Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Flight to Heaven: A Plane Crash...A Lone Survivor...A Journey to Heaven-and Back - eBook

Bethany House Flight to Heaven: A Plane Crash...A Lone Survivor...A Journey to Heaven-and Back - eBook

When Dale Black was 19, he miraculously survived an airplane crash that killed the other two pilots on board. Hovering near death for three days, he had a breathtaking experience of heaven---before returning to life, and a painstaking recovery. Now, after a lifetime of aviation ministry, he's decided to share his powerful true story!
Average Customer Rating:
4.688 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
11 out of 1573%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Flight to Heaven: A Plane Crash...A Lone Survivor...A Journey to Heaven-and Back - eBook
Review 1 for Flight to Heaven: A Plane Crash...A Lone Survivor...A Journey to Heaven-and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A captivating read.

Date:June 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
seeker
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you doubt that God is still doing miracles in our time, this story will erase all doubt. The most amazing of many miracles in this book is the ever astounding miracle of a changed heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Flight to Heaven: A Plane Crash...A Lone Survivor...A Journey to Heaven-and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A touch from God

Date:March 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
IliveinChrist
This book is a highly recommended read. It teaches through the experience of Dale, if we only put our trust and faith in God and live for Him, he will heal us just as he promised in His word, "by His stripes we are healed". Thank you for sharing your story Dale. Through your writing of your experience, you have helped me further build my faith in our Lord. God Bless you and your family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Flight to Heaven: A Plane Crash...A Lone Survivor...A Journey to Heaven-and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

An OK book

Date:January 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janie
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I did finish reading this and it is an OK book.
Not really one I would recommend but not one I would discourage someone from reading either.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Flight to Heaven: A Plane Crash...A Lone Survivor...A Journey to Heaven-and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an awesome book.

Date:January 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pckrfan
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an incredible book. Capt Black provide a lot of insight into how he felt during his experience in heaven in addition to what he saw. There is also several "lessons" on prayer which I thought were very helpful.
Good read !!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Flight to Heaven: A Plane Crash...A Lone Survivor...A Journey to Heaven-and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not What I Expected

Date:October 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
childofGod
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book was okay. With all the 5 stars that it received, I thought I would give it a read. However, it seemed like the actual flight to heaven was something on the side. But the greater part of the book is about the accident and recovery and maybe half a chapter on the flight. It is a good book on the healing power of God. But the actual flight to heaven was lacking big time.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Flight to Heaven: A Plane Crash...A Lone Survivor...A Journey to Heaven-and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing!

Date:August 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kymberly
Location:Morenci, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dale Black's heart & sincerity are amazing. His story gives us so much hope that eternity with Jesus, will be wonderful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Flight to Heaven: A Plane Crash...A Lone Survivor...A Journey to Heaven-and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful

Date:June 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
1MEP
Location:Cordova,TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am thrilled Dale Black finally felt it was God's timing to share his experience. What a powerful story. Thanks, Dale.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Flight to Heaven: A Plane Crash...A Lone Survivor...A Journey to Heaven-and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Donut
Location:Christchurch, NZ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was one of the best books I've ever read. It was exciting so I gave it to my sons aged 18 and 20 to read. They thought it was just as good and it kept them wanting to read on. The writing style was great and the message amazing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Flight to Heaven: A Plane Crash...A Lone Survivor...A Journey to Heaven-and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book has a great story

Date:May 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
chas
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed the book very much. It was easy to read and very enlightening.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Flight to Heaven: A Plane Crash...A Lone Survivor...A Journey to Heaven-and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT

Date:May 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
TOMMY
Location:LEBANON, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Flight to Heaven is a wonderful experience of heaven.
The book took my breath away & has touched me in a very special way!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Flight to Heaven: A Plane Crash...A Lone Survivor...A Journey to Heaven-and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What do we do with this knowledge of Heaven?

Date:May 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Helen
Location:Jupiter, Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is captivating and a quick read as you can't put it down. Not only does Capt. Dale Black describe his piloting experiences and Heaven but he shares how we are to live knowing that someday we also will live with God in His Heaven. Jesus wants us to live our faith and share it.
I highly recommend this book for an exciting adventure here on earth and in Heaven.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Flight to Heaven: A Plane Crash...A Lone Survivor...A Journey to Heaven-and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dawg
Location:Hartford, WI
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was so fascinating that my only complaint is I read it too fast. A beautiful story that we all need.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Flight to Heaven: A Plane Crash...A Lone Survivor...A Journey to Heaven-and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary Anne Piaget
Location:Switzerland
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was deeply moved by how his crash changed his life and has made him a strong christian witness ever since!
Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Flight to Heaven: A Plane Crash...A Lone Survivor...A Journey to Heaven-and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

An intriguing biography.

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
John Wallace
Location:Montana
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Black, Dale. Flight To Heaven. Bethany House: Minneapolis Minnesota, 2010. $14.99. 187 pp.
Flight to Heaven is the intriguing biography of Captain Dale Black, a retired airline pilot, who at the onset of his aviation career was the lone survivor of a horrific plane crash. Black’s injuries were considered irreparable by one of the finest surgeons available. While in a coma, Black experienced a supernatural event that set the stage for the rest of his life. Black went on to fly commercially for over 40 years including missions related flights in over 50 countries.
As I approached this book I was both excited and skeptical. I was excited, because I love aircraft and the stories of those who fly them. I was skeptical due to the unabashed theme of visiting heaven during a near death experience here on earth.
Captain Black’s story is a captivating one. Though the writing is choppy and simple at times, the underlying story drives you on. I really enjoyed the overall story.
The lingering conundrum for me was the issue of his visit to heaven. As I read the story, the visit to heaven really was a side dish rather than the main course, and quite honestly, the dinner would have been just fine without it.
Flight To Heaven is an interesting one-time read, but it is not a book I would recommend without reservation.
BookSneeze® provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for review.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Flight to Heaven: A Plane Crash...A Lone Survivor...A Journey to Heaven-and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent read!

Date:December 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Philann
Location:East Aurora, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This account was so well written that it was read in one sitting. Not only was the story captivating, but it captured the heart of Dale as well, and his burden to carry the good news of salvation, God's rescue plan to all who read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Flight to Heaven: A Plane Crash...A Lone Survivor...A Journey to Heaven-and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Laura Enuco
This book was excellent. I couldn't put it down. Capt. Dale Black tells his story in such a way that you can see how God works His miracles through a surrendered heart. I highly recommend this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Flight to Heaven: A Plane Crash...A Lone Survivor...A Journey to Heaven-and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
JanelleS
I received a complimentary copy of Capt. Dale Black's book, "Flight To Heaven-A Pilot's True Story", from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my review of the book.I took this book with me when I went on vacation and after I began to read it, I was unable to put it down. The story was captivating and an amazing testimony of God's work in one man's life. The story begins with Capt. Dale Black, somewhere over Zambia with his crew and airplane, facing the reality that they are about to crash. We then jump back in time to when Capt. Black is 19 years old and begin to read about his life just prior to his "Flight to Heaven". It took me a few pages to figure out why we had jumped back in time in the man's life, because I was thinking that the story we would be reading about had to do with this probable crash over Zambia. But as I continued to read, I understood that the crash that the book was about actually happened to Capt. Black when he was 19 years old.In "Flight To Heaven", you will read the account of Capt. Black's airplane crash, his experiences while he was in a coma, the long road to recovery, and God's dealing with him. There are also some pictures taken of the actual crash site, and seeing the devastation that you read about in the book, really brings the story to life.The last few chapters in the book, take us back to that night in Zambia and the outcome of that flight.I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and will probably re-read it in the near future. I would highly recommend this book to everyone.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Flight to Heaven: A Plane Crash...A Lone Survivor...A Journey to Heaven-and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Barbara Malone
Very good book. I recommend reading it. Touchs your heart for God. I advise everyone to read this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Flight to Heaven: A Plane Crash...A Lone Survivor...A Journey to Heaven-and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2010
We all have heard of people that have been in a horrible accident, and have felt themselves leave this present world and journey to heaven for a brief time and return changed. I never knew how to take these stories, are they caused by the medication that is helping to keep them stable, or could it be that they actually are getting a glimpse of heaven? While reading Flight to Heaven, the story of Capt. Dale Black, you hear the hesitant telling of his tragic accident and the time that he says he travelled to heaven. He describes heaven in an authentic heartfelt way, with descriptions of colours that gave me goosebumps. It seemed through the story that Capt. Dale Black told the story not from an exaggerated point of view but one of humble obedience. I enjoyed the story and would recommend the book for anyone that wonders if there is life after death and what heaven might look like. I would give this book 4 stars. This book was given to me by Bethany House Publishing Company for purpose of review. I was under no obligation to provide a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Flight to Heaven: A Plane Crash...A Lone Survivor...A Journey to Heaven-and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Johan
This book is about a pilot that was the lone survivor of a plane crash. Somewhere during horrific accident he left his body and entered into heaven. The book goes into detail of this encounter as well as the journey of faith and healing that happened after. I have read a few book similar to this one, but I have never been captivated by the description of heaven as much as I was in this book. It has drawn me to the place of desire and fascination for the holy city. The description of heaven itself is only a few chapters, but it is full and rich and it will cause your heart to be stirred. The journey of faith and healing will lift your spirit and increase your faith, it will encourage you in your trusting in God and your devotional life with him. What impressed me most was the honesty, humbleness and willingness to share his wrestle with God during the whole process. It is a testimony that one can draw from when tough times come your way.Besides a fascinating true story you will be treated to excellent writing that will make it a very quick and easy read. I recommend this book to every Christian if anything to get them thinking about heaven and evangelism. I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers. I was not required to give the book a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.