Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Fox Faith Christy: The Complete Series, DVD Set

Fox Faith Christy: The Complete Series, DVD Set

Now the television series based on Catherine Marshall's award-winning novel comes in one affordable boxed set! Christy: The Complete Series features 19 episodes about Christy Huddleston's life as a schoolteacher in the impoverished Great Smoky Mountains of Tennessee. Determined to make a difference, 19-year-old Christy left the comfort of her home to help the children. Christy is home entertainment at its best, these wholesome programs star Kellie Martin, Tyne Daly, LeVar Burton, and many special guest performers. Four double-sided DVDs. Approx. 15 hours total.

DVD Features:
  • Fullscreen
  • English and Spanish Audio
  • English and Spanish Subtitles
  • Region 1
  • Closed captioned
  • Average Customer Rating:
    4.614 out of 5
    4.6
     out of 
    5
    (57 Reviews) 57
    Open Ratings Snapshot
    Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
    5 stars
    46
    4 stars
    5
    3 stars
    3
    2 stars
    1
    1 star
    2
    10 out of 1283%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
    Customer Questions & Answers:
    1 Question | 2 Answers
    Customer Reviews for Christy: The Complete Series, DVD Set
    Review 1 for Christy: The Complete Series, DVD Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Good clean entertainment

    Date:December 20, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    Naty Garza
    Location:Texas
    Age:55-65
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    I really loved the series, but I was disappointed with the ending. It looks, because of her dream, that she will ride off with the doctor. However the ending is one of indecision and left up to the viewer to decide.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 2 for Christy: The Complete Series, DVD Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Awesome story

    Date:July 16, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    hans1992
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I have searched so much for these dvds and i was happy to see them for a very affordable price. I watched these dvds when I was about 7, i am 20 now and these stories still are one of my favourites.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 3 for Christy: The Complete Series, DVD Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Enjoyed the wholesome story of that period of time

    Date:June 11, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Anne
    Location:Pennsylvania
    Age:Over 65
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    It was well done protraying that period of time. Excellent plots, some hummor, and good moral lessons. Even my nine year granddaughter enjoyed it.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 4 for Christy: The Complete Series, DVD Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:March 13, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Shea
    Location:Alpine Texas
    Age:Under 18
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Great show for families! I really enjoyed watching the Christy series with my Mom!!!
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 5 for Christy: The Complete Series, DVD Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Wonderful Series

    Date:January 10, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Anonymous
    Location:Scranton, PA
    Age:45-54
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    The quality of this series made me smile and often brought me to tears. I watched every episode.
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 6 for Christy: The Complete Series, DVD Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Wonderful series

    Date:December 29, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    scooter
    Location:Castalian Springs TN
    Age:45-54
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Bought for a friend for Christmas, the price was great and I new she would love the series, only because she said she never missed a one when it was on TV. I can find everything I want so far from Christianbook.com at a reasonble price and the products have always been in good condition.
    Thanks again Christianbook.com
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 7 for Christy: The Complete Series, DVD Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Great series, great price!

    Date:July 1, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Flaxman
    Location:Bowmanville, Ontario
    Age:45-54
    Gender:male
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I have waited years to get this series because it was a bit pricey wherever I looked but this was such a deal. My family loves this series and my daughter, especially who was just a child when it first came out now watches it with tears in her eyes as the memories come back again.
    +3points
    3of 3voted this as helpful.
    Review 8 for Christy: The Complete Series, DVD Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Great Series

    Date:May 25, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    rosie
    Location:Fountain, Fl
    Age:25-34
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I loved this series. It is wholesome family entertainment. Just wished the networked hadnt cancelled the show then maybe it wouldnt have ended so abrubtly. The actors are superb. Tyne Daly and stewart finley-maclennen really brought the characters to life. I wish they would have remained true to the book a little more for example Dr. MacNeil wife actually being alive?! She was really dead in the book, so that wasnt a factor standing in the way of christy/Neil relationship. If you must know who she ends up with watch Christy: a new beginning but be warned its not nearly as good as the series, since only the dr. is played by the original actor.
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 9 for Christy: The Complete Series, DVD Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    What a terrific series

    Date:April 18, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    sheri
    Location:Dundas, ON
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I thoroughly enjoyed this series when it aired on TV and was very pleased to find it available for purchase. My 3 daughters are enjoying the story of Christy and it certainly spurs conversation between the four of us.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 10 for Christy: The Complete Series, DVD Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Love this series.

    Date:April 6, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Nataisha
    Location:BC, Canada.
    Age:25-34
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I grew up watching this series on TV. Then I found the full series on DVD here and ordered it.......I love the whole story and would of loved for the network to have picked up the series again but sadly it didn't so you will have to read the books ( or watch the other videos, which does not have all the same actors :( ) to see how it all plays out. In saying this I will be ordering the series again because I have played these to may times and need a new set :) I have a daughter now and am looking forward to her watching them with me for years to come.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 11 for Christy: The Complete Series, DVD Set
    Overall Rating: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5

    Date:January 1, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    George
    Age:55-65
    Gender:female
    I was very disappointed in the DVD series Christy. The color quality is very very poor. The people's skin is a very bright tone of orange. Once in a while it is the right color, but then it will go right back to being mostly ORANGE.
    -1point
    0of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 12 for Christy: The Complete Series, DVD Set
    Overall Rating: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5

    Date:October 28, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    sdwl
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5
    excellent series, but very disappointed in abrupt ending ... series is actually incomplete.... went on internet to find out a few ending details from the book ... i would definitely recommend on quality,,,, but simply cannot recommend based on incompletion... my only complaint with this series
    -1point
    0of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 13 for Christy: The Complete Series, DVD Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:September 25, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Carol Clark
    I love love love this series. I loved the book when I was younger and the show makes the book come to life.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 14 for Christy: The Complete Series, DVD Set
    Overall Rating: 
    2 out of 5
    2 out of 5

    Date:August 6, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    George Peters
    Some of the shows were good. We enjoyed watching them. But the last show ruined the whole series.
    +3points
    3of 3voted this as helpful.
    Review 15 for Christy: The Complete Series, DVD Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:June 15, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Steven Cohn
    we also are very satisfied with this rare 1990's series that came out while i was living overseas. the acting is superb TYNE DALY is also an excellent actress. kellie martin is as lovely as can be. the producers of this series out to be commended for making such fine family entertainment. God is honored the gospel is presented very well. the whole cast does a great job in realistically portraying life in rural early 20th century. a must for every family who no longer watches network tv i highly recommend CHRISTY for all GOD loving family's thank you
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 16 for Christy: The Complete Series, DVD Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:April 20, 2010
    This was such a heartwarming series I literally couldn't stop watching them untill they were all finished! An excellent series for family viewing. HIGHLY RECOMEND
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 17 for Christy: The Complete Series, DVD Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:January 26, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Shiela Scott
    My husband and I enjoyed it very much. It is very refreshing to find good family entertainment.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 18 for Christy: The Complete Series, DVD Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:December 31, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Alan Jackson
    Excellent movie. Demonstrates applying the truthes of God's word in the everyday struggles of life and blessings of having faith in God.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 19 for Christy: The Complete Series, DVD Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:November 13, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Leah
    I loved these movies and I think these are great for any Christian family. But you do need to also watch Christy a Change of Seasons and Christy a New Beginning to tie up all the loose ends.
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 20 for Christy: The Complete Series, DVD Set
    Overall Rating: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5

    Date:October 2, 2009
    Yeah, this is a family safe series, but the last episode is a bit awkward for a few seconds. As for Chrisy's choice between Neil or David- I think it's obvious that David is the right one. Neil isn't a Christian, plus he's already married?! Duh! Anyway, this series maybe intresting to some veiwers, but it doesn't strike me was wonderful. I prefer Little House on the Prairie much much more!
    +3points
    3of 3voted this as helpful.