Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Jewel of His Heart, The: A Novel - eBook

Revell Jewel of His Heart, The: A Novel - eBook

Set in 1890s Montana, The Jewel of His Heart finds Juliana drawn to a handsome, gentle sheepherder--but sparks fly when he considers mining, the occupation that lured her father away from his family. Both Josh and Juliana must make a choice--the world's riches and promises, or the eternal value of love.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Jewel of His Heart, The: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Jewel of His Heart, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great author

Date:July 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kamoe
Location:Rockford, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have very much enjoyed Maggie Brendan's books. I am left wanting to know more of what happens, a sign of a good author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Jewel of His Heart, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Leslie Cromer
I bought this book because I enjoyed the first one. This book was well written and one I could not put down. It was easy to visualize such a story since we were in Montana on vacation this summer. The owner of the boarding house reminds me of an older lady at our church and she is a jewel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Jewel of His Heart, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gail Goodwald
Good book series. Enjoying the continued character stories. It was sort of predictable though. Needs a little more twists to the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Jewel of His Heart, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2010
What a story. Julianna Brady is poor at the beginning. This is something I can relate to growing up poor. I know how it felt to not want to have someone come in your house and see how little you have. Julianna loses her Mother at the beginning of the story. She desires to know why her father left her when she was young. But the way she ends up connecting with her father is God sent and hard for her to deal with. Because of her father's leaving, she doesn't trust men.Her story from her Mother's death to end builds her up in fatih in God, growth in her character, and finally trust in one man, Josh McBride. She is also priviledged to get a great job at the newspaper.Josh is a sheepherder. His story starts with someone painting a picture of him and his dog. I loved way it worked into the story. He discovers some rare stones on his land. For a while he thinks of going into mining until something happens that changes his mind. Josh is alone accept for Andy, his cook, and his sheep dog. He comes to the point he has to chose between wealth or the greatest Jewel he has found, Julianna.A beautifully woven story of heartache, grief, tragedies, and love. All through God's plan unfolds.This book was such an encouragment to me as I deal with hurt by a family member so I could very well feel for Julianna's feelings about her father.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Jewel of His Heart, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
JC Helms
I got this book based on the reviews already here - what a disappointment! I love historical Christian fiction, but could not get past the first 50 pages! So many contradictions! First, Josh has no cabin yet, but is thinking of building a small one, then a few weeks later, he has a 2-story house with furniture! February in Montana is still very cold and snowy, not shirt sleeve weather. . . the list goes on. Her editor missed too much for this to pass to publishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Jewel of His Heart, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kelly Long
A gem of a tale...rich, rewarding, a sustained dream for the reader who wants both vital characters and life application from a novel which is multi-layered in meaning, living, and love. Maggie Brendan does it again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Jewel of His Heart, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Leigh DeLozier
Maggie Brendan tells a sweet story of how people come to terms with their pasts, learn to trust each other, and realize what the most important things in life really are. One thing I love about her books is that I can recommend them to the middle/high school girls at church, my friends, or my mom -- and they'll all love the story. I enjoyed the first book in this series (No Place for a Lady) and liked The Jewel of His Heart even more. Now I'm looking forward to the conclusion later next year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Jewel of His Heart, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
JEANNETTE PETRAS
Maggie Brendan makes the setting of the early settlers in the West come to life in this wholesome romatic Western.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Jewel of His Heart, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
H. O'Neal
Maggie Brendans tale of hope, struggle, love, and heartache will inspire and comfort readers in her newest book, The Jewel of His Heart. Set in late 19th century Montana, readers are treated to historic accounts of the often harsh life of settlers, miners, and sheepherders whose faith and reliance upon God is at times the only thing that sustains them in the beautiful, yet rugged landscape of central Montana. With engaging prose, The Jewel of His Heart captures the timeless story of a blossoming, but threatened love much like a Western Pride and Prejudice. Brendans elegant, yet down-to-earth storytelling will keep readers up late and give them reason to smile, laugh, and cry as they root for not only for the protagonists survival, but love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Jewel of His Heart, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lynn U
I love Christian romance novels, especially with historical backgrounds. Maggie Brendan has captured both in this 2nd book in the Heart of the West Series. Both books in this series are very well written and keep your interest until the very end. I can't wait for Book #3!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Jewel of His Heart, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gaye
The Jewel of His Heart is the second installment in Maggie Brendan's Heart of the West trilogy. Josh McBride has left his wealthy father's cattle ranch in Montana to become his own man as a sheepherder in Montana. When Josh finds beautiful Yogo sapphires in a stream on his property, he thinks he may have found a solution for his money troubles. Then he meets Juliana. Her life of disappointment, struggle and loneliness has left her certain of two things: she doesn't want to be dependent on a man and she doesn't want to marry a miner. This sweet romance is well-written and well-researched. The fact that I finished reading it around 1:00 am tells you how engrossing it is. Can't wait to read the next book in this series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Jewel of His Heart, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2009
Josh McBride is probably one of my favorite heroes. I love the way he just blurts things out! He isnt too bold, but he will say what is on his mind, and I like that. I think he shocked Juliana a few times. ;) Juliana is a character that you can really understand. She has been hurt, and because of that is very cautious. I liked how things turned out with her father. That was a good ending, because I would have hated it if she never new what had happened to her dad. (I hate it when there are loose ties at the end of a book.) In the end Juliana realizes that Josh is well worth the risk, and everything turns out wonderfully. Im really looking forward to book three!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Jewel of His Heart, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Misty Queen
I loved this book! I am not usually a person to like reading, but I couldn't put this book down! The storyline was great and I could follow it completely. I love the fact that the Josh McBride character was carried over from book one. It was great to see where his story went. Plus that Josh reminds me of my sweet husband. I love that Juliana didn't want to depend on anybody else. That she wanted to live by her own means. I can't wait until the 3rd book comes out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Jewel of His Heart, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2009
Maggie Brendans characters make this novel stand out among the rest of the historical romance genre. The hero and heroine fast become your friends, and the supporting cast cries out for their stories to be told. Although it follows some of the predictable paths romances do, paradoxically, Brendan weaves in enough of her unique style to keep it unpredictable. I didnt read the first book in the Heart of the West series, but Im going to buy it, and Im looking forward to the third book in the series. This from a reviewer who is not a fan of historical romances. If you are, youll love it. If like me, you arent, youll still love it. Novel Reviews and I give it a good recommendation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Jewel of His Heart, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2009
The Jewel of His Heart is only the second novel written by Maggie Brendan. Sometimes when I am reading a book by a new author I cant help but ask, Where did she come from? That was the case when I read this book. I enjoyed it so much and I was amazed at the fluid writing style and the interesting and engaging story and characters. This book had a very good story that I enjoyed tremendously, but my favorite aspect of this book was the characters. I really liked the chemistry between Juliana and Josh. The attraction and tension between the two of them was realistic and believable.The value of having good friends was a running theme throughout the story and I really liked the group of people that came to Julianas aid when she really needed someone. She was able to learn to trust again because she was able to see the kindness shown to her. This book also showed the frailty of friendships, not just between women, but also between men. The Christian message of friendship and forgiveness is one that many readers will be able to relate to and appreciate. I certainly enjoyed this book from start to finish. It is an easy read and a quick read, but the story has some depth that will keep the reader involved and interested in the story. There was nothing I didnt like about this book. I highly recommend The Jewel of His Heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Jewel of His Heart, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2009
To me in this type of historical fiction, the actual "historical" part seems to take a backseat to the rest of the story. Other than the obvious details, this story could have very well taken place in a modern day setting with the same results. The historical setting just takes the reader back to a simpler time where life was harder and situations such as this were more cherished. Juliana is a young woman, who due to the death of her mother, has to take her life into her own hands and lands a job in a newspaper office. From there, she discovers more about life around the town and it helps to fuel her relationship with Josh. It was fun seeing the going-ons about the town and seeing what life was for like people back then. Juliana's relationship with Marion is interesting because it seems like they might not really be as close friends as they thought. It would be interesting to see a book from her perspective.While I enjoyed this book, I did feel a bit annoyed at times with Juliana and Josh. I didn't really feel that much chemistry between them. What chemistry they did have seemed to come from a lot of unnecessary drama. It just seemed to me that several situations could have been totally avoided if the two had just sat down and talked and listened to the other. Instead, too many assumptions were made by both parties, causing friction and anger. There wasn't really another storyline that rivaled Juliana and Josh's. Their relationship was the central point of the book. Even though this book is the second in the series, it can be read as a stand alone. There are some references to the first book, but overall the characters don't really interact so if you haven't read the first book, you won't get lost at all.Overall, I did enjoy the book and I'll be looking forward to the next book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Jewel of His Heart, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lynne
When it comes to Christian romance, this book provides that, and more!The author has captured the feel of the old West in Montana, and also taught me some things I didn't know about the area. It's so nice to be entertained AND educated.The main character in The Jewel of His Heart is a strong woman who is facing difficult times, and the author does not spoon feed you the story....you don't truly know the whole story until you get to the end.An easy read that will keep you reading...even when you really should be doing other things!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Jewel of His Heart, The: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lee Smith
I really do despise reading a series out of order; and I am currently expecting book one in the mail But I got this first and had nothing else new to read but boring old writing books, {wink} and I just couldnt wait. I finished it in less than a day.I identified with this book and the characters on many levels. Juliana didnt want to be dependent on othersor a charity case. I have felt the same way with the limitations my health has placed on me. There is also the whole idea of how people associate or identify with you and how your personality is perceived by others. Sometimes they can be mistaken. I have experienced that firsthand as well. I dabble in jewelry ~ and sapphires are my birthstone, so the whole history of the Yogo Sapphire was fascinating. The characters all interacted in a natural way that was at once heartening and challenging. The author did such good work on all her characters that I expected even the smaller ones to walk into the room and sit down on the couch beside me. The love story between Josh and Juliana was beautiful, passionate and touching. I think Maggie has done a beautiful job and I cant wait to read the rest of the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.