Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books I Am Not, But I Know I Am: Welcome to the Story of God

Multnomah Books I Am Not, But I Know I Am: Welcome to the Story of God

In this super-sized era where bigger is better and fast is too slow, it's time to become small and let God be great! Redefining success, Giglio shows you how to obtain the astonishing freedom and incredible rest that come from believing, like John the Baptist and Moses, that you must decrease while Jesus increases. 176 pages, softcover from Multnomah.
Average Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for I Am Not, But I Know I Am: Welcome to the Story of God
Review 1 for I Am Not, But I Know I Am: Welcome to the Story of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this book. Giving it to many friends!

Date:September 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jean Meaney
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Love the concept. Loved how he conveyed the concept not only through hia words but through his fonts. I wept as I read and slowly digested this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for I Am Not, But I Know I Am: Welcome to the Story of God
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Helpful

Date:April 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Justin
Location:Denver
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I first remember reading i am not but i know I AM by Louie Giglio early after it’s initial release, sometime around late 2005, early 2006.
It recently came up for review from Multnomah press and I jumped at the opportunity to review it. One, because I love reading books and two, it allows me to give away another book to my awesome readers. Seeing how well the last book giveaway worked, I’m excited to see what happens here.
Having previously read the book, I also knew what to expect (at least a little bit, it has been seven years since I read it).
As I read it this time, here is the thought that hit me: It’s “What we talk about when we talk about God” for Evangelicals. That may not be a fair assessment, Giglio wrote before Bell and they take on a different direction, but the ideas behind both were strikingly familiar. They both get us to imagine how big the universe (and God by extension is), how small everything is (atoms, subatomic particles and the like), both are amazed that something (or more appropriately someone) is able to hold it all together and both are concerned with our place and function in the world. What Rob Bell is attempting to do for the emergent/progressive crowd, Giglio did years ago for the Evangelical crowd: God is big, God holds everything together and in the midst of all of that, God is passionate and crazy about you.
Giglio is writing a story, or perhaps more accurately, the story of God and his work in the world. The same God that revealed himself as the I AM to Moses is found throughout the story of Scripture as well as in our world today. Jesus, the one who BE came human (Be as a part of I AM) has dwelt among us and gives us access to God, his story and his ultimate plan of redemption, salvation and restoration.
At times, I think Giglio pushes this too hard as it seems a little laborious to construct ‘to be’ verbs into the I AM of Exodus, but his point is one that I think most people need to hear. God is not an angry, judgmental, vindictive God looking to spite us but someone that is loving, gracious and relentlessly pursuing us at all costs. And don’t even get me started on his Sabbath ideas, simply amazing. In our overworked, hurried and fast-paced world, the idea of a Sabbath needs to take center stage as a way or re-prioritizing the perspective of faith people.
Giglio is clearly writing as a pastor, someone with a heart that is touched by the plight of people and he writes to connect them to something beyond themselves, the Someone that created them. It serves as an impassioned plea for people to discover just who God is, the I AM that creates them, guides them, loves them, redeems them and pursues them.
———-
Disclaimer: I reviewed a free copy of this book through the BloggingForBooks program offered by WaterBrook Multnomah publishing. I was in no way compensated for this review and all views are solely and completely my own. I was not required to offer a positive review either through the publisher or author.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for I Am Not, But I Know I Am: Welcome to the Story of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Here's a little paperback worth reading ...

Date:April 1, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If it wasn't for the fact I was obligated to read the book in order to write a review, I likely would have put this book aside shortly after starting it, thinking it was uninteresting.
Besides, it was just a little paperback with an odd title, how compelling could it be?
As it turns out, fairly compelling with a challenging, inspiring, and insightful message.
Yes, I kept reading.
Whether I was just not well tuned in when I started my reading, or the first chapter really is rather dull, I'm not sure what it was that initially almost lost my interest in reading "I Am Not But I Know I Am" (published by Multnomah Books), but author Louie Giglio quickly captured my attention soon thereafter and I found myself thoroughly engrossed in this little paperback.
Giglio marches the reader back to the story of Moses encountering God through a burning bush and discovering what God's name is. Giglio uses that discovery to take the reader into what is the subtitle of the book, "Welcome to the story of God."
When you explore who the I AM is, and understand that makes us the "I am not's," you gain a much greater, and clearer perspective of God's BIG story and where (and how) you fit into it. With this new perspective comes an understanding of our smallness, something Giglio challenges his readers to embrace positively.
"The Story already has a star, and that star is not you or me," Giglio writes.
God is infinitely big in a myriad of ways. We are tiny. That turns out to be a beautiful combination for life, as Giglio reveals throughout the rest of the book.
"I Am Not But I Know I Am" is a little paperback worth reading. It won't take a lot of your time, but it will challenge and inspire you in big ways.
I received this book free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for I Am Not, But I Know I Am: Welcome to the Story of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A reminder that this is God's story

Date:March 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heather King
Location:Gloucester, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The message of Louie Giglio's book, I Am Not But I Know I Am, is both humbling and freeing. He reminds us from the beginning of the book that this life story we're living isn't really about us at all. It's God's story, and we've simply been invited to play a small part in His great design.
This means that we can throw over all that stress we place on ourselves, feeling like this world depends on us or that decisions and outcomes rest so heavily on our lightweight shoulders. It also means that we can stop treating this life like the story (and the glory) is ours. It's about Him, always Him, and never us.
Covering a vast span of Scripture, reminders from astronomy, and personal experiences, Giglio manages to keep every chapter short, easy to read, and both inspiring and challenging. Louie Giglio is known for his story-telling, humor, and practical teaching to college students at the Passion conferences, and his gift for communication and teaching certainly shines in this book.
My favorite sections include his teaching on the importance of keeping a Sabbath perspective in life, choosing to rest and allow God to be at work, and recognizing that the world doesn't spin and function because of our intense 24-7-365 involvement. God doesn't need us to make His plans succeed; He chooses to include us.
I've read through it twice and I've been challenged both times to examine my perspective on life. Am I forgetting how great God is? Am I trusting in my own abilities too much? Am I focusing too much on myself and becoming too prideful? Am I living a life that glorifies God? These are questions worth asking not one in a lifetime, but repeatedly in order to fight against pride and help us be more yielded to God's purposes and usable in ministry.
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for I Am Not, But I Know I Am: Welcome to the Story of God
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good for average reader, worth skimming for others

Date:March 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
mattparks35
Location:Carthage, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Giglio definitely does not let us forget this title. He hammers the reader with “I am not but I know I AM” multiple times every chapter. But there is not a single thing wrong with this statement. Giglio pulls Scripture from all over God’s Word to reinforce the fact that we are insignificant, God is very significant, and He loves us anyway. Being part of God’s story has never been so clearly stated. In order to truly know our place in His story, we have to know where we stand. But as Giglio clarifies, “coming to terms with the idea that we are each I am not does not mean relinquishing our dreams, setting aside our competitive desires, or settling for less than the best…knowing I AM inspires us to excel in every area in life. Personally, I was really challenged by his form of meditating on the Bible. He uses what he calls the One-Word Bible Study Method. It is amazing how God can move through a single word and for it to have such a profound impact on us. Giglio’s book was good overall, but be prepared for much redundancy. It is definitely worth skimming for the content, but I wouldn't say that it is one that I would read again. I received this book free of charge from the publisher as part of a blogging program and was not obligated to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for I Am Not, But I Know I Am: Welcome to the Story of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thoroughly enjoyed!!!

Date:February 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Karen N Craig
Location:Penn Hills, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The title of this book is what intrigued me. It definitely gets your attention and draws you in. Reading this book definitely was a blessing because it got me to focus on the I AM instead of myself (i am not).
If you are a person who tends to be a "control freak", someone who thinks more highly of themselves than they ought (see Romans 12:3), then this is a book for you. Specifically on pages 33-35, where Louie Giglio breaks down who I AM is versus who i am not, will be an eye-opening, humbling revelation.
I hope everyone who reads this book will come to realize that I AM is the answer to every question, frustration, problem, conflict that you will ever have. No matter what the situation is, I AM is the Orchestrator of it all. I AM is in control, i am not!!!
I also appreciated the (OBSM)>One-Word Bible Study Method, which I have incorporated into my personal Bible study.
I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for I Am Not, But I Know I Am: Welcome to the Story of God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Short, but good.

Date:February 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Smoothie71
Location:Alabama
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I didn't think I'd like it.
At first, I thought I'd totally enjoy a book by Louie Giglio.
But sometimes he gives information that, while astounding, I can't even begin to grasp it and being the person I am, that annoys me.
But I enjoyed it.
In fact, I was reminded of a wonderful truth: my name is: i am not.
Little i, little a, little n. I am little.
Louie speaks this truth in every single chapter of his book. But he doesn't leave us there. No, he talks about His name... I AM. And my mind is blown by some of the truth and God comforts my heart with it.
The chapters aren't super long (and I think most people like that), but they are filled with funny stories, deep thoughts, and beautiful truths.
It's a pretty easy read. I can't really think of any complaints or things I didn't like about this book.
Not sure if it would go into my top 5 or even my top 10, but it's a wonderful book that is great for all age groups.
*This book was given to me for free for reviewing purposes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for I Am Not, But I Know I Am: Welcome to the Story of God
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Interesting title

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
AlandWynda
Location:Minot, ND
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
In this book, Pastor and author Louie Giglio begins with the premise that if God is 'I Am,' then we are each 'I am not.' but we know I Am. Part of this concept is that God is much larger than we tend to think, and we need to be much smaller than we tend to want to be.
There are some good premises in the book, but I did not find Giglio's style to resonate with me as much as other Christian authors. His focus on one word study and morphing words to make a point (such as changing Beloved to I am loved, since Be = I am) was interesting but it was more his own design than scriptural exposition and application.
Perhaps after hearing many people rave about Louie Giglio my expectations were too high and just not me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for I Am Not, But I Know I Am: Welcome to the Story of God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Louie Giglio is a fantastic communicator

Date:January 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
bawang75
Location:Branson, Mo
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Louie Giglio, is a phenomenal communicator. For the past 10 years his platform has steadily grown and he has become a voice for college students across the country. His book ‘I am not but I know I am’ tell the incredible story of God and is a mixture of scripture and personal stories from his own story over the years. He captures your attention from the beginning as he tells the story of almost being arrested in New York as he was oblivious to the fact that he was running down a 6 lane highway. He likes this to how we get so caught up and busy in what we are doing and the path that we have chosen, that we are oblivious to not only what God is doing around us. But we are oblivious to the Story of God.
As he tells the story of God he intermixes stories of his own. Going from Manhattan to London to Mount Horeb to explaining the Cosmos to Nazareth to numerous other divine appointments and stories from across the globe. His stories end with the biggest story of them all, the Cross. Louie is such a great communicator and I enjoyed his example of how he truly clinged to the Lord as his own father clinged to life here on earth. ‘The Cross of Christ is the place where trust in God is born, lighting the way through the valley of the shadow of death. What looked like the worst day in history is now the source of our praise.’
When we focus on the Story of God, we begin to realize how short our lives really are. I believe that is what Louie’s vision for this book was. To serve as a reminder of the Big God that we serve in our small lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.