Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Rules of Murder, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #1 -eBook

Bethany House Rules of Murder, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #1 -eBook

From The Tip of his black Homburg to the crease in his stylish cheviot trousers, he's the epitome of a stylish 1930s English gentleman. His only problem? The body he just discovered. Drew Farthering loves a good mystery, although he generally expects to find it in the pages of a novel, not on the grounds of his country estate.

With the help of beautiful and whip-smart Madeline Parker, a guest from America, Drew proposes to use the lessons he's learned reading his mysteries to solve the crime. Before long, he realizes this is no lark, and no one at Farthering Place is who he or she appears to be--not the butler nor blackmailer, the chauffeur nor embezzler. Trying hard to remain one step ahead of the killer--and trying harder to impress Madeline--Drew must decide how far to take this dangerous game.

Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
15
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
33 out of 33100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rules of Murder, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #1 -eBook
Review 1 for Rules of Murder, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good

Date:May 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Thereadmaster
Location:Davenport,Iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This reminded me of an adult version of a Nancy Drew or a Hardy boys type novel.. I loved it. I am looking forward to reading the next in the series. I love this time of year that these books take place.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rules of Murder, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding Book

Date:April 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Location:Ontario, Ca.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Welcome to Farthing Manor, home of Drew Farthing, a young man who is an avid mystery reader.
When Drew Farthing returns home after an extended vacation, he finds that his mother has thrown a weekend party and that his nemesis is now occupying his bedroom. When said nemesis is later found murdered, Drew along with his best friend Nick and his new girlfriend Madeline set out to find the killer.
Rules of Murder is set in England in the 1930's and is a breath of fresh air. The overall mystery was magnificently written with several plot twists that will keep the reader guessing. I adored the quaintness of the time, such as Drew and Maddie on their leisurely stroll from the manor to the village, quietly discussing the case, or the times that Drew, Nick and Maddie would discuss what their favorite sleuth, Father Knox, would do in this or that situation. There was just enough detail that I could picture the situation, but not enough that overwhelmed me. It's the little things like this that can make or break a book.
The author brings a whole host of likable characters. Drew's stepfather Mason, is also Madeline's uncle. Nick is the son of Fathering Manor's long time butler Dennison, Inspector Songbird who is the lead investigator on the case and of course Madeline, who has lived all her life in America, but is in England on vacation and to visit her uncle. The author did a wonderful job with the way that these characters all interacted with each other. It was very natural, not forced.
Really the only complaint that I had was with the cover. It was a little cartoony for me, but I am so glad that I took a chance with this book.
This is a must read for all mystery lovers, or if you want an introduction into something new.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rules of Murder, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great, Clean Mystery On The Christian Market!

Date:December 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not a very big fan of mystery, but the book club I am a part of at church decided on this one to read. Once completing it I was very surprised in how much I enjoyed it! I didn't feel it was very different from any other typical mystery novel available on the market, but it had a good story line that kept me on my toes in figuring out who the murderer was! I was tickled pink when I found out at the end that I was halfway right which is seriously uncommon for me! However with that said, it doesn't mean that the case was easy to figure it out!
Throughout Rules of Murder there was not any really gruesome parts/images except maybe two that were not very descriptive, but left the mind little to imagine. The characters were very enjoyable, especially Drew, Nick, and Madeleine! I absolutely loved their interactions and the growing romance between two of them!
I do want to mention that this book might fall under inspirational, but really there was not a lot of "religious talk" as some people might call it. Actually, one of the main characters has some issues with God more or less. There are only a few small mentions in different parts of the book concerning his struggles and believing if God is really there. I felt this enhanced the story rather then take away because it was easier to relate to him.
Overall, great mystery that is clean with good romance as well as a fair dose of humor (that was also one of my favorite things about the book next to the romance)! Plenty of suspense too! Just when you think you know who the murderer is, you find out that your wrong!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rules of Murder, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

rules of murder review

Date:December 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
"Rules of Murder" by Julianna Deering is a murder mystery that takes place in 1930's England society. When Drew Farthering comes home to his country estate his mother throws a party for her society friends (and a few enemies) and winds up dead along with a certain dastardly guest. Drew and Madeline, his step-father's niece from America, play detective and try to find the killer(s?).
In the beginning, Deering goes overboard on trying to sound "society" with an abundance of 'my boy' and 'if you please', etc. I did a lot of eye rolling at first. It takes quiet a little reading to quit noticing. The story doesn't catch right away, but when the Americans show up, the story gets rolling. Following the arrival of the Americans, Deering drops one unexpected plot surprise after another. The characters start to grow on the reader and before you know it you don't want to put it down. Deering also covers the separation and differences in class during that time period which makes for interesting reading as well. I received this book for free from Bethany House.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rules of Murder, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Exciting Historical Mystery

Date:December 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Libby
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love mysteries, I love the 30's, and I love to play Clue. So, take a murder mystery, set it in the 30's, slap a cover on it that reminds me of Clue, and I am more than likely going to give it a go! "Rules of Murder" was worth the go, if I do say so myself.
The Pros:
"Rules of Murder" is a fast-paced murder mystery set in the 1930's. When his mothers house party goes very wrong, it is up to Drew Farthering, best friend Nick Dennison, and Madeline Parker, his step-fathers spunky American niece, to solve this mystery.
This book is perfectly paced, never too slow, never too fast, and with a comical twist on the old black and white mystery movies. The mystery itself, is sometimes predictable, but not at all boring. The romance is clean and very sweet, with a nice Christian element. And the whole book just had a great 1930's feel to it.
The Cons:
It is after all a murder mystery, and it got to me in a couple of places with sweaty palms, shallow breathing, and I might have covered my eyes once or twice. (Yes, I know, it's a book...) Also, there was one particularly gory passage towards the end, which caused me to put the book down for the rest of the day. So, I would not suggest this book for those that are younger.
In Conclusion:
This is an excellently written story for mystery lovers, with a sweet Christian theme woven throughout. I can fully recommend it as a fun read for a rainy day!
*I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rules of Murder, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun little mystery

Date:October 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
tmurrell
Location:TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Drew and his best friend love reading mysteries. So when a person dies on Drew's property during a huge party, they decide to help the police investigate. But when the murder hits closer to home it becomes harder to separate the fact from fiction. Murder isn't fun when it's personal.
I could not put this book down. Stayed up really late finishing it. I really enjoyed the style of writing, the way the author wove the styles and thoughts of famous mystery writers into the story. I don't read a lot of mysteries so this had some pros and cons for me. The clues were perfectly misleading at times, which makes the book fun. I didn't figure out the story until very close to the end. I will admit that the small bit of romance thrown in was weak and not my favorite part. But I read a lot more romance than I do mystery so this was a really nice change and I focused on the who-done-it part instead. Die hard fans of mystery might find this a bit bland. But it made a welcome change from my typical genre and I really enjoyed it. I will definitely be keeping this author on my radar.
I received this book free of charge from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rules of Murder, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

For Lovers of Film Noir and Classic Mysteries

Date:September 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is just a pure work of clean fun! The setting is on an old estate in England with a few Americans thrown in to accent the flavor. When a murder occurs, the characters are intent to solve the mystery by the rules of murder set by a mystery author. The game keeps twisting creating lots of interest and fun. If you love Agatha Christi or old murder mystery movies, you will enjoy this book. I recommend it to anyone looking for a clean mystery with Christian and romantic theme sunning through. I will definitely pick up the second in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rules of Murder, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Fantastic Mystery

Date:September 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Liz R
Location:Tuscaloosa, Al
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Drew Farthing, charming lord of Fathering Place, and his good friend Nick Dennison are murder mystery aficionados. So when they return home for yet another boring party the last thing they expect to find is a shocking and personal double murder. Along with Madeline Parker, a lovely and smart visitor from America, the trio set out to solve the crime. Plenty of twists and turns along the way will keep even the biggest mystery buffs guessing till the end.
Drew was a strong, refreshing male voice who was easy to love. The flirtations between Drew and Madeline were adorable and believable without the dreaded insta love. Drew and Nick’s interactions were also one of my favorite parts of the book and their banter had me chuckling the whole way through.
The mystery element of the story had the feel of a favorite Agatha Christie novel. Just when I thought I had figured out “who-dun-it” the author throws in a twist and I was back to square one.
Oozing with British charm, Rules of Murder is a must read for any mystery fan. Deering has found a new fan and I am looking forward to the sequel, Death by the Book, releasing in February 2014.
***I received a copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rules of Murder, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Convincingly British...

Date:September 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jen Pen
Location:Midwest
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SUMMARY:
Madeline Parker has come from America to visit her uncle at his home in Britain. Upon reaching her uncle’s home, she is swept into family and societal mystery. In the course of one dinner party, several family secrets are revealed and lives are changed forever as murder strikes in an unexpected manner. In order to solve the ensuing mystery, the American Madeline Parker must work with the intriguing British Drew Farthering to uncover the truth.
A PENNY FOR MY THOUGHTS:
The author successfully accomplishes no easy feat – writing a novel that is convincingly British. The novel carefully remains within the set context and location by exceptional use of word choice. Furthermore, the genre remains consistent until the last page by creating a mystery that turns back the clock to the early 1900s. The British 1900s unfold for the reader through descriptions of landscape, clothing, popular culture and societal norms. It becomes easy to picture a 1932 Rolls Royce, an elegant dinner party and a weekly radio program. Albeit slow to unfold, the mystery sets a rigorous pace that will not fail to delight.
MY RATING:
4 (out of 5) pennies
*I received a complimentary copy of Rules of Murder from Bethany House Publishers for my honest review*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Rules of Murder, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A 'Who Dun It' That Keeps You Guessing

Date:August 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wanda Costinak
Location:Alberta
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love mysteries – especially a good murder! I grew up on Nancy Drew and could not get enough of Miss Marple books and then the TV movies when Geraldine McEwan was the star. I find great pleasure in figuring out “who dun it” before an author reveals it, and have stopped reading some mysteries, flipping to the end to discover that the clues left by the author were much too simple and I had solved the mystery too early on to keep reading. What’s the point if it’s not complex and there is at least one cleverly disguised red herring thrown in to keep me on my toes?
I say all of that to say that I was almost ready to flip to the back of the book by the end of chapter three of Rules of Murder. It seemed that this was going to be another one of the mysteries that was too simple and the focus was more on characters than being clever. I was disappointed, but kept reading because I had requested the book for review. I am so glad I didn’t flip to the back of the book!
Rules of Murder is a smart, clever and delightfully enticing read. Just when I thought I was back on the right track, Deering would place another clue at just the right moment to throw my deductions into doubt. I was frustrated and thrilled - finally I had found a murder that kept me on my toes! The characters were delightful, the setting provided a wonderful escape and the pace was such that I was up until two in the morning because I couldn’t put it down.
There is a quote on the front cover: “An enthralling mystery that will satisfy the most ardent Agatha Christie fan.” At the end of chapter three I was scoffing. At the end of the book I was saying AMEN! Rules of Murder is a must read for any murder mystery fan – especially those who fancy themselves armchair detectives.
I give this book 5 stars out of 5.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.
Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Rules of Murder, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A charming mystery that kept me guessing!

Date:August 28, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don’t watch a ton of TV, but the shows I do watch, I am a committed and loyal fan. A couple of my favs? Criminal Minds (although these days I can’t watch it when it’s dark) and Sherlock. If there is a crime to be solved, I am in! And reading? Whether its Agatha Christie, Sherlock or Sue Grafton, mysteries provide the opportunity to use my investigation skills I like to pretend I have.
Enter in this fabulous mystery! Rules of Murder by Julianna Deering was such a great read! Drew is absolutely charming and one of my favorite male leads to date. It was like Downton Abbey and Sherlock rolled into one. I want to be in this novel! Maybe I’ll make it in the next one. I bet the clothes would be fantastic.
Drew Farthering loves a good mystery, although he generally expects to find it in the pages of a novel, not on the grounds of his country estate. When a weekend party at Farthering Place is ruined by murder and the police seem flummoxed, Drew decides to look into the crime himself. With the help of his best friend, Nick Dennison, an avid mystery reader, and Madeline Parker, a beautiful and whip-smart American debutante staying as a guest, the three try to solve the mystery as a lark, using the methods from their favorite novels.
Soon, financial irregularities at Drew’s stepfather’s company come to light and it’s clear that all who remain at Farthering Place could be in danger. Trying hard to remain one step ahead of the killer–and trying harder to impress Madeline–Drew must decide how far to take this game.
And this? This definitely was the type mystery that shocked me and kept me guessing till the end. In classic 1930′s style, I wanted to join Drew and Madeline as they tried to find the killer before more lives were lost. Plus the ever lovable Nick makes the story even better.
I had plenty of theories throughout the book and I’m pretty sure about zero panned out. Although, I had inklings that some characters weren’t who they portrayed, but I couldn’t have fully predicted everything that happened. Sneaky, sneaky…
One of the final twists at the end had me saying “WHAT? Did I just read that wrong?” So yes, if you love mysteries, this one is for you!
And now I’m ready to work on my Sherlock skills (and for the series to come back on). This definitely revived my love of the mystery genre. I might have to go pick up some Agatha as I wait for the next murder solving shenanigans of Drew, Madeline and the ‘o so sweet Nick! (Which is February 2014, if you’re curious).
(Thank you Bethany House Publishing for the review copy!)
booksandbeverages.wordpress.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Rules of Murder, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great New Mystery Series Begins with Drew Farthing

Date:August 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Writer Woman
Location:Chicago Area
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not only does Julianna Deering's new release Rules of Murder take place in the thirties, but the story is written in the style of English mysteries from that period. Not to mention that the cover absolutely invites you to settle in with a spot of tea and get lost in the story.
As an avid mystery reader from the time I first learned to read chapter books and feasted on Nancy Drew and Trixie Belden mysteries, I've loved a good mystery. When I grew older I started reading mysteries that were penned in the thirties and forties from Agatha Christie and Mary Roberts Rhinehart. Thus, I picked up this book with great anticipation.
I found the beginning to be a bit slower paced than I generally like and the opening chapter had so many characters that I became confused more than once and found myself going back to double-check who someone was. For that reason I'm givin the book 4 stars.
But once the dead body (don't all cozy mysteries require a dead body??) was discovered the pace picked up, the cast became less confusing. The main character named Drew Farthing partners up with an American named Madeline and together they try to get to the bottom of the mystery - who is the murderer?
I recommend this read for anyone who likes a good mystery of the cozy variety.
The book was provided to me by the publisher for review purposes. The opinions are completely my ow
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Rules of Murder, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great mystery!

Date:August 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
BookLover
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I totally enjoyed Rules of Murder. I loved the detail the author used and how well the story flowed. I could hardly wait to see what the main characters would say next. Great job all around! I am eagerly looking forward to this author’s next book. I would recommend this book to anyone that enjoyed Dorothy Sayers or Agatha Christie.
I received an advanced reading copy of this book from Bethany House Publishing for my honest review, which I have given.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Rules of Murder, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Deering breaks all the rules

Date:August 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ronald Arbuthnott Knox, a Catholic Priest, came up with 10 Commandments for Detective Novelists, and Julianna Deering set out to write a book that broke all of the rules. Set in the 1930s, "Rules of Murder" is about an English gentleman and a beautiful American girl who work together to solve a murder mystery. Drew Farthering comes home just in time for a party and murder. A guest is murdered and his mother is found dead in her bedroom. Are the deaths connected? Was it murder-suicide? Drew and his new American acquaintance, Madeline Parker, start their own investigation when Drew doesn't believe the local law enforcement is doing enough to solve the questions Drew has about the crimes. They soon discover that no one is who they claim to be and everyone is a suspect.
If you love Agatha Christie, you'll love Deering's plot, characters and perfect timing. She may break all of the rules of mystery writing according to Father Knox, but she will have you on the edge of your seat until the end. And you'll never believe who did it....
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the author as the winner of a contest on her blog. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Rules of Murder, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Rules of Murder Review

Date:August 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Grace
Age:45-54
Gender:female
The main character, Drew Farthering is an avid mystery reader and believes he has learned much. When he discovers a body, he seizes his opportunity to put all his knowledge into practice, while trying to impress his estate guest, Madeline Parker, from across the pond, America. When he realizes he is in too deep, he must decided just how far, if at all, will he continue to search for the killer and solve this mystery.
If you are a lover of Agatha Christie, or a well written mystery, you will love this novel. Yes, this is a clean, Christian fiction novel, but this focus is the solving of this murder. I also enjoyed the love interest between Drew and Madeline, and hope this relationship blossoms as this series continues.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Rules of Murder, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An exciting, 1930s mystery!
When I first heard about Rules of Murder I fell in love with the cover. The style and the font fit the story setting very well. But, as we all know, we cannot simply judge a book by its cover. I'm happy to say what I found inside the cute cover is a fabulous mystery that befuddled me further with every new clue. Though I will note with some pride I did see one of the twists coming... Ahem. Anyway.
Deering did her research well. Drew, Madeline, and Nick's accents, and even the way they talked, popped off the page. She crafted the setting very well, also bringing it off the page, reminiscent of Downton Abbey. I don't think she could have made the story feel any more real and for that, I praise her.
Drew and Madeline are positively adorable together. I loved the banter between them and between Drew and Nick. The three of them make up a great cast and I cannot wait to read more about them in the next novel Death by the Book!
If you enjoy mysteries or any of Agatha Christie's works (note: I have not read any of her novels) then I can guarantee you'll like this one. With an escalating mystery, true to the times characters, and a tangible setting, Deering's debut is one you won't want to miss. I recommend to 15+ for some minor violence surrounding a murder.
I received this book from CFBA, through the publisher, in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Rules of Murder, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A page turner!

Date:August 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
joni
Location:Western New York
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rules of Murder by Julianna Deering is a murder mystery by a new author who wants to write in the style of Agatha Christie. She has succeeded as I couldn't put the book down. She keeps one guessing and I too, could not figure out "who done it" till near the end. Loved the time period and the characters. A little romance, lots of characters and enough clues to keep one guessing makes for a charming mystery. Looking forward to the next book in the series.
I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in return for an unbiased book review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Rules of Murder, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must-read for mystery lovers!

Date:August 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jael Kenney
Location:Lachute,QC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There were so many things I liked about this book! For one, the author has a pen name; I find it adds extra flair to the book: like brownies with whip cream on top.
I could also go on about how well the characters are described and how interesting their interactions with one another are; making a book about murder somewhat less horrifying thanks to the appropriate levity. Great descriptions, an interesting time period, and just the right amount and type of romance and spiritual discovery makes this book so much more than a “whodunit”. The mystery itself I can’t describe without giving everything away. All I can say is that finding the murderer is much harder than one would think!
The best part about this book though is the title: Rules of Murder. Why? Because the author of this breathtaking mystery had the genius idea to write a mystery that broke all the “rules” laid out by another author who wrote a book on “what shouldn’t be included when writing a mystery”. And she pulls it off remarkably well. This book is a must-read for mystery lovers.
Thanks to NetGalley (https://www.netgalley.com) and Bethany House, I was provided with a copy of this marvellous mystery to read and review by giving my honest opinion on it. ”Rules of Murder” came out on August 1, 2013.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Rules of Murder, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Old-Fashion Mystery

Date:August 14, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book took my back to the old show “Murder She Wrote”. Anyone else remember that show? The regular, everyday writer solving all the mysteries.
I loved the time period this book is set in and I enjoyed the murder mystery as well.
Julianna had me guessing the entire time who could have committed the murders. She scatters clue throughout and feeds them to you just as you need them. Although, my brain never stopped trying to figure it out. From the start I wondered about something that happened earlier in the book but the author does a great job of distracting the reader and making you forget the things you do know.
The characters were very endearing. Drew is a charming hero with a great sense of humor and Madeline is a strong,feminine heroine you will adore. The two together make a striking couple.
If you enjoy a good old-fashioned mystery you will want to pick up this book.
A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher through the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Rules of Murder, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

“Rules of Murder” by Julianna Deering

Date:August 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
tickmenot
Location:Kansas City
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a whodunit written in the classic English mystery style of the 1920′s and 30′s. Handsome Drew Farthering is single, rich and the heir apparent to Farthering Place, a grand estate in the English countryside. His best friend, Nick, is the son of the head butler. After the death of Drew’s father, his mother, Constance, married Mason Parker.
The story opens with Drew and Nick arriving back at the manse and discovering his mother was throwing a grand party, complete with fireworks, that weekend. The house is overflowing with guests. Mason’s American niece Madeline and two girlfriends are scheduled to arrive the next day, one of the first stops on their European tour. Upon Madeline’s arrival, Drew is immediately smitten with her.
The night of the party, a body is found in the greenhouse, and Constance is discovered dead in her bed. Drew and Nick are hopeful they can discover the identity of the murderer. Per Drew’s request, Madeline agrees to give up her tour of Europe to stay and help solve the murders, as well. Madeline also wants to help and support her uncle during his time of grieving.
This story has many twists and turns, with more bodies showing up as time goes by. There are lots of interesting characters and events. The reader is led in many different directions when trying to solve the mystery. Even though I thought I had the mystery figured out, I was completely wrong. The author really fooled me.
I liked this story, it is a clean mystery. This is the first book in the Drew Farthering Mysteries series. I am a great fan of classic English mysteries, especially works by Dorothy Sayers and Agatha Christie. Because of that, I am pernickety about the work of modern authors who attempt to write as if they were from that time period. Julianna Deering did a good job creating that illusion. She does enough period references to make this story really feel like it was written between the two world wars. Her characters were well developed and believable. This tale kept me guessing “whodunit” to the very end. I liked that faith was part of the story, although I do wish it had a bit stronger presence. The next book in the series will have a lot to live up to, and I look forward to reading it. I recommend this book and give it five stars.
The publisher has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book through Bethany House Publishing for the purpose of review. All opinions expressed are my own, and I have not been compensated in any other manner. Despite my receiving the book free, it has not influenced my judgment, and I have given an honest opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>