Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books For Women Only, Revised and Updated Edition: What You Need to Know About the Inner Lives of Men

Multnomah Books For Women Only, Revised and Updated Edition: What You Need to Know About the Inner Lives of Men

Can't figure out why men behave the way they do? Feldhahn's groundbreaking research reveals what the men in your life - boyfriends, brothers, husbands, sons, and fathers - are really thinking and feeling. Learn how to provide the loving support they want and need - but are reluctant to ask for. Updated edition includes a brand-new chapter on male emotions. 224 pages, hardcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for For Women Only, Revised and Updated Edition: What You Need to Know About the Inner Lives of Men
Review 1 for For Women Only, Revised and Updated Edition: What You Need to Know About the Inner Lives of Men
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It's OK

Date:March 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ziggy
Location:Somers, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Perhaps it is because I am only reading the women's version of the set and getting only the one side of the story, but it seems as if men are one big bottomless pit of neediness and we are there to fill it. The way men are described (or describe themselves) are that they are weak. I don't believe this to be true and I think a more balanced approach is necessary for a marriage to thrive. A man and a woman need to work as a couple and that means they need to practice patience, sympathy, empathy and take time to communicate. 1 Corinthians 13:4-7 comes to mind. If we all read that verse daily, committed it to memory and called upon it regularly, we would have a good foundation for our marriages and other relationships.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for For Women Only, Revised and Updated Edition: What You Need to Know About the Inner Lives of Men
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Helped turn our marriage from just okay to great!

Date:February 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Child of God
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Totally helped me to understand my husband from a whole different perspective. Showed me how to work with our differences instead of battling over them. This book helped to change me and to respect my husband in a whole new way.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for For Women Only, Revised and Updated Edition: What You Need to Know About the Inner Lives of Men
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great advises

Date:January 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jonjour
Location:Pomona, New York
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first read For Men Only before reading this. The book was great. A lot of insights to learn from. For Women Only is a great
Book because I learned how to understand the way men think and what a difference it is from what previously have thought it should be. I wish I had the book before everything has happened in my life. My husband had passed away 1yr ago at a young age. This will help me with any future relationships I will get into. I recommend it to every woman who's gettin into a relationship & married ones.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for For Women Only, Revised and Updated Edition: What You Need to Know About the Inner Lives of Men
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

An okay book

Date:June 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
GHayes
Location:Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I found the first five chapters of this book to be very interesting and insightful. When it came to chapter 6 "Sex Changes Everything" I did not feel the chapter gave a balanced perspective on the topic. I'm very aware and very much respect that men have a strong drive/need/desire for sex. But I also believe the man is not entitled to selfishness in this area, and that God, in giving him this drive, also expects him to use some self-control in giving consideration to his wife and her needs. I have read "His Needs Her Needs" by Willard F. Harley, Jr., and highly recommend his book over this book in regard to this topic as well as many other important topics pertaining to marriage.
I did enjoy the first chapter of this book as I found the topic of respect to be very insightful. I do know, however, that this topic is covered in much greater depth by Emerson Eggerich in his book "Love and Respect". I own that book but have not yet taken the time to read it, as I have so many good books to read. Thus I found it was nice to get a shorter overview of the topic in this book.
In my opinion, while there is some value in the information contained in chapters 6-10 of this book, I didn't find it to be useful enough to warrant a strong recommendation of this book; however, if you simply want a quick read that touches on the issues, I believe you would find something beneficial from this book. I received my copy for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for For Women Only, Revised and Updated Edition: What You Need to Know About the Inner Lives of Men
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Insight Into the Male Mind

Date:May 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
SmileyMommy
Location:Bowling Green, KY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has made me look at my relationship with my husband in a whole new light!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for For Women Only, Revised and Updated Edition: What You Need to Know About the Inner Lives of Men
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Read!!

Date:May 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
gcwfarmgirl
Location:Ohio
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the first version of this book (and loved it) and then received this revised and updated version through Waterbrook Multnomah publishing...
This book serious-For Women/Men only-I feel should be a must read for all couple.
As the 'For Women Only' book says; if you're looking for a male bashing book, look else where.
After lots of surveys and interviews with male friends, her own own husband and random males she had a chance to talk to; Shaunti really did put a lot of work into this book (unlike others who just write a book based off of what they've learned.)
Through the book she reveals her own discoveries and most of the time she's shocked at what she learns.
I once left (the original book) on the kitchen table and my older brother started reading it and was shocked at how accurate it was (over time he ended up reading the entire For Women Only-and asked me if there was a For Men Only).
Ladies, if you're not open to learn that the man in your life is different than you; the way he thinks, feels, reacts and how the way you react and the things you say affect him. Don't bother reading this book. This isn't a book on how to change your man; it's a book about how to become a better wife/girlfriend, and (even some parts) sister and daughter.
I could read this book at least once a year and always read something that makes me think about the way I handle things, and how I could better myself.
Now; I'm sure that there are men out there that disagree with some of the things said in this book. But as the book says, it's the average male (like on average most males agree with the surveys.)
In summery, I love this book and I'm really glad I have it on my bookshelf.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for For Women Only, Revised and Updated Edition: What You Need to Know About the Inner Lives of Men
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

for women only, revised and updated

Date:May 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
dyand
Location:Lancaster, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For women only, revised and updated, by Shaunti Feldhahn is a book compiled to help you better understand how your husband feels and thinks – from his perspective. As women we cannot help wondering why men do not think like we do – they are wondering the same thing about us, and we just cannot understand each other. We tend to do for them what we want them to be doing for us to make us feel loved, and it does nothing for them (because that is not what they need), and we feel confused because we think we are doing the right things. The problems still exist – we feel unloved and they are not happy either. This is a great book to help you understand where men are coming from and perhaps, why they think like they do in certain situations. Like everything, every word and idea does not fit every single male, however, there is enough information that you can glean what might work for yours.
Better yet, at the very beginning of the book, it is suggested that your husband read this book first, underlining or highlighting things that are important to him, and perhaps crossing out things that might not fit his particular personality. At the same, you are to read for men only (which is the female version which explains for men how we think and what we need), underlining, highlighting, making notes and/or crossing parts out. After you have both completed your edits, you switch books – now you have a help guide that is specific to the person you are trying to show you love or respect. I very much like that idea – then you have a personalized copy and you can more specifically show you spouse love or respect in the ways that each individual will definitely understand. It is a good book, however I feel it will work much better if both partners are committed to fixing the problems, and honest enough to personalize the necessary versions - otherwise it seems to me that one person will be spinning their wheels and although they may be better able to give their spouse what their spouse needs, they will still feel empty with regard to what they need. I would recommend this book, but along with for men only, as a team project.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for For Women Only, Revised and Updated Edition: What You Need to Know About the Inner Lives of Men
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommend!

Date:April 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kayla
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have wanted to read this book for several years. I heard the author speak on Focus on the Family and other radio programs and podcasts on numerous occasions... So, much of the book wasn't "new information." However, I still put the book down with the feeling that I gained so much from reading it.
Shaunti Feldhahn has a very warm and inviting tone throughout the book. She discovered "What You Need to Know About the Inner Lives of Men" in what began as informal polls of men she knew as she was writing a fiction book and wanted to know what a man would think in a specific situation. Because she truly wanted to know (and was quickly surprised by the men's answers), she doesn't fault the women who read her book for not knowing. She encourages them to learn, absorb, and change. I didn't feel like my misunderstanding/misinterpretation of men was ever an issue; it was merely a starting point for change. She also isn't male-bashing at all; her intent is to reveal what many guys don't know how to articulate.
I didn't read the first release, so I can't speak to how this one has improved. I do know that the two chapters she added ("The Thinker" and "The Truth About Taking Care of Yourself") were challenging and thought provoking. It helped me understand my husband a bit more. The updated/revised version is a mere 204 pages (the book is on the small side), and a quick read.
The one thing I did not like about the book had to do with formatting. There were quotes from the text in a different font with two "bubbles" to indicate an important thought. I found these incredibly distracting and skipped reading most of them (since they were usually quotes from the paragraph I had just read or was getting ready to read).
Ladies, I highly recommend this book. Newlywed or longlywed, Shaunti has pulled out some great insights into how our men think. Their brains are literally wired differently than ours. And it's not a bad thing! But understanding their wiring sure can help minimize conflict and help us serve our men better.
I received this book for free via WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. The perspectives above are entirely mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.