Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books 90 Days of God's Goodness: Daily Reflections That Shine Light in Personal Darkness

Multnomah Books 90 Days of God's Goodness: Daily Reflections That Shine Light in Personal Darkness

When life gets tough, that's when you really need to begin your day with Scripture---and the encouraging words of a friend! From the best-selling author of Heaven, The Treasure Principle, and If God Is Good comes a devotional filled with uplifting and hope-filled meditations especially written to comfort and sustain those who are hurting. 320 pages, hardcover from Multnomah.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 1486%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 90 Days of God's Goodness: Daily Reflections That Shine Light in Personal Darkness
Review 1 for 90 Days of God's Goodness: Daily Reflections That Shine Light in Personal Darkness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Way Better than expected = excellent book

Date:March 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
mirandikeri
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked Randy Alcorn's Heaven book, so I wanted to read another one of his books. However, this one looked devotional-like, so I wasn't sure I was going to like it. Most devotionals are too shallow for me. But this book proved to have some FANTASTIC "days". Some of them didn't do anything for me, but there were SOOOO many not-just-good but FANTASTIC that I just wanted to tear them out and paste them on my wall or email to friends and family!
I really didnt want to highlight the book because I like it all clean and crisp but there was just too much good stuff and I ended up having to highlight. The theology is the best I've seen in any devotional/days to God book. Most devotionals have weak, feel-good or incorrect theology, but this is right one. I learned afterwards taht Alcorn is a 4pt Calvinist, so I guess that explains his solid grasp on theology.
Here is my favorite part of the book:
A woman was singing "Amazing Grace" but when she got to the tenth word, she sang, "Amazing grace! How sweet the sound that saved a soul like me!" Some have replaced the word wretch with soul. The author of the song recognized that he was a wretch - and that is what made God's grace so "amazing." The greater our grasp of our sin and alienation from God, the greater our grasp of God's amazing grace. When we cut wretch out of "Amazing Grace," we reduce it to something more sensible, less surprising. If we weren't so bad without Christ, then why did He have to endure the Cross? Charles Spurgeon said, "Too many think lightly of sin, and therefore think lightly of the Savior." We try to explain away our sin in terms of "a bad day" or "that's not what I meant" or "it was a mistake" or "I wouldn't have done it if you hadn't..." All these statements minimize our evil and thereby minimize the greatness of God's grace in atoning for our evil. Pg 40-41
I received this book free of charge from the publisher in exchange for this review but I did really give my honest opinion
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 90 Days of God's Goodness: Daily Reflections That Shine Light in Personal Darkness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book

Date:September 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anna Wood
Location:Mobile, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When offered the chance to review this book, I wasn’t at all sure that I wanted to. I’ve read Randy’s other works on the goodness of God and, as good as they were, I was afraid that this book would add nothing to the discussion. I was wrong. This is a top-notch book that I look forward to turning to again and again.
Set up as a devotional to be read over a 90-day period, 90 Days of God’s Goodness: Daily Reflections That Shine Light on Personal Darkness offers the suffering Christian much in the way of clarity (the whys and wherefores of suffering), hope (God’s ways truly are best…even when we suffer) and encouragement (we can endure because God is good and can be trusted). Each section opens with several verses of Scripture (refreshing since so many devotionals skimp on the amount of Scripture used), follows up with application and ends with a suggested prayer.
Randy writes as a fellow-sufferer, as one who knows the truth of what he writes because he has lived it. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is going through trials.
I received this book free from WaterBrook Multnomah for purposes of review. I was not required to write a positive review, simply an honest one. My opinions are my own.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 90 Days of God's Goodness: Daily Reflections That Shine Light in Personal Darkness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book will help your eternal perspective!

Date:July 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
JimF
Location:Montrose, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All of Randy Alcorn's books always exceed my expectations whether fiction or non-fiction. 90 Days of God's Goodness is no exception. Randy deals with pain, suffering and evil in a fallen world in a way that drives us back to the consistent character of a God who is good all the time. These 90 days of devotional thoughts will help you to focus on the things that are unseen rather than the things that are seen. An eternal perspective is imperative for the follower of Christ. Keeping your eyes fixed on God will help you through the challenges of life. I will be sharing this book with friends to encourage them with the hope that comes from our great God!
This book was provided free to me for the purpose of review by Waterbrook Press.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 90 Days of God's Goodness: Daily Reflections That Shine Light in Personal Darkness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finding Jesus in Our Suffering

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
booklover
Location:Central IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In his book, 90 Days of God's Goodness, Randy Alcorn does not claim to provide answers to the question, "If God is good, why is there evil and suffering in the world?" Instead he points his readers to God's character and ultimately to Jesus.
90 Days of God's Goodness: Daily Reflections That Shine Light on Personal Darkness is a 305-page hardcover book by Randy Alcorn, who also wrote the 528-page If God Is Good: Faith in the Midst of Suffering and Evil.
Each day's reading begins with some Scripture verses and ends with a brief prayer Alcorn has written. Sandwiched between, we have Alcorn's meditation based on that day's Scripture passage. And woven throughout, he includes heart-wrenching examples of those who suffer ... a person born with a facial abnormality, a man dying of AIDS, those who lost multiple family members. The list goes on. After reading this book, one might think, "There's even more evil and suffering in the world than I knew!"
But Alcorn also provides a steady dose of Jesus, a steady dose of a perspective focused on God's attributes, and a steady dose of comfort.
This is a book I would feel very comfortable giving a friend who is suffering. Each day's reading is brief enough to not be overwhelming, he provides almost daily stories of or quotes from real people with real suffering, and any one of the readings can stand alone as a source of comfort and hope.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for my honest review, as part of their Blogging for Books program.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 90 Days of God's Goodness: Daily Reflections That Shine Light in Personal Darkness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book about suffering and God's sovereignty

Date:May 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Meghan G
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Randy Alcorn explores the dilemma of suffering and a sovereign, loving God in a real-life, down to earth style that does not necessarily answer all the "why's" of suffering in the world and an all powerful God above, but instead, reveals layers of the character of God. Dr. Alcorn also explores the clear hand of God in the lives of His people today and through out history, starting with David.
Psalms is one of my favorite books of the Bible, as it is a prayer and praise journal of David and in a larger sense, the Israelites. The Psalms, with their poignant, heart-piercing honesty and transparency in good times and the harrowing times, have often echoed the heart cries of suffering Christians through out history.
Dr. Alcorn explores these as well as the difficult lives of the early apostles, including Paul; great men who suffered much for the cause of Christ...and also doubted, questioned, fought, and grew angry at personal suffering and their contemporaries suffering...just like any other fallible human being in the history of the world, including me.
In exploring examples from the past and present of Christians who have endured suffering in a myriad of capacities, Dr. Alcorn weaves throughout the mighty sovereignty of God, in yes, allowing suffering. My personal favorite analogy Dr. Alcorn uses at the outset of this book, is that of God as the great Author of our lives. Sometimes we want to skip to the end to see what happens; if the pain ever goes away on this earth; if our dreams are ever fulfilled. But He knows best, and keeps the pen in His hand, only asking us to trust Him, gently reminding us in every moment of pain, that this is only our temporary home. He reminds us that the pain and suffering refines us and burns away the dross, polishing us as gold...and someday, the heartache and physical pain will melt away into an eternal epilogue to His unique story for each of us.
**I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 90 Days of God's Goodness: Daily Reflections That Shine Light in Personal Darkness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Help when life is difficult...

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
thesachsgirl
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
90 Days of God’s Goodness is a book of reminders; reminders that God is in control, no matter how out of control our lives may seem. The subtitle is, “Daily Reflections That Shine Light on Personal Darkness.” What a true statement! People often think that becoming a Christian means your life will suddenly become hunky-dorey, full of nothing but happiness and joy. Any Christian who is honest will tell you that is not true. This book helps people try to cling to God when those bumps, or rather mountains, come along that seem impossible to climb, and we feel so all alone. This book tackles the subject most people struggle with, why is there suffering and pain in the world, and how do we get through it?
I wouldn’t really call this book a devotional, it’s more of a meditation, which is what the back cover says it is, “here are ninety meditations that will remind you of God’s presence in your life and the good things he brings to you daily.”(1) Each day’s meditation begins with a passage of Scripture, then follows with a discussion of that passage, and how it helps us get through our struggles. The final portion of the day’s meditation is a prayer relating to the passage of Scripture and the topic for that day.
The only things I would point out is the fact that there is no table of contents, so the book is laid in a format where you would follow it chapter by chapter. Since each chapter tackles a different subject it would be nice to have a table of contents, that way the reader could see what day might be most helpful to them at that moment. The other thing is that the book jacket felt “funny” in a way. The best way that I can describe it is a parchment feel, which just gave me a funny feeling and sounded odd when I moved my hands while I was holding it. I ended up taking the jacket off and it was fine though. I’m not usually a person who is bothered in any tactile way so I wanted to point this out.
All in all I would recommend this book to anyone. If you are struggling, going through a rough spot, or just a person (as we will all go through peaks and valleys in our lives), this book will be very helpful. It would also make a great gift for someone.
(1) Randy Alcorn, 90 Days of God’s Goodness: Daily Reflections That Shine Light on Personal Darkness (Colorado Springs, CO: Multnomah, 2011).
I received a complimentary copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group through the Blogging for Books program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 90 Days of God's Goodness: Daily Reflections That Shine Light in Personal Darkness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Peace-filled

Date:May 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
shortcake
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book I have read by Randy Alcorn. I was excited to recieve it because I have heard good things about his books. "90 Days of God's Goodness" is a devotional book reflecting on God's ultimate Goodness in spite of the hardships and trials we go through in life.
I couldn't help comparing this book to another devotional book I have been reading. That particular book is a collection of stories with a short Bible verse tacked on to the end. "90 Days" is not that kind of devotional book. Each section starts off with a good portion of Scripture; just reading this gives you peace in your heart. Following this is a related passage, sometimes from the author's life, most times from others who have faced some sort of adversity in their lives.
Romans 8:28 NIV, "And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose." This verse is mention frequently and seems to be the underlying theme of the book. All passages affirm god's goodness and His love for us. the author often reminds us we are never alone in our suffering and to remember the suffering of Christ on our behalf.
This book was provided by Waterbrook Multnomah in exchnge for a fair and unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 90 Days of God's Goodness: Daily Reflections That Shine Light in Personal Darkness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

90 Days - a Refreshing Read

Date:May 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tony Brackemyre
Location:Wilmington OH
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There are many different devotional books on the market. This one truly was a refreshing read. As I read each day I found something that seemed to jump off the page, either a statement made by the author or the scripture that was chosen for that day....sometimes both.
Alcorn's format was fairly simple and straightforward. He chose a scripture to start each reading, followed by his own thoughts, experiences or a story from someone's else journey and then concluded it with a brief, but meaningful prayer.
If you are one who has either grown up in the church or been a part of a church for an extended period of time, you probably have learned the art of the "giving the church answer." Alcorn faces some of the difficulties of life in a real way and allows the scripture to speak to that experience. Where some devotionals may gloss over some of life's obstacles, the author of 90 Days faces them with insight from God's Word.
If you are looking for a devotional tool that will strive to speak to the journey of following God and seeing His goodness in even the ugliness of life, this book would be a good pick.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 90 Days of God's Goodness: Daily Reflections That Shine Light in Personal Darkness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God is Good!

Date:May 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lisa Hodgen
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
God is Great! God is Good! Though in the midst of suffering some may doubt that. But our Sovereign Omnipotent Father sees the end from the beginning, and knows what we do not, and works all things for good to those who are the called and love Him.
90 Day's of God's Goodness: Daily Reflections that Shine Light in Personal Darkness (available in book or audio) is a typical devotional book of short daily reflections consisting of a Scripture Passage, a true story illustrating its application, and a short prayer. But this devotional is a book of God's goodness, even through suffering in the lives of His children. It is about the Ultimate Good from the One who sees not just the trial of the moment, but the eternal outcome of it.
I enjoy Randy Alcorn's writing, and this book was no exception. Hearing of others who have gone through the fire and come out refined is an encouragement to all who walk through any kind of suffering. It also shows how light our suffering may be compared to what others have triumphed through. God indeed is Good! God is Great!
I listened to the audio version of this book, which may prove to be a perfect format for a daily devotional for some as they get ready for the day. If you are looking for a daily devotional that will strengthen your faith, this is a good one.
For Me & My House,
Lisa @ Me & My House
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 90 Days of God's Goodness: Daily Reflections That Shine Light in Personal Darkness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Focus on God When Struggling

Date:April 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’m so thankful I chose this book from Waterbrook Multnomah Publisher’s Blogging for Books program. I almost didn’t. I’ve been reading a lot of devotionals lately. But I’ve read Randy Alcorn’s novel, "Safely Home," and was curious about his non-fiction work. He didn’t disappoint me. In fact, he encouraged me—a lot! This is a book I will read more than once.
"90 Days of God’s Goodness" deals with the question, “If God is good, why do pain and suffering exist?” Alcorn says we find answers by sitting in God’s Presence, focusing on Who He Is. In other words, instead of concentrating on the pain and suffering, we trust God in our circumstances because we know He is good.
Each devotional is about three pages long, begins with a passage of Scripture (not just a verse or two), continues with Alcorn’s thoughts on what that passage teaches us about God and how He works, and closes with a prayer. In the introduction, Alcorn invites readers to allow his prayers to prompt their own. They do this effectively.
"90 Days of God’s Goodness" is full of wisdom and comfort. I recognized some themes from the novel, "Safely Home." I suspect these themes are found in other books by Alcorn, too. If you’re looking for encouragement in struggles and assurance of God’s love, both firmly grounded in His Word, I recommend this book to you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 90 Days of God's Goodness: Daily Reflections That Shine Light in Personal Darkness
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Was expecting to like it, but sadly didn't...

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin
Location:Seattle, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
90 Days of God’s Goodness is presented much like what you would expect from a daily devotional in size and comes in a hardcover. There are 90 short meditations which take only minutes to read.
One of the best features is the Scripture portions that open each entry. Most of them are quite lengthy and so the reader is offered the full portion of thought in context. I LOVED that! I enjoy the fuller understanding offered with the surrounding verses.
Following the Scripture, the author shares his thoughts. He presents several personal stories from his own life and testimonies of others who have undergone great suffering—also quoting faithful believers from the past like C. S. Lewis, Charles Spurgeon, Corrie ten Boom and others. I found these additions to be the best part of this section. While at times I found the author to be a bit “preachy”—which no one who is in the midst of suffering really needs or responds too—these other additions were most encouraging and helpful in bringing the point of the Scriptures to light.
Each meditation ends with a prayer. I found several of these to be very helpful and nice. I like to do my own talking to Jesus, but I enjoy praying in agreement with others also.
So . . . what’s my overall take of this book? Personally, it was more of a chore for me to read through than an encouragement. I loved the idea of the book—90 days of encouragement for one who is currently struggling with personal suffering or sharing alongside the suffering of another. I loved that it began with extensive, full-context Scripture. I loved the heart behind the prayers. It was the middle section—the main point of the book—that really missed for me. Apart from the personal stories and quotes, the thoughts just didn’t leave me feeling very . . . well . . . encouraged or enlightened! I cannot see myself reading through it again or offering it to another as a gift.
Disclosure: Multnomah Books provided me 90 Days of God's Goodness for free for review purposes with no expectation that I would provide a positive review. The thoughts and opinions shared are entirely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 90 Days of God's Goodness: Daily Reflections That Shine Light in Personal Darkness
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Eh

Date:April 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anthony Shuler
Location:Kansas, USA
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well, this book is basically just another pick me up, try to feel good book on suffering. Let's face the music people, if you've read one book on suffering you've pretty well read them all. At some point i starts to become rather cliche. The only thing that really sets this one apart is the fact that it has some 90 chapters so it isn't very readable.
Thank you to Multnomah/Waterbrook for sending me a free copy of this book for a review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 90 Days of God's Goodness: Daily Reflections That Shine Light in Personal Darkness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A light in dark times

Date:April 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Abbie
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
If you are a fan of Randy Alcorn this is another winner of his! This book is a light is distress and devastation. In it's pages Randy Alcorn carefully reveals the goodness of God even in the darkness of the times, even in suffering and heartache, even in the valleys of life. Through these short inspirational devotions the reader is drawn into the debt of God's heart. They are invited to come face to face with the deep still well of compassion that God has for his people. You can not help but fall in love with our Savior all over again after reading this - for who else has offered up so much, sacrificed something so priceless, laid out such a beautiful gift, and time and time again has restored, resurrected, reclaimed and set aside his people that are the apple of his eye. A wonderful read.
Thank you Multnomah/Waterbrook for this review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 90 Days of God's Goodness: Daily Reflections That Shine Light in Personal Darkness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pilar Arsenec
Location:New Jersey
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I obtained my free copy of "90 Days of God's Goodness" from Multnomah for review. This book is precisely what I needed. I have to say that since I signed up to review free Christian books, I have been so blessed. These books have been an answer to prayer. Ninety Days of God's Goodness by Randy Alcorn is an awesome devotional. Last week, I found myself in tears after reading it and immediately went into prayer. Randy Alcorn writes with such truth, depth and intensity. I really like how he incorporates true stories within this devotional as well. This devotional talks about why there is suffering and how despite all of the pain and suffering that we experience here on earth, God is good. Each day presented a new nugget of truth that left me ruminating. He starts out each day with a portion of Scripture, then his devotional and he ends it with a short prayer. It's just absolutely wonderful to start your day. I really enjoyed reading it each morning. I will read through it again, there is just so much information to glean from and it's very encouraging. If you are looking for a devotional that will speak into your heart and life, I highly recommend this one. You definitely won't be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.