Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing Twice Loved - eBook

Barbour Publishing Twice Loved - eBook

Bev Winters's new job is an answer to prayer and just in time for Christmas-until her boss's kindness awakens an old longing. Will her pride allow love after loss? Also enjoy a collection of 1940s recipes and handcrafts along with stories and trivia about Christmas 1946.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 1894%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Twice Loved - eBook
Review 1 for Twice Loved - eBook
This review is fromTwice Loved.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read Christmas Story

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wilani
Location:Franklin, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Twice Loved is a great Christmas novella that really would be wonderful any time of the year. It is about a widower and a widow who are trying to get over their grief. He owns a used toy store named twice loved. The story takes place in 1945. The message of salvation is clearly presented. This is a story I will definitely read again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Twice Loved - eBook
This review is fromTwice Loved.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Short but very sweet book. Read in a day or part

Date:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Katherin Pleasants
Location:Delhi, La
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interesting story. Love to read about hardships and how the character overcomes the situation. Love the love story part of it. Easily read book, love Brunstetter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Twice Loved - eBook
This review is fromTwice Loved.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:November 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
ilovebooks
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book came to me clean and beautiful! The book was set nicely in the box so it wouldn't get ruined! Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Twice Loved - eBook
This review is fromTwice Loved.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read for this holiday season!

Date:November 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kate
Location:Glenolden, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Twice Loved is a heartwarming story of two broken people willing to mend the other. Set in post WWII, women found themselves widowed and asked to give up the job they held during the war because the men were returning. Where does a woman turn with a young family and no husband coming home?
Wanda Brunstetter steps out of her usual Amish genre to take us to a different era and set of people and she does it with all the charm and talent we have come to love. Don’t miss Twice Loved this holiday season. It will warm you as much as a cozy afghan!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Twice Loved - eBook
This review is fromTwice Loved.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read!

Date:October 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Scrapestas
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this WWII story line. Ms. Brunstetter captures the heart of what life was like during those difficult times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Twice Loved - eBook
This review is fromTwice Loved.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyed very much

Date:October 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Beck
Location:Statesville, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyed very much as I do all of Wanda E. Brunstetter's books. This is a very good Christmas story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Twice Loved - eBook
This review is fromTwice Loved.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Twice Loved

Date:October 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
lilakaser
Location:Coshocton, Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished Twice Loved by Wanda Brunstetter. What a wonderful story. It was the first book I have read by Wanda that was not Amish. I enjoyed very much. Its a story of love and dealing with a death of a spouse. Bev was my favorite character because she was a strong woman taking care of her six-year daughter. This is a wonderful story and I encourage you to read it. It was also based around the holidays and that just adds to the story for me. Pick it up and enjoy!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Twice Loved - eBook
This review is fromTwice Loved.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Love Love this book

Date:October 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kristin
Location:Davenport, IA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a quick read and keeps your interest all the way to the last word. I love the story line between Bev and Dan. It is a very heart warming story. I would recommend this to a friend and will be getting a copy for my mother in law for Christmas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Twice Loved - eBook
This review is fromTwice Loved.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Such a sweet story

Date:October 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
tumcsec
Location:Tuscaloosa, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Twice Loved is not the usual Wanda Brunstetter novel but refreshingly welcome. A very quick read with such a wonderful and inspiring story. Both main characters have lost spouses to death and are grieving in their own way. Dan is keeping his wife's toy store open while trying to also work in his photography studio. Bev is raising her young daughter while trying to make a living for the two of them in the post World War II period. When she loses her job, she shows up at Dan's store, Twice Loved, in response to an ad she saw in the paper. He hires her on the spot, partly in desperation, and so their lives begin intertwining in work, adventure, laughter and everyday situations. I agree with another reviewer that it reminds me of Grace Livingston Hill books that I grew up on. You won't go wrong spending an hour or two reading this delightful book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Twice Loved - eBook
This review is fromTwice Loved.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Read!

Date:October 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sunnie
Location:USA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
All the previous books I have read which were written by Wanda Brunstetter have all been of the Amish genre and so I really didn’t know what to expect when I read this book. It is a sweet and lovely story about hard times following WWII.
The characters in this book were Bev and Dan. Both had lost their mates through illness and war. It was a time when you relied on your faith and the Lord to get you through the rough times, the times of need and loneliness. Wanda’s writings are very Christian and family oriented and this book was that. It is a quick read and very enjoyable.
Bev meets Dan after losing her job and finds herself in a toy shop that Dan’s late wife had established. The toy shop, called Twice Loved, was a place for used toys and books. Many of these needed to have repairs and to be cleaned and renewed. Beverly takes the job opening at the toy store and although this was nothing like her previous job, does all she can to grow the little shop’s business, decorate and sell the used toys, all why caring for her little daughter. She becomes closer to her employer, Dan, and their relationship grows. Their relationship grows through their common faith in God and their Christian ideals. As the store is renewed so is their hope in finding someone to share their lives with, which neither thought was possible before they met.
In this story, you see the kindness of others and the need for people to learn how to accept those kindnesses without taking offense but rather realize that these are God’s blessings being poured upon us through the hands of those we come in contact with.
This story was very tender and I enjoyed reading it. At the end was a fun section with historical (wartime) recipes and a bit of historical information. For me, I could really relate to the wartime stories as it was a major part in the lives of my parents who survived prison camps and other wartime hardships. Knowing their sufferings brought this book into real perspective
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Twice Loved - eBook
This review is fromTwice Loved.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A nice book, so worth reading

Date:October 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Souperlady
Location:Glasgow, Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read "Twice Loved" last night and couldn't put it down until I finished. To me it was a sweet and loving book, so refreshing for these days and times! Wanda Brunstetter is so good at capturing the subtle details that mean so much in connecting with the characters and this book will hold your attention. It's also special due to being set in the World War II time frame. My parents talked about those days and this made it meaningful to me. I was surprised to see the recipes made during that Era, too. A surprise bonus!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Twice Loved - eBook
This review is fromTwice Loved.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Holiday Favorite

Date:October 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
EllenDee
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Twice Loved is a sweet holiday story of recovering after loss and healing through peace and love. It has the warmth of Christmas memories and traditions, the history of a country recovering from war, and genuine Christian values for the whole family.
Twice Loved is also a sweet love story. It is not an intense plotline or filled with suspense, like some of Wanda's other books. Rather it is a gentle story with genuine characters and real heartaches. Wanda walks us through the healing process and delivers a great story of love after loss and healing after heartache.
I also like the extra pages of historical facts and war-time recipes. I look forward to trying many of the recipes. And my Christmas celebration will mean more since I have been reminded that not long ago our country faced Christmas very differently and had to struggle through war-torn Christmas celebrations. Thanks to the soldiers, their families and the country standing behind them, we can celebrate freely and fully. Merry Christmas!
And I highly recommend reading Twice Loved as a family Christmas tradition!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Twice Loved - eBook
This review is fromTwice Loved.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Her books are always worth reading

Date:October 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
granny
Location:MS
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
EVEN THO THIS WAS AN UPDATED VERSION OF AN OLD BOOK , IT WAS WORTH A REREAD. SO NICE TO READ SOMETHING POSITIVE AND NO BAD LANGUAGE OR GORE. IT WAS ABOUT LIFE AS IT WAS IN THE 40'S.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Twice Loved - eBook
This review is fromTwice Loved.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nostalgic Christmas Story

Date:October 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
SBlanks
Location:McDonald, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Two grieving souls, a second hand toy store, one thoughtful little girl, a teddy bear needing attention, a lost note found, a letter in a bible , a slightly sprained ankle, and Christmas all equal love; simple, beautiful love. If you enjoy simple love stories set in post-World War II, you will absolutely love this nostalgic story. Wanda Brunstetter has once again brought the simplicities of life and the power of God’s love together to create Twice Loved, a Christmas novel. An absolute read!
This story reminded me to accept help from others with a grateful heart. The Lord sends his answers in many ways!
I was gifted a copy of the book by the published and ask for my honest opinion. The opinions expressed are mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Twice Loved - eBook
This review is fromTwice Loved.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Heart Was Touched!

Date:October 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a sweet tender story filled with love. The end of World War II brought a lot of heartaches and tears. Many women were left without a spouse, many children without a Father, the outcome of war.
Not only were there human loses but loses of jobs and income. Women trying to make a living not only for themselves but for their children too.
Author Wanda Brunstetter takes the loss of spouses and writes a heartwarming story of two people. Bev Winters, a widow, trying to make a living for her and her daughter while feeling the stark reality that she is now alone without a helpmate. Dan Fisher, alone because of the death of his wife.
Two people, both Christians, trying to live their life that honors God.
This story touched me in so many ways, as I too have lost a spouse. God has other plans for Bev and Dan. Will they listen to Him or will they try to handle their situations in their own way, too stubborn to let anyone else into their private lives?
I wish to thank Barbour Publishing and Wanda Brunstetter for allowing me the joy of reading and reviewing Twice Loved. It is a book that I will cherish for years to come. The opinions expressed are mine alone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Twice Loved - eBook
This review is fromTwice Loved.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2013
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Twice Loved by Wanda Brunstetter is a novella set after WWII. It was an okay book. I thought it was poorly written and too predictable, though. I do expect predictability in stories, but this one had too many coincidences and just seemed unrealistic. But I did like the storyline. It was a very cute idea, and the used toy store sounded so fun.
Bev Winters, a war widow with a six year old daughter, just lost her job due to the influx of soldiers returning home from the war. She manages to find a job at an used toy store called Twice Loved. The owner, Dan Fisher, has also lost a spouse, and as they come to know each other is it possible for love to bloom again?
At the end of the book, there are some recipes from the war times that looked pretty good. Overall, it's a short, sweet novella perfect for Christmastime. :-)
I was given this book free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Twice Loved - eBook
This review is fromTwice Loved.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enchanting WWII Christmas Romance

Date:July 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Nash-hall
Location:Madison Heights VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read many of Wanda Brunstetter's Amish books and loved them, and this World War II Christmas romance was simply enchanting. I have heard many stories from my granny, mom, and mother-in-law about their experiences in World War II. My Uncle Pax Booth Jr was killed in Normandy, France at the age of 19. So the feelings and fears of this young widow and her young daughter were very real to me. Thinking of cooking when rationing often meant some ingredients were just not there to use is amazing enough and Wanda included several recipes in the book with this in mind.
I love snow! The young store owner running in the snow catching snowflakes on his tongue with Bev and her daughter made me long for winter! I worked in a toy store when I was pregnant with my first daughter, so I really appreciated the joy that the job brought to the characters. Is there only one love for each of us in our lifetime or can there be another chance at happiness, can we be "Twice Loved"? Read this delightful book to find out!
I received a free pdf version of this book from netgalley in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Twice Loved - eBook
This review is fromTwice Loved.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

More Than Toys Are Twice Loved

Date:July 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
LoveMy2Dogs
Location:Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first thought is that this is not a typical Brunstetter book. To me a typical Brunstetter book is a book about the Amish and their lives. This book however has nothing to do with the Amish but instead is about an unfortunate situation that has it's way of turning around and becoming something rather wonderful.
I really enjoyed this book and I know that it is not supposed to be released until September of this year but for some reason I felt that I have read this book before. Everything about this book seemed familiar to me. Even with everything seeming familiar I have to say that I really enjoyed reading this book.
Bev and Dan both had suffered a great loss of loved ones and both had to overcome the grief that comes along with that. I can honestly say that I have never lost someone that close to me and I hope that I never have to but I am sure that day is inevitable.
This was a fast read for me and a book that most people could read in one day. Even though it is set around Christmas time, it could definitely be a book for any season.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.