Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books Happy, Happy, Happy: My Life and Legacy as the Duck Commander

Howard Books Happy, Happy, Happy: My Life and Legacy as the Duck Commander

Want to meet the man behind the beard? Besides having a popular reality TV show on A & E, and a multi-million dollar business, Phil Robertson has shared his story with thousands of people at churches and public speaking events. Now in his memoir Happy, Happy, Happy: My Life and Legacy as the Duck Commander, Robertson shares his life's journey behind the camera.

It hasn't always been the "good life" for Phil. As a young man he turned to drinking, drugs and wild living to try to fill the emptiness in his heart, in the process causing hurt to his young wife and family. It wasn't until he turned to Christ and dedicated his life that things began to turn around, and he became the entreprenuer who created a product that changed the duck hunting industry. Happy, Happy, Happy isn't just the story of an American dream come true, it's the story of a changed life. As you read you'll be inspired to believe that God can reach the hardest hearts with His love and truth, and fill their lives with life-giving purpose.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
43 out of 4498%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Happy, Happy, Happy: My Life and Legacy as the Duck Commander
Review 1 for Happy, Happy, Happy: My Life and Legacy as the Duck Commander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyable Read

Date:April 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Hunter
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a fun book to read. If you like watching Duck Dynasty or like the company Duck Commander- this is a great insight to the man who started it all. Not just that but it sheds light on his personal testimony and how his relationship with Christ began.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Happy, Happy, Happy: My Life and Legacy as the Duck Commander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it.

Date:January 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
SIRSB
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have watched the show so I was interested in buying the book on Phil. It's just like he's talking to me telling me the story. Really enjoying it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Happy, Happy, Happy: My Life and Legacy as the Duck Commander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Grandson thinks Grandpa needs one.

Date:January 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
SSMom
Location:Alaska
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this book for our 14 year old grandson who Loves Duck Dynasty. He is not a natural "sit-down & Read" kid, but he loved the book, and said we should purchase Grandpa his own copy.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Happy, Happy, Happy: My Life and Legacy as the Duck Commander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Christmas Present

Date:January 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
annapanna
Location:NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
This book was a Christmas present for my Grandson and he was thrilled to get it. As always fast and quality service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Happy, Happy, Happy: My Life and Legacy as the Duck Commander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This was a gift, my family enjoyed it.

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ministers wife
Location:Arlington, WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I read this book previously and enjoyed it, I purchased the book for a family member who had expressed an interest in reading it. They were very pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Happy, Happy, Happy: My Life and Legacy as the Duck Commander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Julia Widger
Location:Arnold, Mo.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very interesting book. Describes how they got to where they are today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Happy, Happy, Happy: My Life and Legacy as the Duck Commander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Gifts

Date:January 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Robertson
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave copies as gifts and they were a big hit. Who is not intrigued with the Robertson family and the core of their faith especially at this time in our culture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Happy, Happy, Happy: My Life and Legacy as the Duck Commander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bonskor
Location:Calgary, AB
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy Phil and his family and their beliefs. "They are so real" love to be part of their family. The book was great. What a testimony.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Happy, Happy, Happy: My Life and Legacy as the Duck Commander
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Barby
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not what I expected. It was somewhat interesting, but not my kind of book. I bought it for others in my family. Some are hunters, so I'm sure they will like the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Happy, Happy, Happy: My Life and Legacy as the Duck Commander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is an honest rendition of a life lived.

Date:December 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
jans
Location:Bourbonnais, Illinois
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is an honest, heart-rending story of a man's struggles at the beginning of his life, and how he developed his God-given character and the principles upon which he builds his life now. He also credits God with all the blessings he has achieved. One can learn life-application principles to apply to one's own life to fully live an abundant life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Happy, Happy, Happy: My Life and Legacy as the Duck Commander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shellyus
Location:West Milton, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
So happy, happy, happy with the book! Phil Robertson is such a great, down-home, salt-of-the-Earth, Christian man and it is great to read about his journey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Happy, Happy, Happy: My Life and Legacy as the Duck Commander
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great story but with one big disappointment.

Date:October 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Katie B
Location:Remer, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great story about turning your life around, wanting to do what is pleasing to the Lord, and working hard to achieve your dreams while maintaining your integrity. They are a model family that has stuck together through good times and bad. It is awesome that Phil Robertson and his family are willing to stand up for the Christian faith and share the gospel with anyone who will listen...but...this is big but....they are misleading folks into believing that a decision for Christ and baptism makes one a Christian. One only becomes a Christian when the Lord Jesus knows their mind AND heart are in the right place and he gives them the Holy Spirit to dwell within them. See Matthew 3:11. When it happens you will know. It is more than a decision and strong emotions that fade away over time. You are changed dramatically from the inside out, a "new creation", 2 Corinthians 5:17. I know this is a mini sermon, but when someone says something isn't right, they need to tell you what is right and back it up!
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Happy, Happy, Happy: My Life and Legacy as the Duck Commander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book made me Happy Happy Happy

Date:October 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dalyn
Location:Yakima, Wa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished this. It took me about 24 hours inbetween bathing children, Church and cooking. And a nap. I have to say, of all the books I've read this year this one stands out for overall message. My family and I are hooked on the show, even though it's pretty scripted, the truth is, it gives us a taste of homemade and homegrown and what we all wish our families were- close. Strong, and full of faith.
The book just really told the nitty-gritty of Phil's life and he tells his story and the gospel and how he lives it with the expected redneck rough style. I loved it. My grampa was a great fisherman and hunter and I have always admired the manly man sort. The Robertsons rock. If you haven't read the book, do. The last couple chapters especially.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Happy, Happy, Happy: My Life and Legacy as the Duck Commander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book even if you are not a hunter!

Date:October 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lee Ann
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one good book. You will not be disappointed even if you are like me and know nothing about hunting or duck calls. I'm very impressed with this family and their Godly living. They work and play harder than anybody I know.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Happy, Happy, Happy: My Life and Legacy as the Duck Commander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can't judge a book by it's cover.

Date:October 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Connie from Colorado
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book had a lot more depth than I expected. Interesting and inspiring.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Happy, Happy, Happy: My Life and Legacy as the Duck Commander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An outstanding biography by a wonderful man!

Date:October 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sometimes the greatest lessons I learn about life come from reading people's autobiographies. In it, I glean information about a life that is uniquely different from my own and along the way take back something inevitably life changing. I think it's vital that at some point in everyone's life, you read biographies. It opens your eyes to possibilities you never thought possible until you finish the final page.
There probably isn't a person around who hasn't heard about Duck Dynasty, the newest reality television series to come from A & E, based on the life of Phil Robertson and his family. It was designed to give American family what was missing in television, a functional family. Not since the days of the Andy Griffith Show, Little House on the Prairie, The Walton, or even the Beverly Hillbillies has a more genuine family come across television. The Robertson family's faith is what separates them from a lot of other families as well as the love each of them have for one another. They still gather around the family dinner table for home-cooked meals, something you don't see much of any more. Everybody in America is so busy, busy, busy. They are preoccupied with their cell phones and computers, so they don't take time to sit down with their spouses, children, grandchildren, aunts and uncles, and grandparents to eat a meal together. The family structure is slipping away from America, but not in the Robertson house.
Phil says it best, "You'll never find me living in a city, folk. Where I live, I am 911. Like I say, if you spend too much time in the subdivision, you go a-runnin' when the snakes fall out of the trees!" This is why he has maintained the life he was born and raised on, living off the land, being self sufficient for the most part and ensuring that his family retains those things that are slowly missing from the family today. He reminds us that young girls don't know how to cook. "Their grandmothers and mamas cooked for them, but they never took the time to learn how to cook. They were more interested in other things. If you go out into the subdivisions and suburbs of America, where all of the yuppies live, you'll see restaurants are packed with people. They don't want to eat slop and they're looking for good food, but they don't want to take the time to make it. Dad is working, Mom is working, and so no one has the time or energy to cook a good meal anymore. So our families end up eating in restaurants, where they're surrounded by noise and clutter, instead of sharing quality time in a family setting."
Perhaps Phil is on to something we all need to hear. While his ways may not work for you, there is some wonderful wisdom in what he has learned by growing up during the time of the great depression and teaching us all to be a little more self sufficient in what we decide to keep or giveaway. There are some great life lessons Phil learned along the way, that I think are the true diamonds in this book and one I plan on incorporating a bit more of before it's too late. Perhaps too much technology is a bad thing and it's time to find our way back to those solid family roots once again.
I received Happy, Happy, Happy by Phil Robertson compliments of Howard Books, a division of Simon and Schuster Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions I shared are mine alone. I love all the interesting stories that come from reading this book, to how the family spent their time growing up without Xbox or Nintendo games and instead spent their youth exploring fields, woods and swamps that surround their homes. Even today, Phil doesn't own or use a cell phone or computer, nor does he plan on ever having one. He does promise one thing however, you'll never find him on Twitter or Skype, and if anyone needs to talk to him, they know where he lives. I easily rate this book a 5 out of 5 stars and by the end, I think you too, will be Happy, Happy, Happy!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Happy, Happy, Happy: My Life and Legacy as the Duck Commander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
patc
Location:Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anyone who enjoys all things "Duck Dynasty" will certainly enjoy reading this book about their humble beginnings, and God's grace through it all!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Happy, Happy, Happy: My Life and Legacy as the Duck Commander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very wise redneck.

Date:September 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Milwaukie, OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an amazing family. Yes, sometimes crazy, but my can we learn a lot from them on so many levels. God is using them in so many ways and it gives hope for parents who have made bad decisions and turned their lives over to God. We need more Robertson Clans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Happy, Happy, Happy: My Life and Legacy as the Duck Commander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Robertsons are real and stand for truth

Date:September 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nance
Location:Escondido CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this as a gift. My husband and I read it before we gifted it and greatly enjoyed and agreed with Phil Robertson and his Biblical philosophy on life. My daughter-in-love, who received the gift, said it was the best birthday gift ever. Of course, we included a duck call in with the book. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Happy, Happy, Happy: My Life and Legacy as the Duck Commander
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

First one out the door of the "library"!

Date:September 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
fishing
Location:Mt. Sterling, Kentucky
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recently started a small library in my local church, and placed this adjacent to C.S. Lewis (appropriate?)! Although possibly falsely advertised, this book went out before any of the other books available, including John MacArthur, John Hagee, Francis Chan, and about 25 other "named" titles. Yes, they (Duck Commanders), are hot now, but rightly so. Bucking the modern religion trends with family values, public prayer, moral standards, non-violent, and wholesome programming....bravely and very successfully. Mr. Robertson's story is inspirational to all America that faces the demons of alcohol, marriage mountains, child rearing, family values, and finding Jesus Christ. All of which, gives his entire family the crown as "overcomers" in my book. Highly recommend; especially to "a redneck friend walking too close to the wild side!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.