Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Cloak of the Light, War of the Realms Series #1

Multnomah Books Cloak of the Light, War of the Realms Series #1

When Drew Carter begins seeing fierce invaders nobody else can see, he embarks on a plan to expose the world's evildoers. A suspenseful series bristling with spiritual warfare.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
1
35 out of 3697%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cloak of the Light, War of the Realms Series #1
Review 1 for Cloak of the Light, War of the Realms Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

He Can See Them But Doesn't Know What They Are

Date:June 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
CTF Devourer
Location:CTF Devourer
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"But his mind wouldn’t stop buzzing…. Was he going crazy? He’d seen movies of people, some of them very famous and intelligent, who experienced hallucinations. How real were they to those people? Drew had never been so unnerved or scared in his life. If he wasn’t crazy, then these invaders were real. And if they were invisible to humans, how extensive was their power? Could they read his thoughts…or perhaps even control them? He closed his eyes… If only he could close out the fear as well."
Book: Cloak of the Light by Chuck Black, Multomah Publishers, 2014
Genre: Supernatural/Speculative Fiction
Target Audience: Boys 16+
Subjects: Angels and Demons, Death of a loved one, Friendship, Faith, Love
Summary: Life just falls apart after his dad’s death, completely falls apart. The only thing left keeping Drew sane is the times he escapes into the wilderness with his dad’s friend. With this help he manages to survive the rest of high school. In college things seem to go well – for a time. Then an experiment goes wrong, Ben vanishes and Drew… well, something strange happened to him. He’s not sure what, but starting with the moment right before everything exploded he has been seeing things – some kind of invaders. He doesn’t know who they are or how they got here but one thing is for sure: they want nothing but death and destruction for all mankind.
Notes: The first in the Wars Of The Realm series, Cloak Of The Light speculates “What if an unbeliever could see the spiritual forces in the world around us? How would they interpret what they saw? And how would they respond to it?”. Drew is not a believer and does not appear to know much about Christianity but a girl he is very attracted to is a Christian and gives just a hint of truth to Drew. By the end of the story he still has not realized that what he is seeing are angels and demons. The story is clearly building up throughout the series rather than giving answers in the first book. He does learn quite a bit about Christian principles of love and service from a church he gets connected with. The biggest spiritual content benefit to this book is the end. After the story is finished there is a very thorough discussion guide with verses explaining where each of the elements come from and pointing readers straight to the truth of Scripture. With that guide, my rating is a 5, without it a 3. I suspect the series overall will be a 5, just not book 1 by itself.
Spiritual Content Recommendation Scale: 5/5
Reviewer: J:-)mi
Ephesians 6:12 – For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.
Thank you to Blogging For Books for providing me with a free review copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cloak of the Light, War of the Realms Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great books for my boys

Date:June 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sheriff
Location:MA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It so hard for me to keep them interested(13, 16) but black seams to capture them every time! Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cloak of the Light, War of the Realms Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent start to the series.

Date:May 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
High school student Drew Carter has already lived a life filled with tragedy. College offers him a second chance, until an accident in the physics lab leaves him blind, and his best friend, Benjamin Berg, missing. He is told he will never regain his sight, but it comes back better than before. His vision is so much better, in fact, that he can see invaders that no one else can see. Is he crazy, or are they really there? If they’re real, how dangerous are they? He knows his Ben would have some of the answers.
As Drew adjusts to his new sight, his other senses come to life as well. He can hear, feel, and sense things like never before. He trains, and put those skills to work while he looks for Ben, and tried to learn more about these invaders. Sydney Carlyle, the Christian girl who always turned down his advances, offers him encouragement and help in his search.
Cloak of the Light is the first book in the Wars of the Realm series. I can’t begin to explain how much I loved this book. The characters have depth. They are realistic and layered. The story begins with loss, and heaps on more… and more, but what it leaves you with is a real story. Once Drew sees the invaders, it’s non-stop. I actually found myself holding my breath during a few scenes. I am eagerly awaiting the second book, which comes out this Fall.
This is classified as Teen Fiction, but I also suggest it for adults who want a thrilling read.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Blogging for Books in return for an honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Cloak of the Light, War of the Realms Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really thought provoking!

Date:April 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
DavidsMom
Location:Louisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great series for any person. I really think teenagers and older would love this series. I plan on introducing it to my teenage son. I believe everyone should read a book like this that deals with the spiritual realm – the battle of heavenly angel army vs the demons. There is a constant spiritual battle that goes on all around us that we are not aware of and most don’t think about. We all know we have a guardian angel, but honestly when do we stop and think about that angel fighting demons away from us, protecting our every way. From just missing a car and being in a wreck to almost doing other things and getting hurt. We might think – Close call! But honestly do you think that maybe that was your angel stepping out and protecting you? I say my angel works overtime with me and my clumbsy ways, but I do stop and say thank you. I pray daily for the angels of my children to watch out for my babies. Reading this book will open your eyes to this realm that people often forget about. This is a series that leaves you longing for more. I will most definitely be reading book 2 in the Fall! I love the way the authors breaks down chapter by chapter at the back of the book and explains what you are reading and backs it up with Bible verses. This is a book of action, suspense, and leaves you with thoughts of Heaven. I received this book for free from Blogging for Books for this honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cloak of the Light, War of the Realms Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Great One!

Date:April 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ragdogs
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Synopsis:
“Tragedy and heartache seem to be waiting for Drew Carter at every turn. Sydney Carlyle, a mysterious and elusive girl offers encouragement through her faith, but Drew is too logical and scientific to believe that her prayer of healing was anything but coincidental in the restoration of his eyesight. As his sight returns, he discovers that the accident has heightened his neuron activity, giving him skills and sight beyond the normal man. When he begins to see fierce invaders that no one else can see, he questions his own sanity, and so do others. But is he insane or do the invaders truly exist? The only one who can help him, his genius friend Benjamin Berg, has disappeared. In Drew’s quest to find Ben, he discovers that the invaders themselves are at war, for his efforts to thwart the devastating actions caused by the dark invaders are aided by invaders with a different nature. Time grows short as the dark invaders close in on Drew. With skills that no other man possesses, and help from Benjamin and Sydney, Drew initiates a plan to expose the invaders to the world.“
My Review:
My sister MaKenzie will be reviewing this book today, because she begged and begged and begged to read this book before I did, so, being the darling, sweet big sister that I am, I let her read it first!
“I, being a rather large fan of Chuck Black, was thrilled when I heard that he was coming out with a new series. What I love about his books is that all aspects tie in and are perfectly in sync with the Bible, this however does not take away from the action.
I loved this book, it is fantastically written, well put together, and has a great adventure level. It was written mainly at a high-school level however and I would not recommend this book to younger audiences. It has some violence but none too detailed, no language or other offenses. I give this book a full five stars and can’t wait for the next one to come out!”
Well, there you have it! A great read that is recommended to all Chuck Black fans!
“I received this book from Blogging for Books for the purpose of this review. All comments and opinions are my own.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Cloak of the Light, War of the Realms Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Wasn't what I hoped from the description

Date:March 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
J Luther
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Just finished it. Disappointed. Great concept, but it took 100 pages to get started. Very slow and tedious beginning that went on for chapters. Then it got really going, which was the best part of the book. It then degraded into many encounters that were almost the same as the precious. Ending was formulaic and predictable. Writing in places was good, but frequently defaulted to shallow plot descriptions. Characters were very superficial and not well developed. Way too much of "tell over show" in writing parlance. First of 3 volume series. Hopefully the second will be an improvement on a great concept.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cloak of the Light, War of the Realms Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazingly awesome book

Date:March 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Brandi
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hello everybody, how are y’all? So I was incredibly honored to read/review this book before it even came out. Here is a little about Chuck Blacks new book Cloak of The Light:
DREW IS CAUGHT IN A WORLD OF LIGHT – JUST INCHES AWAY FROM THE DARK
What if…there was a world beyond our vision, a world just fingertips beyond our reach? What if…our world wasn’t beyond their influence? Tragedy and heartache seem to be waiting for Drew Carter at every turn, but college offers Drew a chance to start over—until an accident during a physics experiment leaves him blind and his genius friend, Benjamin Berg, missing.As his sight miraculously returns, Drew discovers that the accident has heightened his neuron activity, giving him skills and sight beyond the normal man. When he begins to observe fierce invaders that no one else can see, he questions his own sanity, and so do others. But is he insane or do the invaders truly exist?With help from Sydney Carlyle, a mysterious and elusive girl who offers encouragement through her faith, Drew searches for his missing friend, Ben, who seems to hold the key to unlocking this mystery. As the dark invaders close in, will he find the truth in time?
(This is from the back of the book)
This book was amazing! It’s is the first book in a the Wars of The Realm trilogy. I have always loved Chuck Blacks books and I’m only missing two of his books out if my collection. Lol, so anyway, I thought that the plot is strong and the characters are well introduced. You really got to know the characters which helped immensely with the story. My only problem was in the begging it “jumps” around a lot to different time periods in Drews life.
I loved the front cover also… Shoot, I probably would have bought the book, knowing nothing about it, because the cover looks so awesome… Lol
So 5 stars!
Blessings,
Brandi
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Cloak of the Light, War of the Realms Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting story of spiritual intrigue

Date:March 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jill Stanish
Location:Midwest
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chuck Black has been a household name since we first learned of his Kingdom Series several years ago. At that time, my husband read the 7 book set to our three oldest children. Now he's on a second read through with our three younger children and they are just as enthralled with the allegorical storyline.
When the opportunity to review a new book by Chuck Black came out, I jumped at the chance. I was curious how this first book in this new series might compare to the one I was familiar with.
Cloak of the Light is set in current times and the main character is not a Christian. There are only a handful of believers in the book that cross the hero's path. This could be a prequel to Pilgrim's Progress--the hero encounters struggles that [hopefully] will lead him to becoming a pilgrim. In this first book, we have yet to have a pilgrim. By comparing it to Pilgrim's Progress, I don't mean to imply that this is an allegory but the main character does encounter his share of obstacles, much like Bunyan's Christian.
Drew Carter is twelve when the book opens and he has just lost his father. The reader grows up with Drew through those lonely and agonizing years without a father. In high school, Drew and his mother move to a new town and a better job to meet their needs. Thankfully, Jake, a friend of his dad's steps in and provides some masculine leadership and mentoring--largely in the form of survival skills on annual camping trips. Jake is available for Drew through many ups and downs with the challenges of starting at a new school, fitting in and facing a myriad of temptations.
Through it all, Drew makes one friend, Benjamin, who sticks with him through thick and thin. After graduation, they even attend the same college and continue to support one another in their respective pursuits. Then one fateful night Benjamin confides in Drew about the experimental work that he's been assisting a professor with. The prof has disappeared and Benjamin wants to replicate the experiment.
Things don't go quite according to plan and they're both in a lot of trouble. The rest of the book deals with Drew trying to handle the events that are set in motion and the new realization of another dimension and the potential danger therein. He's not sure who or what the menacing presence is but it's clear they are out to get him and will stop at nothing to eliminate him.
This was a fantastic read that I would say is geared to upper middle school to high school audience. There is some violence but not excessively portrayed. If nothing else, the violence clearly paints the boundaries between good and evil. Along with Jake, Drew has a friend who has intrigued him since high school--a Christian young lady who has refused to date him but prays for him and encourages him when he feels alone and abandoned. And isn't ashamed about her faith.
There are others in Drew's life who try to point him to the truth but he's just not ready to hear it. Not everything is resolved in the first book so readers will definitely be wanting to read the next installment; hopefully we won't have too long to wait!
Disclaimer: I received a copy of Cloak of the Light from Blogging for Books program for the purpose of review. No other compensation was received.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cloak of the Light, War of the Realms Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE this exciting new series! I'm hooked!!!

Date:March 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"It's wrong to do nothing when you have the power to do something."
This isn't just an alien visitation. It's an all-out invasion. That's why I call them invaders."
Ben sat back in a daze. "It makes perfect sense."
"What do you mean?"
"Think about it. What better way to take over the world than without the inhabitants even knowing it's happening? If an alien race has cloaking technology, it would be the perfect invasion."
Drew nodded. "You're right. But their ability to cloak themselves goes beyond just being invisible. They can walk through walls and doors. It's like they are in some interdimensional state. What I don't get is how come they can see us but we can't see them. Oh yeah, I can't hear them at all. It's like watching a silent movie. I haven't figured it out yet, but they can affect the outcome of naturally occurring phenomena. Like make a tire go flat to cause an accident or maybe weaken a bridge support to make it collapse. It's usually the small things though. They do what they do is such a way that people would never suspect the event has been tampered with. They are extremely careful and crafty that way." (excerpt from Cloak of the Light.)
There seems to be an interest in aliens and other dimensions that parallel our own. At least that is what Drew Carter and Benjamin Berg believe for now. When a science experiment at the local college reveals the ability to gain insight and see into a parallel dimension running alongside our own, they don't know what else to believe the shadow-like figures really are. Since Ben has always believed in aliens, he convinces Drew that is precisely what Drew has been seeing with his ability to see faster than light travels.
However Drew also see's what he calls light invaders as well. They have the ability to wage war in a world that no one but Drew can see. He can't understand what their true purpose is, but when the dark invaders attempt to kill both himself and Ben, all he knows is he can't stand by and do nothing. His unique abilities of heightened senses have allowed him the ability to be one step ahead of the human race and he believes he must do all he can to convince others that there are aliens all around us that we simply can't see. The only person he isn't able to convince is a girl he met in high school Sydney, a church going girl, who believes there is more to what is happening than Drew is willing to admit.
All Drew knows is that the light invaders are always present and helping in the battle against the dark invaders whenever Sydney or her church group is nearby. Even Sydney seems to radiate a blue flame like aura all around her and she seems to be illuminated in a way that offers a sense of peace and power that aid the light invaders. Now it's a race against time for Drew to aid Ben in rebuilding the device that will enable others to see into the parallel dimension before the dark invaders attempt to stop them.
I received Cloak of the Light by Chuck Black compliments of Waterbrook Multnomah Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own unless otherwise noted. I LOVE this series as it explains precisely what an unbeliever would see if they had the ability to see into the spiritual realm. With no basis for any other explanation, it is logical that Drew and Ben would believe they are seeing aliens. This is such an amazing new series dealing with spiritual warfare and I especially love how Chuck explains his ideas using biblical references in each chapter at the end along with scripture verses to back up how his ideas came to life, such as angels using swords to further enhance the readers experience in enjoying this amazing fictional series!
I personally give this one a 5 out of 5 stars and can't wait for the next one to come out. This has definitely made it to my "watch list!"
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Cloak of the Light, War of the Realms Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic beginning of Chuck Black's new series!

Date:February 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Amy B
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I was in my early teens, I was a huge fan of Chuck Black's Kingdom Series, so when I saw that he had written a new book, The Cloak of the Light, I was thrilled to be able to review it. After reading through the book at an alarming speed, I was not disappointed!
I loved Chuck Black's new genre. After his previous series' so deeply entrenched in the medieval/fantasy realm, it was very interesting to read his book in the modern day setting. His story drew me in, deeper than I've been drawn in to a story in a while! The suspense was well written; the elements of spiritual warfare and science were excellently crafted--drawing one in with just enough information, but not boring the reader with too much.
My only disappointment was with the actual prose and wording of the book. It felt a bit rushed, as though many of the sentences could have been recrafted in future drafts. I found myself rearranging the sentences as I read, because I would stumble over them in my mind.
All in all, I loved the book. I would have finished it in a day, had I the time, but found myself looking for every spare moment to get back to the book. I was more than a little upset when I found that the book ended in a cliff hanger! And to think I have to wait a whole year? Ah well, looking forward to Chuck Black's next installment in the Wars of the Realm series!
Note: I also appreciated that the book was not too violent, so I wouldn't hesitate to let one of my younger siblings (12+) read it.
I give The Cloak of the Light 4.5 out of 5 stars!
I received this book for free from Blogging for Books for this review.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Cloak of the Light, War of the Realms Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I highly recommend this book!

Date:February 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
MoriahN
Location:Maine
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book that I've read by Chuck Black and I will definitely be reading more by him in the future.When I looked at the description of this book, I thought it looked like it might be kind of strange. Or weird. But then I remembered that I thought the same thing at first about a book that I read awhile back, and that book turned out to be one of my favorite books ever. So I just had this hunch that I should give Cloak of the Light a chance and I'm glad I did. I absolutely loved this book. No review that I could write would do justice to it. It was FANTASTIC.
Cloak of the Light was very strongly written, excellent plot, and had spiritual redemption woven into the story without being preachy or cliche. It was a great fiction story that also dealt with spiritual warfare (one of the main themes in the book) in a really interesting way. I really appreciated how at the end of the book the author listed a bunch of Scriptures about angels and what we know for fact about them. This is the first book in a series and I am really looking forward to reading the next one. This book was great and I HIGHLY recommend it!!
Thank you to WaterBrook Multnomah for sending me a free copy of Cloak of the Light in exchange for an honest review. I really enjoyed it!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Cloak of the Light, War of the Realms Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good for Young Adult Fans

Date:February 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Harmony Wheeler
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Cloak of the Light," the first novel in Chuck Black's War of the Realms series is a great young adult Christian fantasy that leaves the faithful reader wanting much more after an appropriate, but cliff hanger conclusion.
The story follows Drew Carter after an accident leaves him with heightened "superhero" senses and the ability to see light and dark "invaders" fighting to influence the world. But that does not happen until about 70 pages into the book.
The first 70 pages or so are spent on Drew's time in high school and history with a father who died in the Army. The characters and premise are enough to keep you reading if you have patience to get through these early chapters, which seem to come straight out of every predictable high school sob story. Black could have easily incorporated Drew's back story into the rest of the book and kept those readers who will likely give up after a few pages of high school drama.
Black's writing style itself is fine. Nothing special. Very straight forward without much description to make it interesting. An easy read. Black's own experience as a fighter pilot does influence his choice to name every kind of gun present in the novel - needless details most of the time.
I read through this book very quickly and enjoyed it for the most part, despite its quirky cons and non-descriptive writing style. It's a good Christian fantasy that comes with a reader's guide exploring spiritual warfare in a tasteful way. Any Christian who loves young adult novels should enjoy "Cloak of Light." I hope to read its sequels soon.
*Disclaimer: I received this book for free in exchange for my honest review.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Cloak of the Light, War of the Realms Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great read by Chuck Black!!!

Date:February 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Beth
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It seems like life is destined to be hard for Drew Carter. Tragedy just seems to follow him. When he loses his eyesight in a physics lab accident the doctors have no hope of him ever seeing again but they were wrong. As his vision begins to return he begins see dark and light "invaders" from another dimension in a battle over the world of men.
Only one other person will understand, his friend Ben Berger but he has disappeared and finding him without drawing attention to the dark invaders is a daunting and seemingly impossible task... they know he can see them and they will stop at nothing to destroy him.
I really enjoyed this story! Having read the Knights of Arrethtrae I was afraid that an "adult" book would diminish the straight forward and concise writing style of his other books. Not a chance!
This is such a thought provoking book it will satisfy any philosophical reader and enough adventure to entertain the most demanding science fiction lover!
I highly recommend!!!!
I received this book free in exchange for an honest review. The opinions expressed here are my own!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Cloak of the Light, War of the Realms Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast and fun read!

Date:February 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
schoolinginthesun
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Do you ever wonder what "else" might be out there? What good and evil forces are around us every day, waging war on each other and on us? These questions are part of the storyline for Cloak of the Light, by Chuck Black, the first book in the Wars of the Realm series, a Christian Science-Fiction series.
Drew Carter is a boy that we watch grow into a young man, who seems to be perpetually followed by tragedy. Each time he seems to be getting "ahead", something horrible happens to drag him back down. And it all comes to a head in college, when he is involved in an awful accident during a physics experiment gone bad. Drew loses his sight, his best friend, and his motivation, all in one fell swoop, and it seems there is nothing left to live for.
However, Drew begins to regain the use of his eyes, against all odds, and then quickly discovers that he has regained much more than that. Suddenly, he can experience everything in a new way: heightened hearing, quicker reflexes, faster movements--and he can see things that no one else can. These "beings", or "invaders", at first make Drew question his sanity, and then give him something new to live for: saving humanity from them.
Drew goes on the run to try to find his best friend, who may hold the secret to getting rid of the invaders. Along the way, he explores his new abilities, trying to figure out who he needs to become. Drew enlists the help of some likable characters along the way, including the Reverend Ray and his family, and Sydney, a love interest who won't fall for Drew because he is an unbeliever.
I enjoyed this book, and liked Mr. Black's ability to let out pieces of the overall story a little bit at a time. I was able to figure out what was happening with the invaders early, but it was interesting to me to watch Drew try to understand it. There is also a Reader's Guide at the end of the book, which uses Bible verses and commentary to tie things together.
You need to know that this book is only one in a series, so it definitely has a cliffhanger-type ending. Frustrating, but exciting, all at the same time! I will let my 8th-grade daughter read it next--it has lots of adventure, a small bit of gore, but nothing that I found inappropriate for her.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Cloak of the Light, War of the Realms Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Strong Start

Date:February 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Danni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a definitely a strong start to Black's new War of the Realm series. This is a great book on spiritual warfare for young adults.
While the age recommendation is 7th grade and up I might even push it to high school since the characters deal with some heavier topics . But that may depend on the child.
I was a good sci-fi christian book. My kids (yes even my daughter) will love this book. Loved the characters interaction with each other. Loved the honesty and questioning that every young adult probably goes through in their life.
Very much looking forward to the rest of the series.
I received this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Cloak of the Light, War of the Realms Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
hiswifey09
Location:Columbus, OH
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this book on the 7th of February around 11am or so. By 5pm that night I was finished. To say it was a good is an understatement. I didn't want to put it down and literally carried it around with me reading as I went from room to room.
I was so wrapped up in the book and what was going to happen next, I'm really not one for "Christian Fiction" Or so I thought. If you like Sci-Fi books and err on the side of young adult Cristian reading materials then this book would most definitely be a good pick for you. At first when I started reading it I honestly didn't even connect the "invaders" to what they actually were. But as the story went on I started putting pieces together.
My only complaint is I wasn't aware that this book was part of a series. Possibly my fault, but I think that should be stated somewhere because at the end I was frustrated with so many loose ends. Speaking of the end, the Readers Guide was really worth reading. Good job Mr. Black, you have gotten another person into your books. I will be looking for more by him as soon as I can. And I will definitely be picking up the next book in the series!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Cloak of the Light, War of the Realms Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing book, Great read.

Date:February 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Phebe S
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you love science fiction and would love to read a christian form of it, this book is for you. I'm not the average Science Fiction lover, I like it on occasion but not all the time. I picked this book because I had read other books by this author and loved them.
the first few chapters were interesting but weren't the "Sweep you off your feet, don't know where you are." thing. I thought it would be that way through the whole book but i was wrong! on chapter eight things suddenly started to pick up and I could not force myself to put the book down. I was up until 2 in the morning finishing it, it's a great book. I highly recommend it! Five stars for Chuck Black on writing another great book!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Cloak of the Light, War of the Realms Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Quick, YA supernatural, read

Date:February 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Teddy G
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Drew Carter's life has already been marked with tragedy and upheaval, when he befriends the school geek at his new school, an unlikely pairing for the standout football player. However, as his life continues to be spun around, Ben becomes one of the few things he can count on, until the day something happens to Ben's physics experiment, and Drew is left blind. Ben disappears shortly after, and Drew is left to figure out what happened to him, what happened to Ben, and what are all of these "invaders" he can suddenly see in the midst of humans' daily lives.
I don't read a lot of young adult fiction, so I found this writing to be on the simplistic side for my usual tastes. However, I did find myself engrossed in the story at points, finding it to be very much like a scaled down This Present Darkness. I liked the idea of the jock making friends with the geek, not just because he could get homework help (although he did), but because his dad and his dad-figure had taught him integrity and honesty, and doing the right thing. There were several plot lines that bothered me, though; Drew goes through and awful lot for one person, even before he gets mixed up in the invader business. Second, I find it hard to believe that it would take him so long to figure out what the invaders were, or that he wouldn't have confided in someone that would help him understand the dimension he was seeing into. I also didn't realize that this was going to be the first book in a series, until I came to the very end of the book and nothing had resolved. I dislike not knowing when books are part of a series.
For the action and content, and themes of integrity and honor, I give this book 3 stars. I hope that the story continues to develop well and that the rest of the series might include some more depth and growth and understanding on the parts of the characters.
I received a copy of this book from Multnomah Books, in exchange for my honest review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Cloak of the Light, War of the Realms Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read!!

Date:February 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jcole
Location:Malakoff, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You never really know what you will get when you open a Young Adult Fiction book. Chuck Black’s Cloak of Light is categorized as Young Adult and I wanted to read this one hoping it would be good enough to pass along to my (almost) 13 year old.
I can say that I recommend this book without reservation!! I loved it.
Now, let me admit I enjoy spiritual warfare themes and stories with a bit of imagination or science fiction in them. I loved that there are so many points in this book, subtle ones to very overt – and yet I did not think it was preachy at all!
Drew is the main character, with Sydney and Ben supporting. There is some attraction in this story, but it is very innocent and clean and pure – and I loved it!
The gist of the story is that Ben believes in aliens of some sort at invaders to Earth and after a botched science experiment Drew is able to see them. Both boys believe these invaders exist but that they are aliens of some sort. In reality they are discovering spiritual warfare.
Ben and Drew are self proclaimed atheists, so linking this discovery to spiritual warfare is a stretch, but as Sydney becomes more involved in what is happening she comes to realize the truth. As a believer Sydney prays for both Ben and Drew, and has an impact on the spirits fighting.
Did I mention that the demonic spirits are following Drew, looking for Ben and wary of Sydney? There is a great deal of suspense, and this book could be a thriller with all the excitement it goes through!
I enjoyed this book and highly recommend it. My son read it in about a day and a half and he loved it. There were many parts that we could talk about the consequences of what happens to Drew and the choices he makes. Like I said, many noteworthy messages in this story!!
NOTE : I received a copy of Cloak of Light in exchange for an honest review.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Cloak of the Light, War of the Realms Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cloak of the Light is a well written and fun book

Date:January 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Renee K
Location:Wichita Kansas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved Chuck Black’s Kingdom and Knights series. I was excited to see him come out with a new book. It was much different from his other series.
This story was filled with action throughout this story.
The characters are interesting and all very different from one another. Drew has a very strong character and some high standards in morality even though he is not a believer. He is not afraid or ashamed to stand up for those being bullied even though he is a star football player. Ben is a genius, odd, and very likable. Sydney is a believer and is strong in her beliefs.
This book is attended for the YA readers but, adults who enjoy Chuck’s Blacks previous novels should enjoy this as well.
Cloak of the Light is a well written and fun book that sets up the next book in this series.
Disclaimer: I was provided a copy of this book from Blogging for Books- Waterbrook for free in order to write this review. All thoughts and opinions are mine and were not subject to editing from the publisher
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>