Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Back on Murder - eBook

Bethany House Back on Murder - eBook

Det. Roland March is a homicide cop on his way out. But when he's the only one at a crime scene to find evidence of a missing female victim, he's given one last chance to prove himself. Before he can crack the case, he's transferred to a new one that has grabbed the spotlight--the disappearance of a famous Houston evangelist's teen daughter. With the help of a youth pastor with a guilty conscience who navigates the world of church and faith, March is determined to find the missing girls while proving he's still one of Houston's best detectives.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
1
18 out of 2090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Back on Murder - eBook
Review 1 for Back on Murder - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pastor Steve
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the first 48 on t.v.. I totally enjoyed the book and lost more than a couple hours of sleep because I could't put it down.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Back on Murder - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
CurledUpWithaBook
Location:The Maritimes
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was a good murder mystery though I did find at times it was hard to keep all the characters straight in my mind. I guess I'm left with the question as to what defines a 'Christian' murder mystery.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Back on Murder - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Storytelling

Date:August 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
nelle
Location:Iowa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great book...Everytime I got to the end of a chapter I hoped there were still more to come...alas there was an end to the book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Back on Murder - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaybellineKid
Location:Rochester, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The plot was ok, but it seemed to drag a little and didn't grab me until more than halfway through the story. It wasn't bad, just not what I'd hoped.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Back on Murder - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
penntd
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thrilling read. Many twists and turns. I couldn't put it down!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Back on Murder - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nane
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great read!!! Exciting and not trashy...unique in today'
s world!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Back on Murder - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jved267
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this book, Detective Roland March returns to active cases in homicide, and begins to move past the traumatic event that distracted him from being a good cop and turned him away from God. As March tells his story, he weaves in details from his past as it relates to his current investigations. The book was so good, I had trouble putting it down when I had to go back to work after my lunch break. If you love crime dramas on TV, you will love this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Back on Murder - eBook
This review is from#1: Back on Murder.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a journey.

Date:April 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Roland March just wants to be back on murder, away from these ridiculous special assignments that his superiors are giving him left and right. Well, they call them special assignments, he calls it farming him out. They don't want him around any more and he can feel it. He knows he isn't doing the top notch homicide work he used to, and the reputation he had earned and then lost is haunting him. He wishes he had never agreed to let his biggest case become the subject of a true crime novel, a novel about him at his best, and now everyone is seeing Roland March at his worst.
He used to be the top homicide detective on Houston PD, now he is the "suicide cop" and works the hated "cars for criminals" detail.
And it is September. Roland has not had a good September for seven years. Not since the tragedy happened.
This September is worse than ever. His wife Charlotte is distant and dealing with the past by putting herself in a near coma with her sleeping pills, and Roland doesn't know how to help her. To add insult to injury, he has a weird tenant named Tommy living in his garage apartment. Tommy, who throws parties at all hours and leaves beer bottles around the back yard, making Charlotte miserable. But hey, Tommy's dad pays the rent every month!
When Roland responds to a house of dead bodies, he finds the up and coming HPD stars like Lorenz want to take the lead in the case. However, Neither Lorenz or any of the others notice a key piece of evidence. Roland does. This evidence is shouting that there was another body in the room, and the shooters took the body with them.
Roland March will be allowed Back On Murder, as long as he lets Lorenz lead.
Roland sets out to find the body and the shooters, uncover the motive and solve this strange case. Lorenz does not believe those are leads worth pursuing. That isn't going to stop Roland.
Before Roland can do some of his outside the lines detective work, he has to finish up one last "cars for criminals" detail.
When Roland corners two men in the hallway as they try to sneak out (apparently realizing that they aren't here to win a hybrid car) one of them turns himself in as a police informant. He has no outstanding warrants, and so Roland lets him go.
Now, back to murder, he thinks. But not quite. It turns out that Roland has a lot more "special assignments" to complete for this case to be solved.
As in every good mystery, it is an unlikely group who becomes the heroes and the people you suspect are not the suspects.
Prepare to grow attached to the characters as you storm apartment buildings with them, and dive for cover and return fire when the shooting starts. Be ready to cheer when unexpected people do heroic things, and to be left shocked and saddened by the way the case ends.
I downloaded this book free from Christianbook.com free ebooks page. There are two sequels, Pattern of Wounds and Nothing to Hide.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Back on Murder - eBook
This review is from#1: Back on Murder.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't normally read much by men authors, but this book was loaned to me to read. Even though it is written in the first person, it was written very well that way. The story drew me right in and didn't let go. I finished it in a weekend. I found a new author and I can't wait to read the next book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Back on Murder - eBook
This review is from#1: Back on Murder.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book

Date:October 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
crochetcatcrafty
Location:Milford, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful book. The author has created a realistic view of the police, politics and the cost of doing the "right" thing. You will enjoy it, I stayed up until 3:00 a.m. to finish it. A keeper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Back on Murder - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Could hardly put it down.

Date:August 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shirl
Location:Oregon
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was really strong not to give up when you believe something no matter the odds or opinions against you. Really terrific story line.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Back on Murder - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Slow

Date:August 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hzwarrior
Location:KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I found this book to be very slow. I got this one free. Glad I did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Back on Murder - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read on a dark, stormy night!

Date:July 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Myrtle
Location:philadelphia, pa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like my murders dark and vivid. Well written with twists not anticipated. Wonderful to read a police story without the ugly language.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Back on Murder - eBook
This review is from#1: Back on Murder.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read!

Date:July 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
apesydaisy
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first started this book I honestly wasn't sure I would like it because it is written in first person. From my previous experience with first person, most of the time it is annoying and difficult to read. However, I picked this book up because it was written by a former Houstonian and included such events as Hurricane Katrina. Local fiction stories always interest me.
"Houston homicide detective Roland March was once one of the best. Now he's disillusioned, cynical, and on his way out. His superiors farm him out on a variety of punishment details...until an unexpected break gives March one last change to save his career. And his humanity. All he has to do? Find the missing teenage daughter of a Houston evangelist that every cop in town is already looking for. But March has an inside track, a multiple murder nobody else thinks is connected. Battling a new partner, an old nemesis, and the demons of his past, getting to the truth could cost March everything. Even his life." (back cover of book)
Though I wasn't sure of the first person read when I first picked up the book, the story line quickly drew me in and made it worth the read. Because I live a few hours from Houston and frequently visit the city, I was able to picture several locations very easily. The story went along at a pretty quick pace which kept me interested. I like how the author, J. Mark Bertrand, dealt out small background details here and there until toward the end of the book where the full picture is revealed. This helps keep a reader intrigued about the main characters.
This book was also extremely realistic in my opinion. It is something that could, and does, happen every single day. I found myself identifying with several different characters as I imagined what they were going through as they searched for this missing girl.
So what's the verdict you ask? Well, it's a MUST READ of course!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Back on Murder - eBook
This review is from#1: Back on Murder.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

hard to put down

Date:June 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Meggies Mom
Location:Rialto, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am almost finished with this one and so far it is intriguing and has kept my interest. I needed some books to keep me busy while my daughter goes to Tae Kwon Do lessons. I love criminal mysteries. I'm glad I picked this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Back on Murder - eBook
This review is from#1: Back on Murder.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellant

Date:February 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
James Bisch
Location:urbana ,Ill
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once into the book I couldn't put it down. It moved very fast from clue to the next. A very good read. I will look again for this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Back on Murder - eBook
This review is from#1: Back on Murder.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nettie
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I have enjoyed reading Christian mystery novels for years (started with Peretti, read all of Ted Dekker's work and now Erin Healey, too). We read them aloud together. We were going on a trip recently and needed a good read. My husband picked up "Back on Murder" and we loved it. Bertrand has a wonderful writing style which really held our interest. His writing demonstrates advanced knowledge of the criminal investigation field, making the story quite believable. The protagonist is a likeable character who demonstrates intelligence, wit and self awareness. We also appreciated that while there are Christian characters and values included in the story, it is done subtly and the reader is not "hit over the head" with it, so it does not come across as stilted or preachy. We would highly recommend this book to anyone, and have already pre-ordered Bertrand's next novel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Back on Murder - eBook
This review is from#1: Back on Murder.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great start to the series.

Date:October 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nikki Studebaker Barcus
Location:Fort Wayne, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What do you do with a trouble-maker who also happens to be a cop? J. Mark Bertrand explores the question in his new release, Back on Murder.
Homicide detective Roland March used to be the go-to guy when you wanted results, but a personal tragedy colors everything else in his life now, causing him to fall from grace with his superiors and fellow officers. Passed from one superior to another in a real-life game of “hot potato”, March finally lands one more chance to catch a killer. Success means entry back into the ranks as a contributing detective and the security of a future. Failure will undoubtedly cost him his career, his sanity, and perhaps his life.
The twists and turns of this mystery will keep you turning pages wondering what’s to become f March, his marriage, his investigation, and his safety.
Bertrand allows the reader a glimpse into the politics and personalities of big-city crime fighting. When the detective feels a personal connection to a case or when a case sticks in his gut, the opportunity for failure is a non-option. When lives are involved, police work isn’t just a job.
An engaging read that will keep you guessing until the end, pulling for March to succeed in his professional and personal lives. A new series sure to delight readers of crime novels and mysteries alike.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Back on Murder - eBook
This review is from#1: Back on Murder.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

If you love crime novels, you'll love this one.

Date:October 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
fulluvjoy
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My brother-in-law who was in law inforcement for over twenty-five years read, Back on Murder, and loved it. He said the man who wrote the book had to of either been in law inforcement, or either knew someone who was, or he really did his homework. I totally agree. Back on Murder, was so well executed and so interesting I had a hard time putting it down. If you like crime scene novels, you'll love this one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Back on Murder - eBook
This review is from#1: Back on Murder.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I almost passed up this book because my July was crowded already and J. Mark Bertrand is a fairly new writer, but I really liked the book that he and Deeanne Gist wrote together so I thought, I'll give it a go... I'm so glad I did! He has created an amazing character in Roland March, a homicide detective who's lucky streak has ended and he is basically out on his ear, and built up a cast of characters around him that really accentuate his strengths and weaknesses well. The story is engaging and weaves mystery, murder and relationships all into one book. I was very impressed as I followed the story and found myself reluctant to see it all end. Looking forward to seeing Roland March become a regular.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>