in her own life and her own identity. She learns to accept Christ's love for her and finds so many ways to share these lessons with us thru the writing about this journey with Mia. Each lesson learned between Laurie and Mia painted such a beautiful illustration of God's love and care of each of us. I could totally see using each chapter in this book in a Sunday School or small group setting, each as a lesson in itself. Very good stuff! You will enjoy it, most especially if you are a dog lover!
This book was provided for review from Waterbrook Multnomah.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blind Hope: An Unwanted Dog and the Woman She Rescued
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great job Meeder!

Date:March 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
MelindaJoy
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blind Hope, a book inspired by a special needs dog, offers an amazing analogy of God’s unfailing, agape love. Kim Meeder does a great job of taking the reader on an interesting journey of Laurie and her blind dog, Mia. Through it all, both thick and thin, Mia continues to restore healing to Laurie’s life, while drawing her closer to the Savior. This book is so transparent and real, and made it exceedingly easy to relate to Laurie’s viewpoints and reservations. Meeder’s passionate love for the Lord and her ministry are truly an inspiration. The animal-human bond is unlike anything else, and this story clearly proves that. This book is a quick and easy read for children and adults alike. No matter how far away you are from God, He is always cheering you on to draw closer to Him. Great job Meeder!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blind Hope: An Unwanted Dog and the Woman She Rescued
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Book for Preteen/Teenager

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Betsy
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently read Blind Hope, written by Kim Meeder and Laurie Sacher. It recounts the true story of a young woman and the dog she rescues. The young woman, Laurie, sets out to do something noble by taking in an abused dog, yet ultimately finds that she, too, is in need of hope and healing.
A relatively short book, it was easy to read. It did cause me to see, in a new light, the great parallel in our personal (master/child) relationship with God and Laurie's relationship with her dog. So, there were moments of "I've never thought of it that way!" However, I did find the book a bit repetitive. I DO think this would be a SUPER book marketed toward pre-teens/teenagers. The story doesn't shield the reader from certain harsh realities (animal neglect, young adult issues, and loss of a pet), but does keep those realities appropriately restrained for a younger audience. And I do think that a younger targeted group would find the "moral of the story" fresh, engaging and at times, profound. I plan on letting my 11 year old daughter to read it soon.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blind Hope: An Unwanted Dog and the Woman She Rescued
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Read

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:New Hampshire
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An unwanted dog. An emotional rescue.
Sometimes the life you save may be your own.
Laurie had her own shattered dreams before she came to work at Crystal Peaks Youth Ranch—the ranch of rescued dreams—where broken horses and broken children encounter healing every day. Reaching out to save a dog in need, Laurie soon realized that the dog was rescuing her.
An inspiring true story told through the engaging voice of Kim Meeder, Blind Hope reveals poignant life lessons Laurie experienced from her ailing, yet courageous canine friend. Despite the blindness of her dog—and her own heart—Laurie uncovered what she really needed most: authentic love, unconditional trust, and true acceptance, faults and all.
As Laurie and her dog, Mia, both learned to follow the lead of a master they couldn’t see, Laurie discoverd the transforming power of God’s selfless love even for imperfect and selfish people—and she experienced a greater love than she has ever known.
“Love is a bridge that stands firm through difficulties and connects one heart directly to another, not because of how it looks, but because of what it is.” -Kim Meeder, Blind Hope
This is the heartwarming story of Laurie Sacher who decides to adopt a dog one day without seeing the dog first. She decides to adopt this broken down dog because she can relate to feeling like a broken down person herself.
This is a must read! What a book, just make sure you have the tissue close. There are lessons of God’s faithfulness in our lives, how God keeps us close and wants the best for us, often keeping us from doing something harmful. Both Laurie and Mia learned lessons of trust, forgiveness and protection in this journey.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Blind Hope: An Unwanted Dog and the Woman She Rescued
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lindsay
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book caught my eye because of the sweet looking dog on the front. I was hoping it would be a story like Marley and Me. Recounting the humorous stories of puppy life and growing friendships. Blind Hope was so much more than tales of life with a dog. It was a truly inspirational story of how a dog taught her master to open up and let love in, even when times are tough. Mia, the dog, had medical problem after medical problem and she never let it get her down. Laurie, Mia's owner, had a rough past and blamed her problems on God. After rescuing this dog, Laurie slowly realized how wrong and selfish she had been. Once she started to turn her selfishness into selflessness, she began to realized God never let her down. She was at fault for that. Throughout the book she realizes that experiences she faces with her dog can be applied to her relationship with God. The biggest lesson she learned is submission and letting God be leader of her life. After submitting she starts to realize how much love God really does have for His people.
This book is a wonderful reminder that we are the sheep and God is our Shepard. If we listen and follow Him, we can be at peace in our lives. We can have love for ourselves and others, we can overflowing joy in trying times. Zephaniah 3:17 says, " The Lord your God is with you, he is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you, he will quiet you with his love, he will rejoice over you with singing."
Enjoy!!
I recieved this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Blind Hope: An Unwanted Dog and the Woman She Rescued
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

worth reading

Date:February 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
pickle331
Location:Independence, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The subtitle of this book caught my attention…”An Unwanted Dog and the Woman She Rescued.” Usually that works the other way around!
When I first opened the book and started reading the introduction, I began to wonder what I might have let myself in for. Was this going to be another in-your-face “Jesus saves” kind of book? I’m glad to report that it’s not!
Yes, the message is definitely about the healing power in a relationship with Christ, but I found myself not wanting to put the book down. I am a dog lover myself, and following the adventures of Laurie and her (initially unwanted and unloved) rescued dog Mia as they began to learn how to trust was fascinating.
Each chapter was Laurie sharing her growing understandings of how her previous actions had put barriers between herself and Christ–and how she saw herself in Mia, as Mia was having to learn how to trust and how to listen for the voice that would lead her in safe paths.
The book is an easy read, and yet it’s one that I think I will find myself going back to re-read for the insights shared.
I was given a complimentary copy of this book by Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for a review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Blind Hope: An Unwanted Dog and the Woman She Rescued
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This product has spiritual value.

Date:February 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Raylee
Location:Clinton, MO
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Blind Hope is the true story of a woman that had no hope. She was looking in every direction for security, love, and a future. She had just about given up on life; the empty feeling inside her just wouldn't go away. She was a Christian, but wasn't feeling any too close to God in her life. One day, she happened upon an old, ugly, smelly, dirty mess of dog. She decided to adopt her and named her Mia. This humble and homely dog was the key to her life. Mia gave Laurie, the woman, the hope and fulfillment she needed. Mia brought her closer to God. When Mia was diagnosed with Diabetes and was going blind, she remained happy and content, giving Laurie a powerful testimony to faith that was unabashed.
I think this story is a great example of how God may choose to work in your life. It may come in ways that you don't expect and may even reject at first. Although this story definately is not out of my favorite genre, I think that the morals presented are important for everyone and that this book could change lives.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Blind Hope: An Unwanted Dog and the Woman She Rescued
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Non-fiction is not typically something I read a lot of, but when I saw this cute dog on the cover of Blind Hope, I couldn't resist. This was a story about a sweet dog and the woman she rescued. Normally, you would see a sentence like that turned the other way around, and even though Laurie did rescue a sweet dog that she named Mia, Mia was the one that really made a lasting impact on Laurie's life. Through Mia's sweet, but sometimes stubborn, personality, Laurie was able to see the areas in her life where she walked away from God, or didn't trust Him as much as she should have. While reading about Laurie's past, I was able to draw parallels with my own life where I have strayed and needed to be brought back by God's grace.
While the lessons are incredible and powerful, I have to admit that I wasn't crazy about the way the story was told. Laurie told her story to Kim Meeder, who then told the story with introductions and conversations that, frankly, got in the way. I think if the story had just been written from Laurie's POV, I would've enjoyed it a hundred times more. I never had a problem getting the lessons from Laurie's life, but to have them retold after I've already read about them was a little annoying.
In spite of the layout, it was still a very good story. The pictures of Laurie and Mia that were included were an added bonus, and many of them were quite beautiful. One word of warning before starting this book....have a box of Kleenex nearby!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Blind Hope: An Unwanted Dog and the Woman She Rescued
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Who rescues who?

Date:February 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Miriam
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Some people chose today to watch the Super Bowl. I chose today to read a Super Book. It was one of those books that you just can't help reading cover to cover without even realizing how much time has gone by. Blind Hope is about a young woman who chooses to rescue a dog and as she even says in the book, when dealing with animal rescues, the question often becomes, Who is rescuing who?
Laurie decides to help a dog in need, so when she goes to pick him up from his original owners, she has second thoughts as she looks at her. She is scrawny, dirty, undernourished and has a horrible odor. But something in her told her she just had to take the dog home and neither life was never the same from that moment on.
The dog had its own issues with illness, blindness, and adjusting to his new home, but she never ceased to continue to teach Laurie valuable life lessons and open her heart to the love that can only be found with God. Laurie volunteers on a ranch that helps abandoned horses and needy children. Her dog even manages to connect with a boy that she is unable to reach.
Until you have experienced it, you never realize that the love of a dog is unconditional. They are faithful to their master despite their circumstances. We have a lot to learn from our canine friends and this book is a wonderful representation of some of those lessons. I cannot say enough good things about this book. It would be a blessing to anyone who picks it up and reads any chapter.
For more information about the ranch where Laurie works visit their website at <a href="http://www.crystalpeaksyouthranch.org">Crystal Peaks Youth Ranch.</a>
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Blind Hope: An Unwanted Dog and the Woman She Rescued
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joyful Books
Location:Washoe Valley, NV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Blind Hope
by Kim Meeder and Laurie Sacher
Blind Hope is an inspiring true story of a young woman Laurie and her blind dog Mia, that she reached out to rescue. Laurie and Mia both learn from one another love and trust and true acceptance is based on God's grace.
The overall message in the book Blind Hope is giving up pride and selfishness in order to step out of ourselves to help someone else, makes this book well worth reading. The struggles that Laurie faced with lonliness, self destruction and believing the lie that if she were thinner, then she would be closer to society's standard of beauty and worthy of everlasting love, makes this a great book for young adult women.
The writing style is a little difficult at times as the book is co-written and goes back and forth between two authors. I would have liked to have heard Laurie tell the story in her voice alone, but God's grace and love stands firm. This story needs to be read.
"In a world weakened by loneliness, great strengthening can happen if we choose to reach beyond our own difficulties and do something for the benefit of someone who is hurting." Blind Hope
"I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Blind Hope: An Unwanted Dog and the Woman She Rescued
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What We Can Learn From Our Animals

Date:February 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
clariail
Location:Mobile, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having previously read Hope Rising by Kim Meeder, I didn't hesitate to pick up this book when I had the chance to do so. Let me say that I was not disappointed. The story is about Laurie and Mia, the dog that she adopts. When Laurie is on the way to meet Mia, she has a picture in her mind of what Mia is going to look like and how they will be able to spend their time together. As we have found so many times in our own lives, the reality ends up being totally different than what we have pictured. Laurie had pictured a beautiful dog but in fact Mia suffered from different health issues which almost caused Laurie not to follow through with the adoption. In the end though she did and what follows was a learning experience for both and a beautiful relationship between a woman and her dog.
So many of their trials and learning experiences speak to the way that we relate to God. Not responding when He speaks because we aren't used to hearing our Master's voice. Wanting to go our own way even though it might lead us in to dangerous territory when He tries to direct us to another path. Wanting our independence even though it isn't the best for us. Through reading this you may see some of the same things in your life that Laurie learned in hers. I know that I did.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Blind Hope: An Unwanted Dog and the Woman She Rescued
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
covenantmaiden
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
With an inspirational message, "Blind Hope" is the story of a bitter young woman and the blind dog which was thrust into her life. From the time of their first meeting, both woman and dog begin an amazing journey as they experience love, trust, and peace. They are transformed by God's unfailing love and grace. From this story we can learn that although we are imperfect, even when we feel unloved, God is always near to comfort us and cheer us - even in the roughest parts of our lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.